April 27, 2024, 11:31:35 AM

Author Topic: Brighton signs Birchall  (Read 6202 times)

Brighton signs Birchall
« on: January 16, 2009, 05:31:09 AM »
Albion Sign Birchall
By Tim Dudding (seagulls.co.uk)

Albion have agreed a contract with Trinidad & Tobago international Chris Birchall until the end of the season.

The 24-year-old midfielder has been training with the Seagulls for the last fortnight, and finalised the deal this morning at the club offices. He goes straight into the squad to face Leeds United on Saturday and is available to face Luton Town in the Johnstone's Paints Trophy area final.

Albion manager Micky Adams said, "After the last couple of weeks we feel Chris has earned an opportunity to show us he deserves a longer-term contract.

"Once he's fully fit we're sure he'll be a real asset to the squad."

Chairman Dick Knight said, "Chris has earned this contract to show us what he can do. The Trinidad and Tobago international has some World Cup games coming up, but he is experienced in dealing with the travel involved and we're confident it won't affect his club performances."

Re: Brighton signs Birchall
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2009, 05:43:56 AM »
Congrats J Cloth.  Good luck!

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2009, 05:58:33 AM »
nice...well done birch

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2009, 06:00:20 AM »
CONGRATS Me Mum!!! Go out there and show the what you can do!!

« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2009, 06:18:40 AM »
this is good news. congrats birchy -show them what you can do..

« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2009, 06:28:18 AM »
fantastic,make us proud like you always do.....

« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2009, 06:44:47 AM »
Congrats Birchy... Keep focused and work towards that long-term contract.

« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2009, 06:59:51 AM »
Congrats!

« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2009, 07:52:54 AM »
Thank God- it's about time... we need him fit for WCQ

Good luck Birchy!

Offline Trin

« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2009, 08:06:38 AM »
niceness

« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2009, 08:37:06 AM »
Congrats... Great News...

« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2009, 08:38:17 AM »
Good to go!! we need yuh fit and ready to blast off come Feb 11th....

so much for the MLS... :shameonyou:

« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2009, 08:40:44 AM »
Yeaaaaahhhhhhh work hard Birchie  ..... good news

« Reply #13 on: January 16, 2009, 08:44:43 AM »
After all dat rigamarole...

« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2009, 08:49:23 AM »
TM is there a connection between Albion and Brighton?

« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2009, 08:53:28 AM »
TM is there a connection between Albion and Brighton?

De full name of de club is Brighton and Hove Albion.

« Reply #16 on: January 16, 2009, 09:12:55 AM »
Good news for him and us.
Anybody know what position they playin him in?

« Reply #17 on: January 16, 2009, 09:22:39 AM »
Now go and show dem that the"Birch"can still sting.

« Reply #18 on: January 16, 2009, 09:25:34 AM »
Wish you all the best Me Mum!!!!  I hope now that you on good terms with Micky Adams that you get many games under your belt and show them exactly what you can do  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: January 16, 2009, 09:47:05 AM »
Oh shit de man have a club.  Hope Maturana doh look to drop him now!

« Reply #20 on: January 16, 2009, 10:34:48 AM »
well done me mum! eat ah food!!

« Reply #21 on: January 16, 2009, 10:47:35 AM »
Good man, we need you in good shape and form to Poison Honduras because that is it if the Warriors could get first two wins then the sailing could become much easier.  Congrats!!

« Reply #22 on: January 16, 2009, 10:58:01 AM »
Now, If yuh could stay orf the damn bench for the earlies...we good

« Reply #23 on: January 16, 2009, 11:41:52 AM »
Careful what yuh wish for maxg. Next ting yuh know de man cyah even make de bench. Leh we hope he could get a steady run of games fuh de first team.

« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2009, 01:18:10 PM »
Congrats on the move!!

The only worry is that it is only up until the end of the season.............

« Reply #25 on: January 16, 2009, 01:53:11 PM »
Oh shit de man have a club.  Hope Maturana doh look to drop him now!

:rotfl:...classic

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
Kenwyne, Kaka and Me Mum
« Reply #26 on: January 16, 2009, 02:55:10 PM »
KJ
Plenty talk flying that KJ going to Spurs for 16mil and Bent going to Sunderland in return or to Villa for 14 mil. As a Villa fan, I really hope that he goes to Villa and not to Spurs. I really can't stand them.

Kaka
I now hearing it's 243 mil. That is insane money! There is no way that one player is worth that. As an owner, I could buy 10 QUALITY players at 24 mil each or 9 players, keeping Robinho and Ireland in the squad. I guess he and/or Hughes have more money than brain.

Me Mum
I hope he has a great spell at WBA and signs a longer term contract in the summer. He deserves that!
« Last Edit: January 16, 2009, 04:20:38 PM by BigToe »

Re: Kenwyne, Kaka and Me Mum
« Reply #27 on: January 16, 2009, 03:02:48 PM »
KJ
Plenty talk flying that KJ going to Spurs for 16mil and Bent going to Sunderland in return or to Villa for 14 mil. As a Villa fan, I really hope that he goes to Villa and not to Spurs. I really can't stand them.

Kaka
I now hearing it's 243 mil. That is insane money! There is no way that one player is worth that. As an owner, I could buy 10 QUALITY players at 24 mil each or 9 players, keeping Robinho and Ireland in the squad. I guess he and/or Hughes have more money that brain.

Me Mum
I hope he has a great spell at WBA and signs a longer term contract in the summer. He deserves that!
is not WBA is brighton hove albion in league 1

« Reply #28 on: January 16, 2009, 03:29:45 PM »
yea big toe... all de best for 2009.. ah lime with your brother yesterday

« Reply #29 on: January 16, 2009, 03:41:12 PM »
u just lost 3-0

Spurs end Jones pursuit
Sunderland turned down offer for striker

Harry Redknapp has revealed that Tottenham have had an offer for Sunderland's Kenwyne Jones turned down.

Spurs were linked with a move for the Trinidad and Tobago international earlier this week and Redknapp admits a bid was lodged with the Black Cats.

Sunderland rejected the approach, believed to be in the region of £14million, and Redknapp has now ended his interest in the striker.

Redknapp said: "The chairman made an offer for Kenwyne Jones. They don't want to sell him, so that is the end of that one.

"There is nothing more you can do. He spoke to Niall Quinn. But they decided he is not for sale, and that is their decision."
Bellamy

Tottenham have also had a bid for Craig Bellamy knocked back by West Ham but Redknapp is still hoping to sign the Welshman.

The Hammers are understood to have rejected Bellamy's request to leave Upton Park for Spurs.

"Someone has told me he wants to come here and play," said Redknapp. "If we can do a deal, good."

Palacios

Another player Redknapp has set his sights on is Wigan's Wilson Palacios, with Steve Bruce declaring that a deal has been 'virtually agreed'.

Redknapp believes a transfer could be imminent and is happy to be closing in on the Honduran midfielder.

"He's a good player," said Redknapp. "The chairman is dealing with it - he's talking to Wigan. I've spoken to him and he was pretty close to doing a deal."
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11661_4802966,00.html

then... that 243 is 108 to city and 30 to the advisors...the rest is kaka's wages

then its brighton not WBA