April 18, 2024, 03:40:08 AM

Author Topic: Mexico, Trinidad, Costa Rica, Canada grouped for first round of CONCACAF U-20  (Read 2181 times)

Mexico, Trinidad, Costa Rica, Canada grouped for first round of CONCACAF U-20 Championship
Concacaf.com  

1/15/2009 - NEW YORK –Mexico will face host Trinidad & Tobago, Costa Rica and Canada in the first round of the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship.

Thursday’s draw set the first-round opponents for the eight-team event, which will be played as a championship March 6-15 at a single venue for the first time since 1996. Trinidad and Mexico will be in Group B with the United States, El Salvador, Jamaica and either Honduras or St. Vincent & the Grenadines.

Honduras, which finished third in Central American qualifying, will face St. Vincent, runner-up from the Caribbean championship, in a two-leg playoff on dates yet-to-be determined.

Group B will be played at Marvin Lee Stadium in Macoya, Trinidad, on the outskirts of the capital of Port-of-Spain, while Group A will be played at Dwight Yorke Stadium in Bacolet on the island of Tobago. This is the fifth time Trinidad & Tobago has staged all or part of the CONCACAF U-20 finals. It staged consecutive championships in 1984 and 1986 and was host of one of two four-team groups in 1998 and 2001.

Match schedules have yet to be finalized, but should be announced within a week, CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said.

The CONCACAF event will qualify four teams for the U-20 World Cup in Egypt September 23-October 16. The United States has qualified 11 times for FIFA’s premier youth event, including the last six. Mexico has qualified the second-most of any CONCACAF nation, 10 times.

Canada has advanced to the finals of the U-20 World Cup eight times, including each of the last four

Hope we can pull this one off

yeah RF... we get all the easy groups right?

Offline reggae-fan

Looks like you are panicing.

nope...just proving you talk bullshit

TT, no excuses!!!!!

Tough group... and I like it like dat! Go hard at dem young Warriors!

Btw was Jamal Gay selected to train with the squad?

« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 04:36:13 PM by FireBrand »

Tough group... and I like it like dat! Go hard at dem young Warriors!

Btw is Jamal Gay in the squad?

I hope he calls hyland to the squad 

Once Corneal not around de squad .....I good

why? he got us to the cup when they were the u17's... he knows the lads

but vranes is a good coach

hopefully they pick the right players

why? he got us to the cup when they were the u17's... he knows the lads

but vranes is a good coach
hopefully they pick the right players

WHAT!!!!! man  i am not sold on him at all

That is a tough group but we can  pull it off, the Mexican U-20s are not exceptionally strong, at least not when we played them last. Time past due for a steady diet of quality opposition Mr. Vranes, El Salvador and Antigua is not enough.

but hey won !! The results of the brazilain tour will indicate where we are

That is why I said they not exceptionally strong. They beat us 2-0 both times. You don't have to be a world power to beat a T&T youth team.

And compared to the U-17s who just collect a cool 7-0 cutarse from their Mex counterparts, the U-20s have a lot less hill to climb.

Hope they have a productive camp in Brazil
« Last Edit: January 15, 2009, 08:12:37 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Premier League duo miss tournament
sportinglife.com

Tottenham forward Giovani dos Santos and Arsenal striker Carlos Vela will not take part of the CONCACAF Under-20 Championship in March.

Mexico Under-20 boss Jesus Ramirez had expected to be able to call on the duo, but the Mexican Football Federation have now confirmed they will not play in the tournament, which takes place in Trinidad and Tobago from March 6 to 15.

"If you check the calendar for the U17 and U20 categories the FIFA schedule does not allow exits for the players who are playing in Europe," said FMF general secretary Decio de Maria.

The tournament had looked like ruling Giovani and Vela out of part of the Premier League run-in, but that is no longer the case.

To all my Yardie bredrins,question to allyuh,do yall tink our group is de group of death.Allyuh big man dem didn't mek it from allyuh group of death to de HEX,so me jess harskin.
Come een Yardies. :)

I just finish reading this post and i hope they are hungary to win...but my question is to you guy's who post on this topic....is this u20 team really hungary and determine to beat the other teams in there back yard....DOSE THE GUYS HAVE FIRE IN THERE EYES TO WIN ...cause the other teams coaches are thinking that Trini is a push over....and i know that a fact ....and the coached from the other team is not going to state it...all they worry about is the other teams they have to play...

Hungary in we group ???