April 23, 2024, 03:57:53 PM

Author Topic: All Caribbean Team !  (Read 7650 times)

All Caribbean Team !
« on: March 10, 2005, 06:07:21 AM »
Allyuh beat this CARIBBEAN side.

GK: Shaka Hislop, Trinidad & Tobago/Portsmouth
LB: Garfield Reid, Jamaica/Ham-Kam FC
CB: Marvin Andrews, Trinidad & Tobago/Rangers
CB: Jean Jacques Pierre, Haiti/Penarol
RB: Atiba Charles, Trinidad & Tobago/W Connection
LM: Ricardo Gardner, Jamaica/Bolton Wanderers
CM: Andy Williams, Jamaica/Real Salt Lake
CM: Shalrie Joseph, Grenada/NE Revolution
RM: Kenwyne Jones, Trinidad & Tobago/Southampton
ST: Lester More, Cuba/Ciego de Avila
ST: Dwight Yorke, Trinidad & Tobago/Sydney FC

Subs:

Roody Lormera (ST - Haiti/Universidad Honduras), Stern John (ST - Trinidad & Tobago/Coventry City), Carlos Edwards (M - Trinidad & Tobago/Wrexham), Odelin Molina (GK - Cuba/?), Avery John (LB - Trinidad & Tobago/NE Revolution), Tyrone Marshall (RB - Jamaica/LA Galaxy), Damani Ralph (ST - Jamaica/FC Rubin Kazan), Jhonny Descollines (ST - Haiti/Violette Athletic), Jason Roberts (ST - Grenada/Wigan Athletic), Patrick Percin (M - Martinique/?), Brent Sancho (D - Trinidad & Tobago/Dundee), Michael Forde (M - Barbados/Youth Milan Barbados).

_____________________Hislop___________________
Charles______Andrews_________Jacques________Reid
Jones________Joseph_________Williams________Gardner
_____________More___________Yorke___________
« Last Edit: June 22, 2005, 05:58:09 AM by Flex »

Re: All Caribbean Team !
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 09:12:44 AM »
Yuh know I have thought about that as well. We should look into a West Indian 11. I think it would be very exciting and we just might pose a real threat to the concacaf powerhouses USA and Mexico

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2005, 11:04:52 AM »
I am not for a West Indies football team.  Yall doh find it have enough bacannal picking a cricket team?  We know what we have to do to challenge the CONCACAF powers -- put the emphasis on the young ones and do that at a grassroots level.  This so that we have a steady stream of quality players coming through the ranks in the years to come.

Give me my Trinidad football team.  I doh want no combination stupidness.

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2005, 11:38:19 AM »
You're absolutely right.... Give me my Trinidad & Tobago football team anyway..

I would still love to see that wonderful team Sam name play a North and Central American combine team for kicks though....
« Last Edit: March 10, 2005, 12:10:08 PM by Flex »

« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2005, 12:23:42 PM »
I don't think Kenwyne Jones ready for this team as yet

« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2005, 12:48:36 PM »
Experience wise (maybe not) but Jones definitely have the tools for the job though... I would leave him there... ???

« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2005, 01:48:22 PM »
JONES IS A BALLER and still young and learning, no disrespect but i like ralph, woulda put him before glenn or the cuban

« Reply #7 on: March 10, 2005, 01:51:21 PM »
I would like to hear the rationale for having 5 Trinidadians starting in a Caribbean team when Jamaica has been dominating the CFU for the last 8 - 10 years.

This should be good...

« Reply #8 on: March 10, 2005, 02:28:18 PM »
I would like to hear the rationale for having 5 Trinidadians starting in a Caribbean team when Jamaica has been dominating the CFU for the last 8 - 10 years.

This should be good...

1 - This is a Trini site.  Nutting wrong wit biggin up yuh own.  If yuh doh like it....go on de ReggaeBoyz site make de same post and put as many Jamaican as yuh want.

2 - Jamaica has not been dominating the CFU for the past 8 - 10 years.   In CFU competition in that time period T&T still comes out on top....this year's Digicel Cup notwithstanding.

T&T has won the CFU Tournament in 1996, 1997, 1999, and 2001.

Jamaica beat T&T 2-1 in 1998 and 2000, 2002 & 2003 there was no tournament.

« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2005, 03:03:56 PM »
I doh care what  kind of site it is. it could be ah Grenadian site for all I care, put the best men on the team.  Is that same backward attitude that have we West Indian cricket team reeling for the past decade and a half.

I said that Jamaica has been the dominant team in the CFU over the past 8 - 10 years.  Note that I didn't say they were the dominant Digicell Cup team.  There is a difference.  Trinidad coulda win the Digicell Cup every year, when the games counted in the real competition THE WORLD CUP QUALIFIERS, Trinidad and Tobago has been defeated by Jamaica on a consistent basis.

So Palos, you trying to tell me that Trinidad and Tobago has been the dominant team in the Caribbean over the past 8 years?  You could HONESTLY tell me that?  I love my country as much as the next person but we have to face the fact that we are behind now, and have been there for some time now. 

So go ahead and big up T&T Digicell Cup resume... and miss the big picture.

« Reply #10 on: March 10, 2005, 03:32:06 PM »
Is you call CFU...not me.  CFU mean Caribbean Football Union.  When CFU hold tournament T&T is de dominant team over de past 8-10 years.  Yuh never mention WC Qualifiers so nex time...say wha yuh mean.

As fuh pickin de best team...

Which Jamaican goalie better than Shaka?

Which Jamaican defender better than Dog or Sancho?

Yuh could argue Kenwyne Jones if yuh want....but name de Jamaican midfielder yuh would replace he wit

Same fuh Cornel Glen.  Me personally I would pick Onandi Lowe but daz jes me.

And besides.....dat is SAM TEAM.  Who de ass is you to tell he who to pick..or anybody fuh dah matter?

Go ahead and pick yuh Jamaican team...nobody stoppin yuh.

« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2005, 03:39:46 PM »
Jahyouth -

Teams and players are two different things. An all caribbean selection could very well have more Trinis than Jamaicans in spite of the results of the National teams. All star selections are by nature biased. Who are the jamaican players you would choose to replace Shaka, Dog, Glenn and Jones?

For every name you call Sam could very easily make a case for the Trinis that he chose.

The fact is that we have underachieved as a team but we still have Shaka the best Caribbean keeper by a good bit, Glen - arguable the best Caribbean striker in MLS, Andrews - The Caribbean defender playing at the biggest club.

5 Trinis and 3 Jamaicans is no great injustice, that is just how the man choose to pick the team. When yuh check 4-4-2 and see some of the all-star teams the greats does pick you have to scratch yuh head and wonder if they ever play football.

Two people are not supposed to have the same all-star selection that is why yuh normally decide these things by committee.

edited to add: I see that Palos beat me to a reply

« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2005, 03:50:13 PM »
allyuh eh ignorant in joke boy.  steups

So if I ask who is the dominant team in EUFA you will look at the results of the European Championships and not who is the best World Cup performer?  You are a joker.  The best team in CFU does not automatically mean the best team in CFU tournaments, but as it says, the best team in the Caribbean Football Union.

And it is not about picking Jamaicans, it is about picking the best players.  So if Guyana was the best team in the region and had ballers to fit the bill I woulda call for more Guyanese on the squad.

Allyuh calling Dog. Up to now I am NOT impressed with his play at all.  He has been making I agree on the Onandi Lowe comment.  He starting in front of Glenn on my team as well.  Shake safe.  He is the best by far in the region.

To me, Dog has been a disappointment so far.  But that is another topic.

« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2005, 03:55:45 PM »

Why not just pick YOUR team nah Jahyouth.

« Reply #14 on: March 10, 2005, 04:08:25 PM »

Jahyouth, no offence eh, but ah find since we come on this new board... yuh get ah kinda superior attitude... waz da one?

Post your team and leh we get some serious discussion (i.e. no name calling)

« Reply #15 on: March 10, 2005, 04:38:28 PM »
LB: Garfield Reid, Jamaica/Ham-Kam FC
CB: Ezra Hendrickson , St. Vincent & the Grenadines/Charleston Battery
CB: Jean Jacques Pierre, Haiti/Penarol
RB: Brent Sancho, Trinidad & Tobago/Dundee
LM: Ricardo Gardner, Jamaica/Bolton Wanderers
CM: Andy Williams, Jamaica/Real Salt Lake
CM: Shalrie Joseph, Grenada/NE Revolution
RM: Kenwayne Jones, Trinidad & Tobago/Southampton
ST: Lester More, Cuba/Ciego de Avila (Most lethal striker in the CFU in my book)
ST: Onandi Lowe, Jamaica/FC Dallas

« Reply #16 on: March 10, 2005, 04:51:34 PM »
So wait....yuh pick de same side as SAM except fuh Cornel Glen and Dog????

And yuh complain bout de number a Trini on de team?

So fuh argument sake...which part a Hendrickson better dan Dog?

Which part a Hendrickson even better than Anton Pierre?  Jes checkin.

And even doh Onandi Lowe would mek my team...he wouldn't make it before Stern John just based on stats alone...the most prolific scorer for his country from the Caribbean bar none.

But.....everybody have dem own opinion ent?

« Reply #17 on: March 10, 2005, 05:14:26 PM »
I wouldn't pick Lowe because he hasn't played football for the better part of a year.

« Reply #18 on: March 10, 2005, 06:32:34 PM »
I wouldn't pick Lowe because he hasn't played football for the better part of a year.

Cyah argue dah one wit yuh.  But Lowe has traditionally been a handful for any opponent...especially those from the Caribbean.

« Reply #19 on: March 11, 2005, 03:40:26 AM »
We are the only caribbean team in the Hex presently and our players will also get better as time goes on and we settle a team.... we deserve to have 5 T&T starters on that team... I believe we did bad at the Digicel Cup because of poor coaching and poor selection of players apart from injuries.......

No way on earth Ezra Hendrickson could be better than Marvin Andrews...... Andrews is de best defender in Scotland. Ezra Hendrickson cant even start for he MLS side, he so slow he does make Andrews look like Ato.

Onandi Lowe might be good yea, but good for jail.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2005, 08:39:13 AM by Sam »

« Reply #20 on: March 11, 2005, 04:06:49 PM »
Sam, you called a good team there, great balance also, I cant add anything to that...

« Reply #21 on: March 15, 2005, 03:30:11 AM »
Sam, you called a good team there, great balance also, I cant add anything to that...

Yea man..

Offline mcaw

« Reply #22 on: March 20, 2005, 12:03:47 PM »
if there was a all carribean team and they went to the world cup the 20 would be

1.Shaka Hislop gk.........porthsmouth{eng},trinidad and tobago
2.Donavan Ricketts.......bradford city {emg}jamaica
3.Jose Pierre Farfan.....PSG{france}martinique
4.Frank Sinclair...........Burnley {eng}jamaica
5.Micheal Jonston........Derby county{eng}jamica
6.Marvin Andrews.......Rangers{scotland}trinidad and tobago
7.Ricardo Gardener ......Bolton {eng}jamaica
8.Ian Goodison..............Tranmere Rovers{eng}Jamaica
9.Micha Hyde.................Burnely{eng}Jamaica
10.Shasarie Joseph...........Ne Revolution{usa}Grenada
11.Kenwyne Jones.........Stoke city {eng}Trinidad and tobago
12.Theador Whitmore.........Tranmere Rovers {emg}Jamaica
13.Charles Edouard Goridon.........Psg{france}Martinique
14.Carlos Edwards........Wrexam f.c{Eng}Trinidad and Tobago
15.Andy williams............Chicago fire {usa}Jamaica
16.Pierre ,Jean Jaques..........Penarol{uraguary}Hait
17.Jason Roberts................Wigan Athletic{eng}Grenada
18.Stern John....................Coventry City{eng}Trinidad and Tobago
19.Damani Ralph..................Chicago fire{usa}Jamaica
20.Frederic Piquianne ...........St.Ettienne{france}Martinique

Starting line up

......................................HISLOP..........................................

......................................Andrews.......................................

Sinclair............................Farfan........................................Gardener

.....................................Hyde................................................

Jones...........................Joseph..........................................Goridon

........................John......................Roberts.............................

team coach ;russel latapy

9-jamaica
6 -T*T
3-Martiique
2-Grenada
1-Hait

« Reply #23 on: March 21, 2005, 03:25:13 PM »
Matthew !!!

Obviously you going by name....

Because, Frank Sinclair (own goal specialist), Micheal Johnson, Ricketts and Micha Hyde eh making no caribbean allstars team, not even de bench, them men NOT ready.... as for Whitmore and Goddison, hell no, them men ole now, they are a shadow of themself now.. they not even on de JA national team.

Offline mcaw

« Reply #24 on: March 21, 2005, 03:50:51 PM »
but boss all these players are playing in a champion ship team in englanld and are all starters .IN fact the own goal specialist u called is the captain of his club and played in the fa cup quater final .The jamacians have all retired from international football and are doing much better than our retireies.
So are u saying that arnol dawricka a player on our side is not playing in his shadow if he even has one?????????????as a footballer arnold has not really achived anything as the highest form of football he has played besides the ssfl and the pro league is the scottish 2 nd divison........and how is can avery john and brent sancho feature in the six defenders i gave these players are all playing a higher quality of football and are always playing ,un like sancho????????and avery john is playing in the mls he  might in the future reach their level but is no where there yet..............
I love my contry but these players just simply cannot make the cut over the jamacians i called i am looking at quality not nationallity

Offline StoreBayLimer

FIFA Rankings: T&T (60th); Guatemala (62nd); Costa Rica (21st)
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2005, 09:12:27 PM »

But recall that Guatemala beat Costa Rica (2:0, or 2:1)  in Guatemala in the  WCQ round last year. 

We need an Eastern Caribbean Football Federation.

Re: FIFA Rankings: T&T (60th); Guatemala (62nd); Costa Rica (21st)
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2005, 09:29:42 PM »
What part ah Grenada you from?

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #27 on: March 24, 2005, 05:43:22 PM »
What part ah Grenada you from?

I prefer to answer technical questions. Hence if you are asking about Grenada, Grenada is now ranked  148th.  Note that St Vincent (ranked 135) gave T&T a lot of trouble.

My post implicitely contained a prediction.

If we are to move past the last 15 years of dissapointments, then the answer is an Eastern Caribbean Football Federation/Association.   All the talk about firing the coach is the same old  nonesense.

Here is a preliminary look at the EC team, if that team would be playing Guatemala on Saturday.

F:   Stern John,        Trinidad and Tobago/Coventry City
F:  Jason Roberts,  Grenada/Wigan Athletic
MF:  Cornell Glen, Trinidad & Tobago/FC Dallas
MF: Shalrie Joseph, Grenada/NE Revolution
MF:  Sheldon Emmanuel,   St. Lucia
MF:  Dwight Yorke, Trinidad
CB: Marvin Andrews, Trinidad & Tobago/Rangers
CB: Ezra Hendrickson , St. Vincent & the Grenadines/Charleston Battery
RB: Brent Sancho, Trinidad & Tobago/Dundee
LB:  Marlon Rojas (T&T, Real Salt Lake) 

Subs:

Vincent Casimir (Dominica),  Anton Pierre,  Kenwyne Jones (Trinidad & Tobago/Southampton ), Arnold Dwarika (T&T/Gaungzhou FC),   Shandel Samuel (St. Vincent), +++ , plus

« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2005, 07:50:48 PM »
yUH KNOW DE General Post Office on Lagoon Road?

HAHAHAHAHAHA

Ease up breds, me eh care dat you is ah Grenadian, big up.

Ah did hit 2 Grenadian girls on Grand Anse Beach in 2000...at de same time  :P

Offline nikkodemus

Unification?
« Reply #29 on: September 19, 2005, 01:14:50 PM »
Just how we have a united cricket team... what the called? the West Indies cricket team. why we don't have a West Indies fotball because Trinidad on their one not really reaching to far. but, for instance, take Kelvin Jack and put him in Jamaica with John ad Yorke, and we should reach  Germany, no?
Strachan