April 29, 2024, 12:04:01 AM

Author Topic: Pan in A Minor  (Read 5101 times)

Pan in A Minor
« on: January 19, 2009, 09:19:51 PM »

Re: Pan in A Minor
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2009, 09:23:51 PM »
allyuh sure we invent de steelpan.

« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 08:11:28 AM »
Man take de entire intro, first verse and chorus note fuh note and exact phrasin from Jit's Panorama arrangement for Renegades.

Some people boleface in trute yes.  ::)

Dey could all play doh.  De lil gyul in blue on de 6 bass BAD no ass!
« Last Edit: January 20, 2009, 08:18:58 AM by palos »

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2009, 02:27:09 PM »
very well done for peeps from Finland
the fella on the drum kit doin good also
seems like they went TnT in 2000
Their website
their MySpace site

as always, to Aldwyn "Kitch" Roberts'  :notworthy: :notworthy:
« Last Edit: January 20, 2009, 05:28:29 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Swima

« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2009, 04:49:00 PM »
Man take de entire intro, first verse and chorus note fuh note and exact phrasin from Jit's Panorama arrangement for Renegades.

Ent! But really, what better way to mimic trini pan? You expect them to do a Boogsie arrangement????  ;D
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2009, 05:30:24 PM »
I like how they enjoying the pan, you could see they appreciate the pan. Real rhythm and ting yes.

You know ah gyul from Antigua tell me they taught them in school that Antigua invented the pan.

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2009, 05:31:04 PM »
Ent! But really, what better way to mimic trini pan? You expect them to do a Boogsie arrangement???;D
small clip here :D
« Last Edit: January 21, 2009, 08:35:58 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2009, 05:50:12 PM »

Ent! But really, what better way to mimic trini pan? You expect them to do a Boogsie arrangement????  ;D

A Boogsie arrangement would be too sophisticated fuh dem.  Dat come like askin a cobo to forego scraps fuh filet mignon.  Dey jes wouldn't know what to do wit it.  Jit music jes right fuh dem.  ;D ;D

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2009, 08:04:47 PM »
..they can be taught!!  :devil:

lots of holes in the performance, drops in the notes, it hurt a little, but they are young and can only get better...nice job.

lest we forget, meh nable string bury in de harpe..look de gold standard here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTuTJM0UVf0&feature=related

gorme ah miss Kitch...Jit had a masterpiece to work with. You can't mess up an arrangement of this tune.
« Last Edit: January 20, 2009, 08:10:37 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Swima

« Reply #9 on: January 21, 2009, 07:15:13 AM »

lots of holes in the performance, drops in the notes, it hurt a little, but they are young and can only get better...nice job.

gorme ah miss Kitch...Jit had a masterpiece to work with. You can't mess up an arrangement of this tune.

Dem fellas blank me when i tell them my favourite Jit arrangement was Mystery Band. Look it here. D man get the band to sound like rain falling! Steups, wha dey want him do again?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nwP15Kcf8k&feature=related
Success will never take you by surprise.

« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2009, 11:01:13 AM »

Dem fellas blank me when i tell them my favourite Jit arrangement was Mystery Band. Look it here. D man get the band to sound like rain falling! Steups, wha dey want him do again?

Like yuh never hear Sailin or wha?  ;D

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2009, 12:07:45 PM »
Gorme, Mystery Band yeah, and Bees melody and, and, and...Kitch leave we wid a full song book!

Swima, I used to play with a band called Silhouettes in Toronto and Sailing was a sweet tune to play in troot...but
Pan In A Minor should be recorded in the history books as the Gold Standard (next to Renegades *ducks and runs*)

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2009, 12:54:18 PM »

[/b]

Now that was a BOSS arrangement.  :devil:
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2009, 06:16:46 PM »
Gorme, Mystery Band yeah, and Bees melody and, and, and...Kitch leave we wid a full song book!

Swima, I used to play with a band called Silhouettes in Toronto and Sailing was a sweet tune to play in troot...but
Pan In A Minor should be recorded in the history books as the Gold Standard (next to Renegades *ducks and runs*)

No need to duck and run dahlin.  Dat Gold Standard by Renegades is well deserved and earned.  No one can doubt it.

Then there are the bands & arrangers that establish de Platinum Standard!  ;D

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2009, 07:35:42 PM »
No need to duck and run dahlin.  Dat Gold Standard by Renegades is well deserved and earned.  No one can doubt it.

Then there are the bands & arrangers that establish de Platinum Standard!  ;D
aight aight, is dus yuh kick up in meh face.
Ah go take it...I's a big girl...
but if ah tack back doh run like las time eh?
« Last Edit: January 21, 2009, 07:42:14 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2009, 08:17:09 PM »
This is my fav here.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JCS6-kMsxiA&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JCS6-kMsxiA&amp;feature=related</a>

« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2009, 08:21:27 PM »
oooooh gawd look ah next big one here....watch meh alyuh making meh blood boil. I want to see that bachanal lady.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/4xg_Z0IWNGk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/4xg_Z0IWNGk</a>

« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2009, 10:31:34 PM »

Sailing and Curry Tabanca d best 2 panorama arrangements I ever hear.

« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2009, 09:06:57 AM »
This is my fav here.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/JCS6-kMsxiA&amp;feature=related" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/JCS6-kMsxiA&amp;feature=related</a>

Daz a bad ass Panorama piece sah.  I always say is de all time best All Stars Panorama tune BY FAR and one a de bess ever in de history of Panorama!  Dat year dey get encore and all from de crowd and definitely raise duss in de savannah.  I doh think is a coincidence dat tune was arranged by Eddie Quarless.  I always like dis man style....he did a nex one fuh All Stars by Kitch called "De Heavy Roller"....musical too bad yet dey still sound like All Stars.  One of de very few arrangers IMO who can arrange for different bands but still maintain their distinctive musical "signature".

Dat was a stellar year (1993) for pan too.....Renegades did win wit Mystery Band...Phase II dis come second with Birthday Party....and All Stars and Exodus did tie fuh third with Duss in yuh face.  Any of the top 3 bands coulda win dat Panorama...to me the greatest Panorama of all time...the competition was dat stiff.

Good pick dey elan... :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: January 22, 2009, 11:19:58 AM »
as the elders always said, jit is the drillmaster and bradley is the heart and soul.... need i say more 8)

« Reply #20 on: January 22, 2009, 11:22:22 AM »
This is my fav here.

Daz a bad ass Panorama piece sah.  I always say is de all time best All Stars Panorama tune BY FAR and one a de bess ever in de history of Panorama!  Dat year dey get encore and all from de crowd and definitely raise duss in de savannah.  I doh think is a coincidence dat tune was arranged by Eddie Quarless.  I always like dis man style....he did a nex one fuh All Stars by Kitch called "De Heavy Roller"....musical too bad yet dey still sound like All Stars.  One of de very few arrangers IMO who can arrange for different bands but still maintain their distinctive musical "signature".

Dat was a stellar year (1993) for pan too.....Renegades did win wit Mystery Band...Phase II dis come second with Birthday Party....and All Stars and Exodus did tie fuh third with Duss in yuh face.  Any of the top 3 bands coulda win dat Panorama...to me the greatest Panorama of all time...the competition was dat stiff.

Good pick dey elan... :beermug:

oh and by the way, this was the best tune all stars play

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBc7zVPwwpI

« Reply #22 on: January 22, 2009, 12:20:18 PM »
oh and by the way, this was the best tune all stars play

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yBc7zVPwwpI

Everybody have dem opinion and u entitled to yours.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #23 on: January 22, 2009, 07:01:44 PM »
This is my fav here.

oh help me fadda, hear intro!!

nice nice!