March 28, 2024, 10:50:53 PM

Author Topic: Are left Handed Footballers Better?  (Read 4173 times)

Are left Handed Footballers Better?
« on: January 22, 2009, 11:49:17 AM »
for discussion. based on this list i find, it could be so? different thinkers?

look at the names in there.

how so many of them dutch?

http://www.anythingleft-handed.co.uk/fam_sport.html#football

Barnes, John   Jamacian   Footballer   07-Nov-1963
Burbott, Dan      Soccer   
Charlton, Sir Bobby   UK   Footballer - England and Manchester United   11-Oct-1937
Cruyff, Johan   Dutch   Soccer   25-Apr-1947
Edson Arantes do Nascimento, Pelé   Brazilian   Soccer   
Greaves, Jimmy         
Gullitt, Ruud   Dutch   Footballer   
Herzog, Andreas   Austrian   Footballer   
Kempes, Mario Alberto   Argentinan   Footballer   
Maradona, Diego Armando   Argentinian   Soccer   30-Oct-1960
Medford, Hernan   Costa Rica    Soccer   
Pele,       Footballer   23-Oct-1940
Platini, Michel
   France   Footballer   
Polster, Toni      Footballer   
Puskas, Ferenc   Hungary   Footballer   
Rensenbrink, Rob   Dutch   Footballer   03-Jul-1947
Robson, Bryan   England   ex England Captain   11-Jan-1963
Romario,    Brazil   Soccer   
Rush, Ian   Wales   Footballer   
Sanchez, Hugo   Mexico   Soccer   
Van Basten, Marco   Dutch   Footballer   
van Breukelen, Jans      Soccer   
van Hanegem, Willem      Soccer   
van Hooijdonk, Pierre   Dutch   Footballer   
Venables, Terry   England   Footballer & Manager   
Witschge, Richard      Soccer

Re: Are left Handed Footballers Better?
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 12:03:03 PM »
left handed footballers ???

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 12:04:22 PM »
Better at what ?  ;D

Seriously though...pull a list of right-handers and then compare.

« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2009, 12:06:39 PM »
left handed footballers ???

The same thing as a left-footed cricketer  ;D (seriously nothing wrong with saying left-handed fooballer)

« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2009, 12:08:26 PM »
Andre there are alot of ballers in that list that are right footed ..I'm assuming you do mean left ..footed right?

« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2009, 12:09:05 PM »
that list is toots. plenty on that list who are quoted as left handed are indeed right handed

Platini signing autographs with his right hand
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jR7f8aHRBNY

and Pele
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E3kg1AnmFoM

and Maradona
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tuwGLPG1Cw

and Ruud Gullit
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LLJGa8Myf3w

and I'm sure there are more..doh care to check tho

« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2009, 12:12:29 PM »
I could jock with my left hand better than de right.....

And yes, left footed ballers are better and in every sport not just football....

« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2009, 12:15:23 PM »
i meant left handed allyuh.

left handed doh mean left footed.

« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2009, 12:17:18 PM »
that list is toots. plenty on that list who are quoted as left handed are indeed right handed

and Maradona
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3tuwGLPG1Cw

they probably watch the hand of god goal to come to the left handed conclusion.

« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2009, 12:25:42 PM »
i meant left handed allyuh.

left handed doh mean left footed.

yeah..well the list is mess. plenty right handers in there too ;)

« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2009, 12:38:02 PM »
Aids, cancer, diseases with no cures, etc etc, but somebody take the time to research which footballers are left-handed  :thinking:

« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2009, 12:51:56 PM »
I could jock with my left hand better than de right.....

And yes, left footed ballers are better and in every sport not just football....

Thats what I like about Sam .. he so subtle lol

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2009, 12:55:01 PM »
Aids, cancer, diseases with no cures, etc etc, but somebody take the time to research which footballers are left-handed  :thinking:
Seeing as how de list so inaccurate according to Filho, dey probably eh take too much time to do dat research.

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2009, 12:58:06 PM »
Maradona is left footed and right handed.

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2009, 12:59:45 PM »
Pele was naturally right footed... however he left was so good, plenty people couldn't figure it out.

So de talk go... if yuh watch highlights of the man himself, you wouldn't know either...

« Reply #15 on: January 22, 2009, 01:11:12 PM »
meh fadda used to write left hand, bat left-hand and bowl right-hand, goalie- Kick ou right-foot and throw-out left hand. meh sista uses to write leff hand, dribble basketball left hand but shoot right hand, in Netball (she play for Canada), shoot left hand and block right hand.

I used to think both-ah-dem was f**ked up more dan betta..buh dem was ah different kinda ppl too, ah had to think so, dais meh family    :devil:

« Reply #16 on: January 22, 2009, 01:52:32 PM »
Pele was naturally right footed... however he left was so good, plenty people couldn't figure it out.

So de talk go... if yuh watch highlights of the man himself, you wouldn't know either...

you still talking about right and left footed..is right and left handed we talking about. heheh

in any case, there was no confusion. people like to talk that talk to make a point..but it is ole talk - a huge exaggeration. he could use both feet well, but he was far more partial to the right foot...noone ever watching Pele play in a game would be confused which was his preferential foot.

Seeing as how de list so inaccurate according to Filho, dey probably eh take too much time to do dat research.

yeah..when I read the list, the one that stood out was Maradona. I was a huge Napoli fan when Diego and Careca were there and one time I saw a clip of them signing autographs, and I was taken aback cuz Diego, who is left footed, was signing with his right hand...while Careca who is right footed was signing with his left hand. I know of people who are like that but still, the natural assumption is that a right footer would be right handed and vive versa...so as a peong fan..the memory stuck.

de Brazilian should be on the list
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wvj1cbXW1Q0
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 01:55:51 PM by Filho »

« Reply #17 on: January 22, 2009, 02:03:04 PM »
Who ever write that list full ah shit.

Pele used both feet but he was right handed.
Same with Johan Cruyff, Charlton, Romario, Platini

« Reply #18 on: January 22, 2009, 02:03:59 PM »
how come Kerry Jamerson not on that list? That list is BS ... lol.