April 20, 2024, 03:24:09 AM

Author Topic: "You'll Never Walk Alone" - de Official Liverpool thread  (Read 463306 times)

Re: "You'll Never Walk Alone" - de Official Liverpool thread
« Reply #1560 on: October 07, 2011, 12:46:14 PM »
10 Things that make Liverpool FC Great...

Number 4 have some real nice all-time goals from about halfway in the vid.

Thanks for remining me why I am a fan of this great club.
Ditto
felt chills while reading the few points bout the Hillsborough disaster and the minute silence during the Milan v Madrid game.

Good article  :beermug:

Same here... I always tried to avoid dwelling on Hillsborough in particular, but the part by Grobelaar where  he said the fans were calling out to him... had to blink back tears at that part  :'(

Four days later, the Milan fans singing "You'll Never Walk Alone" for the dead Liverpool fans... no other sport like football... no other club in the world like LFC  :beermug:

« Reply #1561 on: October 08, 2011, 07:13:20 AM »
Four days later, the Milan fans singing "You'll Never Walk Alone"

Don't forget Leo Beenhakker had a role in that as well, as manager of Real Madrid at the time.  :beermug:

« Reply #1562 on: October 14, 2011, 03:06:09 AM »
Big game on the weekend... so many things to get right if we are to defeat United.  Stevie G. should start his first game... Aurelio, Agger and Johnson back fit, so squad will be healthy if nothing else. United vulnerable at the back, but so too are we.  Interesting points from the article below:

United have allowed 131 shots on goal... not counting the ones blocked. 
Of those 44 have been on target, 5 goals, 39 saves. 
The 131 SOG and 39 saves are tops in the league... good that De Gea saving a healthy percentage, but not good that he getting peppered like that.

Not sure what Liverpool's SOG is for the season, but of the shots on target there were 32, 24 saves and 8 goals.  So Reina seeing less bullet, but he letting in more goals... Stoke penalty notwithstanding.

More discussed in the article 5 Things Kenny must get right against United...

« Reply #1563 on: October 14, 2011, 01:53:52 PM »
Very curious to see who makes way for Gerrard - Adam or Carroll? I feel like Carroll is finally on a good run, and having scored against Everton it would hit his confidence to drop him now. Having said that, Gerrard playing just behind Suarez could be very very effective...  :beermug:

Looking at our fixture list, after this we have a good run of teams we should beat, until Chelsea on November 20th. 3 pts tomorrow would be a great start..

« Reply #1564 on: October 14, 2011, 02:57:50 PM »
Very curious to see who makes way for Gerrard - Adam or Carroll? I feel like Carroll is finally on a good run, and having scored against Everton it would hit his confidence to drop him now. Having said that, Gerrard playing just behind Suarez could be very very effective...  :beermug:

Looking at our fixture list, after this we have a good run of teams we should beat, until Chelsea on November 20th. 3 pts tomorrow would be a great start..

Yeah I think yuh have to leave Carroll in the lineup... we have to test De Gea early and often.

side note:  LeBron James in town for the match with Man U.
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150456661852573.406164.67920382572&type=1

« Reply #1565 on: October 15, 2011, 06:43:38 AM »
0-0 at the half. Nothing game to be honest.  Man U start a B squad and yet Liverpool can't make a note.  No Rooney, Nani, Berba, Chicharito... Jones playing holding mid. Complete psych game, with tons of firepower on the bench for Man U.

Dalglish surprising bench Carroll, for what, God only knows... to start Charlie mothertrucking Adams. Steups.  Five man middle with Adams and Lucas in CM with Gerrard wide right, Kuyt middle and Downing left... Suarez alone up top. Not one fart to show fuh it... save a tepid, and wasted effort in the 35' by Suarez.

« Reply #1566 on: October 15, 2011, 07:12:47 AM »
Giggs, yuh lapse dey.

« Reply #1567 on: October 15, 2011, 07:13:03 AM »
Yes....Welcome back, Stevie Wonder!

« Reply #1568 on: October 15, 2011, 07:14:14 AM »
After a nice, foraging run by Adam...

« Reply #1569 on: October 15, 2011, 07:14:44 AM »
1-0 Liverpool... Gerrard with a free kick in the 68'. Giggs completely mess up, pulling away from Wellbeck and creating the gap for the shot. Nani and Rooney on.

« Reply #1570 on: October 15, 2011, 07:18:23 AM »
Charlie Adam is rubbish.

« Reply #1571 on: October 15, 2011, 07:18:31 AM »
Surprisingly rookie mistake by veteran Giggs

« Reply #1572 on: October 15, 2011, 07:21:37 AM »
We throwing all we forwards in the mix  :cursing:

« Reply #1573 on: October 15, 2011, 07:24:06 AM »
Steups

« Reply #1574 on: October 15, 2011, 07:24:33 AM »
Chicharito with the equalizer... steups

Kuyt pulling out a fantastic save from De Gea on the other end.  Game screaming fuh Bellamy.

« Reply #1575 on: October 15, 2011, 07:34:56 AM »
Keeper! Da Gea!

« Reply #1576 on: October 15, 2011, 07:38:29 AM »
Keeper! Da Gea!

He was fabulous... Dalglish pick ah very ineffective side.  All credit to United to salvage a point from this game.

« Reply #1577 on: October 15, 2011, 07:39:02 AM »
Finally I can say, what a game Liverpool!!!!!  Man Utd pussy footing around the field, going forward with utmost caution, no creativity. Whereas on the other side football was on display. Well done.  :beermug:

« Reply #1578 on: October 15, 2011, 07:43:58 AM »
Finally I can say, what a game Liverpool!!!!!  Man Utd pussy footing around the field, going forward with utmost caution, no creativity. Whereas on the other side football was on display. Well done.  :beermug:

Ferguson has respect for Dalgish and vice versa.  Good second half, with slight edge to 'Pool who were thwarted by some good goolkeeping by De Gea: he coming good!  Henderson had a decent half, but probably should have had one for himself.  Overall, a fair result.

« Reply #1579 on: October 15, 2011, 09:00:31 AM »
Anyone see Lebron James decked out stepping off a bus, with Liverpool scarf around his neck?  Looking for photo, but none so far. ;D  The Liverpool brand is going to the next level. Shrewd biz by FSG.

« Reply #1580 on: October 15, 2011, 09:59:09 AM »
Anyone see Lebron James decked out stepping off a bus, with Liverpool scarf around his neck?  Looking for photo, but none so far. ;D  The Liverpool brand is going to the next level. Shrewd biz by FSG.

Yeah ah spot that... yuh ent see the link earlier with him touring Anfield?  Photos were posted both on his and the Liverpool FC Facebook pages.

« Reply #1581 on: October 15, 2011, 10:26:06 AM »

Yeah ah spot that... yuh ent see the link earlier with him touring Anfield?  Photos were posted both on his and the Liverpool FC Facebook pages.

Only saw it when I Googled for today's pics.

« Reply #1582 on: October 15, 2011, 10:28:30 AM »
Pool play like a big side today.

« Reply #1583 on: October 15, 2011, 02:05:10 PM »
Reports are emerging that Evra is claiming Suarez racially abused him...I really hope it isn't true..

« Reply #1584 on: October 15, 2011, 02:10:07 PM »
Evra looked pretty upset with him so I wouldnt doubt things were said... I love Suarez the player but that is inexcusable , hope its not true too but cant see Evra lying about something like that

« Reply #1585 on: October 15, 2011, 02:34:04 PM »
Evra looked pretty upset with him so I wouldnt doubt things were said... I love Suarez the player but that is inexcusable , hope its not true too but cant see Evra lying about something like that

Evra is a imps... I like the guy more than most other players on that squad but he has a strong undercurrent of jackass to his personality.  Would Suarez racially abuse him and then pat him on the head to make peace?  Possible... but unlikely.  Was it the racial abuse that had him rolling around on the ground by the corner flag?  Then after that, what was his excuse for getting into it with Kuyt?  Sounds to me like he's trying to justify the hotheadedness.

« Reply #1586 on: October 15, 2011, 02:56:32 PM »
Evra look like he wake up on the wrong side of the bed dis morning....Soldier was pissed off even before the kick off whistle blow....

« Reply #1587 on: October 15, 2011, 03:16:10 PM »
He is a passionate player, as much as he's been shit lately for United today he was much better and thats because he was completely up for the game... loved when he kissed the badge in front of the Kop

Hopefully he is back

« Reply #1588 on: October 16, 2011, 08:46:18 AM »
From Suarez's official Facebook page:

Luis Suarez: I'm upset by the acusations of racism. I can only say that I have always respected and respect everybody. We are all the same. I go to the field with the maximum illusion of a little child who enjoys what he does, not to create conflicts.

« Reply #1589 on: October 16, 2011, 08:51:02 AM »
I will be very disappointed if the allegations turn out to be true... but at the same time this is the third or fourth time that Evra has accused someone of racism... all the others were unfounded.