April 16, 2024, 03:22:51 AM

Author Topic: Biggest Rivalry in Football?  (Read 5549 times)

Biggest Rivalry in Football?
« on: January 19, 2009, 01:31:13 PM »
Just wondering what the biggest rivalry in football could be. I don't know how you would quantify it.
Lots of them seem to be derby's/ classico's.

Some of the usual contenders would be:

AC Milan vs. Inter Milan
Everton vs. Liverpool
Man U vs. Man C
Barca vs. Real
Boca vs. River
Argentina vs. Brasil
England vs. Argentina
USA vs. Mexico
T&T vs. Jamaica  ;D

Re: Biggest Rivalry in Football?
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 01:37:21 PM »
this topic has been discussed before, several times I might add.

do a search

furthermore yuh could og on youtube and find some documentaries on the topic

« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2009, 01:58:06 PM »
you could take off the one-sided rivalries where one side cares far more than the other:

ManU v ManCity
Everton V Liverpool.

Also, a special on the EPL showed that the Mereyside derby is one of the friendliest in England is also known as the friendly derby. ManU vs. Liverpool is far more poisonous than ManU vs. manCity, or Liverpool vs. Everton and is widely regarded as the biggest rivalry in the EPL.

Aregntina vs. Brazil will always be bigger than Argentina vs. England. Just not the same, despite the war.

For me:
Club: Boca vs. River
International: England vs. Germany and Brazil vs. Argentina (tie)

Of course..that is high profile. On the lower profile, China vs. Japan is worst than anything coming out of Europe or South America. In 2004, Japan beat China in the Asian Cup final on Chinese soil. Allyuh bess check out the buildup to, and the aftermath of that game. Football come second

« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2009, 02:02:00 PM »
Doh forget Rangers v Celtic.. "Get stuck in lads..."

And some of them Turkish derbies like Galatasaray v Fenerbahce and them Eastern European derbies. People could loss dey life.

« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2009, 02:25:20 PM »

And some of them Turkish derbies like Galatasaray v Fenerbahce

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/lOOFt4hR_B0" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/lOOFt4hR_B0</a>

Offline Gladman

« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2009, 02:31:32 PM »
Some rivalries the media help the hype up,but some rivalries are real serious to the fans and players alike irrespective of league position,  so much tht dey hate one another.

Barca vs Espanyol
Real Betis vs Sevilla
RM vs Atletico M
Lazio vs Roma
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2009, 02:41:25 PM »
Swansea v Cardiff City, might not sound important but the Welsh really get up for this game. They had several arrests when they played earlier in the season. Also Al Ahly and Zamalek of Egypt almost always have fan violence. More known ones are;

West Ham and Millwall.
Atlectico and Real Madrid
Boca and River Plate
Roma and Lazio
Red Star Belgrade and Partizan Belgrade
and obviously Celtic and Rangers.

« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2009, 02:46:14 PM »
Connection vs Jabloteh...bound to have a red card

« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2009, 02:47:33 PM »
Santos v Parliament.

« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2009, 02:53:10 PM »
buh how allyuh cud fuhget Inter vs Juventus..especially wit all dis calciopoli bubblin

« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2009, 02:54:26 PM »
Swansea v Cardiff City, might not sound important but the Welsh really get up for this game. They had several arrests when they played earlier in the season. Also Al Ahly and Zamalek of Egypt almost always have fan violence. More known ones are;

West Ham and Millwall.
Atlectico and Real Madrid
Boca and River Plate
Roma and Lazio
Red Star Belgrade and Partizan Belgrade
and obviously Celtic and Rangers.

Chelsea/Millwall bigger than West Ham/Millwall.

Thaz not a big rivalry anyway, iz just dat both (or all 3) clubs are full of thugs.

For me Celtic/Rangers is the most passionate I've seen, definitely bigger than any english rivalry. The turkish one look like wildness too.

« Reply #11 on: January 19, 2009, 02:55:25 PM »
Penarol v Nacional

« Reply #12 on: January 19, 2009, 02:56:01 PM »
Just wondering what the biggest rivalry in football could be. I don't know how you would quantify it.
Lots of them seem to be derby's/ classico's.

Some of the usual contenders would be:

AC Milan vs. Inter Milan
Everton vs. Liverpool
Man U vs. Man C
Barca vs. Real
Boca vs. River
Argentina vs. Brasil
England vs. Argentina
USA vs. Mexico
T&T vs. Jamaica  ;D

Everton-Liverpool is known as the friendly derby. As is Milan-Inter. Take both off that list  ;D

« Reply #13 on: January 19, 2009, 03:32:58 PM »
Jack vs Hunt

« Reply #14 on: January 19, 2009, 09:38:55 PM »
acb yuh lucky yuh put dat grin face by tnt and jam,that rivalry is like sunday school,it done by 12 o clock.

« Reply #15 on: January 19, 2009, 09:49:29 PM »
Sunderland vs Newcastle

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2009, 12:17:37 AM »
Celtic-Rangers!!!!

« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2009, 02:39:28 AM »
Celtic-Rangers!!!!

Agreed.

Might be a close second to Barca-Real though.

Other than that I find man only calling name to be calling name.  I doubt any other rivalry matches either of these for the sheer duration of the feud (oftentimes being an actual blood feud) and intensity.

« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2009, 08:34:25 AM »
Celtic-Rangers!!!!

Agreed.

Other than that I find man only calling name to be calling name.  I doubt any other rivalry matches either of these for the sheer duration of the feud (oftentimes being an actual blood feud) and intensity.

I don't think you should judge it solely by historical/political/religious differences. Some rivalries take on unbelievable intensity for reasons that cannot be fully explained. It's just how it is.....sometimes small feuds take on epic proportions over time, and some of these rivalries were actually friendly at a point. But don't go by the off the field history alone. People not calling names to call names. Do some research on the topic and you might be surprised....

in any case..if you going by share intensity of the feud and fan hate, Red Star vs Partizan makes Celtic vs Rangers look like a fete match  :D

« Last Edit: January 20, 2009, 08:41:26 AM by Filho »

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2009, 08:47:52 AM »
Celtic-Rangers!!!!

Agreed.

I don't think you should judge it solely by historical/political/religious differences. Some rivalries take on unbelievable intensity for reasons that cannot be fully explained. It's just how it is.....sometimes small feuds take on epic proportions over time, and some of these rivalries were actually friendly at a point. But don't go by the off the field history alone. People not calling names to call names. Do some research on the topic and you might be surprised....

Yeah Celtic-Rangers is up there, above Real-Barca in my opinion but I would put River-Boca above both of them.

Celtic Rangers has waned in intensity a lot in the past 20 years.

« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2009, 08:53:27 AM »
15 YEARS AGO:  Celtic-Rangers.  Now I'd say River-Boca.  Lot of venom in that rivalry..

« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2009, 08:54:18 AM »
Latapy  vz Maturana   soon at a cinema near you

« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2009, 09:28:24 AM »

CIC vs Holy Faith convent Couva

« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2009, 09:33:04 AM »
The more Obvious ones are noted but some very big ones left out.

Falmingo vs Fluminese

Panathanikos vs Olympiakos
Hajduk Split vs Dinamo Zagred 

Al Ahly vs Zamelik
Kaizer Chiefs vs Orlando Pirates

In my times North vs South  ;D

« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2009, 10:31:01 AM »
nobody mention Germany and Poland
also what bout Feynoord and Sparta i think

« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2009, 10:32:44 AM »

Yeah Celtic-Rangers is up there, above Real-Barca in my opinion but I would put River-Boca above both of them.

Celtic Rangers has waned in intensity a lot in the past 20 years.

I doh feel the rivalry is less intense off the pitch..but on the pitch maybe you have more foreign players who play a less 'scottish style'. dunno. Seems like everyone still gets up for the game and the tacxkles come fast and hard..but maybe it's a little different now that it's not just 11 catholics vs 11 protestants from Glasgow (and the two Irelands)

The more Obvious ones are noted but some very big ones left out.

Falmingo vs Fluminese

-Yup...nothing touches Fla-Flu as far as Brazilian rivalries.

Ao ao ao
Segunda divisao (second division),
Ao ao ao
filhos da putao  (sons of a who*e)

Flamengo fans rejoice when Fluminense was relegated

Ela ela ela
Volta pra favela (return to the slums)

Sang by Flu fans whenever they beat Flamengo (who has a reputation fro having large support from Rio favelas)
« Last Edit: January 20, 2009, 10:34:42 AM by Filho »

« Reply #26 on: January 20, 2009, 10:41:55 AM »
Pres vs Naps

« Reply #27 on: January 20, 2009, 10:48:16 AM »
nobody mention Germany and Poland

I would barely call that a rivalry....That's a one-sided hate match....(for obvious reasons) :D

« Reply #28 on: January 20, 2009, 11:30:04 AM »

in any case..if you going by share intensity of the feud and fan hate, Red Star vs Partizan makes Celtic vs Rangers look like a fete match  :D

1. Don't take my admonishment too seriously.
2. No further research needed... I'm aware of some of the bigger rivalries, including the Belgrade derby you mention... to me Celtic-Ranger/Barca-Real have to be at the top when you talking 'biggest' though.

3. Again, if we talking 'biggest'... how do you measure that if not by history, scope and intensity?  ???

« Reply #29 on: January 20, 2009, 11:53:01 AM »
Roma and Lazio

That rivalry is as big for the fans as the Galatasary-Fenerbache. Lazio can place just above relegation, but still be content once they beat Roma.