April 19, 2024, 12:29:54 AM

Author Topic: Religious Footballers  (Read 2364 times)

Religious Footballers
« on: January 21, 2009, 10:36:25 AM »
Series: The Knowledge

Guardian.co.uk

"Kaka has made it pretty clear that he 'belongs to Jesus'," wrote Jamie Jones, with reference to the 2007 Champions League final we'll be bound. "But have any other players publicly displayed their religious views on the field?" he asked.

O yea, came the reply from many of the Knowledge brethren. First in line, like an eager Catholic queueing up to receive booze and biscuit from the priest, is Rob Davies. Rob resides in Walsall, and it seems he is not the only one. "The Brazilian striker Junior scored for my hometown club," he writes, "and celebrated by lifting up his top to reveal a T-shirt with the slogan 'Jesus lives in Walsall'." Not that Rob was particularly impressed. "Jesus must have lived in Derby as well, because that's where Junior went the season after."

While Mr Christ's exact address may remain a moot point, there is one thing we know for certain. And that's that he loves us. This is because, in addition to Kaka, we've also been told by numerous other Brazilian internationals. "Almost the entire 2002 Brazilian squad seemed to have similar slogans under their shirts when they won the World Cup," notes Mohammed Choudhary, he of the amazing X-ray eyes. Of course we jest: Mohammed is no doubt referring to the likes of Lucio and unused substitute Kaka cavorting about in their vests, but only half the team scrawled religious messages on captain Cafu's shirt before he lifted the trophy. "Lucio still does it at Bayern Munich," adds Rajan X, who may or may not be a distant relation of Malcolm.

Speaking of Muslims, and indeed Bayern, Paul Haynes reports how "Franck Ribéry raises his hands to Allah at the beginning of every match as he enters the playing area". As does, Mohammed Choudhary adds, Fredi Kanouté of Sevilla: "He has always been quite open about being a Muslim. Whenever he scored, he would open up his hands in supplication, like most Muslims do after their prayers. He tried to cover the 888.com advert on his Sevilla shirt because gambling is against his religion." Kanouté was even fined €3,000 by the Spanish Soccer Federation for celebrating a goal against Deportivo de La Coruña by lifting his shirt to reveal a T-shirt with the word 'Palestine' adorning it, plus other Arabic words. Article 120 of the rules and regulations in Spain prohibits players from displaying religious or political messages on the pitch.

Getting his message across on the field was something devout Christian Marvin Andrews was only too happy to do while at Rangers. "I don't remember any T-shirts," writes Ciaran Carey, "but he publicly declared having sought God's advice on transfer matters and also spurned an operation on a cruciate ligament injury, declaring his faith would see him through." Reinforcing his religious outlook, Andrews explained to Small Talk in 2007 why homosexuality "is against the word of God", adding that "the Bible said that it's an abomination to God; that God created a man to be with a woman or a woman to be with a man. Simple as that." The Knowledge also vaguely recalls listening to Andrews being interviewed on Radio Five Live in the immediate aftermath of Rangers' 2003 SPL win. Upon being asked for his reaction, Andrews sobbed uncontrollably for the best part of a minute, before screaming "I love God" for another 60 seconds or so. It was an improvement on "the boys done good", at least.

Email us at the the usual address if there are any other examples we have missed.

Re: Religious Footballers
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2009, 10:46:17 AM »
Carlos Roa, a Seventh Day Adventist and goalkeeper for Argentina in de 1998 World Cup, refused to renew his contract with Real Mallorca because he didn't want to play on Saturdays. Also went on a religious retreat for a year when he was rumoured to be on his way to Arsenal or ManU.

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2009, 10:57:10 AM »
We had a promising player last year in the US ,who say the same ,he cyah play on Saturday ,lol .What ever bacame of him ,got cut last I heard .

« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2009, 06:42:02 PM »
He doh remember any T-shirts then he eh c Marvin.

Offline jumbonut$

« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2009, 10:08:19 PM »
We had a promising player last year in the US ,who say the same ,he cyah play on Saturday ,lol .What ever bacame of him ,got cut last I heard .

The player you referring to is Sherron Manswell. He is currently in Trinidad and looking to get into the Pro circuit and eventually force his way into the national team. The last I heard it that he may run out with Super Star Rangers so look out for him.

« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2009, 10:18:58 PM »
Daiz the man self ,thanks jumbonuts ,good to hear hes still at it.

« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2009, 12:35:10 PM »
Carlos Roa, a Seventh Day Adventist and goalkeeper for Argentina in de 1998 World Cup, refused to renew his contract with Real Mallorca because he didn't want to play on Saturdays. Also went on a religious retreat for a year when he was rumoured to be on his way to Arsenal or ManU.

The guy actually thought the world was going to end when the year 2000 arrived.

Too bad, he was one of the best goalkeepers that Argentina has had for a long time.

« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2009, 12:44:25 PM »

The player you referring to is Sherron Manswell. He is currently in Trinidad and looking to get into the Pro circuit and eventually force his way into the national team. The last I heard it that he may run out with Super Star Rangers so look out for him.

But not if the game on a Saturday I suppose. :devil:

« Reply #8 on: January 22, 2009, 12:48:57 PM »
On my P. Town team, we had two Seventh Day Adventists players that were starters.  They did not play on Saturday, unless the games were at night, which was never the case. 

« Reply #9 on: January 22, 2009, 12:51:58 PM »
And don't forget about the Nigerian defender, Taribo West. Now there was a holy roller if I ever saw one!

When he played at Derby County he tried to make all his teammates say prayers before each game. And when he was at Inter Milan and unhappy with his amount of playing time he told the press that, "God told me that I have to play here at Inter." Later when coach Marcello Lippi was informed of the comments he responded, "Oh really? He never said anything to me about it."  ;D

I believe that he's now a preacher. Go figure!

« Reply #10 on: January 22, 2009, 12:54:41 PM »
Yeah West was a 'big' player.

« Reply #11 on: January 22, 2009, 01:48:21 PM »
Yeah West was a 'big' player.
Umm really..... hmmm had some big green ribbons in he head and he was definitely a wild man but he eh no big player...sheez

« Reply #12 on: January 22, 2009, 02:13:26 PM »
digressing a little bit, but how 'bout in SSFL?

Bro Michael was always on the bench for Pres - Benedicts had the Obeah Man  ;D ... Ali, I think was his name - with the topee .... in CBB, most denominational schools have a chaplin on the bench (or right behind) in most of their games.

« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2009, 02:54:10 PM »
Lars Elstrup
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lars_Elstrup

In 1993, Elstrup had doubts about his footballing future, as he felt he was living under the expectations of others, and he entered "Solens Hjerte" (Heart of the Sun), a part of the sect "Wild Goose Company". He moved away from the sect in December 1999, and in January 2000 Elstrup tried to re-enter professional football with Odense Boldklub. Following a week at the club, he broke with Odense as he was not a part of the first team squad. He broke with the sect later that year, after being arrested over a bizarre incident in which he exposed himself in public and then slapped a young boy. He was later fined DKK 10,000 for making death threats towards one of the sect leaders. In July 2001, he defecated on Trafalgar Square in London, until he was escorted away by a security guard. He moved back to live on Funen, and stayed out of the public eye.
One man, many minds
guardian.co.uk

August 20, 2000

In the week that Tony Adams opened his sanctuary for football's most unstable players, former Danish international Lars Elstrup was making a strong case for inaugural membership.

Eight years ago, Elstrup - who remains Luton's record signing at £850,000 - scored the Euro 92 semi-final winner against France. A year later he quit the game to join a religious sect and last week was arrested for slapping a schoolboy while flashing for money in a Copenhagen shopping centre. Now the sect have confiscated his dog.

Elstrup - a striker at Brondby and Odense before Luton - joined 'The Wild Goose' commune on the island of Funen in 1993 under his new name, Darando. 'I feel here that I am seen for who I really am. They understand me better than I do myself, actually, and can really help me,' he explained.

Since then, Danish tabloids have kept a close eye on the island, reporting rampant free sex, and the alleged efforts of Wild Goose leaders to relieve Elstrup of his career earnings. At the start of this year, he attempted to resume his salaried career with a comeback for Odense, only to walk out when they refused to pay him during a trial.

Most recently he was spotted in the middle of the busiest pedestrian shopping street in Copenhagen circled by a rope, waving his penis at passersby.

'In some respects,' he explained, 'I do this to provoke people. I like experiencing people's reactions. Some might take my message to be "sod off" and others an offer of sex. I am very aware of people's reactions and I love the fact that people recognise me as Lars Elstrup.' He placed a scarf on the pavement for contributions, and made 27 Danish Kroner (£ 2.25) in one afternoon.

'I have mainly come to Copenhagen to have a good time. I have not had sex for three months: it is not possible in Odense where women are dead, stuck-up and introverted.' When he tested the theory by repeating the act for the female shoppers of Odense, he was heckled, lost his temper, slapped a laughing schoolboy, wrestled a police officer, was arrested and finally expelled by the Geese.

Now, having told police that 'he should have hit the boy harder' and that 'the kid deserved a fist', Elstrup has filed a complaint with the public prosecutor of Funen. 'They are inhuman and the sect even stole Devi, my dachshund. I am now ready to go to the European Court of Human Rights.' He's also, it seems, more than ready to lead the charge to Adamsville. Move over, David Icke.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2009, 04:41:12 PM by Tallman »

« Reply #14 on: January 22, 2009, 04:01:16 PM »
Lars Elstrup needs professional help  :-\

I remember him from Euro 92.

His head not on straight at all..