April 28, 2024, 01:33:29 AM

Author Topic: Smells like Soca...like only Paolo Kernahan can...  (Read 749 times)

Smells like Soca...like only Paolo Kernahan can...
« on: January 22, 2009, 07:04:04 PM »
http://guardian.co.tt/commentary/columnist/2009/01/22/smells-soca

It seems like Paolo read my mind...

Forumites, just yesterday I thinking.....but which song going to be road march this year??  Then it dawn on me that eh keep listening out for something to grab mih but ah keep hearing more and more stuff made for the toilet bowl......

Now I'm a 'oman love mih Soca bad, bad, bad but lord fadder I fear that one ah dese Carnivals things would get to the point where ah goh be REALLY desperate for some good stuff.... :'(

Re: Smells like Soca...like only Paolo Kernahan can...
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 07:36:26 PM »
You'll only hear Calypso during the Calypso Monarch competition and some Tents. If you hear them during prime time on the radio, lemme know which station please, so I can pick it up over here.

And you'll hear Soca if you put on a CD or cassette dated back to 1998. This is when I personally think Soca died together with Top Brass Band. Today it's gosh ah doh even know what dey hell they call them today. Ragga, Dub/Soca etc. So much new names that I losing track.

What is Road March anyway though ??? Anyone can win Road March with a good riddim - forget lyrics.

Re: Smells like Soca...like only Paolo Kernahan can...
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2009, 06:15:12 PM »
Doh 4get d soca mafia.