April 29, 2024, 07:50:24 AM

Author Topic: Fresh adjournment in World Cup bonus case  (Read 1843 times)

Fresh adjournment in World Cup bonus case
« on: January 07, 2009, 09:58:24 PM »
Fresh adjournment in World Cup bonus case
By Lasana Liburd (T&T Express)

The 2006 World Cup bonus dispute is set to rumble on until at least the middle of 2009 after both sides agreed to a six-month adjournment yesterday via mail to the Trinidad and Tobago High Court.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF) applied to the local court to hear their case against 15 of the country's 2006 World Cup players last November after the London-based Sport Dispute Resolution Panel found in favour of the "Soca Warriors", seven months earlier.

In November 2008, the World Cup players' British attorney, Michael Townley, suggested that the TTFF's application to the High Court was "an attempt to distance themselves from the judgment in the UK". The Warriors were to be represented in the High Court by local counsel, Farid Scoon, yesterday. However, a source alleged that the TTFF's instructing attorney Kelvin Ramkissoon requested a six-month adjournment by letter, prior to yesterday's hearing, and Scoon supposedly concurred.

Neither Scoon nor Ramkissoon could be reached for comment yesterday.

Townley refused comment but did admit that he was "very upset" by the lengthy adjournment.

The Sport Dispute Resolution Panel ruled last May that the TTFF owed their World Cup players half of all revenue accrued from participation in the prestigious tournament. As such, Townley requested an interim payment of $44 million from the T&TFF, which he described as "a tiny fraction of what the players are due based on the limited information made public by TTFF".

It looks to be another six months before either side makes further headway in the case.

Townley has already lost two clients since the players sought counsel as Densill Theobald and Marvin Andrews opted to settle, while FIFA vice-president and TTFF special advisor Jack Warner directly approached several other players with offers. There may be more overtures before June.

Re: Fresh adjournment in World Cup bonus case
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 10:40:02 PM »
Doh loose faith guys.

« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2009, 12:00:08 AM »
Lol... ahh boy Jack, I dunno if people really recognize dis man gangsta nuh.

The apparent plan is to stall and finagle... stall and finagle.  By de time dis ready to go to court half dem fellas go be out ah wuk and happy fuh whatever Jack offering dem.

« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2009, 12:08:47 AM »

The apparent plan is to stall and finagle... stall and finagle.  By de time dis ready to go to court half dem fellas go be out ah wuk and happy fuh whatever Jack offering dem.

what he offering?  some loose change/

muhahahahahahahahaha

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2009, 12:17:10 AM »

muhahahahahahahahaha

Yeah well Dog and Theobald collect dey 'loose change' and happy up deyself, no?

« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2009, 12:17:40 AM »

muhahahahahahahahaha

Yeah well Dog and Theobald collect dey 'loose change' and happy up deyself, no?

what dem had to lose?

« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2009, 01:20:41 AM »

what dem had to lose?

You like chasing yuh tail or what? 

Didn't I say Jack would wait until players essentially become desperate (outta wuk)?  Does that not imply that they have nutten to lose at that point (and everything to gain) by accepting whatever Jack offer?

« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2009, 01:40:32 AM »

I was thinking the same thing ...that tight tongue mutha ass

« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2009, 02:11:45 AM »

what dem had to lose?

You like chasing yuh tail or what? 

Didn't I say Jack would wait until players essentially become desperate (outta wuk)?  Does that not imply that they have nutten to lose at that point (and everything to gain) by accepting whatever Jack offer?
I guess it went over yuh head because something loose up dey ;)

anyway teacher...doh lose sleep over it...yuh well educated ;)

« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2009, 06:46:19 AM »
Divide and conquer is Jack Plan . them guys better hold their ground this man just refuse to pay the players . He suggested they go to an independent arbitration panel  in London  now he does not want to uphold the judgment , People ever wonder what he will do if we qualify for south Africa? I hope we don't in a way

« Reply #10 on: January 08, 2009, 06:55:29 AM »
The time requested is what has my attention.
Tallman

Can you tell me what phase of the Hex we will be in at that time? Ah mean how much games played vs to be played.

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2009, 07:06:56 AM »
Divide and conquer.....aaaaahhh boy Jackula, and for 2 seconds ah actually thought yuh experience in China change yuh...HA!...dem 2 seconds over long time...tie tongue tief!!.... >:(

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2009, 08:07:08 AM »
The time requested is what has my attention.
Tallman

Can you tell me what phase of the Hex we will be in at that time? Ah mean how much games played vs to be played.

If we assume that the adjournment is until sometime in June, then we will be halfway (we have two games in June) through the Hex by then.