April 17, 2024, 08:27:20 PM

Author Topic: Who have the best name in the SSFL ?  (Read 3559 times)

Who have the best name in the SSFL ?
« on: November 04, 2010, 09:16:53 AM »

I from Arima but I must admit, ah love de name Green Machine, it bad for days. St Augustine come real good they, ah wonder who came up with them names ?

Anybody know de names for all de other schools ?

Tallman, wha yuh !!!!

Re: Who have the best name in the SSFL ?
« Reply #1 on: November 04, 2010, 09:25:33 AM »

I from Arima but I must admit, ah love de name Green Machine, it bad for days. St Augustine come real good they, ah wonder who came up with them names ?

Anybody know de names for all de other schools ?

Tallman, wha yuh !!!!

Eldo is "Blue Thunder"... most likely taken from the 80s movie.

but yuh right... nutten beats de "Green Machine:beermug:

« Reply #2 on: November 04, 2010, 09:31:46 AM »
Dial Dynamos...talk done!!!

« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2010, 09:49:41 AM »
The La Romain Lions sums it up. Benedicts all the way.

« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2010, 10:36:43 AM »
North
Mucurapo - Compre
QRC - Royalians
St. Anthony's - Westmooring Tigers
St. Mary's - Saints
Trinity - Moka Boys

South
Benedicts - La Romaine Lions
Naparima - Naps/Broadway Boys
Pleasantville - Maroon Platoon
Presentation - Pres/Lions
Princes Town - Green Hornets

East
Arima - Dial Dynamos
El Dorado - Blue Thunder
San Juan - Bourg Mulatresse Boys
St. Augustine - Green Machine

Central
Carapichaima - Caps

« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2010, 10:55:14 AM »
North
Mucurapo - Compre
QRC - Royalians
St. Mary's - Saints
Trinity - Moka Boys

South

East
Arima - Dial Dynamos
El Dorado - Blue Thunder

Central
Carapichaima - Caps

My nominees in order are:

1. Green Machine
2. Saints
3. Blue Thunder
4. Broadway Boys

Blue Thunder real passe doh... nice name but de relevance went out like Jheri Curl and name belt.

QRC should condider changing dey name tuh de 'Regents' or something... Royalians doh really make any sense.

Speaking of which, some of the other names either eh make any sense ("Westmooring Tigers", "Lions") or come off like they trying too hard ("Maroon Platoon"... but that catchy, ah'll gih dem ah bligh; "La Romaine Lions"; "Dial Dynamos")

« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2010, 01:09:41 PM »
North
Mucurapo - Compre
QRC - Royalians
St. Mary's - Saints
Trinity - Moka Boys

South

East
Arima - Dial Dynamos
El Dorado - Blue Thunder

Central
Carapichaima - Caps

1. Green Machine
2. Saints
3. Blue Thunder
4. Broadway Boys

Blue Thunder real passe doh... nice name but de relevance went out like Jheri Curl and name belt.

QRC should condider changing dey name tuh de 'Regents' or something... Royalians doh really make any sense.

Speaking of which, some of the other names either eh make any sense ("Westmooring Tigers", "Lions") or come off like they trying too hard ("Maroon Platoon"... but that catchy, ah'll gih dem ah bligh; "La Romaine Lions"; "Dial Dynamos")

When I was a yute the Press used to call Fatima the Mucurapo Road Boys.
Not the most catchy of names and I used to vex becz it was mentiong Mucurapo and dey had Mucurapo Sr. Sec.

School around for 65 yrs and I not aware of any nickname.
I guess Fatima will do  :)

« Reply #7 on: November 04, 2010, 02:44:09 PM »

1. Green Machine
2. Saints
3. Blue Thunder
4. Broadway Boys

Broadway Boys? Sound like the kinda fellas does be singing in a Gershwin musical and giving each other back rub after the show.

« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2010, 03:35:30 PM »
Broadway Boys? Sound like the kinda fellas does be singing in a Gershwin musical and giving each other back rub after the show.

If dai'z de first thing that come to yuh mind maybe is time fuh ah li'l introspection... and ah key to de closet  :devil:

« Reply #9 on: November 04, 2010, 03:38:00 PM »
Dial Dynamos...talk done!!!
NUFF SAID!!!

« Reply #10 on: November 04, 2010, 05:19:28 PM »
Whey's Dread... and Malick ent have none?

In all fairness I have to say Green Machine (CEPEP :devil:) and Blue Thunder is the two coolest ones from all those I hear, though I give a honourable attention for the Maroon Platoon (first time I hearing it)

Saints have something classic about it, though even as a Saints man, I would admit it kind boring.

Dial Dynamos just trying too hard and failing badly...

« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2010, 05:31:30 PM »

At times dey have been refered to as de Morvant Boys

« Reply #12 on: November 04, 2010, 06:00:50 PM »

At times dey have been refered to as de Morvant Boys

At times dey have also been referred to as More Licks, but that ent dey name either :devil:

« Reply #13 on: November 04, 2010, 06:04:56 PM »
North
Mucurapo - Compre
QRC - Royalians
St. Mary's - Saints
Trinity - Moka Boys

South

East
Arima - Dial Dynamos
El Dorado - Blue Thunder
San Juan - Bourg Mulatresse BoysSt. Augustine - Green Machine

Central
Carapichaima - Caps

Just "The Bourg" would have been boss

« Reply #14 on: November 04, 2010, 08:12:45 PM »
Presentation College was known as the Pussy Cats not no lions! :devil:

« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2010, 08:56:55 PM »
What about the Tobago teams?  What they name?
Signal Hill -
Bishop's -
Mason Hall -
Roxborough -
any more?

« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2010, 09:15:56 PM »
What about the Tobago teams?  What they name?
Signal Hill -
Bishop's -
Mason Hall -
Roxborough -
any more?
Add Scarborough

« Reply #17 on: November 09, 2010, 06:46:59 AM »

Tallman, defend yourself.... 8)

« Reply #18 on: November 09, 2010, 10:31:14 AM »

Tallman, defend yourself.... 8)

Ah cyar say nutten. Ah tink de only match we win dis year was on penalties.  :(

« Reply #19 on: November 09, 2010, 11:37:25 AM »

1. Green Machine
2. Saints
3. Blue Thunder
4. Broadway Boys

:rotfl: that nickname sounding more suitable for Fatima

« Reply #20 on: November 09, 2010, 01:54:50 PM »
North
Mucurapo - Compre
QRC - Royalians
St. Mary's - Saints
Trinity - Moka Boys

South

East
Arima - Dial Dynamos
El Dorado - Blue Thunder

Central
Carapichaima - Caps

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #21 on: November 10, 2010, 08:36:45 AM »

I doh understand the problem there...Trinidadians doh make sense to you either or what?

We from the Royal College. That's what it means.

« Reply #22 on: November 10, 2010, 09:03:29 AM »
NAPS.

« Reply #23 on: November 10, 2010, 10:34:50 AM »

I doh understand the problem there...Trinidadians doh make sense to you either or what?

Who said there was a "problem"?  Royalians makes no sense to me... it's a contrived word, if it makes sense to you then great. 

« Reply #24 on: November 10, 2010, 10:49:10 AM »

Oy.. Oy...  >:(

« Reply #25 on: November 11, 2010, 09:56:48 AM »
Maroon Platoon is a unusual and a good name and I am not from P'Ville but must admit it decent.=.

1. Maroon Platoon
2. Green Machine
3. Green Hornets
4. La Romaine Lions
5. Blue Thunder
6. Dial Dynamos
7. Saints
8. Westmooring Tigers

Broadway Boys and Caps is a stupid names.

And anything ending with BOYS is dum.

« Reply #26 on: November 11, 2010, 12:16:25 PM »

Who said there was a "problem"?  Royalians makes no sense to me... it's a contrived word, if it makes sense to you then great. 
Trinidadians contrived too...that is the point.

« Reply #27 on: November 11, 2010, 01:38:58 PM »
Trinidadians contrived too...that is the point.

Actually "Trinidadians" isn't contrived at all, it fits with the convention used in describing the citizens of many countries.  Last I checked "Royal" isn't a country, hence in my opinion (yuh doh have to agree), it makes no sense, or comes off as contrived to construct a nickname using the same convention.  If yuh taking offense now ah could only imagine if ah did call it stupid.  Better imagination coulda been used to find a nickname associated with either queen or royal... like monarchs, emperors, regents etc.  But if alumni happy with it then dai'z all that matters.

Maroon Platoon catchy... but is ah obvious rip off of 'green machine'.