April 29, 2024, 02:12:09 AM

Author Topic: Anybody here ever play football in de snow.  (Read 3149 times)

Anybody here ever play football in de snow.
« on: January 15, 2009, 08:32:31 AM »
I play some ball last week in de snow, real nice... after de game though, I went to pee and couldn't find meh Jan-gi.....  :devil:

But de game was boss.... get bun fast..... de air tin.... ah play with a hoodie and track pants.

Re: Anybody here ever play football in de snow.
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2009, 08:44:47 AM »
Yes man Sam, ah do that already, but it was real tiring.. It was a couple inches a snow and a few times a thought I broke mih toes as the ball was real hard... Note : doh head de ball, instant headache.

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2009, 08:46:38 AM »
I play some ball last week in de snow, real nice... after de game though, I went to pee and couldn't find meh Jan-gi.....  :devil:

But de game was boss.... get bun fast..... de air tin.... ah play with a hoodie and track pants.

Dread, de last time I do dat was durin de major snow storm in 96, was in Atlanta at de time, mehself and plenty odder Morehouse fellas (none of them post though), was fun, but we had some of the same experiences as you.

Here in NY in the pier 40 league (w/Strip, FF, and odders), played in de winter league a few times (in de cold but minus snow), can be a killer, once yuh warm and stretch well in general could be ok, but culd not agree w/yuh more, air is really thin during de winter making breathing a challenge

« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2009, 09:16:07 AM »

Dread, de last time I do dat was durin de major snow storm in 96, was in Atlanta at de time, mehself and plenty odder Morehouse fellas (none of them post though), was fun, but we had some of the same experiences as you.

Here in NY in the pier 40 league (w/Strip, FF, and odders), played in de winter league a few times (in de cold but minus snow), can be a killer, once yuh warm and stretch well in general could be ok, but culd not agree w/yuh more, air is really thin during de winter making breathing a challenge

Yeah Pier 40 Winter Warriors league on a brisk day is real pressure...when that wind pick up yuh can't feel yuh feet...nor yuh face...

« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2009, 09:42:08 AM »
Dahis a question? :) How yuh mean ... de madness fuh me at the time was that I did it days after leaving Trini ... not weeks, d-a-y-s!

Didn't have the luxury of playing wid a hoodie and track pants doh.

« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2009, 09:42:25 AM »

aye I get yuh message, but I ent ge chance to link yuh back. I ent forget... and where meh hat. ah lorse meh next one now..

De last time I play in snow was last year january round this time... I thought I was going and lorse all ten toes... I make a promise I ent doing that again...
de other day me and villareal play a game on de East side... fus it cold, we stop three times on de way to de subway to take a whiskey shot before we go home.
ah next time, me and strip gone to kick ball uner thirstiness, musbe did lorse we mind... it was 15' F before windchill... talk bout therapy... we find two other mad men to run ah two on two... that last about 15 mins before we ketch back we self abandon that sweat

« Reply #6 on: January 15, 2009, 09:59:00 AM »
i save in snow a few times...

some men was asking what is frozen pitch last week? Well it like diving on concrete, no lie.. Yuh running and yuh pegs only going klak klaks on de field.

After 1 or 2 throw-frame i say fork dat, water more than flour yes, is only foot save after that.. A take some good goal in de snow but dey wasn't paying me neither going in de goal so dey couldnt complain.

« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2009, 10:13:07 AM »
i was playing small goal on a basketball court outside chicago once and snow start.

we went inside. mih head start feeling giddy and warm. i was coming from miami at the time. that trip was d first time i see snow.

« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2009, 10:25:40 AM »
Allyuh men is a SETTA ball pyong oui!! NOT FRIKKIN' ME!!

« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2009, 10:47:39 AM »
Frozen pitch is real tief head.
Yuh pegs not diggin into the soil so when iz time to stop yuh goin skatin for a little bit.
And doh play yuh fallin down, like Omar say, is like rough concrete.

Offline Texastrini

« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2009, 10:51:15 AM »
i ain't play in snow cos it jus doh snow that often in Austin but it does still get cold.  Ah play ah few times at night on Clark field on UT campus when it was 3 or 4C and windy.  That field is only a field in name cos where we was playing regularly was really jus gravel so yuh ain't want to fall.  I start out in a tshirt, hoodie, beanie (hat), shorts, football socks, and a track pants.  After de body warm up ah used to lose the long pants sometimes.  Dread yuh does see steam rising from yuh body and breathinng in that cold air after a hard run is something else.  And of course the ground like concrete.  But all in all once yuh start running yuh doh really think about it.

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2009, 11:07:22 AM »
worse sweat ever .... but is Christmas all over again for the chiropractors afterwards.
it feel like somebody pump up the ball with concrete and not air.
foot wet, socks wet, hypothermia kicking in.
wildness does xxxxxx 100000 times ..... people making rugby tackles
zero footing when it have ice underneath the snow
trying to breathe is like breathing on top of Mt. Everest.

.... but I will still do it all over again.

Oye .... allyuh fellas in NY - allyuh sweating with the Zogsports league?

« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2009, 11:13:11 AM »
worse sweat ever .... but is Christmas all over again for the chiropractors afterwards.

zog sports soft like butter...

It have a setta we on here does play Gotham Soccer 11 v 11 in Pier 40.
we might run again in de spring...
Also does run 11 v 11 in the Cosmopolitan league but we on Winter Break right now

Otherwise I does run in Urban Soccer mens and coed 7v7.... Metrosoccer coed which does be real nice in the summer and sometimes New York Soccer collective... also play in NY Coed Soccer one time... ah think dwn on here win that ah time.

Edit: allyuh ent see we talking bout cold and snow and ah man want to talk about 3 and 4 degrees celsius! That is almost beach weather yes... dese texas ppl eh  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 11:15:09 AM by FF »

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2009, 11:48:32 AM »
last time I play Urban was last summer .... maybe we will bounce up. Locations are maddness.

Never play any of the other football leagues .... but play Zogsports for American Football, basketball and dodgeball.

« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2009, 12:13:40 PM »
Try standing and coaching in the snow.

« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2009, 12:18:15 PM »
Played in ah league final in Buffalo, 6 inch ah snow...Score 2 goals and missed a pen. damn ball hit some snow and skate away pass de goal.  Good game but it does get real cold real quick LOL :rotfl: :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2009, 12:30:22 PM »
doh fall down on a frozen pitch...

i reach home a time and i find like my whole thigh scratching a kinda a way and when i gone and bathe is fire.. when i check the whole leg scratch up like a tiger attack me or something.

also i get frostbite in my toe once. a 15 min walk back home after game and when my foot start to thaw out i get one excruciating pain in my toe. Had to almost limp home, thing to make a big man cry. And weeks after that once yuh play in the cold and warm down is the same pain coming back again.

« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2009, 12:49:57 PM »
Aye, allyuh, is not de air dat thin when it cold. Dat is de feeling of yuh lungs freezing up! Trust me on this one. And I nevah play ball in de snow. Ah have too much respect fuh what de cold could do to yuh. Right now is about -20C outside and it supposed to go to -30 tonight.

« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2009, 12:56:01 PM »
lawd, and I refuse to go outside because it in the single digits here.

btw, is there any difference between -20 and -30 except that your engine block might be frozen?

« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2009, 12:58:24 PM »

zog sports soft like butter...

It have a setta we on here does play Gotham Soccer 11 v 11 in Pier 40.
we might run again in de spring...
Also does run 11 v 11 in the Cosmopolitan league but we on Winter Break right now

Otherwise I does run in Urban Soccer mens and coed 7v7.... Metrosoccer coed which does be real nice in the summer and sometimes New York Soccer collective... also play in NY Coed Soccer one time... ah think dwn on here win that ah time.

Edit: allyuh ent see we talking bout cold and snow and ah man want to talk about 3 and 4 degrees celsius! That is almost beach weather yes... dese texas ppl eh  :rotfl:

No seen man, check yuh PM

Mose, thanks for the explanation (re-lungs freezing up).

All yuh guh tink ah crazy, but I personally enjoy ah good winter sweat, not on a regular by any means, but will do it once in a while.....

« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2009, 01:03:37 PM »

btw, is there any difference between -20 and -30 except that your engine block might be frozen?

The salt that they spread on roads and sidewalks to thaw ice stops working.
But then, the ice becomes so hard and brittle you don't really slide as much. As a pedestrian anyway.

Oh, and yuh face will freeze in about 2 mins instead of 5.

« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2009, 02:13:21 PM »

But then, the ice becomes so hard and brittle you don't really slide as much. As a pedestrian anyway.

lol ... I like the cold, but not that much.

« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2009, 02:40:11 PM »
I did..for brooklyn Rover...it started to snow 10min into the game

« Reply #23 on: January 15, 2009, 04:15:34 PM »
I have played in all kind of snowy conditions. But the wet snow is the worst. You can't unlace you boots after you play. Your fingers numb and burning.

« Reply #24 on: January 15, 2009, 06:46:29 PM »
I played one time in rhode island and my head could'nt stop smoking,it was like meh head was on fire.....

« Reply #25 on: January 15, 2009, 08:30:27 PM »
You poor USA Trinibagonians, its -6 F here (-22 F wind chill) and you must only be used to lows of 60 (or higher?)  :rotfl:

« Reply #26 on: January 15, 2009, 08:34:59 PM »
You poor USA Trinibagonians, its -6 F here (-22 F wind chill) and you must only be used to lows of 60 (or higher?)  :rotfl:

.... 60s in SoCal and Fl maybe .... but here in the Northeast, it's -5F outside.

« Reply #27 on: January 16, 2009, 08:16:10 AM »
never played "football" but did play "american football" in real cold and snow.

official game the coldest was about -4C with the wind and not much snow on the field.

unofficial games - every winter fellas who played against each other in school league used to meet for games. we've played in knee high snow and - 21 C (wind).. full contact tackle. The wuss is when you thaw out and then start seeing boh-boh from hits you got, but due to the cold at the time you eh feel it.

« Reply #28 on: January 16, 2009, 11:34:12 AM »

lol ... I like the cold, but not that much.
Oh yeah, and yuh winter tires cease being effective.

« Reply #29 on: January 16, 2009, 09:45:28 PM »
Played a couple times... was fraid to head the ball, headache. Fraid to chest trap because a lil bit to the left or right and yuh nips in pain. It seem too that every lil knock yuh get does feel 10 times worse than usual ... And dais why I en Florida now, about 72 today, football all year round!!! :)