April 15, 2024, 11:44:27 PM

Author Topic: "You'll Never Walk Alone" - de Official Liverpool thread  (Read 462614 times)

Re: "You'll Never Walk Alone" - de Official Liverpool thread
« Reply #390 on: March 21, 2009, 07:27:51 AM »
Before they give that fool he marching f**kking papers?

steups

I agree with you. Rafa is not the man to take Liverpool to multiple Premier League titles, much less one.

He is more effective at European competitions than domestic ones and changes his roster way too much.

i feel at the end of the season, the owners will be singing a different song bout rafa.

« Reply #391 on: March 21, 2009, 10:49:23 AM »
Trying to stay calm here.... :)

Liverpool vs Villa SO important tomorrow... :beermug:

« Reply #392 on: March 21, 2009, 11:08:58 AM »

steups

I agree with you. Rafa is not the man to take Liverpool to multiple Premier League titles, much less one.

He is more effective at European competitions than domestic ones and changes his roster way too much.

I usually defer to managers... as I like to say there's a reason dem managing and I posting.  But nah man, Rafa shows NO imagination whatsoever and I fear that complacency has set in with this side.

Still time left...

« Reply #393 on: March 21, 2009, 11:09:05 AM »

This game will literally make or break Liverpool's season as far as its title aspirations are concerned.

Despite the fatigue and picong that Liverpool and ManU supporters give each other on this forum, Man Utd is too good of a club to stay in a slump in form for long, so Liverpool HAS to seize their chance tomorrow.

Anything less than a win tomorrow will effectively signal the death knell to Liverpool's title hopes.

« Reply #394 on: March 21, 2009, 11:34:01 AM »
What can you do tomorrow  ???

« Reply #395 on: March 21, 2009, 11:42:16 AM »

steups

I usually defer to managers... as I like to say there's a reason dem managing and I posting.  But nah man, Rafa shows NO imagination whatsoever and I fear that complacency has set in with this side.

Still time left...
it seem like evry year he spend in the EPL so far he has learnt something new
example this year he now realize he can't rotate and disrupt the chemistry
but then again he alienate certain players and was too self serving in his contract dealing
i just feel we should give him one more year cause i ent really think he has failed as much as most people would like to think
especially if we end up in the CL final and finish 2nd in the league

« Reply #396 on: March 21, 2009, 11:43:37 AM »

This game will literally make or break Liverpool's season as far as its title aspirations are concerned.

Despite the fatigue and picong that Liverpool and ManU supporters give each other on this forum, Man Utd is too good of a club to stay in a slump in form for long, so Liverpool HAS to seize their chance tomorrow.

Anything less than a win tomorrow will effectively signal the death knell to Liverpool's title hopes.
ditto
that Fulham loss was an unexpected bonus for us and Chelsea
they didnt take advantage  :P
hopefully we can tomorrow

« Reply #397 on: March 21, 2009, 12:02:28 PM »
Liverpool v Aston Villa preview

Anfield is primed for a top-of-the-table clash on Sunday as Liverpool entertain Aston Villa.
The hosts still harbour title aspirations following last weekend's 4-1 humbling of Manchester United, while Villa continue to pursue a top-four finish.
It is the Reds who will enter the game as strong favourites, though, as they have found form at a crucial stage of the season.
They also boast an impressive record this season against those sides flying high in the Premier League table, going unbeaten through six games against teams inside the top five.
Rafa Benitez's men are unbeaten in 14 against the current top 10 and have gone 25 games on home soil since they last tasted defeat.
They can also boast the formidable partnership of Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres within their ranks, with the Reds unbeaten on the nine occasions in which the pair have started alongside each other this season.
They have scored 11 goals between them in those nine games, while Gerrard has scored more Premier League goals (six) against Villa than any other team.
As if the task facing Villa was not already difficult enough, Martin O'Neill's men have started to wobble badly of late.
They have failed to win any of their last seven games in all competitions and have slipped out of the UEFA Champions League places.
Villa have won only one of their six matches against the big four this season and are yet to secure a top flight victory over Liverpool in 14 attempts.

Liverpool will be hoping that Xabi Alonso shakes off a slight knock in time to take his place in midfield.
The Spaniard has been nursing a calf strain of late but could be fit enough to make the crunch clash.
Yossi Benayoun is sidelined with a hamstring injury, Philipp Degen has a groin strain but Alvaro Arbeloa could come into contention after tweaking a hamstring prior to the Reds' Old Trafford success.
Daniel Agger is another notable absentee as he continues to nurse a back complaint.

Striker John Carew is pushing hard for a return to the Aston Villa starting line-up after convincing O'Neill he is back to full fitness following a back problem.
The Norwegian international heads for Anfield having netted twice as a substitute recently against Stoke and Tottenham, and will battle with Emile Heskey and goal-shy Gabriel Agbonlahor for a place.
O'Neill has to decide whether left-back Wilfred Bouma is ready to play any part after eight months out of action with a dislocated ankle.
Midfielder Steve Sidwell could also come into the equation after returning to training following a recent ankle setback.

Possible starting XIs
Liverpool: Reina, Carragher, Skrtel, Hyypia, Aurelio, Mascherano, Lucas, Kuyt, Gerrard, Riera, Torres.

Villa: Friedel, Cuellar, Davies, Knight, Luke Young, Milner, Petrov, Barry, Ashley Young, Agbonlahor, Heskey.

Rafa da Gaffa..just make sure and get yuh team selection right
hopefully Arbeloa, Xabi and Benayoun back
just don't start Dossena or have him playing left back :praying:

« Reply #398 on: March 21, 2009, 12:35:44 PM »
but then again he alienate certain players and was too self serving in his contract dealing
i just feel we should give him one more year cause i ent really think he has failed as much as most people would like to think

Feliziano... see dai'z de thing, given our history and pedigree as a club I think we should be aspiring to more than just that.

« Reply #399 on: March 21, 2009, 12:41:57 PM »

Feliziano... see dai'z de thing, given our history and pedigree as a club I think we should be aspiring to more than just that.
even de supporters have no belief.

« Reply #400 on: March 22, 2009, 02:20:13 AM »

If Rafa Benitez was cut from the same cloth as Kenny Dalglish, then maybe I would be more confident.

However, for now, I am cautiously optimistic.

« Reply #401 on: March 22, 2009, 06:42:55 AM »

thinking like panday....... 2nd place good enough.

GO VILLA (not capri eh  :rotfl:)

« Reply #402 on: March 22, 2009, 07:06:46 AM »

If Rafa Benitez was cut from the same cloth as Kenny Dalglish, then maybe I would be more confident.

yeah is true we should be aiming for #1 everytime but what if he had won the EPL in his 1st season then nothing after that..then people woulda start saying it ws a fluke etc lol
i think the squad has grown from strength to strenght..besides the time like firing Paco Ayesteran or selling Warnock
Rafa needs to just manage the team and avoid the sopa opera shit
if we fire Rafa who available right now to take over?
i would like to see Kenny Dalglish back

« Reply #403 on: March 22, 2009, 08:34:13 AM »

yeah is true we should be aiming for #1 everytime but what if he had won the EPL in his 1st season then nothing after that..then people woulda start saying it ws a fluke etc lol
i think the squad has grown from strength to strenght..besides the time like firing Paco Ayesteran or selling Warnock
Rafa needs to just manage the team and avoid the sopa opera shit
if we fire Rafa who available right now to take over?
i would like to see Kenny Dalglish back

Agreed. Ferguson is an expert at handling verbal exchanges at opposing coaches and Rafa's tirade against him and the referees will only backfire.

He just needs to focus on teh home stretch now and avoid the verbal war with Ferguson.

« Reply #404 on: March 22, 2009, 10:12:25 AM »
huh.kuyt in de 8th

« Reply #405 on: March 22, 2009, 10:12:50 AM »
Captain Fantastic with a brilliant free kick off the bar... rebound smashed home by Kuyt in the 8'.

1-0 Liverpool

« Reply #406 on: March 22, 2009, 10:24:47 AM »
damn

« Reply #407 on: March 22, 2009, 10:35:31 AM »
'Pool played all over Villa in the first 15 but the game has evened out now, Villa with Heskey and Carew in particular, are starting to threaten.

Still 1-0 in the 31'

EDIT:

Riera with a brilliant looping first-time volley off a direct kick from Reina... past a hapless Friedel.

2-0 Liverpool in the 33'
« Last Edit: March 22, 2009, 10:38:20 AM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #408 on: March 22, 2009, 10:39:11 AM »
this victory will move liverpool up to 2nd in the laliga standings

« Reply #409 on: March 22, 2009, 10:39:56 AM »
this victory will move liverpool up to 2nd in the laliga standings
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #410 on: March 22, 2009, 10:43:05 AM »
Silly foul by Reo-Coker in the box.

3-0 Liverpool

Gerrard with the penalty in the 40'

« Reply #411 on: March 22, 2009, 10:54:21 AM »
im not sure but i think im having feelings for liverpool

« Reply #412 on: March 22, 2009, 11:03:10 AM »

Come over to the REAL reds, not the imposters from Manchester.

« Reply #413 on: March 22, 2009, 11:08:10 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :D

« Reply #414 on: March 22, 2009, 11:13:02 AM »
Captain Fantastic with the free kick...

4-0 Liverpool in the 50'

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #415 on: March 22, 2009, 11:15:48 AM »

4-0 Liverpool in the 50'

3 times in 3 games!!! impressive

« Reply #416 on: March 22, 2009, 11:16:23 AM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :D
yuh jockeys gettin tight.

« Reply #417 on: March 22, 2009, 11:18:24 AM »

4-0 Liverpool in the 50'

What I cannot believe is that people still Question Rafa's ability.  What a joke!

Offline scarface

• ultra del vicchia signora
« Reply #418 on: March 22, 2009, 11:22:28 AM »

4-0 Liverpool in the 50'

What I cannot believe is that people still Question Rafa's ability.  What a joke!

that is cuz ppl look at these last 3 games and then wonder y the hell were they drawing against the like of stoke & blackburn at home?! & doh say injuries....cuz top teams shud be able to cope wit injuries to a few players..that is d point of havin a big squad such as liverpool's

« Reply #419 on: March 22, 2009, 11:28:52 AM »

Ability... no.

Performance... yes.

This is nothing new for Liverpool... we're still in second place after all.  When we were at the top of the table 2-3 months ago the team performed horribly... failing to take maximum points from the likes of Hull and Stokes.  Two measurable differences in the team since then have been the return of Torres and the departure of Keane.  He finally seems to have ditched the failed 'rotation' policy and players know they can settle down and just play football.