April 25, 2024, 08:39:24 AM

Author Topic: CL RO16 Draw  (Read 5803 times)

CL RO16 Draw
« on: December 19, 2008, 05:20:43 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Villareal - Panathinaikos
Sporting - Bayern
Atletico Madrid - FC Porto
Olympique Lyonnais - FC Barcelona
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

Re: CL RO16 Draw
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2008, 05:22:07 AM »
some big teams going home early !

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2008, 05:24:56 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Sporting - Bayern
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

predictions:
Chelsea
Panathinakos
Bayern
Porto
Barca
Liverpool
Arsenal
Man Utd

« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2008, 05:29:27 AM »
yes is sports eh but i cannot see how manu can beat  a inter that clicking under the "special one" . that real hard 2 see.

the italy england ties look real nice: may the best teams win

« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2008, 06:25:24 AM »
Ah serious England vs Italy thing going on there!!

ManUtd going home!!

GO CHELSEA!

« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2008, 06:30:39 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Sporting - Bayern
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

predictions:
Chelsea
Panathinakos
Bayern
Porto
Barca
Liverpool
Arsenal
Man Utd

You real like them English sides boy.

Each of those ties with the EPL sides are finely balanced and could go either way.

Right now the likelihood of 4 of them going through is about the same as 4 of them going out so I would say two of them would make it.

You can't predict any of these ties now because all of these big teams, with the exception of Barca, are likely to be very different in 2 months time. But on current from Juve beating Chelsea and Roma beating Arsenal. Inter is yet to play ball in the CL so United should win that tie even though United is not travelling well right now and even though Liverpool has SERIOUS problems they could beat Madrid right now. I see Liverpool getting worse as the season goes on whereas Madrid can't get any worse than they are now.

In 2 months time, who knows.

« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2008, 07:14:53 AM »

Inter - Man United[/b][/color]

*in my most evil laugh*
MUHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

Small Mag, I know in the pit of yuh stomach, yuh know to yuh self that this is the end of the line for the chumps champions.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2008, 08:31:47 AM »
Big big clashes

Inter - manu
Chelsea -Juve

Those two games stand out ,of course Barca hav a nice tie cyar be better
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2008, 08:58:55 AM »
Roma in present form eh go be easy. Bayern get the best draw on paper

« Reply #9 on: December 19, 2008, 09:12:10 AM »
English teams face tough Champions League test

Friday morning's Champions League draw did the English clubs no favours with four intriguing Round of 16 ties.

Manchester United boss Sir Alex Ferguson will face a familiar foe in Jose Mourinho after being drawn to face his Inter Milan side, while Arsenal will also meet Italian opponents after drawing Roma.

Chelsea will be reunited with Claudio Ranieri at Juventus and Rafael Benitez will return to Spain again as Liverpool drew beleaguered Real Madrid.

Tournament favourites Barcelona will take on Ligue 1 leaders Lyon. The remaining fixtrues will see Villarreal v Panathinaikos, Sporting Lisbon v Bayern Munich and Atlético Madrid v FC Porto.

Mourinho will return to England for the first time since leaving Stamford Bridge at the start of last season and will renew his battle with the Manchester United manager.

While manager of Porto, Mourinho famously ran down the Old Trafford touchline to celebrate after a late goal sent the Red Devils tumbling out of the competition in 2004. He then spent two years tussling with Sir Alex for the Premier League title and in typical Jose style he wanted to draw United.
Dais wha we talking bout, bring the war to dem red girls devils.

Manchester United's communications director Phil Townsend said the draw was a good one for the Old Trafford club and offered the chance to gain revenge on Mourinho, five years on from their loss against his Porto side at the same stage of the competition.

"It's a very exciting draw. We've only met Inter once before in the Champions League and we got through then, and maybe it's a good omen because it was in 1999 and we ended up winning the tournament,'' he said.

"We'll be trying to put one over on Jose this time and get the result the fans want and the club wants.''

Inter director Ernesto Paolillo revealed he hoped Mourinho's previous encounters against Ferguson's side will give the Italian outfit the edge across the two legs.

"Mourinho told me yesterday that he wanted Manchester United, and I think he's right,'' Paolillo told Sky Sports News. "Against Manchester United we can find the right motivation and the right concentration to play a very good game.

"Mourinho is experienced in English football, and he knows United very well. I think that he can teach something to the players - the right way to fight - and we need that because his experience is very important for us.''

Another former Chelsea manager, Ranieri, will look to show the Blues what they are missing when he crosses swords with Luiz Felipe Scolari. Juve, trailing four points behind Inter in the Serie A table, are in their first season back among Europe's elite after being demoted for match fixing two years ago.

"For him (Ranieri) it means something different than for the rest of us," said Juventus sporting director Alessio Secco, who said he was confident of progress.

"When we were drawn with Real Madrid and Zenit in August we thought it was almost impossible but we won the group.

"We have a feeling of respect for Chelsea but we are not afraid to play against them.

"Since Claudio Ranieri left Chelsea many players have changed but many of them are still playing for Chelsea, so he knows them better than everybody else. I think that for him it will be a special game for sure.''

Chelsea secretary David Barnard was pleased with the draw as the Blues look to go one better than last year's runners-up finish.

Barnard told Sky Sports News: "Any team at this stage of the competition is obviously quality but it could have been a lot worse, maybe Barcelona.

"It obviously brings back Claudio Ranieri to the Bridge and I am sure Claudio will get a good reception from the Chelsea supporters.

"In Claudio's last season we actually reached the semi-finals and the Champions League means a lot to him and Chelsea.''

And Benitez will also be on familiar ground by drawing Real, where he was once a player. Though right now a draw against Real does not look too tricky it could be a completely different prospect in two months time.

Arsenal will be perhaps happiest with their draw against mid-table Roma who have struggled to impress this season.

The ties take place on February 24/25 and March 10/11 with the final on May 27 in Rome.

« Reply #10 on: December 19, 2008, 09:21:17 AM »
Big big clashes

Inter - manu
Chelsea -Juve

Those two games stand out ,of course Barca hav a nice tie cyar be better

Bring It.

« Reply #11 on: December 19, 2008, 09:32:01 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Sporting - Bayern
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

Oh gaaad oye.... ah like dem matchups..

My predictions -

Chelsea
Villareal
Bayern
Porto
Barcelona
Liverpool
Roma
INTER MILAN

« Reply #12 on: December 19, 2008, 09:37:46 AM »
even though Liverpool has SERIOUS problems they could beat Madrid right now. I see Liverpool getting worse as the season goes on whereas Madrid can't get any worse than they are now.

Liverpool's SERIOUS problems pale in comparison to Madrid's...

« Reply #13 on: December 19, 2008, 09:57:34 AM »
Chelsea vs Juve & ManU vs Inter are the two tighest matchups...

Liverpool vs Madrid on paper is tight contest but Madrid's form will have to significantly improve over the next 2 months if they're gonna get the better of Liverpool over 2 legs.

Barring a serious loss of form, Barcelona is the only safe money...

Bayern like dey get a lil bligh too..

« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2008, 09:58:50 AM »
Zlatan vs Berbas in we pweffen after all dat talk

Imagine that..

God is really ah trini and he does read de board too....

« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2008, 10:00:09 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Sporting - Bayern
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

Juve
Panathinaikos
Bayern
Atletico
Barca
Liverpool
Roma
this one gonna be a tough game....but i think Man Utd coming through with the win

« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2008, 10:13:59 AM »

View Profile Personal Message (Online)

Juventus - Chelsea: Hopefully, Essien and Carvalho might be around, even if not quite in top form DDQ should be back on track

Villareal - Panathinaikos    Ten Cate had Panathaninaikos lookin' decent in the group stge, but.......eh eh!

Sporting - Bayern           No-brainer!

Atletico Madrid - FC Porto      Atletico hungry, but Porto playing well and have a less competitive domestic 
                                                  schedule to tie dem up

Olympique Lyonnais - FC Barcelona  Lyon willing and hungry but Barca is arguably the best team in Europe
                                                          right now

Real Madrid - Liverpool            Dize jes' hate fuh liverpool!.......and love fuh de spanish side and dem!

Arsenal - AS Roma                  a nex' hungry side, and now is Rio, and not Roy Keane
                                                    gettin' inside dem Arsenal players' heads! 

Inter - Man United                Manu eh lookin' so good deeze days.  FYAH fuh dem!!!

« Reply #17 on: December 19, 2008, 10:17:09 AM »

I was waiting to see who say it first.

But according to Ninja Man, we go see who is Dan and who is Donkey.

« Reply #18 on: December 19, 2008, 10:19:44 AM »

I eh even pick up on that yes... :rotfl:

Anyway...

Mourinho will show once again why he is a better coach than Ferguson! :devil:

« Reply #19 on: December 19, 2008, 10:45:46 AM »
should be 2 great games whether we progress or not... we are the champions..we dont need to worry...let inter do that

we just have to play as good as we can...and we will progress

Mourinhoooo are you listening!? hope you see our trophy glistening!!.. we're gonna beat you at home, on our way to Rome....walking in a Fergie Wonderland!

;D 8)
« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 11:13:55 AM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #20 on: December 19, 2008, 10:57:34 AM »
should be 2 great games whether we progress or not... we are the champions..we dont need to worry...let inter do that

Mourinhooooo are ya listening(8)   

So now that allyuh get a big side, waz de tactics?

Allyuh going and lock up shop and play like Bolton like u did in the CL semi finals last year against a understrength Barcelona side?

licks for Man Utd this year... blows!

« Reply #21 on: December 19, 2008, 11:06:17 AM »
Some massive games ahead

Chelsea - Juventus

Sporting - Bayern
Real Madrid - Liverpool
Arsenal - AS Roma
Inter - Man United
[/u][/color]

predictions:
Chelsea
Panathinakos
Bayern
Porto
Barca
Liverpool
Arsenal
Man Utd

You real like them English sides boy.

Each of those ties with the EPL sides are finely balanced and could go either way.

Right now the likelihood of 4 of them going through is about the same as 4 of them going out so I would say two of them would make it.

You can't predict any of these ties now because all of these big teams, with the exception of Barca, are likely to be very different in 2 months time. But on current from Juve beating Chelsea and Roma beating Arsenal. Inter is yet to play ball in the CL so United should win that tie even though United is not travelling well right now and even though Liverpool has SERIOUS problems they could beat Madrid right now. I see Liverpool getting worse as the season goes on whereas Madrid can't get any worse than they are now.

How you so certain Liverpool beating Madrid normal so? Allyuh gehing tie up.

We are very much on the rise, especially when the new signings start playing and our injured players recover.

Although Diarra and RvN out for the season we should be getting back Sneijder, Pepe, Heinze,  (Raul) and Cannavaro in a timing.

« Last Edit: December 19, 2008, 11:08:55 AM by Toppa »

« Reply #22 on: December 19, 2008, 11:08:34 AM »

Allyuh going and lock up shop and play like Bolton like u did in the CL semi finals last year against a understrength Barcelona side?

those tactics won us the CL...so f**k off

that dutch prick couldnt deal with it....we could have used 4 systems on them    they only had 1...we scouted them and realised that...just be grateful we saved yall the embarrassment of a 5-0 hammering

we are the champions! champions of europe! 8) :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: December 19, 2008, 11:18:19 AM »

I cyah wait for Mourinho to release Muntari on C. Ronaldo.

And like I said in an earlier post, how the 4k will Ferdinand keep Zlatan in check??

« Reply #24 on: December 19, 2008, 11:34:08 AM »
IF zlatan decides to show up for the game it will take the combined talents of rio and vidic to shackle him.  ronaldo and who ever is on that left wing will keep maicon in check because he is a real threat on that left hand side.   who knows if mourinho will unwrap figo from the cotton wool.  i have seen little to nothing from quaresma this season that indicates he deserves to start this clash.

« Reply #25 on: December 19, 2008, 11:36:25 AM »

that dutch prick couldnt deal with it....we could have used 4 systems on them    they only had 1...we scouted them and realised that...just be grateful we saved yall the embarrassment of a 5-0 hammering

Man Utd were the champions last year no doubt, but you will soon see that their successes were a result of a combination of favorable circumstances that will not be repeated...

- Man Utd had the least injuries to deal with than other competitors last season

- C. Ronaldo was in the form of his life.

- Chelsea was in mid-season turmoil with Avram Grant

- Barcelona was in whole season turmoil with the Ronaldinho/Eto'o/Deco situations..

Lets not gloss over the fact that Man Utd still got run down to the EPL title on the last day (and a Heskey goal before that), and that they were a John Terry slip away from losing the CL title.

Forza Inter!!!

« Reply #26 on: December 19, 2008, 11:49:18 AM »

« Reply #27 on: December 19, 2008, 11:58:06 AM »

ronaldo and who ever is on that left wing will keep maicon in check

Eh?!?!

« Reply #28 on: December 19, 2008, 12:11:49 PM »

Man Utd were the champions last year no doubt, but you will soon see that their successes were a result of a combination of favorable circumstances that will not be repeated...

- Man Utd had the least injuries to deal with than other competitors last season

- C. Ronaldo was in the form of his life.

- Chelsea was in mid-season turmoil with Avram Grant

- Barcelona was in whole season turmoil with the Ronaldinho/Eto'o/Deco situations..

Lets not gloss over the fact that Man Utd still got run down to the EPL title on the last day (and a Heskey goal before that), and that they were a John Terry slip away from losing the CL title.

Forza Inter!!!

how u studying Man Utd vs Inter so? U eh feel that the big Juventus eh gone send allyuh packing? or u forget bout that?

« Reply #29 on: December 19, 2008, 03:18:09 PM »

Remember the tactics from Barca game last year. Expect some of the same.