April 26, 2024, 10:50:19 PM

Author Topic: Carlisle lose Birchall to US move  (Read 6276 times)

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
Carlisle lose Birchall to US move
« on: December 31, 2008, 05:20:55 AM »
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/c/carlisle_united/7805829.stm

Carlisle United will lose the services of on-loan Coventry City midfielder Chris Birchall after the 24-year-old opted for a move to America instead.

The Trinidad & Tobago international joined for a month in November but has made just two appearances.

"We couldn't compete with the deal that he has been offered in America," manager Greg Abbott told the club official website.

"We have to accept that Birchall is moving on."

Birchall, born in Stafford, began his career with Port Vale and attracted the attentions of the Trinidad & Tobago Football Federation when it was learned that his mother was born in Port of Spain.

He then appeared at the 2006 World Cup in Germany where his appearances for Trinidad earned him a move to the Ricoh Arena.
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

Re: Carlisle lose Birchall to US move
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2008, 05:29:36 AM »
OK where in America?

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2008, 06:29:13 AM »
OK where in America?

that is exactly what I was thinking!!

« Reply #3 on: December 31, 2008, 06:38:50 AM »
http://www.carlisleunited.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10361~1504330,00.html

Even his club's official site doesn't say where he's going...  :-X

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2008, 07:38:36 AM »
Assuming they are referring to the MLS, I would not mind seeing him at Toronto FC, but that is just me wanting to see the man play. That being said, TFC could use a hard working midfielder like CB.
well yes

« Reply #5 on: December 31, 2008, 07:58:31 AM »
The bad thing for T&T is that today is his last day at Carlisle and the MLS doesn't get going until 21st March 2009. Hope he'll be ready for our qualifier in February.

« Reply #6 on: December 31, 2008, 08:02:09 AM »
Could CB play for a club in TT for a short while until his contract is due to start?

« Reply #7 on: December 31, 2008, 08:06:49 AM »
De MLS league done and will start back in April 2009, why didn't Birchall stay in England until April and join some lower team for 3 months just to stay fit ?

I feel Birchall coming in de States to play indoor soccer with Randi Patterson, that is de only league active on this side now.

I also hope Birchall goes Argentina with the T&T team for camp in two weeks.

« Reply #8 on: December 31, 2008, 08:12:37 AM »
De MLS league done and will start back in April 2009, why didn't Birchall stay in England until April and join some lower team for 3 months just to stay fit ?

I feel Birchall coming in de States to play indoor soccer with Randi Patterson, that is de only league active on this side now.

I also hope Birchall goes Argentina with the T&T team for camp in two weeks.

I doubt an indoor soccer club can offer such a "lucrative" contract that Carlisle would not be able to match. I like the Argentina idea though, he should go if possible.

« Reply #9 on: December 31, 2008, 08:59:20 AM »
this doh surprise mih.

mls pre-season training is start round february i think for everybody but beckham.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2008, 09:02:10 AM »
OK where in America?

that is exactly what I was thinking!!

Me too, would be nice to go see a game or two...
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #11 on: December 31, 2008, 10:32:33 AM »
I really hope things work out for this youth ... I have alot of respect for him and he having a tough time ....hope he get a fresh opportunity.

Offline pufftrini

« Reply #12 on: December 31, 2008, 11:14:35 AM »
TFC has the inside track on Birchy
every man has the right to an opinion but that does not give him the right to be a jackass

« Reply #13 on: December 31, 2008, 11:25:32 AM »
Good move for him.  MLS is a good stepping stone league for players to get to....England!

« Reply #14 on: December 31, 2008, 11:32:13 AM »
Good move for him.  MLS is a good stepping stone league for players to get to....England!

leh we hope is the MLS and not the USL..

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #15 on: December 31, 2008, 12:21:41 PM »
Good move man the only bad thing is MLS starting back April next year so no playing time for a while :(

« Reply #16 on: December 31, 2008, 12:39:22 PM »

Directional issue detected.

« Reply #17 on: December 31, 2008, 12:40:01 PM »

Surprised nobody eh saying Birchie is ah designated player

« Reply #18 on: December 31, 2008, 01:11:42 PM »
 Allyuh think this man  get 'blacklist' by the English for playing against  England?

« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2008, 01:27:07 PM »
Allyuh think this man  get 'blacklist' by the English for playing against  England?

Is ah long time now that I was thinking that. >:(

« Reply #20 on: December 31, 2008, 02:10:57 PM »

doubt it. he was actually sold to Coventry (a step up) after the World Cup. If he were blacklisted for playing for T&T, this prob. would not have happened. Also, current coach of Coventry, Chris Coleman is Welsh. I would guess he doesn't give a dam who plays for England. Really hard to imagine the entire English football community being able to reach some sort of consensus, far less agreeing to ruin the career of a player who was nowehere near the English national team set up. Guys like Ryan Giggs and Jason Roberts should have no career then....

Might have more to do with being a better defensive midfielder than a right sided one. Dunno..could just be he needs a little good fortune and a manager who believes in him.

« Reply #21 on: December 31, 2008, 02:30:03 PM »
Birchie will do well in MLS I wish him all the best

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #22 on: December 31, 2008, 02:42:19 PM »
I hope he comes to Toronto.  TFC don't have anyone who will work as hard off the ball.

But he need to keep/get fit for the Qualifiers...

« Reply #23 on: December 31, 2008, 03:00:15 PM »
Birchie will do well in MLS I wish him all the best

We need him at DC

« Reply #24 on: December 31, 2008, 03:00:35 PM »
I'm thinking that he is struggling on the wing but to me he is naturally a very hardworking player who is a shoe in for that defensive mid role could be an identity crisis of where he fits best into the coaches role...to me he is a typical english winger and you get them by the bunches plus he  isnt all that fast,  but as a defensive mid his grit is out there and he'll do well there

« Reply #25 on: December 31, 2008, 03:26:37 PM »

doubt it. he was actually sold to Coventry (a step up) after the World Cup. If he were blacklisted for playing for T&T, this prob. would not have happened. Also, current coach of Coventry, Chris Coleman is Welsh. I would guess he doesn't give a dam who plays for England. Really hard to imagine the entire English football community being able to reach some sort of consensus, far less agreeing to ruin the career of a player who was nowehere near the English national team set up. Guys like Ryan Giggs and Jason Roberts should have no career then....

Might have more to do with being a better defensive midfielder than a right sided one. Dunno..could just be he needs a little good fortune and a manager who believes in him.

I dunno why you even wasting yuh time...

« Reply #26 on: December 31, 2008, 04:40:36 PM »

I dunno why you even wasting yuh time...
Is  it confirmed  that  it is a move to the MLS?

« Reply #27 on: December 31, 2008, 07:02:11 PM »
Isnt there a club team in Mexico called America? ;D

« Reply #28 on: December 31, 2008, 07:14:29 PM »

leh we hope is the MLS and not the USL..
:rotfl: same thing i say.  lineing up in midfield with Telesfore with Puerto Rico Islanders  :rotfl:

« Reply #29 on: December 31, 2008, 09:21:17 PM »
Isnt there a club team in Mexico called America? ;D
There's also America de Cali... :D