March 28, 2024, 01:23:08 PM

Author Topic: Human Trafficking.  (Read 40573 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: Developing Story - Container of children found
« Reply #180 on: March 06, 2009, 10:00:25 AM »
Almost as bad as the situation itself are those who enjoy exacerbating it. ???

« Reply #181 on: March 06, 2009, 10:39:01 AM »
is DCS and he no voice party behind de whole ting.

since de COP cyar stand up they decide tuh spread rumor and innuendo.

« Reply #182 on: March 06, 2009, 11:10:23 AM »
is DCS and he no voice party behind de whole ting.

since de COP cyar stand up they decide tuh spread rumor and innuendo.

yea look emails still making rounds but u want to blame the media. steupse. is not the media and them political parties don't have that kinda influence with the people to have them still doubting if this thing is true...u giving them way too much credit.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #183 on: March 06, 2009, 11:38:35 AM »
OK so the question is, at the end of the day, regardless of the fact that we now know (or think we know) that the story is false, at the end of the day -
1. Could you see something like this happening in t&T?
Better yet,
2. Could you believe that the government could take steps to silence a story like this Because pretty soon the eyes of the world will be on us when Obama visits?
3.Can you understand why people might question the presence of traffickers in T&T because of the number of missing persons each year? I can answer honestly and I not afraid to say it no matter who want to cuss me that

1. Yes i could see it happening. I see all kinda thing happen in trinidad before. When I was young we had a coup. Never thought before it happen, never thought such a thing was possible, but after that, well, perspectives change. never thought you could see the types of crimes or the amount of kidnappings taking place in T&T but they happening. When I was younger, a girl went missing somewhere down palo seco. My mom was one of her teachers. They find her body sometime after well brutalized with tree branches shoved up the you know where. Until that happen, I never thought such a thing could take place. But times change and criminal elements do too. Ent we have a post on this board about some crazy man well rape his mom? You read crap like that, it ent so hard to believe anything could take place. Anybody remember the hijacked plane donkey years ago landed in piarco? The canadian couple get chop up on the beach? She was pregnant, after that I think they suspected they might have been mules. Or what about the crazy white man who strip nekked and run down the runway at piarco and get suck into a propeller? Or that poor lady who the police escort to her house because she had an order of protection against the husband, and the man come in and lock the burglar proofing gates and chop off her head? Popo couldnt do a thing about it, they was locked outside. I remeber that one because the BOMB ran the picture of the head in the street on the front page and my mom didnt want to buy it for me to read. The point is, if you stop and think about what has happened or what type of crimes you see commited by people, it not too hard to believe that the worse is yet to come or probably has happened already.

2. Yes I can believe that if such a thing took place, the government might want to quietly cover it up. It happens everywhere inthe world, governments silencing private citizens or institutions. Would we have really known about some of the abuses at the detainee camps if some people didnt take pictures of the prisoners with their heads covered, stripped naked.? It happens every where, why not in trinidad? Ent we reach where we going? Can you imagine conversation between the heads of state if such a thing had happened and were made public -

Obama - Mr. Prime Minister, Mr. Manning, what are you going to do about this situation, these kids that were found in the container? How are you gonna deal with this modern day slave trade?
Manning - Mr. President you were misinformed. They was playing hide and seek

3. While human trafficking may or may not exist in T&T, and I ent taking side one way or another, I am saying that it not so far a stretch for me to believe it could be there, people go missing every day all over the world. People get murdered all over the world. But last year there were more people murdered in T&T than in NYC. And I am sure if I check, don't have the figures in front of me right now, we might have had more missing people in T&T than in NYC. Why I am using NYC as a point of reference? Easy, more people more cultures, easier for someone to vanish and never be found. You expect the figures to be larger in NYC but sadly they are not. More police presence in NY yes, but still for a place as small as T&T we shouldnt have had more murders or missings than a large city in the USA. It doesnt look good for us, for our protective services for anybody.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #184 on: March 06, 2009, 03:04:39 PM »
OK so the question is, at the end of the day, regardless of the fact that we now know (or think we know) that the story is false, at the end of the day -
Better yet,
2. Could you believe that the government could take steps to silence a story like this Because pretty soon the eyes of the world will be on us when Obama visits?
3.Can you understand why people might question the presence of traffickers in T&T because of the number of missing persons each year? I can answer honestly and I not afraid to say it no matter who want to cuss me that

1. Yes i could see it happening. I see all kinda thing happen in trinidad before. When I was young we had a coup. Never thought before it happen, never thought such a thing was possible, but after that, well, perspectives change. never thought you could see the types of crimes or the amount of kidnappings taking place in T&T but they happening. When I was younger, a girl went missing somewhere down palo seco. My mom was one of her teachers. They find her body sometime after well brutalized with tree branches shoved up the you know where. Until that happen, I never thought such a thing could take place. But times change and criminal elements do too. Ent we have a post on this board about some crazy man well rape his mom? You read crap like that, it ent so hard to believe anything could take place. Anybody remember the hijacked plane donkey years ago landed in piarco? The canadian couple get chop up on the beach? She was pregnant, after that I think they suspected they might have been mules. Or what about the crazy white man who strip nekked and run down the runway at piarco and get suck into a propeller? Or that poor lady who the police escort to her house because she had an order of protection against the husband, and the man come in and lock the burglar proofing gates and chop off her head? Popo couldnt do a thing about it, they was locked outside. I remeber that one because the BOMB ran the picture of the head in the street on the front page and my mom didnt want to buy it for me to read. The point is, if you stop and think about what has happened or what type of crimes you see commited by people, it not too hard to believe that the worse is yet to come or probably has happened already.

2. Yes I can believe that if such a thing took place, the government might want to quietly cover it up. It happens everywhere inthe world, governments silencing private citizens or institutions. Would we have really known about some of the abuses at the detainee camps if some people didnt take pictures of the prisoners with their heads covered, stripped naked.? It happens every where, why not in trinidad? Ent we reach where we going? Can you imagine conversation between the heads of state if such a thing had happened and were made public -

Obama - Mr. Prime Minister, Mr. Manning, what are you going to do about this situation, these kids that were found in the container? How are you gonna deal with this modern day slave trade?

3. While human trafficking may or may not exist in T&T, and I ent taking side one way or another, I am saying that it not so far a stretch for me to believe it could be there, people go missing every day all over the world. People get murdered all over the world. But last year there were more people murdered in T&T than in NYC. And I am sure if I check, don't have the figures in front of me right now, we might have had more missing people in T&T than in NYC. Why I am using NYC as a point of reference? Easy, more people more cultures, easier for someone to vanish and never be found. You expect the figures to be larger in NYC but sadly they are not. More police presence in NY yes, but still for a place as small as T&T we shouldnt have had more murders or missings than a large city in the USA. It doesnt look good for us, for our protective services for anybody.

They find the girl from Brooklyn who went Miami and was never seen again?

Any police get discipline for the Trini fell they shoot in Brooklyn who had a hair brush in his hand?

We could do this all day.

Couple years years ago I took some US kids to T&T and they had a ball. I took them all over, even on the look out and round the savannah like after 10 at night. We did all kind of crazy stuff.
Last year Carnival TV6 or whatever they are now interviewed some foreigner who come for Carnival and ask them if they feel safe? They replied that they did, they explained they just walked from up by the savannah and people were friendly giving directions and they have seen a lot of police officers. That just like anywhere else in the world you have to be careful and understand that anything could happen at anytime.

Contrast with, I have some friends form the siuth in the states and invited them to Brooklyn/NYC and they told me they would not go there for nothing. This is their country and they would not travel to NYC, go figure.

I think we need to take a lesson in patriotism, common sense and understanding from this lady.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/t3sRBFl1x_U" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/t3sRBFl1x_U</a>

« Reply #185 on: March 06, 2009, 08:36:34 PM »
Well said Elan

« Reply #186 on: March 06, 2009, 10:29:31 PM »
I really eh want to confuse YOU with facts eh, but where YOU getting YOUR stats about missing people in T&T?

Trinidad had 608 people reported missing in 2008.........And.............................................................................

Of the six hundred and eight (608) persons reported missing for the year 2008, five hundred and seventy three (573) or 94.2% of them were accounted for, while thirty-five (35) cases remain outstanding
Better yet,

NO!

WHY? AND MORE IMPORTANTLY.....HOW?

Anything can happen, look at this post you jes make!  steups..ANYTHING can happen! And your point is?  So a man killed a woman, and some tourists were murdered, and a hijacked plane was forced to land in T&T to refuel does that somehow say that children were kidnapped and were about to be exported?  Come on! Shit like dat happens all the time in other places, what makes T&T exempt?

Why would the government want to cover children discovered in a container up for?  Child sex slaves and human trafficking occurs RIGHT HERE IN THE US!

Barack take care of all dem crack hoes in de US and all dem dutty street hookers and while yuh at it, what about de fact dat in de US The U.S. Department of Justice reports

* 797,500 children (younger than 18) were reported missing in a one-year period of time studied resulting in an average of 2,185 children being reported missing each day.
    * 203,900 children were the victims of family abductions.
    * 58,200 children were the victims of non-family abductions.
    * 115 children were the victims of “stereotypical” kidnapping. (These crimes involve someone the child does not know or someone of slight acquaintance, who holds the child overnight, transports the child 50 miles or more, kills the child, demands ransom, or intends to keep the child permanently.)
eh-eh is jes so yuh trying to make commess or wha Barack, careful I eh deport yuh mehrasmee ass

Over 21,000 Children Go Missing in New York State Annually...so doh talk thru yuh backside!  There were 494 murders in the Big Apple in 2007 - 102 fewer than in 2006. and it was not too long ago that they had as many as 2000+ in a year...so the thing may be on a decline dey but doh make it look like we is sicker dan dem!    U.S. Department of Justice Releases New Trafficking Statistics

According to the stats released in January of this year, over 1,200 alleged incidents of human trafficking were reported in the U.S. over the 21-month period from January 2007-September 2008. The recent stats released by the U.S. Department of Justice paint a bleak picture for young women and girls:
• 83% of all alleged reported trafficking incidents involved sex trafficking, and one third, or 32%, of the total involved the sex trafficking of children. 71% of sex trafficking victims were under age 25.
• Over 90% of the victims, overall, were female. Hispanics are particularly hard hit: Hispanic victims constituted 37% of all sex trafficking victims and 56% of labor trafficking victims.
• It’s also clear that sex trafficking is a local problem. The stats show that U.S. citizens accounted for 63%, or a clear majority, of sex trafficking victims.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 10:43:08 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #187 on: March 06, 2009, 10:39:10 PM »
Of the six hundred and eight (608) persons reported missing for the year 2008, five hundred and seventy three (573) or 94.2% of them were accounted for, while thirty-five (35) cases remain outstanding

Police no longer required to wait 24 hours in missing persons report
18 February, 2009 08:04:00
Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Minister of National Security, Senator the Hon. Martin Joseph

In 2006, the Police Service amended its definition of “missing person” by removing the 24-hour waiting period that was previously required to elapse before the Police could classify a person as “missing”.

Written Response of the Honourable Minister of National Security to Senate Question No. 18 of the Second Session (2009) Of the Ninth Parliament on February 10 2009

QUESTION:

“(A) Could the Minister provide this Senate with:

(i) a list of the steps taken by Police and the Immigration authorities to locate persons reported missing for the year 2008; and

(ii) a detailed list of missing persons for the year 2008;

(B) Could the Minister state whether any investigations have been conducted by the Police Service into allegations of human trafficking in Trinidad and Tobago?”

RESPONSE:

(A) (i) In recognition of the immense trauma and anxiety suffered by persons whose loved ones go missing, the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service has implemented a number of administrative and operational initiatives, aimed at enhancing the entire process from reporting to investigation and resolution. Among the more critical initiatives introduced are the amendment of the definition of a “missing person” and the institution of specific procedures for receiving and closing a report.

In 2006, the Police Service amended its definition of “missing person” by removing the 24-hour waiting period that was previously required to elapse before the Police could classify a person as “missing”. This amendment essentially allowed for more immediate action by the Police, thereby increasing the potential for more successful outcomes. Currently, therefore, a “missing person” is defined as “a person who has not been seen or heard from and who has been reported missing by a person interested in or responsible for that other person’s welfare, notwithstanding the time that the person has not been seen or heard from or expected to have been seen or heard from”.

The Police Service has also mandated that the Anti Kidnapping Unit (AKU) become involved at the start of the investigation into a missing person report and developed specific procedures that must be followed by all Officers receiving a report. These are outlined at the Attachment.

Further, all Divisions are mandated to continue investigations into missing persons and keep updated, the status of all reports of missing persons. Statistical data must be continuously reviewed to ensure that a proper count of the number of reports is maintained, with reports classified based on the circumstances surrounding the report and location of the missing person. Comprehensive profiles are also compiled on the missing persons, with a view to having their names and photographs published in the print and electronic media, as and when necessary.

In addition to its internal mechanisms, the Police Service also collaborates with a number of strategic partners in their investigations. These include the Immigration Division, the Elections and Boundaries Commission, Telecommunications Services of Trinidad and Tobago, the Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission, the Water and Sewerage Authority, Board of Inland Revenue, the National Insurance Board, the Trinidad and Tobago Prison Service and Health Institutions.

In the case of the Immigration Division in particular, while that Division does not directly receive reports of missing persons, it plays a key role in monitoring the movement of persons and provides critical information to the Police Service, through its Integrated Border Management System (IBMS), in ascertaining whether such persons have travelled out of the country. If there is no evidence of travel at the point of time of the inquiry, an alert is sent to Immigration Officers at all ports of entry to monitor departures, with a view to locating the person (s) in question.

When a “missing person” is located, there is also a set procedure that the Police Service follows, which includes interviewing the person and recording a statement and ensuring that the administrative records are updated and the updated information is forwarded to all relevant departments. It should be noted that a “missing person” report can be cancelled/closed only on the written instructions of a First Division Officer in cases where:

a) The person has been located and a criminal offence is disclosed
b) The person is located and no criminal offence is disclosed.

(ii) The TTPS has advised that it would be inappropriate to disclose the identities of all missing persons as there are certain cases that are sensitive. However, provided in the table hereunder are the details of the age and sex of missing persons for the year 2008:

MISSING PERSONS FOR THE YEAR 2008 BY AGE GROUP AND SEX

Sex            Age Group:0-12         13-25        26-38          39-59        60 & over     TOTAL

Male                           16              95            59               55               20             245
Female                       25             280           32               16                10            363
TOTAL                        41             375            91               71               30            608

Of the six hundred and eight (608) persons reported missing for the year 2008, five hundred and seventy three (573) or 94.2% of them were accounted for, while thirty-five (35) cases remain outstanding.

(B) With respect to the issue of human trafficking or trafficking in persons, reports from the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service and the Immigration Division indicate that there is no evidence available to suggest that persons are being trafficked out of the country. However, there have been cases where the Immigration Division has had cause to conduct investigations on persons being trafficked into the country, based on information obtained from anonymous sources, as well as reports made by other Governments.

In all cases where persons, based on the circumstances, are determined to be victims of human trafficking, such persons are placed in ‘safe houses’ and a travel document is obtained through their respective Government representative, to facilitate their return home. Upon receipt of the travel documents, the Immigration Division ensures their safe departure to their homeland.

Given the increasing global and national attention to the issue, the Immigration Division has taken steps to ensure that the Organization and its members are adequately equipped to treat with the issue, by undertaking the following initiatives:

• Sensitization of Immigration Officers to human trafficking and smuggling, as part of their Induction training, as well as an introduction to basic techniques of victim identification, investigative interviewing, profiling, impostor detection and fraudulent document identification. Manuals prepared by the International Organization for Migration (IOM) outlining procedures for combating human trafficking and smuggling are also utilized by both Immigration authorities and the TTPS.

• The conduct of joint exercises with agencies including TTPS, the Special Anti Crime Unit of Trinidad and Tobago (SAUTT), the International Criminal Police Organisation (Interpol) and the Trinidad and Tobago Defence Force, among others.

• The conduct of several training exercises aimed at creating an awareness of the pertinent issues and equipping officers with the requisite knowledge and tools to assist and guide them in the identification and treatment of matters relative to human trafficking. Exercises have been conducted by the Immigration Division in partnership with the IOM, SAUTT, US Customs and Border Control and Interpol. Topics included:

o Migration Management
o International Migration Law
o Investigative Interviewing and Intelligence Gathering
o Combating the Trans-national Crime of Human Trafficking and Smuggling
o Trafficking in Persons
o Victim Identification and Interviewing Techniques

The Immigration Division has also developed a relationship with Colombian authorities with a view to facilitating the safe and secure repatriation of Colombian nationals identified as victims of human trafficking in Trinidad and Tobago. This arrangement occurred as a result of a 2007 exercise in which seventy-two (72) Colombian nationals were detained for being in the country illegally.

Honourable Senators are assured that both the TTPS and the Immigration Division view missing persons and human trafficking as very serious issues, and have committed to utilizing all available resources to dealing with them. The Chief Immigration Officer has indicated that the use of the Advance Passenger Information System (APIS), in particular, would increase the Immigration Division’s capacity to detect such crimes and the full implementation of its Exit Control System at all ports of entry would better enable the authorities to fight these phenomena.”

Attachment

The Procedure adopted by the Police Service in processing a “Missing Person” Report (Authority SO No. 51)
a) Record the report on the Incident/Crime Report Forms and Station Diary which should include:

• Name and address of the person making the report
• Name, address and description of the missing person
• A description of the clothes the missing person was wearing when last seen
• When and where the missing person was last seen
• Places or relatives frequently visited by the missing person

b) Obtain a photograph of the missing person where practicable.

c) Inform the Second Division Officer (SDO) in charge of the Station, the SDO in charge of CID Office, the Officer in Charge of the Anti Kidnapping Unit (AKU) and the Homicide Bureau of Investigations.

d) Transmit the description of the missing person to the SDO in charge of Police Control for circulation throughout the Service.

e) Appointment of an investigator by the SDO in charge of the respective Station, CID and A.K.U, who would be responsible for:

• Ensuring that the administrative records are properly filled out and that the information is circulated throughout the Police Service and forwarded to the relevant departments.

f) The Officer in charge of the Criminal Records Office (CRO) shall submit to the Assistant Commissioner of Police responsible for Crime, a photograph, description and pertinent information of any missing person, which he thinks should be circulated through the news media.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2009, 10:44:22 PM by Trinity Cross »

« Reply #188 on: March 07, 2009, 02:11:26 AM »

The problem in Trinidad is as always implementation and an attitude of not taking personal responsibility.

I have a friend of sorts who is a 25 yr police vet. In discussion he told me if he working and get a call about domestic violence he not going on it . His words were " let them kill one another , normally when yuh go is some drunk scene they on."
So I ask him if is not his duty to go regardless. He say is "my duty to relax mihself after 25 yrs."

« Reply #189 on: March 07, 2009, 09:58:40 AM »

The problem in Trinidad is as always implementation and an attitude of not taking personal responsibility.

I have a friend of sorts who is a 25 yr police vet. In discussion he told me if he working and get a call about domestic violence he not going on it . His words were " let them kill one another , normally when yuh go is some drunk scene they on."
So I ask him if is not his duty to go regardless. He say is "my duty to relax mihself after 25 yrs."

Now this is a real synopsis of what is going on in T&T at all levels of Government and to a lesser extent the private industries.

« Reply #190 on: March 07, 2009, 11:08:49 AM »
Now this is a real synopsis of what is going on in T&T at all levels of Government and to a lesser extent the private industries.
Posted on: Today at 02:11:26 AMPosted by: fishs 

Yuh see the other day in discussion i said if the minister of national security would do his job the commisioner
of police would do the same and it would trickle dowd to the sgt ,cpl ,constables yuh say ah talkin shit now did you jus mis spoken deey crosesssor or i doh understand the english language .

« Reply #191 on: March 07, 2009, 11:12:06 AM »

so that fella superior doh follow up on calls and what was done?
as Zulu sayin, it starts from the TOP
if the superiors ent doin nothing, the men in the field ent doin nothing
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #192 on: March 07, 2009, 12:43:47 PM »
GOod lord calm youself down and go have a drink or something. You missing the point or you twisting it. I said exactly the same thing you yelling which is that if it happening there it could happen here. I never said t&T exempt from anything. Better yet, agree to disagree. You have an opinion, I have an opinion. And they different. I just not going to roll around with an rage and insult people because they have a different point of view than mine. I respect your opinion, I don't agree with it and in the end that's all she wrote.

(You too Elan, understand your point don't agree with it. But at least you were polite in your expressions :) )
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #193 on: March 07, 2009, 12:49:45 PM »
in other words it eh fall in them yard they eh pickin it up.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #194 on: March 07, 2009, 01:44:52 PM »
GOod lord calm youself down and go have a drink or something. You missing the point or you twisting it. I said exactly the same thing you yelling which is that if it happening there it could happen here. I never said t&T exempt from anything. Better yet, agree to disagree. You have an opinion, I have an opinion. And they different. I just not going to roll around with an rage and insult people because they have a different point of view than mine. I respect your opinion, I don't agree with it and in the end that's all she wrote.

(You too Elan, understand your point don't agree with it. But at least you were polite in your expressions :) )

VC yuh have to strap on yuh boof-proof brassiere when yuh come awf de porch!

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #195 on: March 07, 2009, 02:01:27 PM »

VC yuh have to strap on yuh boof-proof brassiere when yuh come awf de porch!

an a iron girdle too!

« Reply #196 on: March 07, 2009, 05:12:23 PM »
mih moms does giv math lessons..one ah she students(who is ah introvert in d class) tell she tuhday in confidence dat las week saturday as he was goin home it had a coast gaurd officer in d taxi who get a phone call an was overheard speaking of children in a container intercepted..now d same yute is a cadet an a couple hours later he get a phone call sayin dat training cancelled for that day because rel dramas was goin on down chaguaramas side..now d officerr in d car began to tell all d passengers in d car d scene cuz he probably felt that it makin d news anyway yuh take it..d yute look out for it on d news saturday and nutten..sunday nutten...it only break as a 'rumour' wen d week start...

i hearin stories from all sides and d interesting thing is that there is consistency in those that were related by peoples who have direct family links in d army and coast gaurd...if only ah was still wukkin in National Security Head Office ah coulda get d rel juice

but d situation very depressin...especially since d odder day on Cleaver Road Arima a car corner a little girl a rastaman jump out an bawl 'We get one'...but she had d presence of mind to run way at d same time annodda driver pull up wen he see wat was goin on..den again at Arima Girls RC a tinted double cabin hilux pull up an a man come out single out a girl behind d gate an tryin to coax her in d backseat by sayin he hav somtin in there for her...

is rel ting goin on here dis place need rel prayers...even from u truetrini

« Reply #197 on: March 07, 2009, 05:15:37 PM »

Lol WC yuh real foreignise now fella.

The 2 biggest monsters in TT are the criminals and the public service.
One is just fellas with no humanity and the other is a dinosaur.
You know what it take to discipline a public servant ?
It better to leave them alone and let them retire.
The laws governing the public service go back longer than when TT had believe in god.
When all the politicians talking bout constitution reform is really reform of over 100,000 people and a lil sauce like unlimited power for themselves.
Until we have a system that allows immediate action that could be taken against slackers without fear or favor then things will just get worse.
The NAR had the best opportunity to do it but the passion to expose PNM corruption , power hungry fools and the lil recession give them an excuse not to do the right thing.

Canada blowing yuh mind bro , this is TT where the work week does begin on a Tuesday and end on a Wednesday

« Reply #198 on: March 07, 2009, 06:16:56 PM »

Yuh see the other day in discussion i said if the minister of national security would do his job the commisioner
of police would do the same and it would trickle dowd to the sgt ,cpl ,constables yuh say ah talkin shit now did you jus mis spoken deey crosesssor or i doh understand the english language .

is like yuh really cyar understand english or yuh delibrately missing de point.

The Minister cannot make the CoP do his job, he can replace him, but he is bound by many laws etc.  so he is in effect powerless unless we..as in WE the people decide enough is enough.

The goodly Minister is trying his best, new laws, new equipment, new training, one ting he cyar do....change what inside people hearts and minds.

« Reply #199 on: March 07, 2009, 06:30:52 PM »

Lol WC yuh real foreignise now fella.

The 2 biggest monsters in TT are the criminals and the public service.
One is just fellas with no humanity and the other is a dinosaur.
You know what it take to discipline a public servant ?
It better to leave them alone and let them retire.
The laws governing the public service go back longer than when TT had believe in god.
When all the politicians talking bout constitution reform is really reform of over 100,000 people and a lil sauce like unlimited power for themselves.
Until we have a system that allows immediate action that could be taken against slackers without fear or favor then things will just get worse.
The NAR had the best opportunity to do it but the passion to expose PNM corruption , power hungry fools and the lil recession give them an excuse not to do the right thing.

Canada blowing yuh mind bro , this is TT where the work week does begin on a Tuesday and end on a Wednesday

yeah I am a hopeless romantic to Hope that is how things can be
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 06:36:14 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #200 on: March 07, 2009, 06:51:18 PM »

The Minister cannot make the CoP do his job, he can replace him, but he is bound by many laws etc.  so he is in effect powerless unless we..as in WE the people decide enough is enough.

The goodly Minister is trying his best, new laws, new equipment, new training, one ting he cyar do....change what inside people hearts and minds.
TT i didn't know yuh joined the J edgar hover club! :devil: sneaking out under the cover of darkness with chiffon stockings and smelling sweet like chanell #1 ! :devil: :devil:

« Reply #201 on: March 07, 2009, 07:19:09 PM »

TT i didn't know yuh joined the J edgar hover club! :devil: sneaking out under the cover of darkness with chiffon stockings and smelling sweet like chanell #1 ! :devil: :devil:

how yuh didn't know that?  i was right next to you in de club las night. ent you had on de black bra?

« Reply #202 on: March 07, 2009, 07:20:26 PM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
allya win yes

« Reply #203 on: March 07, 2009, 08:50:46 PM »
mih moms does giv math lessons..one ah she students(who is ah introvert in d class) tell she tuhday in confidence dat las week saturday as he was goin home it had a coast gaurd officer in d taxi who get a phone call an was overheard speaking of children in a container intercepted..now d same yute is a cadet an a couple hours later he get a phone call sayin dat training cancelled for that day because rel dramas was goin on down chaguaramas side..now d officerr in d car began to tell all d passengers in d car d scene cuz he probably felt that it makin d news anyway yuh take it..d yute look out for it on d news saturday and nutten..sunday nutten...it only break as a 'rumour' wen d week start...

i hearin stories from all sides and d interesting thing is that there is consistency in those that were related by peoples who have direct family links in d army and coast gaurd...if only ah was still wukkin in National Security Head Office ah coulda get d rel juice

but d situation very depressin...especially since d odder day on Cleaver Road Arima a car corner a little girl a rastaman jump out an bawl 'We get one'...but she had d presence of mind to run way at d same time annodda driver pull up wen he see wat was goin on..den again at Arima Girls RC a tinted double cabin hilux pull up an a man come out single out a girl behind d gate an tryin to coax her in d backseat by sayin he hav somtin in there for her...

is rel ting goin on here dis place need rel prayers...even from u truetrini

D rumour was strted by dem defence force peeps.

« Reply #204 on: March 09, 2009, 10:20:15 AM »

Telecomms authority rush to judgment
Terrence Farrell
Trinidad Express
Sunday, March 8th 2009

The Telecommunications Authority issued a media release on March 5th 2009 two days after the widespread rumours concerning children in a container at the port. The Authority expressed its 'dismay' with the reporting by 'certain radio and television broadcasters' which misled the 'entire nation' and contributed to the "shutdown of essential services to the public in Trinidad and Tobago, misuse of the security services and loss of revenue" and "may have involved public mischief on the part of the broadcasting stations involved".

There are several questions TATT must answer for the public and for the broadcasters it is 'hastening' to regulate.

1. How was this matter brought to the attention of the Authority? Was there a complaint by members of the public, or the government, or some institution of civil society in respect of the media reports on the day? [We know now that at least the Government lodged a complaint with TATT].

2. Did TATT have reason to believe that the broadcasters started the rumours on the matter? In other words, did the rumours originate at any of the nation's broadcasters?

3. If the answer to this is 'No', did any broadcaster, having received an unconfirmed report or rumour, immediately generate a newscast suggesting that the rumours were factual?

4. If the Police Service was called into action, was it in response to media broadcasts or in response to reports made directly to the Police Service? In other words, did the Police act on information that it received from persons other than the media?

5. If the Port was shut down, was it in response to media broadcasts or was it at the request of the Police or other security services?

6. What essential services -water, electricity, airports, natural gas-were impacted (shut down) as a result of media broadcasts? Who lost revenue and how much?

7. Did broadcasters make contact with the Police Service prior to the issuance of their broadcasts? Did the Police inform the media that the reports or rumours were under investigation?

8. Did the broadcasters make contact with the Port prior to the issuance of their broadcasts? Did the Port inform the media that the reports or rumours were under investigation?

9. What were the contents of the broadcasts made on radio and television? Did the newscasts represent that the 'rumours' were true or did the news indicate that the security services and Port were investigating reports which had come to them on the matter?

10. What specifically in the reports was 'false and misleading'?

TATT continues to mislead itself about the so-called 'accuracy' of news. Is a news report 'inaccurate' if the report is that a matter is under investigation by the Police or security services and it subsequently turns out that the matter was non-existent or a hoax?

All of the questions above, and more, should have been the subject of careful review, analysis and discussion at the Authority using tapes and transcripts of the newscasts in question and interviews with the broadcasters, a process that with a prudent and responsible regulator, would take days if not weeks. Even if the Authority had the answers to those questions, it would have needed to consider whether it should issue a release as it did, with a claim that an issue which it acknowledges it had not yet investigated highlights the "urgent need for promulgation of the Code". So, did the Board of the Authority convene and agree to issue the media release, or was this done at the instance of the management alone? Was the line minister consulted?

We are frankly appalled by TATT's rush to judgment, its hyperbole, and its thinly veiled threats to broadcasters in its media release. TATT wants to hasten to bring the Draft Broadcasting Code to Parliament. This media house commented at length on both versions of the Draft Code (see www.onecaribbeanmedia.net). This episode will only lend credence to the view that (1) the Authority will not act prudently and independently but will respond to pressures and agendas intent on restricting freedom of expression in our society; (2) it does not understand its role as a broadcasting regulator and seems to see itself as some kind of 'national editor' for the entire media industry, and (3) it does not have the wisdom, patience and scrupulous attention to due process that is required of a regulator of editorial content matters which impinge on our constitutional rights to freedom of expression and freedom of the press.

Let us be clear. We hold no brief for irresponsible journalism wherever it is to be found. It may well have been that 'certain radio and television broadcasters' erred badly on Tuesday last (our stations were definitely not among them). But a responsible regulator must investigate thoroughly, consult widely, and then apply the rules and the sanctions it is charged with applying. TATT did none of that. Instead it rushed to judgment and rushed to print with its media release.

We have no doubt that TATT will quickly deposit its very flawed Draft Code into the eager arms of certain parliamentarians who will then proceed to ramajay on the media, perhaps using this case as an 'example' of why the media needs to be controlled and otherwise brought to heel. It is not beyond Parliament to pass patently flawed legislation, though the Draft Code will certainly need a special majority. We wait to see just how Third World and backward we will be with this matter, and whether Parliament will blithely place the management of critical constitutional rights in the hands of the woefully inexperienced regulators at TATT.

(Dr Farrell is the CEO of One Caribbean Media (OCM) of which the Express is a unit).

( Martin Daly is travelling and was unable to submit his column. He

returns next week)

« Reply #205 on: March 09, 2009, 10:20:57 AM »

Now that is a strong response.  Speak up TATT...lewwe hear the answers.

« Reply #206 on: March 09, 2009, 12:43:52 PM »
Let dem pay 4 their stupidity

« Reply #207 on: March 22, 2009, 04:00:38 PM »
hmmm hmmm  >:(
ah bringing this back up....

these days because of the summit dey country quiet. but the 'rumors' spreading like jesus and dey 2 fish and 7 loaves ah bread.

latest talk, me ain't know if it's rumor/ole talk/fact or what, but latest is the children they found shaved are held up in some house in mt hope. is not 75 ah dem as dey say, more like 25. fishermen in cedros saying this happening years now, that they 'always' seeing boat taking out children and young people from the country.

my question to that is.....nobody dial 911 ?

anyhoo, how it have big big names in this 'human traffiking' that is why, nobody in the high places wanna talk.

now doh gimme no lip, ah giving allyuh how ah getting it.
whether ya believe it or not, me ain't give ah shit. ah juss saying that like Karen and she bank accounts, dis one ain't getting sweep under dey carpet juss so.

« Last Edit: March 22, 2009, 04:07:58 PM by TriniCana »

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #208 on: March 22, 2009, 04:45:07 PM »

these days because of the summit dey country quiet. but the 'rumors' spreading like jesus and dey 2 fish and 7 loaves ah bread.

latest talk, me ain't know if it's rumor/ole talk/fact or what, but latest is the children they found shaved are held up in some house in mt hope. is not 75 ah dem as dey say, more like 25. fishermen in cedros saying this happening years now, that they 'always' seeing boat taking out children and young people from the country.

anyhoo, how it have big big names in this 'human traffiking' that is why, nobody in the high places wanna talk.

whether ya believe it or not, me ain't give ah shit. ah juss saying that like Karen and she bank accounts, dis one ain't getting sweep under dey carpet juss so.

My take on something like that is alot of people dont trust the popo and other "enforcement" officials. SO if something like that were happening, alot of people would look the other way for fear of what might happen to them if they open their mouth.

« Reply #209 on: March 22, 2009, 04:54:01 PM »

My take on something like that is alot of people dont trust the popo and other "enforcement" officials. SO if something like that were happening, alot of people would look the other way for fear of what might happen to them if they open their mouth.

It is a wonder that we have any children left in T&T today1

my goodness.

Of the six hundred and eight (608) persons reported missing for the year 2008, five hundred and seventy three (573) or 94.2% of them were accounted for, while thirty-five (35) cases remain outstanding.

Dispute these FACTS!