April 23, 2024, 11:48:35 PM

Author Topic: manchester utd v derby  (Read 2206 times)

manchester utd v derby
« on: January 07, 2009, 04:11:45 PM »
capo, since yuh forget to start ah thread for this shit game today ah doing yuh ah favor...  8)

Derby 1-0 Man Utd
By Chris Bevan

Kris Commons celebrates after putting Derby County ahead
Kris Commons turns to celebrate after putting Derby County ahead

Kris Commons' fierce strike gave Derby County a shock win in the first leg of their Carling Cup semi-final against a lethargic Manchester United side.

In front of new boss Nigel Clough, who takes charge on Thursday, Derby made a bright start and took the lead when Commons fired home after 30 minutes.

The closest United came to an equaliser was a second-half Cristiano Ronaldo free-kick that flew inches wide.

But Rob Hulse missed a golden chance to make it 2-0 when he fired over late on.

It was a humbling night for the Premier League, European and World Champions, who were deservedly beaten by a Derby side that has won only one of their last nine league games.

Following the departure of caretaker manager Chris Hutchings this week, academy boss David Lowe was in charge of the Rams for the first, and only, time.

The attention before the game was on Clough, whose legendary late father Brian took the club from the old Division Two to the 1972 League title, and he received a rousing reception from home fans at Pride Park before kick-off.

Clough Snr would certainly have approved of the way that Derby rose to the occasion, with the Championship side taking the game to United in the early stages.

Davies was denied by Tomasz Kuszczak when he let fly from a tight angle and, after the ball fell kindly for the former Tranmere midfielder, Nemanja Vidic did well to block his goal-bound follow-up.

Mile Sterjovski was the next Derby player to have a shot cleared off the line, when Jonny Evans hacked away his first-time effort, and Andy Todd was unlucky to see his lob land on the roof of the net soon afterwards when a poor Kuszczak punch landed at his feet.

But even those near-misses were not enough to awaken United from their slumbers and Commons' goal on the half-hour mark was fully deserved.

The United defence backed away from the Scotland international and he had time to pick his spot before blasting a ferocious left-foot shot past the despairing Kuszczak from 25 yards out.

Sir Alex Ferguson's men had brushed aside another struggling Championship side when they beat Southampton in the FA Cup on Sunday, but they seemed strangely out of sorts here.

Apart from easily catching a Nani free-kick which was intended as a cross, former United keeper Roy Carroll did not have a save to make in the opening 45 minutes.

True, visiting manager Sir Alex Ferguson probably had at least one eye on Sunday's crunch Premier League encounter with title rivals Chelsea - and his starting line-up undoubtedly reflected that.

But he will still have been unhappy with his side's efforts and the only surprise was that he did not bring Wayne Rooney or Ronaldo off the bench until the 63rd minute.

Carlos Tevez, who returned to United's starting line-up after a new year trip to his native Argentina, was particularly ineffective and, for the most part, Derby looked comfortable with their lead.

United did improve before the end, with Ronaldo dragging one shot wide before firing in a free-kick that fizzed just the wrong side of Carroll's post.

But it was Derby's night and they could easily have added to their advantage before the end.

The inspirational Commons beat Evans down the right and, when his low shot was spilled by Kuszczak, Hulse spooned the rebound over the bar.

United will still be favourites to overturn their single-goal deficit in the second leg at Old Trafford on 20 January.

But a more immediate concern for Ferguson is the weekend visit of Luiz Felipe Scolari's side, and he will know a significant improvement on this performance is needed.

Re: manchester utd v derby
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2009, 04:38:37 PM »
Just worry about 11am Sunday Omar.... Big Phil may be outa job soon...

« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2009, 04:59:02 PM »
Whatever, you all talk about being the best and any old side beating alyuh with big guns on the field. Thread for everything except this loss. Frail and fickle supporters can't deal with disappointment.

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2009, 05:01:40 PM »
Whatever, you all talk about being the best and any old side beating alyuh with big guns on the field. Thread for everything except this loss. Frail and fickle supporters can't deal with disappointment.

Are you even the slightest surprised by this?  ;D

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2009, 05:14:53 PM »

Small Mag will show up cussing we out just now.

Look out for this "We were a little slugissh come off the break, but now we can focus on winning the league and CL. We still CL and league Champs + plus world Champs"

« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2009, 05:19:24 PM »
i reach, i hear men calling people out, all dem fanboys that team never win nothing talking  :devil: small thing we still taking the trophy  ;D

« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2009, 05:22:27 PM »

Small Mag will show up cussing we out just now.

Look out for this "We were a little slugissh come off the break, but now we can focus on winning the league and CL. We still CL and league Champs + plus world Champs"

as long as you know

« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2009, 05:47:15 PM »
small potatoes man i studyin sunday @ 11.by de way it on fsc live.

« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2009, 06:49:18 PM »

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2009, 09:19:28 PM »
chelski men making Manchester United threads now, well look thing  :devil:
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #10 on: January 07, 2009, 09:26:56 PM »
since yuh done give we de info, that mean we ent have to see a thread saying this over de weekend eh?  ;D

« Reply #11 on: January 08, 2009, 03:09:48 AM »
Omar, you brave man
startin ah ManBooHooHoo thread after day get beats :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #12 on: January 08, 2009, 07:01:25 AM »

cause they realize no one reads or care bout their boring " chelsea forever (i.e. until roman skate out and all the big guns/money gone) thread.

« Reply #13 on: January 08, 2009, 07:56:00 AM »

cause they realize no one reads or care bout their boring " chelsea forever (i.e. until roman skate out and all the big guns/money gone) thread.

All yuh does have time to talk about dem lesser teams and dey fans..... humm..... :devil:

« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2009, 08:14:42 AM »
we looking to let the drogs out come sunday.. watch allyuh nut.

« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2009, 09:18:27 AM »

Vidic will deal with him again

Not to mention we have Park too

Park Park Wherever you may be??
You eat Labradors in your home Country
It Could be worse
You Could be Scouse
Eating Rats in your council house!

« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2009, 12:04:51 PM »

Vidic will deal with him again

Not to mention we have Park too

Park Park Wherever you may be??
You eat Labradors in your home Country
It Could be worse
You Could be Scouse
Eating Rats in your council house!

Small Mag are you British-Trinidadians?