April 18, 2024, 07:19:58 PM

Author Topic: 3-year-old Hitler can't get name on cake  (Read 8376 times)

Offline assrancid

• Man who scratch ass should not bite fingernails.
  • Education should be the handmaid of citizenship.
    • Stony Brook University
3-year-old Hitler can't get name on cake
« on: December 17, 2008, 10:15:38 AM »
3-year-old Hitler can't get name on cake
Family upset at store for denying request, and angry Internet postings

Heath Campbell, left, and his wife Deborah, were told that a store in Greenwich, N.J. would not inscribe their three-year-old son's full name, Adolf Hitler Campbell, center, on a birthday cake.
 View related photos
Rich Schultz / AP 

updated 1:16 a.m. ET, Wed., Dec. 17, 2008
EASTON, Pa. - The father of 3-year-old Adolf Hitler Campbell, denied a birthday cake with the child's full name on it by one New Jersey supermarket, is asking for a little tolerance. Heath Campbell and his wife, Deborah, are upset not only with the decision made by the Greenwich ShopRite, but with an outpouring of angry Internet postings in response to a local newspaper article over the weekend on their flare-up over frosting.

"I think people need to take their heads out of the cloud they've been in and start focusing on the future and not on the past," Heath Campbell said Tuesday in an interview conducted in Easton, on the other side of the Delaware River from where the family lives in Hunterdon County, N.J.

"There's a new president and he says it's time for a change; well, then it's time for a change," the 35-year-old continued. "They need to accept a name. A name's a name. The kid isn't going to grow up and do what (Hitler) did."

Deborah Campbell, 25, said she phoned in her order last week to the ShopRite. When she told the bakery department she wanted her son's name spelled out, she was told to talk to a supervisor, who denied the request.

Karen Meleta, a spokeswoman for ShopRite, said the Campbells had similar requests denied at the same store the last two years and said Heath Campbell previously had asked for a swastika to be included in the decoration.

"We reserve the right not to print anything on the cake that we deem to be inappropriate," Meleta said. "We considered this inappropriate."

The Campbells ultimately got their cake decorated at a Wal-Mart in Pennsylvania, Deborah Campbell said. About 12 people attended the birthday party on Sunday, including several children who were of mixed race, according to Heath Campbell.

"If we're so racist, then why would I have them come into my home?" he asked.

The Campbells' other two children also have unusual names: JoyceLynn Aryan Nation Campbell turns 2 in a few months and Honszlynn Hinler Jeannie Campbell will be 1 in April.

Click for related content
Vote: Was store justified in refusing to put Hitler on cake?

Heath Campbell said he named his son after Adolf Hitler because he liked the name and because "no one else in the world would have that name." He sounded surprised by all the controversy the dispute had generated.

Campbell said his ancestors are German and that he has lived his entire life in Hunterdon County. On Tuesday he wore a pair of black boots he said were worn by a German soldier during World War II.

He said he was raised not to avoid people of other races but not to mix with them socially or romantically. But he said he would try to raise his children differently.

"Say he grows up and hangs out with black people. That's fine, I don't really care," he said. "That's his choice."

More from msnbc.com

Re: 3-year-old Hitler can't get name on cake
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2008, 11:05:38 AM »
This cyah be real...

"JoyceLynn Aryan Nation Campbell"   

nah man.... nah....

« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 11:25:35 AM »
 ::) ::) ::)
Good lord what will they think of next....

« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2008, 11:39:22 AM »
Dem poor children loss de race before they had a chance to even start. When people do dem assness yuh think they really have any ambition for dey children?

« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2008, 11:43:57 AM »
This cyah be real...

"JoyceLynn Aryan Nation Campbell"   

nah man.... nah....

...and he not racist.. naaah!!!!! I wonder if the article misspelt the other child's name (Himler instead of Hinler)?

« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2008, 11:49:21 AM »
so them would have me believe

that dem watch they child, who has not yet sinned, and name the child Adolf Hitler

so dem eh have no family members or friends who should've guided them accordingly

« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2008, 12:45:46 PM »
Those parents are messed up.  Will you hire somebody with those names on their Resume?  Will a Top University accept them?  Some people's parents... :(

« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2008, 01:10:24 PM »
and I thought "Bus stop" was an idotic name, pressha

« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2008, 03:47:54 PM »
Interesting this story is. These folks perpetrating themselves as just a couple of harmlesss yokels who cluelessly walk smack dab into the middle of a media controversy.  Bullshit.

You don’t name your children “Hitler” and “Aryan nations” unless you are  committed body and soul to the cause.

Then again, them type-a people would never have the courage to legally change their own name to Hitler, they rather cop out heap that burden on their children.

« Last Edit: December 17, 2008, 04:23:00 PM by ZANDOLIE »

« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2008, 05:05:13 PM »
doh print a f*&King shit on that cake, damn muddder f*&kers

« Reply #10 on: December 17, 2008, 05:13:41 PM »
How could you hate your children so much to give dem names like that? Do these parents have no clue as to how much they Handicapping these chirren???

Last week my wife treat a lil chile... Family name "Fur" chile name, 'Lucy"  how could you name your flecking child that....

Dem parents need to check dem head if they think that they not proporting race!

« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2008, 06:06:23 PM »
That's true, a name is a name, but there are exceptions. NOT THAT NAME. But seriously, his parents need a serious head check!!!!!!!

« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2008, 06:08:52 PM »
Doh mind dem people nuh! Some people just disjointed in dey brain and are willing to do anything, even sell their children a lifetime of horrors, just for attention.  Dem might as well had name dey chirren Humpty and Dumpty!

« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2008, 06:41:24 PM »
I see ah man ID in T&T and he name was little Daddy.

« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2008, 07:19:35 PM »
I was in dey kitchen when dis story hit CNN. Ah bun meh flipping hand trying to bend backwards to see dey TV.
People dat dotish ??? Even dey new reporter shake he head...

That cute child would have one hellava life before him. And no fault of his eh.
Why dey didn't name dey chile "Issac Hunt Campbell"

« Reply #15 on: December 18, 2008, 02:25:49 AM »
Ah bun meh flipping hand trying to bend backwards to see dey TV.

Ah hope yuh hand better now.... ;)

« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 02:27:41 AM by rotatopoti3 »

« Reply #16 on: December 18, 2008, 08:35:11 AM »

I saw a German woman's passport once and her name was Calypso....NO LIE, NO LIE!!.....

« Reply #17 on: December 18, 2008, 08:55:11 AM »

I saw a German woman's passport once and her name was Calypso....NO LIE, NO LIE!!.....

Rudder musbe blaize de jacket  :rotfl:

« Reply #18 on: December 18, 2008, 09:08:43 AM »
Steups. Parents does know why dey naming dey child something. Sometimes they want the child to emulate de name. How come nobody does name dey child Judas again? Or Jezebel? So...wha dem parents really trying to mamaguy people with?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #19 on: December 18, 2008, 10:49:03 AM »

Calypso is not really a strange name to have Greek, once yuh not from Trinidad.

I imagine it is not much different from naming your kid Venus and much better than something like Aphrodite (which I have seen) or Hippolyta.

« Reply #20 on: December 18, 2008, 10:51:40 AM »
Alyuh getting carried away.

There is nothing wrong with what the man did. Neither is there anything wrong with naming your child adolf hitler.

So what if the man is a racist and a white supremist?

To each his own.

« Reply #21 on: December 18, 2008, 11:00:03 AM »

It sure was strange to me.... ;D

Touches....nah man yuh eh serious....especially with the "so what if he is a racist" part.... :-\ ???
« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 11:04:48 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #22 on: December 18, 2008, 11:04:37 AM »

It sure was strange to me.... ;D

Sorry what I should have said was that "Calypso is not a stange name for a person who isn't from Trinidad". I would expect it to be strange to us becuase we don't use the word in that context.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2008, 08:52:26 PM by JDB »

« Reply #23 on: December 18, 2008, 11:16:06 AM »
Steups. Parents does know why dey naming dey child something. Sometimes they want the child to emulate de name. How come nobody does name dey child Judas again? Or Jezebel? So...wha dem parents really trying to mamaguy people with?

My wife treat ah lil kid and she name is Lucy Fur.... is beyond me.... how these people so full ah demselves they find dem thing amusing. Then they does wonder why people does dis dem and they children??

« Reply #24 on: December 18, 2008, 11:20:57 AM »
But i does be serious every time i post  ;D

It is simply a word, a combination of letters.

What alyuh diggin a horrors with is the negative stigma/connotation (real or implied) that is attached to the word/name.

To some it is real, to others it is implied.

Intrinsically no wrong has been done by the father and the poor child has to suffer due to how the rest of the world views his name. Us on the forum included.

As for racists...they exist. Everyone has come from a different culture and have different social norms, values and attitudes. Racism will never be eradicated.

« Reply #25 on: December 18, 2008, 11:28:02 AM »
The Campbells ultimately got their cake decorated at a Wal-Mart in Pennsylvania

Wal*Mart eh easy

« Reply #26 on: December 18, 2008, 11:40:37 AM »
http://www.co.hunterdon.nj.us/pdf/census2000/populationbyrace.pdf

Hunterdon County ranks as the 13th among the highest-income counties in the United States with a per capita income of $36,370. It ranks fourth among U.S. counties for household income according to the most recent U.S. Census. Hunterdon County's median household income was $93,342, behind only Fairfax County and Loudoun County, Virginia and Howard County, Maryland. As of 2005, Hunterdon had the third-highest median property tax of any county in the nation at $6,988, the highest in New Jersey[2][3]. As of the Tax Foundation's rankings based on 2006 data, Hunterdon had taken the top spot for highest median property tax at $7,999.[4][5]

« Reply #27 on: December 18, 2008, 11:41:36 AM »

Wal*Mart eh easy

Asylum yuh familiar with Overton Windows? How yuh think this rate?

« Reply #28 on: December 18, 2008, 12:03:01 PM »
A bit more:

Karen Meleta, a ShopRite spokeswoman, said the grocer tries to meet customer requests but rejects those deemed inappropriate. "We believe the request to inscribe a birthday wish to Adolf Hitler is inappropriate," she said.

The grocer offered to make a cake with enough room for the Campbells to write their own inscription. But the Campbells refused, saying they would have a cake made at the Wal-Mart in Lower Nazareth Township. The Campbells say Wal-Mart made cakes for Adolf's first two birthdays.

A spokeswoman for Wal-Mart said the store won't put anything illegal or profane on a cake but thinks it's important to respect the views of customers and employees. "Our No. 1 priority in decorating cakes is to serve the customer to the best of our ability," Anna Taylor, the spokeswoman, said from Bentonville, Ark

Wal-Mart: They don't care about workers but they are more than happy to make you a Hitler cake.

http://www.themodernleft.com/2008/12/hitler-cake-and-wal-mart.html
« Last Edit: December 18, 2008, 12:05:06 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #29 on: December 18, 2008, 12:18:17 PM »

Wal*Mart eh easy

Asylum yuh familiar with Overton Windows? How yuh think this rate?

Let me put it this way, I don't think his Barack Obama comment is innocuous. Hell of a juxtaposition, isn't it? Additionally, the parents know they are operating against the grain of commonly accepted standards. They'll be back next year and the year after that until there is a 'result'. Gradually, an interest will agglomerate. Enter the dragon ACLU?