April 29, 2024, 03:25:02 AM

Author Topic: Anyone work at Piarco?  (Read 5693 times)

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
Anyone work at Piarco?
« on: January 04, 2009, 06:04:08 PM »
Just wondering if anyone here works at Piarco (customs) and will be working Friday night say around 10ish???? :devil:
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

Re: Anyone work at Piarco?
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2009, 06:31:29 PM »
Yuh could only bring two bottle from duty free  ;D

No I don't work there LOL

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2009, 06:38:47 PM »

LOL Nope dont need alcohol lol. Electronics :) 
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2009, 07:04:36 PM »
Where's the incentive?

« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2009, 07:17:56 PM »

i wouldn't call it electronics,they normally work with batteries.zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz :devil:

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #5 on: January 04, 2009, 07:31:31 PM »
Where's the incentive?

well if anybody works there and working around the time specifed, then yep incentive.n  :devil: what do peeps like as incentives? alcohol? perfume? undying eternal gratitude and return of a favor when needed? Or inclusion on the yearly xmas giftgiving and remembering one's b'day  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #6 on: January 04, 2009, 07:34:52 PM »

i wouldn't call it electronics,they normally work with batteries.zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz :devil:

:rotfl: :rotfl: better have extra fuh Madame customs officer

« Reply #7 on: January 04, 2009, 07:44:14 PM »
p.s. ah witness one that sound like a john deere tractor ... gears fuh so ... ANYHOW ...capo, in case yuh thinking of a hussle ... please note that in T&T:

Under Section 45 of the Customs Act 78:01 certain items are prohibited or in some cases restricted unless the proper import permits are obtained. Examples are firearms, honey, some toy guns, pornographic literature and other articles of pornographic nature. These items are subject to seizure.   :devil: The importation of arms and/or ammunition without a Permit to Import signed by the Commissioner of Police constitutes a serious breach of the Law.

Currency amounting to $20,000.00 TT currency or $5,000.00 U.S. currency must (not equivalent counts) is declared on a currency declaration form
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 07:46:15 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2009, 08:07:14 PM »
my cousin working there. how much you willing to pay? :devil:

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #9 on: January 04, 2009, 08:09:19 PM »
p.s. ah witness one that sound like a john deere tractor ... gears fuh so ... ANYHOW ...capo, in case yuh thinking of a hussle ... please note that in T&T:

Under Section 45 of the Customs Act 78:01 certain items are prohibited or in some cases restricted unless the proper import permits are obtained. Examples are firearms, honey, some toy guns, pornographic literature and other articles of pornographic nature. These items are subject to seizure.   :devil: The importation of arms and/or ammunition without a Permit to Import signed by the Commissioner of Police constitutes a serious breach of the Law.

Currency amounting to $20,000.00 TT currency or $5,000.00 U.S. currency must (not equivalent counts) is declared on a currency declaration form

:-[ :-[ :rotfl: :rotfl:

Nah man, that stuff I leaving home lol don't need it only going for 4 days. My son going back to school and his b'day in february. I won't be able to fly down then so I am bringing his present with us - A Wii for grandmas house and I want to bring a birthday present for my dad -speakers set. Plus the young man had to be outfitted with everything new, clothes, shoes, school supplies and from experience, most customs officers get excited when they see new clothes or newish looking clothes and like to charge alot. Last year I sent a box of clothes for him from our house, his own clothes since suitcase get lost. You could tell it was used clothes, had grass stains, wear and tear etc. Customs charge my moms close to $300 TT eveen though I specified on the form was to replace lost suitcase and was from his own house in US and was clothes he wore before and included copies of lost suitcase form. Customs man tell my moms since people sell used clothes in T&T they have to charge no matter what.

« Reply #10 on: January 04, 2009, 08:16:55 PM »
I don't think you'll have any problems with electronics. I never had any issues. And I don't think there are any limitations on electronics either. (confirmation pls?)

Best thing to do, is remove any indication that the electonic items are NEW, and you won't have to pay for anything. Because then they are considered your 'personal' items. Or as my moms always say, 'put ya bloomers ontop of them in ya suitcase and dem customs ain't go touch nothing'. 

When dey ask ya if ya have anything to declare...juss say no wid a smile.

I walk in with nuff rum and scotch in meh grip. <knocks wood> and bold enough to go into duty free and haul out wid 2 more bottles ah blue label.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2009, 08:38:28 PM »
BTw while we on the topic of piarco, is it considered "bad form' to tip the gate agents? I flew in for Thanksgiving to get the son and the daughter was with me. So all three of us flying back home, Kidlet  #1 is 5 yrs and kidlet #2 is 3 years old. Passing duty free, pick up some Vat19, they say they will bring it to the gate for me.  Get to boarding gate. Now we had a lil problem because we bought sons ticket after bought mine and daughters. His was only a one way. The ticket agent downstairs tell me computer put son to sit in row 13 and me and daughter in row 22. Said they cant fix it, get boarding agent to fix it upstairs. Gone upstairs, boarding agent, lady more interested in talking to friend than to help me. Tell her problem, she tell me is so computer make it, is so it have to stay. Eplain that son is 5 years old and shouldnt be 9 rows away lady cant be bothered to try to help, she turn away and continue her conversation. Another agent passing by, nice young man, ask me what the problem is. I tell him. He check the computer, pull up the other passengers in the two rows and ask them who willing to switch. Fella sitting with me and my daughter say he'll take son's seat so all good. Ticket agent say to me, ma'am you have 2 little ones, let me take you on board now, He take my stroller and carry on, I take two kidlets. He take us on board, pack stroller and carry on away, and then I remember I have alcohol coming. He take boarding pass and receipt, come back few minutes later while plane boarding and pack rum away. I was so greatful given his co-worker's nasty attitude, I gave him all the cash I had as a tip. Not much just about 40us. But i find he went above and beyond the call of duty. And when someone do right by me, I try to show appreciation. Lady sitting nearby telling me it wrong to tip them. I say no cause he did a good thing, and he was about 23-24 and his coworker old enuff to be my mom. So was I wrong to tip him, given what he did for me? I see enough young people, both here and at home who working and you could tell that they dont want to be there. This young man was smiling and pleasant.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #12 on: January 04, 2009, 08:40:16 PM »
my cousin working there. how much you willing to pay? :devil:

How little your cousin willing to do a favor for?  :devil: :devil: :devil: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: January 04, 2009, 08:42:42 PM »
it would be considered a 'pay off' and he could have gotten into trouble if one of his supervisors or superiors saw him accepting "gifts" even in the form of money. I'm sure in their code of conduct or rules and regulations - there is a line that says they can't accept gifts etc, because it's part of their job to make sure the passengers are comfortable and blah blah blah lalalalalala before, during and after a flight.

A handshake or a "Thank you" would have worked also.
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 08:45:29 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #14 on: January 04, 2009, 08:48:00 PM »
I realize in Piarco got 2 b boldface go 2 d green line say u have nutten 2 declare and pray. Well actually pray and then go green line.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #15 on: January 04, 2009, 08:48:58 PM »
it would be considered a 'pay off' and he could have gotten into trouble if one of his supervisors or superiors saw him accepting "gifts" even in the form of money.

Well I did both of those as well.... guess  I am so used to tipping for good service here, xmas we left gift cards and/or checks for the mailman, the garbage men, the guy that cuts our lawn, the newspaper girl, the babysitter, the daycare staff, guy who fixes our cars.. sometimes hard to remember who gets tipped and who don't. I kinda looked at it as he was performing a "service" and given that we tip the baggage handlers at the airport, and the cab drivers and waitstaff and other service industry people, I tipped him. He didnt have to do what he did but he did anyway.

« Reply #16 on: January 04, 2009, 08:57:21 PM »
it would be considered a 'pay off' and he could have gotten into trouble if one of his supervisors or superiors saw him accepting "gifts" even in the form of money.

Well I did both of those as well.... guess  I am so used to tipping for good service here, xmas we left gift cards and/or checks for the mailman, the garbage men, the guy that cuts our lawn, the newspaper girl, the babysitter, the daycare staff, guy who fixes our cars.. sometimes hard to remember who gets tipped and who don't. I kinda looked at it as he was performing a "service" and given that we tip the baggage handlers at the airport, and the cab drivers and waitstaff and other service industry people, I tipped him. He didnt have to do what he did but he did anyway.

The only people i know that could accept monies are the bag porters. And they are airport employees not airline.
The agents, it's in their contract not too...

NOW with Trini Customs Officers is a different storyline...
They accepting anything....But be careful, there's always one of them who always want dey Employee of the Month Award.
He/she doing every damn thing by dey book. So you being nice to them, even if your intentions are innocent and pure, they would assume you paying them off....

Nex' ting you hear, ya making front page of dey Express. Ya story written by ah first time reporter who say ya smuggling electonics into the country, and how they watching you long time and you payoff dey customs officer, who was an undercover agent from long time...

Next ting ya know dey come ein here and copy and paste ya first post and ya meet up Bertha in jail cell 3
« Last Edit: January 04, 2009, 09:03:22 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #17 on: January 04, 2009, 10:12:02 PM »
Now we had a lil problem because we bought sons ticket after bought mine and daughters. His was only a one way. The ticket agent downstairs tell me computer put son to sit in row 13 and me and daughter in row 22. Said they cant fix it, get boarding agent to fix it upstairs....

Had a similar problem with separated seats coming back from Minnesota on Sun Country. Already on board when we realize and the attendants won't help. They say because some people now pay for the privilege of choosing a certain seat they can't ask them to move anymore. sigh. Luckily the passengers I spoke to were willing to shift around to accommodate us. But that was a new one for me.

« Reply #18 on: January 05, 2009, 02:57:37 AM »
VC1, ah glad youthman was rewarded ... dahis de kinda employees yuh want wukkin fuh yuh ... de next one deserved a good old Donald Trump firing ...

De lady next to ya juss worried yuh start to set a dangerous precedent ... by the extent of your tipping habits, look like you could real wreak havoc :) ... perhaps you should have followed up by documenting the positive and negative aspects of the incident to relevant authorities.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #19 on: January 05, 2009, 02:39:56 PM »
VC1, ah glad youthman was rewarded ... dahis de kinda employees yuh want wukkin fuh yuh ... de next one deserved a good old Donald Trump firing ...

De lady next to ya juss worried yuh start to set a dangerous precedent ... by the extent of your tipping habits, look like you could real wreak havoc :) ... perhaps you should have followed up by documenting the positive and negative aspects of the incident to relevant authorities.

I did mean to blog about it and write a letter to Caribbean Airlines, but between thanksgiving and Xmas shopping and all that, never got around to it.  :-[

But, if you think my tipping could wreak havoc, you should meet the Mister. He worse (or better depending on if u is the one getting the tip) than me. Went to an Applebees last year for my birthday. Party of 10. fella bounce up, "can I take your order". Didn't write a single thing down. We actually had a bet going that he would forget something or screw up the orders. Bring back drinks and food almost perfect. The one wrong thing? He couldnt remember if I had a coke or diet coke so he bring both.  :rotfl: :rotfl: Bill came to about 220. The mister leave 300. Even I thought that was much but he say de young man deserve it. He say if the only thing that man screw up was a drink with 10 different orders, then he deserve it. But thats kinda my philopsophy too. We shouldnt have to pay for good service, but good service is so hard to come by sometimes, that when it does pop up, it should be rewarded.

« Reply #20 on: January 05, 2009, 09:03:53 PM »
Iz now all kinda customs officials ... even off-duty ... go be waiting yuh out come Friday night ... if anybody shout out "verycute1" ... doh turn yah head! .... izza set-up ... the tax men cometh ...

De waiter have a demonic mnemonic wukkin fuh him ... $80? ... take care 'Mister' eh start writing tuition checks ...

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #21 on: January 06, 2009, 04:34:10 PM »
Iz now all kinda customs officials ... even off-duty ... go be waiting yuh out come Friday night ... if anybody shout out "verycute1" ... doh turn yah head! .... izza set-up ... the tax men cometh ...

De waiter have a demonic mnemonic wukkin fuh him ... $80? ... take care 'Mister' eh start writing tuition checks ...

Trust me you don't even want to know.... "Mister" have a soft heart for all his hardened ways and does fall for sorry stories every time.  Me I say as long as his bank account have enuff to subsidize my shopping habits... he could help whoever.

« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2009, 08:17:51 PM »
so, gihwe yuh smugglin run down nah

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2009, 09:48:46 PM »
so, gihwe yuh smugglin run down nah

LMAO.

plane land and I have the 2 suitcases plus hand luggage with the Wii and speakers and some games. Son have backpack with his DS, more games, night vision goggles, and 2 digital cameras. (you should have seen security check at JFK for that one lol) Waiting in line, see a familiar face. I clean forget that my mother have a set of cousins, all of them is customs officers. SO many of them though I never remember names at all.

The man see my moms outside on his way out, she tell him i on the flight that just land, he come back inside, see me, pull me out of line and take all the paperwork. Give it to one of his coworkers and take the cart that I had the suitcases on and tell me lets go. ALL that worry for nothing. Nobody open bag to look inside at all.

Tell my moms from now on I only flying when the family on duty- if you see stuff I cram in those suitcases  bedsheets because the little man had to have a sponge bob sheet set with a comforter then he wanted a batman too, clothes for everybody, nuff coffee sets for my moms = she have a weakness for starbucks and walmart had all the sets marked down 75% after xmas, a bunch of household stuff like those glade candles and the plug ins fragrance things lots of CDs for my dad, and some mug sets for my sister, she have a weakness for pretty mugs for her tea,   Plus enuff pen,pencil, erasers and books to last the little man for a few years well. SOme food stuff that he like, crackers, gummies, those Betty Crocker meal kits, fruit cups and sippa straws to last a lifetime.  And because his birthday is next month I bring in party bags and party favors. and labels and price tags still on  everything.

Bring so much stuff in, moms make a little gift basket an drop it off for the cousins.

Meanwhile I already start shopping for next trip, probably going back in about 6 weeks or so, the plane tickets really cheap now.

Plan to send a barrel too lol.  Thats what family is for  :devil:

« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2009, 02:22:46 AM »

Plan to send a barrel too lol.  Thats what family is for  :devil:

Yuh have ah hook up fuh de barrel yuh could share?

Serious talk... ah have one going down this weekend and ah could use de bligh.  PM and lemmih know.

Much obliged.

« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2009, 09:41:01 AM »
a sponge bob sheet with ah comforter??......even in ah room with a/c all de boy go need ah mosquito net and some draws

« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2009, 09:48:43 AM »
a sponge bob sheet with ah comforter??......even in ah room with a/c all de boy go need ah mosquito net and some draws

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: 'top eeet man

« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2009, 09:58:29 AM »
Not to rain on the customs parade (Spongebob sheets are essential). But this is not the same thing we vex for at the licensing office?

Why is it acceptable to face the customs regulations coming to the states, but going home, we looking for the hookup?

« Reply #28 on: January 20, 2009, 11:17:01 AM »
Not to rain on the customs parade (Spongebob sheets are essential). But this is not the same thing we vex for at the licensing office?

Why is it acceptable to face the customs regulations coming to the states, but going home, we looking for the hookup?

I think because people ent necessary looking tuh by-pass customs... if they like me they juss eh wah get robbed :-\

« Reply #29 on: January 20, 2009, 01:28:57 PM »
Good talk, Bitter.