March 29, 2024, 07:09:12 AM

Author Topic: Sbragia scuppers Jones' Tottenham move  (Read 14724 times)

Re: Sbragia scuppers Jones' Tottenham move
« Reply #60 on: January 26, 2009, 05:12:25 PM »
the heat is on

Re: Sbragia scuppers Jones' Tottenham move
« Reply #61 on: January 27, 2009, 04:17:58 AM »
I think Harry is overdoing it.  If that article is to be believed, then he really likes to air his views on the public forum.

I do feel, however, that if Tottenham loses to stoke today, then he will lorse his wuk!!  But then again, who will they replace him with?  which manager wants to go there?

Cats reject £20m Spurs bid as Jones signs new deal.
« Reply #62 on: January 27, 2009, 05:11:02 AM »
Cats reject £20m Spurs bid as Jones signs new deal.
By: Graeme Anderson (Sunderland Echo).

Sunderland striker Kenwyne Jones will sign a new lucrative four-and-a-half-year deal today, the Echo understands. It is believed that the Black Cats have turned down a bid from Spurs which amounted to almost £20m.

The agreement will keep the powerhouse striker at the Stadium of Light until 2013 at least and provide the club with the time and space needed to fulfil Ricky Sbragia's plans of building a team around the Trinidad & Tobago international.

For Sunderland, it is a massive statement of intent that they are in the Premier League to compete with the elite, rather than just rub along.

And chairman Niall Quinn will also hope that the ambitious deal ends any speculation that the Wearsiders are to become a selling club in the wake of Pascal Chimbonda's £3m departure to Spurs yesterday afternoon.

Jones, a £6m signing from Southampton last summer, was last season's top scorer as Sunderland avoided relegation from the Premier League.

And this season he has scored seven goals in 12 starts since returning from a serious knee injury in November – a tally which has attracted the attention of clubs like Spurs and Aston Villa.

Spurs' pursuit of Jones in particular, has been determined, protracted and had an unsettling effect at Sunderland.

But the player's family is happy on Wearside, unlike Chimbonda's, and the lucrative contract for the striker has demonstrated how highly the club values him.

Although many newspapers were reporting this morning that Sunderland had turned down a £15m bid for the player, the reality is that the final deal put together to try prising the play away from Wearside was actually approaching a staggering £20m.

That would have dwarfed Sunderland's previous highest transfer sale – Michael Bridges' £5.5m transfer to Leeds United in 1999.

But Ricky Sbragia insisted on Saturday that the player was going nowhere and was adamant that he didn't want to sell his best players.

Likewise, Quinn is determined that Sunderland will not be cherry-picked of its most important talents, regardless of the fees involved.

For Quinn, Sbragia, Jones and Sunderland fans, the agreement of the new deal finally puts all the transfer talk to bed and allows the Black Cats to continue on their ongoing efforts to climb the Premier League table.

They host Fulham tonight in a game which Sbragia has targeted for all three points ahead of Sunday's derby game against Newcastle United and the visit of Stoke City to the Stadium of Light.

It will give Sunderland's 'new signing' his first opportunity to begin repaying Quinn and Sbragia's faith in him.

Offline kev

• Lifes a bitch, then you marry one
Re: Cats reject £20m Spurs bid as Jones signs new deal.
« Reply #63 on: January 27, 2009, 05:35:11 AM »
Puts an end to the nonsense for another few months

I would imagine it has doubled his wages to somewhere in the region of £40-£50 K per week, probably the latter rather than the former

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=16711

Jones signs new deal

Striker Kenwyne Jones has signed a new deal at Sunderland.

The Trinidad and Tobago international has put pen-to-paper on a new four-and-a-half-year contract at the Stadium of Light.

Jones had attracted strong interest from a number of Premier League clubs but has today committed his long-term future to Sunderland in a deal that will keep him at the club until 2013.

Manager Ricky Sbragia said: "I'm absolutely delighted that Kenwyne has committed to the club for the long-term.

"He's young with a great future ahead of him and has already proven himself to be a key player for us. The fact that we've had interest from top clubs shows how much of an asset he is and it's fantastic that he will be a Sunderland player for many years to come."

Chairman Niall Quinn added: "We are building a team for the long-term and Kenwyne is a big part of that. In signing this new deal he's shown that he wants to be part of our future and believes in what Ricky and the Club are doing.

"In the current economic climate the figures banded around for Kenwyne have been staggering, but we have shown our intent to build a bigger and better club for the future by retaining our best players."

Jones joined Sunderland from Southampton in August 2007 and quickly became a favourite with Black Cats fans.

The 24-year-old striker has scored seven league and cup goals from 16 games so far this season after returning to action in October following rehabilitation from a serious knee injury.

27th January 2009 11:27
« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 05:37:20 AM by kev »

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #64 on: January 27, 2009, 05:51:31 AM »
Glad for him and the team. At least he has some stability now and can concentrate on the upcoming games.
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

« Reply #65 on: January 27, 2009, 06:06:15 AM »

« Last Edit: January 27, 2009, 06:15:22 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #66 on: January 27, 2009, 06:46:35 AM »
play yuh fittball son

« Reply #67 on: January 27, 2009, 06:47:34 AM »
SUNDERLAND crazy to spend all dat money re-signing a man like Jones...steups, he cyar run off the ball, he has a poor first touch, does on occassion play like ah man sign by Smokey and Bunty United Winers, and he does real play shit n many days.

Not to mention dey turn down 20 million pounds for him?

who running dat club boy?

Trinis?

Offline kev

« Reply #68 on: January 27, 2009, 07:14:49 AM »
SUNDERLAND crazy to spend all dat money re-signing a man like Jones...steups, he cyar run off the ball, he has a poor first touch, does on occassion play like ah man sign by Smokey and Bunty United Winers, and he does real play shit n many days.

Trinis?

Keep repeating to yourself,
I must not witter,
I must not witter

eventually you might get the message

« Reply #69 on: January 27, 2009, 07:18:58 AM »
Hope for his sake dey doh get relegated.

Also trust that this 4 year contract will set he and he family up for life.

« Reply #70 on: January 27, 2009, 07:30:16 AM »
I think he set up good they ..they obviously like him 50000 pounds a week he settle nice they   ..... now go on and handle this season son

« Reply #71 on: January 27, 2009, 07:32:37 AM »

Dias de pen he use to sign with....Should have been ah Cross pen or something, damn thing look like ah cheap bic :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl:

Go big Kev, show dem yu size

« Reply #72 on: January 27, 2009, 07:37:12 AM »

Dias de pen he use to sign with....Should have been ah Cross pen or something, damn thing look like ah cheap bic :rotfl: :devil: :beermug: :rotfl:

Go big Kev, show dem yu size

is the recession  ::)

« Reply #73 on: January 27, 2009, 07:49:18 AM »
I hope he sends Harry Redknap a little cheque in the mail............lol

Great news for him...

Question:  Is he the highest paid Caribbean player ever? I know that in Yorke's hayday, he was being paid 26,000 a week and that was the 7th or 8th highest in England.

ah love it again!!

« Reply #74 on: January 27, 2009, 07:58:23 AM »
I hope he sends Harry Redknap a little cheque in the mail............lol

Great news for him...

Question:  Is he the highest paid Caribbean player ever? I know that in Yorke's hayday, he was being paid 26,000 a week and that was the 7th or 8th highest in England.

ah love it again!!

actually I believe yorke was getting around 40 a week but times change big time

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #75 on: January 27, 2009, 07:59:18 AM »
Congrats to the man :beermug:

« Reply #76 on: January 27, 2009, 08:08:29 AM »
Nice!

As Sat mentioned... you and the family should be set up good now. All the best to KJ and the team he committed to.

Offline SabreWolves

« Reply #77 on: January 27, 2009, 08:09:10 AM »
Do/can players have in their contracts that if their clubs bet relagated, they will be sold/released to another club?

« Reply #78 on: January 27, 2009, 08:16:42 AM »
Do/can players have in their contracts that if their clubs bet relagated, they will be sold/released to another club?

Yes

Offline kev

« Reply #79 on: January 27, 2009, 08:20:03 AM »

I would imagine there is at a hefty (ish) fee, I would also imagine the club would sell if that happened anyway, all this will do is guarantee a bigger fee as the contract as so long to go. 

Heres a clip from his interview today on SSN about signing his contract if anybody is interested (taken from SAFC TV so the questions are benile)

http://www.skysports.com/video/clips/0,23791,12606_4856244,00.html?ssvTab=2&ssvSelectedTab=12600&ssvBasket=12606&ssvPage=1

« Reply #80 on: January 27, 2009, 08:24:18 AM »

I would imagine there is at a hefty (ish) fee, I would also imagine the club would sell if that happened anyway, all this will do is guarantee a bigger fee as the contract as so long to go. 
Heres a clip from his interview today on SSN about signing his contract if anybody is interested (taken from SAFC TV so the questions are benile)

http://www.skysports.com/video/clips/0,23791,12606_4856244,00.html?ssvTab=2&ssvSelectedTab=12600&ssvBasket=12606&ssvPage=1

pretty much it.

« Reply #81 on: January 27, 2009, 08:33:55 AM »

Trinis?

I must not witter,
I must not witter

ah hope yuh not a cyber stalker yuh know....why yuh after me so...like yuh want to sign me or what.

Keep repeating:

I does talk shit
i does talk shit

Eventually you will get tired...and go to sleep.

As I was saying Sunderland must be mad to pay ah player like Jones all dat money and say dey building side around him.

Offline madness

« Reply #82 on: January 27, 2009, 08:38:02 AM »
iam happy 4him

Offline kev

« Reply #83 on: January 27, 2009, 09:00:03 AM »

Trinis?

I must not witter,
I must not witter

ah hope yuh not a cyber stalker yuh know....why yuh after me so...like yuh want to sign me or what.

Keep repeating:

I does talk shit
i does talk shit

Eventually you will get tired...and go to sleep.

As I was saying Sunderland must be mad to pay ah player like Jones all dat money and say dey building side around him.

Giving how accurate you have been about what I have said, its about par for the course. :-*

For Christ sake man have SOME PRIDE be ORIGINAL at least, put some thought behind it come on you surely can do better than that (on 2nd thoughts given your attempts so far possibly not) ::)

PS If you stuck and want some ideas PM me I will help you out nee bother

« Reply #84 on: January 27, 2009, 09:11:49 AM »

Sunderland is a rell shyte side, they building a team around KJ ?

So they going an train everybody to pump long ball in de area ? lol

« Reply #85 on: January 27, 2009, 09:15:57 AM »
Stern is a far better striker, I don't know why he never get a contract so  ???

« Reply #86 on: January 27, 2009, 09:20:30 AM »
Stern is a far better striker, I don't know why he never get a contract so  ???

Ah hear he turn down similar offers in the past so he could stay in the championship.

« Reply #87 on: January 27, 2009, 09:38:42 AM »
Wonder if W Connection had any claw in his contract. They would have been living large all now....

« Reply #88 on: January 27, 2009, 09:42:56 AM »
Good stuff KJ....It's the right decision.... only leave if a top 3 club come in for you...

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #89 on: January 27, 2009, 09:57:22 AM »
wow allyuh go fight down anybody yes.....man vex with ah team for valuing one ah we own players yes....aye KJ do yuh thing boi if man say u is crap....but a coach with football credentials say you have value...den who opinion have more weight...the man developing good, and he scoring, and i hope to see the man come and real buss up the net for the hex so that all ah allyuh wagonist dem go start to wag allyuh tongue and big up the man now...steups...i just hope Sunderland invest in a midfield that can give the man some nice lil ball instead ah this boom kick in the box cause he tall crap.

Bless
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him