I never said the had the most assist in the MLS I said he top the assist (meaning LA). Anyway if you want to play with words.
You saying yuh doh Idolise Beckham and yuh describing his performances at Milan as GREAT. What game Beckham was GREAT? Today was his best game since joining Milan and it was no where close to GREAT. If he was Great how would you describe Zambrotta, Kaka and Pato today?
The point I am making is that just because you are the Biggest name in football media, it does not mean that you are the best footballer. Beckham's performance at the Galaxy and in MLS in general has been average. He certainly has not had the same influence as Blanco, Scheletto or Angel. If his name was not David Beckham I am quite certain the press would have been more critical of any player, showing the same performance.
Semantics aside, there were several vocal doubters to Beckham's quality and motives in returning to top flight football.
Since he has joined Milan, in a short time he has improved the squad, not only on paper and in depth - but in quality, consistency and results. At the end of the day, seeing Milan prosper in Serie A is my main concern.
I don't believe anyone is trying to assert that Beckham is the biggest name in football media, or that automatically assumes that he is the best footballer, but put the roster of the LA Galaxy in front of a coach and ask him to choose one player to build a team around - It will have to be close to 10/10 times that they will choose Beckham.
Blanco, Scheletto and Angel may have a better effect in the MLS than Beckham - but what is/ was their ability to prosper outside of the MLS? ... and how
great are they, really?
Blanco was a superstar at home in Mexico - Donovan's US equivalent, if you will. I remember he flamed out early in his career in La Liga. His boorish attitude is legendary.
Scheletto never made it out of Argentina professionally, and only played a handful of games for the NT.
Beyond a year or two, how prolific was Angel for Villa?
I see where you're going, but I will maintain that Beckham is doing a great job at Milan, and he is making a positive contribution to their squad.