March 29, 2024, 04:35:08 AM

Author Topic: Becks at Milan... Good first impression? longer future?  (Read 4882 times)

Becks at Milan... Good first impression? longer future?
« on: January 12, 2009, 01:24:11 PM »
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=608796&sec=global&cc=5901

AC Milan star Kaka has expressed his hope that David Beckham will stay at the Italian giants beyond his current loan spell.

GettyImages

David Beckham: Mission to Milan

The England midfielder is due to return to the Los Angeles Galaxy in March but Brazilian playmaker Kaka said Beckham had already shown his star qualities.

Kaka told a news conference in Zurich ahead of FIFA's world player of the year gala: ''David has shown that he is a player ready to run the extra mile. The first matches showed quite clearly what his qualities are and his passing ability and his capacity to play well.

''Perhaps these first two months will lead to six months or to one year, to more contracts. I certainly would like to play more with him.''

Beckham's advisers have been insistent that there are no plans for him to stay at AC Milan beyond March 9.

However, former Galaxy general manager Alexi Lalas last week expressed his fears that Beckham will be tempted to bring an early end to his time in the USA.

Lalas said: ''He's back in his comfort zone at AC Milan, playing with one of the biggest clubs in the world, with a tremendous amount of talent around him, with incredible money out there on the field so it must be, in a weird way for him, a relief to get out there.''

Beckham made his Serie A debut on Sunday when he played 89 minutes and impressed as AC Milan drew 2-2 against Roma at the Stadio Olimpico, but doubt still remains over his long-term future.

After the game against Roma, Beckham admitted to being pleasantly ''surprised'' that Milan manager Carlo Ancelotti had given him a start.

''I feel very good, very strong, a lot stronger than I thought I was going to feel,'' Beckham said. ''I had fun out there. I was surprised to have started the game but I am happy. Playing out there is what I love doing and I enjoyed it.

''When we had the meeting before the game, Ancelotti told all the players what the team was and that's when I found out. I didn't think I would last that long but I felt so good.

''At half-time I felt really strong. I think the manager saw that I felt good, that I still had energy and he kept me on. And I'm glad the manager kept me as long as he did because I needed time on the pitch in order to get match fitness.''

Beckham, who aims to continue playing for England, was asked if Capello had told him anything before playing for Milan, a club Capello once coached.

''Everybody knows I have a very good relationship with Fabio,'' Beckham said. ''He's a great manager. He gave me advice to play football at the highest level.

''It is great to play at this club and to be out there with some great players. I'm enjoying being part of this team and training with these players but I will take it one step at a time. It's pretty amazing to be among some of those players and I'm glad to just give them the ball and they'll deliver.''

Whether or not Beckham will not be with AC Milan at the end of the campaign the club's objective is to overhaul the three-time defending champions Inter Milan who are nine points ahead of them in the table with Juventus in second - five clear of the Rossoneri.

''That's what we want to do as a team, that's what we want to achieve," Beckham added. "We are disappointed to have drawn the game against Roma because we were leading and we felt comfortable.

''But that's football, Rome is a tough place to come and play but one point is not enough to be satisfied. We know football can change quickly. We have some of the best players in the world so everything is possible.''

Re: Becks at Milan... Good first impression? longer future?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2009, 04:07:35 PM »
And they say he play some shyte? They said he had some good crosses but turned the ball over to often. The only player as bad as him on the day was Clarence.

Beckham will stay in Milan....
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2009, 08:05:14 AM »
..or at least so I think. Milan is willing to offer 4.5 million pounds for him. MLS should take the money and say thank you. After all, his contract allows him to leave the league for free in October. They'd be dumb to keep him. The Becks media machine did all it could do for MLS..There is no benefit to keeping him. He's not adding substantially to the product on the field and the novelty off the field has worn off. He gave the league a big publicity boost. It makes good business sense for the league and it is beneficial to the player. Also, no bridges are burnt if Becks decides to give MLS another try when he is truly ready to hang up his European boots. If smart heads prevail..I'd say he is gone. Then again...Victoria might have something to say :devil:

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=613255&sec=europe&cc=5901

AC Milan are willing to pay a £4.5m transfer fee for David Beckham to remain at the San Siro but, according to chief executive Adriano Galliani, LA Galaxy are yet to agree to a deal.

Beckham's five-year deal with the MLS club has a break clause inserted that means he can leave California for free in October. Milan aim to offer cash to tempt Galaxy to allow the 33-year-old to stay in Italy. Reports in England suggest that Milan, having held discussions with his American club believe that £4.5m will be enough to get that clause activated.

"If Beckham comes to an agreement with Galaxy, we are ready to pay a figure. In the coming days we will meet his advisors," Galliani told Sky Sport 24.

"If Los Angeles Galaxy decide not to sell him, they won't sell him."

"The player wants to stay with us but even he knows he must return to America."

Beckham, who moved to Milan to prove his fitness to England boss Fabio Capello, has been a first-choice starter for the Rossoneri and grabbed his first goal at the weekend in a 4-1 rout of Bologna.

His post-match press conference seemed to open the door of an extension of his stay and manager Carlo Ancelotti and Milan owner and Italian Premier Silvio Berlusconi have both spoken of his readiness to retain the former England captain.

British tabloid reports suggest wife Victoria is less keen on staying in Italy and does not want to uproot their three sons after their previous spell in a non-English speaking country with Real Madrid.

Galliani said Milan would be willing to soften the blow of any loss in earnings if Beckham broke his a highly lucrative deal with Galaxy and MLS.
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 08:07:05 AM by Filho »

Re: Beckham will stay in Milan....
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2009, 08:28:01 AM »
Yeah this is pretty much a done deal.

Galaxy needs to rebuild and Beckham has shown absolutely little appetite this last season. All he concerned with is wringing as many caps as possible out of an England jersey with one set of cobeau sweat.

I like Beckham think he is a decenyt guy and he is a hard working player. Not surprised to see him doing well at Milan because he is a smart footballer but...

I don't like the career choices he made. If he was seroious about playing for England he could have gone to a decent premiership team and played ball consistently instead of these big glamorous signings in LA and Milan. He making moves where his marketing appeal is a bigger draw than his talent.

I understand that he does not want to play in England because of his ties to United but at the end of the day it is a job. If you playing for a Blackburn, Villa or Everton, or even Arsenal or Liverpool it eh no scene. At least yuh know yuh wanted for your football talents.

« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2009, 09:45:03 AM »

Galaxy needs to rebuild and Beckham has shown absolutely little appetite this last season. All he concerned with is wringing as many caps as possible out of an England jersey with one set of cobeau sweat.

I like Beckham think he is a decenyt guy and he is a hard working player. Not surprised to see him doing well at Milan because he is a smart footballer but...

I don't like the career choices he made. If he was seroious about playing for England he could have gone to a decent premiership team and played ball consistently instead of these big glamorous signings in LA and Milan. He making moves where his marketing appeal is a bigger draw than his talent.

I understand that he does not want to play in England because of his ties to United but at the end of the day it is a job. If you playing for a Blackburn, Villa or Everton, or even Arsenal or Liverpool it eh no scene. At least yuh know yuh wanted for your football talents.

JDB..i have a feeling that no team on the planet is buying Beckham purely for his football talents. The fact is, he is a cash cow and fprofessional ootball is a business. Some teams may appear to require his football ability more than others...doesn't mean they have any less of a desire or the off the field benefits.

« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2009, 10:57:59 AM »

Uh-Uh......yuh can't blame him for the career choice, is common knowledge Beckham decided to go to the US because (at the time he made his decision) he was not being selected for England and a bit part player for Madrid. His value at the time was dropping almost daily. He obiviously thought his international and Madrid careers were pretty much over and therefore the Galaxy deal was too good to refuse as he was unlikely to get a better offer anywhere else.....and Posh was extremely happy to go to the states. As I remember the only side sounding out Beckham when he was playing poorly for Madrid was Pompey, none of the big four wanted him! He certainly would never have got the kind of financial package given to him by the Galaxy's owners even if one of the big boys had come in for him (and that was'nt gonna happen).

It was a last payday and oppertunity for He and especially his missus to relaunch themselves and brand Beckham. Everthing changed when Mclaren brought him back into the England fold as his performances prompted Cappello to start playing him for Madrid again. I think he realised his error then, but the deal was done by then and Beckham seems to be a very honourable guy (at least fuh financial and image resasons anyway). I've seen Beck's play for the Galaxy and the guy is simply not motivated. He is a model pro behaviour wise but he is still human and when yuh have a nagging feeling that you have made a big mistake with a career choice I know from experience it can have a negative effect on performance no matter what your line of employment is.

« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2009, 11:06:41 AM »

Lalas said: ''He's back in his comfort zone at AC Milan, playing with one of the biggest clubs in the world, with a tremendous amount of talent around him, with incredible money out there on the field so it must be, in a weird way for him, a relief to get out there.''

Wha Lalas mean to say is he finally playing with men on par or better than him who could handle he crosses and making excellent runs and getting into space looking for the best ball. In the game Sunday I see him swing a ball from jes in front of the right back to almost the opposite corner flag on Ambrosini foot. Who in Galaxy could ah deal with that ball..........Landon?!?!?

« Reply #7 on: January 27, 2009, 11:46:10 AM »
Posh Spice wanted to try Hollywood so she  :whip: and they move to LA. Becks had no choice in the decision, plus lets face it the money was mad money. 

« Reply #8 on: January 27, 2009, 01:16:51 PM »
In light of the Sbragia vs Redknapp battles that were drawn out over the last week, can we say that Milan hierarchy is trying to unsettle Beckham and lure him away from LA Galaxy ..... or are the rules different since he is officially on loan to Milan?

« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2009, 06:34:10 PM »
Beckham scored again today in a 1-1 draw with Genoa.

I didn't see the game, so don't know if he actually played well, but I have a greater respect for his ability. After two years in the MLS he could come to Milan and Serie A and have no real transition issues. Not bad

« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 07:15:29 PM »
well i watching this game now.. 8 mins gone, but so far Beckham real getting on.

nearly score within 18 seconds and only spraying some best ball.

i was a real harsh critic of this move and was waiting for de inevitable pop down, but this man want to make me eat my words.

« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2009, 07:22:40 PM »
well i watching this game now.. 8 mins gone, but so far Beckham real getting on.

nearly score within 18 seconds and only spraying some best ball.

i was a real harsh critic of this move and was waiting for de inevitable pop down, but this man want to make me eat my words.

Beckham is ah boss... de man have real determination... anybody who really follow this man career will see that.
Everybody know de man weaknesses but he does play to he strengths and doh ever give up! Real class imo

He could fit in any team.. at Galaxy he just was not motivated and dem fellas is shithongs anyway..

« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2009, 07:23:19 PM »
I used to think Becks was overrated. But then he went to Real Madrid and show a form, even in MLS you could see class. He definitely gain my respect.

England still eh winning nutten though.

« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2009, 07:24:52 PM »
today was a school in the art of freekicks.
Is a shame Milan didn't get the result.
the live game commentary hinted that the equaliser was offside.

« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2009, 07:41:45 PM »
wait.... if now see de goal there.

if yuh see where becks score that free kick from.  outside the box, real narrow angle, only a 2 man wall... no chance for the keeper. wow

« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2009, 08:24:57 PM »
Real cheeky free kick from Beckham.
De man playin good.

« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2009, 08:39:51 PM »
Funny thing, Galaxy did not have the patience to keep Cornell while he was recuperating from his WC injury. They bought an injured Beckham. They have no major silverware to show for that big splash. They could have kept Cornel, they might have made the play-offs.

« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2009, 08:42:25 PM »
Maybe Scott Sealy could get a sweat there ... and a raise too.

« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2009, 08:43:52 PM »
People that think David does not have world class ability are simply stupid...He's done it for Utd..Madrid...and now Milan...I think he is the most determined footballer and when times are rough and you need someone to pick a team up I would pick Becks on my squad anyday...he could play RW..CM..CDM..CAM...he is a free kick specialist and his delivery is possibly the best in the world...he tracks back and wears his heart on his sleeve...will get stuck in...

he is also very humble and even though he looks "flashy" it doesnt go to his head.... Coach La Foucade was telling me how he was amazed at how humble and willing he was to work with.. he thought he would have been a little unwilling to work with the underprivileged youths when England was here but he said Becks was like absolutely to everything and made the event a true success

If he was ugly like Dinho everyone would love him... dont hate the player..hate the game

Big player

Legend Beckham 7
« Last Edit: January 28, 2009, 08:47:42 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2009, 09:03:33 PM »
Man of the match was Pato.

Sad that all the hype about other players is over-shadowing how good this youth is playing this season.

« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2009, 09:05:32 PM »
Wazza,
          I ain't taking nothing away from Becks. I think is a good player and he is good for the game. I just thought that the Galaxy management went bazaodie over Becks and dropped a good player who could have help them.

« Reply #21 on: January 29, 2009, 09:45:43 AM »

Sad that all the hype about other players is over-shadowing how good this youth is playing this season.

Agreed! Milan gets all their energy from him. He chasing all kinds of balls down and just plays with a youthful enthusiasm. Great to watch!

« Reply #22 on: January 29, 2009, 12:54:51 PM »

Agreed! Milan gets all their energy from him. He chasing all kinds of balls down and just plays with a youthful enthusiasm. Great to watch!

Yeah boy this youth was fire last night...  beating men at will and some deceptive speed as well..

them genoa defenders resort to pulling his jersey any chance they get. He and Kaka seem to be developing a good understanding too.

last night was the most tempo i see milan play with for the season, like becks tell them give him a bligh since capello watching. i waiting for them to buck up on ah big side.. when is the next tough game for Milan?

« Reply #23 on: January 30, 2009, 02:29:24 PM »

When you realize d man eh even 20 yet and defenders already fraid to rush in.
I eh know where this side would be this year without him

« Reply #24 on: January 30, 2009, 05:29:20 PM »
I believe Pato's year will be 2010.

Milan will come back to the CL with a vengance - they will sort out their squad issues and challenge for a Scudetto wire to wire in Serie A, and Pato will be on the field at the WC ... all this barring injury (knock on wood).

Pato will do his thing at Milan and Brasil .... Messi will do his thing at Barca and Argentina.

It will be down to the both for player of the year - and whoever performs better will have the chance to lead their team to all the glory.

« Reply #25 on: January 30, 2009, 10:57:38 PM »
People that think David does not have world class ability are simply stupid...He's done it for Utd..Madrid...and now Milan...I think he is the most determined footballer and when times are rough and you need someone to pick a team up I would pick Becks on my squad anyday...he could play RW..CM..CDM..CAM...he is a free kick specialist and his delivery is possibly the best in the world...he tracks back and wears his heart on his sleeve...will get stuck in...

he is also very humble and even though he looks "flashy" it doesnt go to his head.... Coach La Foucade was telling me how he was amazed at how humble and willing he was to work with.. he thought he would have been a little unwilling to work with the underprivileged youths when England was here but he said Becks was like absolutely to everything and made the event a true success

If he was ugly like Dinho everyone would love him... dont hate the player..hate the game

Yeah Becks do he ting yesterday. Easily one of my favorite players.

Big player

Legend Beckham 7

« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2009, 02:30:53 PM »
Beckham --> Pato --> GOAL.

Hint of offside, but goal stands.

« Reply #27 on: February 01, 2009, 02:53:07 PM »
Beckham --> Ambrosini --> GOAL.

trademark cross.

« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2009, 03:34:14 PM »
hahaha. Beckham have football fans all over the world eating crow.

Goals..assists. Very good, productive play at one of the biggest teams on the planet. And tell me allyuh didn't see him breed the left back and then 5 minutes later hit a man a tock tock in the center of the pitch. Not to get carried away..but he doesn't know his teammates all that well, he's never played in Serie A and he was under a lot of pressure to not look like an overpaid marketing gimmick. More 'talented' players under far less pressure take longer to adapt than Becks..

I was never a Beckham hater..but I didn't expect him to walk into the side and start to produce at such a level, practically right away. I am impressed

« Reply #29 on: February 01, 2009, 03:36:55 PM »
Milan as a whole today was spectacular. Ambrosini (I am not a fan of) Seedorf and Pirlo were an unbelievable trio. Beckham set up two and once again pato had the defense on edge. milan were so good today even Senderos looked World Class