April 19, 2024, 11:25:18 PM

Author Topic: How do you feel about a World Cup 2010 without Brazil?  (Read 3865 times)

How do you feel about a World Cup 2010 without Brazil?
« on: January 02, 2009, 02:49:16 PM »
I was just watching paraguay tear them apart and could'nt help notice how dismal there football has gotten over the years,plus all there opponents of recent seem to be going after them with no respect,that brazilian mystique is no longer there and I think it's going be difficult for them this rounds,what's your take............... 

Re: How do you feel about a World Cup 2010 without Brazil?
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2009, 02:53:21 PM »
I was just watching paraguay tear them apart and could'nt help notice how dismal there football has gotten over the years,plus all there opponents of recent seem to be going after them with no respect,that brazilian mystique is no longer there and I think it's going be difficult for them this rounds,what's your take............... 
Who won the copa america again???!!! ??? ???
« Last Edit: January 02, 2009, 02:55:51 PM by just cool »

Offline madness

« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2009, 02:56:12 PM »
everyone is getting better at the game

« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2009, 03:06:25 PM »
Who won the copa america again???!!! ??? ???

Yeah just cool they did win that but for me it was'nt convincing,but I guess a win is ah win,eventually dah kinda brand go ketch up with yuh case in point against paraguay,lets see how long it go last....

« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2009, 03:15:10 PM »
Brazil is a victim of their own international success

They lose their best players to europe before they even turn teenagers

While those young players may be identified as technically good. I believe that the true samba style football comes from being inculcated into the brazilian culture, it has its own personality.

From what i've seen of the modern team, they don't look very fluid nowadays. Solid yes cause those players come from the best european clubs but you can see the style of play is very different, almost european.

They may be better equipped to counter the Germans, Italians and the Spanish etc. but they will struggle a bit against south american opposition.

« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2009, 03:37:55 PM »
How did you feel about a Digicel Caribbean cup final without TNT?

« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2009, 04:46:25 PM »
Brazil will be most present don't worry.

« Reply #7 on: January 02, 2009, 05:14:12 PM »
Not an option.

« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2009, 05:42:05 PM »
It would feel like wiping yuh ass with yuh left hand.

« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2009, 06:11:10 PM »

instead of toilet paper?

« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2009, 06:33:56 PM »
i eh no brazil fan,but football on de grandest of stages will not be de same without brazil.

« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2009, 06:48:42 PM »
doh forget that brazil does reinvent the game every now and then just when you tink dey gone thru ! ..remember 1970 ....4-3-3 with overlapping wingbacks ....who were really converted midfielders ...
then it was 4-4-2 ...the rest oi the footballing world always look to new developments there ....just when you think Tiger woods reach he peak ...he reinvents his swing !!! ..and like it or not Brazil has proved themselves the tigers in football.
So if yuh doh like dem or you done know what dey coming with next ..then it eh go matter if they are present or not.

« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2009, 07:10:51 PM »
Last time they was in this situation was for the qualifications for 2002. Look what happened at that WC

« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2009, 09:22:02 PM »

Not if you are left handed or ambidextrous!

« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2009, 09:25:33 PM »
No Brazil in a World Cup will lead to an increase in the suicide rate, homelessnees cause people lose interest in working, depression in the World; you name it, it will happen! Shit yuh see how people does lose it when dey lose far less if dey aint qualify?

Like Orange juice jones said- like corn flakes without milk!

« Reply #15 on: January 03, 2009, 12:23:53 AM »
not gonna happen...
as much as i dont really care bout Brazil
there is no way they not gonna make a WC anytime soon
there are good teams in that S. American zone, but not enuff to make Brazil miss a WC

Paraguay, Argentina are there for sure

Uruguay and Ecuador inconsistent

Peru is shit, so is Bolivia

Colombia and Venez. jus....dere

« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2009, 12:16:13 PM »
Brazil = Tutu

« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2009, 08:25:14 AM »
If they are planning on playing the way they played at the last WC, then I most certainly wont miss them...Holland now that's another story.... :devil: ;D
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 11:05:32 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #18 on: January 04, 2009, 09:24:34 AM »
The modern game is different in many regards. Physically and tactically it is difficult to play with the kind of freedom of times gone by.

As for Brazil and WCQs every time around people (including Brazilians) complain about the team's performance and then they go to the WC and are a more effective team. Qualification is a long term process while the tournament is a measured sprint to the finish. Brazil has a tendency to do enough to make sure that they qualify and then focus their efforts towards the actual tournament.

Then we have the regional structure. There are only so many South American countries and you find that they become familiar playing against each other. That familiarity often equalises teams so even though you'd expect a particular result based on rankings or apparent talent because they know each other you find the stronger team can take it for granted that they are better and the weaker team recognises the strengths of their opponents. Europe has so many countries that you find the stronger teams seldom play each other, especially in group play. It is easier for the stronger country to remain stronger.