April 20, 2024, 05:20:26 AM

Author Topic: T&T face tougher Tigre test.  (Read 6811 times)

T&T face tougher Tigre test.
« on: January 27, 2009, 10:08:47 PM »
T&T face tougher Tigre test.

Trinidad and  Tobago will face possibly their sternest test in  Argentina when they come up against Argentine Primera Division club Tigre at 9:30am (7:30am TT time) on Wednesday at the club’s home stadium.

Undefeated in two matches on tour so far, the “Soca Warriors” will face off with the hosts who  finished second in the local League last year. At the end of the regular season they finished tied on 39 points with Boca Juniors and San Lorenzo which led to a three-team playoff  eventually won by Boca.

Tigre has in its side midfielder Argentine-born midfielder Martin Morel who finished as the season’s third top scorer last year with 13 goals.  In the Tigre team is Paraguayan international defender Nestor Ayala. The Apertura 2007 was Tigre's first season in the Argentine top flight, they were expected to struggle but instead they had a wonderful run. They won ten of their 19 games, including a famous 4-1 thrashing of Argentine giants River Plate.

T&T head coach Francisco Maturana is welcoming the challenge, eager to see how his improving bunch will perform against tougher opposition.

“It should be a good test for us. The first two games were competitive for us and allowed us to try certaing things with the players who I think have responded good so far. It is important for us to maintain a certain level but we also want to improve each time we take the field and stronger teams will provide with a tougher assignment,” Maturana told  TTFF Media.

Joe Public defender Keyeno Thomas, who is captaining the team on the current tour, believes that the present squad has made rapid progress since the disappointment of the Digicel Caribbean Championship in Jamaica.

“It’s the coaches who see it best but I think when you compare how we are performing now and before in Jamaica, it’s two different teams in terms of the performance and the spirit in the camp. Now we also have some different players,a few younger ones who are working very hard to make an impression and they are performing well so far. You can see here that we have everything that is needed for good preparation and I think that is helping us a lot . We are preparing for a World Cup qualifier so I think that is going to bring out a different side in the players because it’s a lot of focusing and hard work,”Thomas said,

:”Latas (Russell Latapy)  is doing a good job too because he is a great addition to the coach and the staff. He sees it as a player too so he knows how to deal with us and take things back to the coach when it is necessary. We are comfortable right now and that makes it a bit easier for us to settle down and get on with the job of working hard in the preparations,”Thomas added.

So far Maturana and Latapy have used the same start team,with only Keon Daniel coming in at the start iin the previous 3-0 win over Quilmes. Errol McFarlane has been the lone striker starting both games and five changes have been made at half time in each of the matches thus far with futher changes during the second half. Wednesday’s game will possibly see something different depending on the game’s progress.

T&T vs Quilmes highlights

T&T vs Juniors highlights
« Last Edit: January 28, 2009, 06:56:45 AM by Flex »

Offline madness

Re: T&T face tougher Tigre test
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2009, 05:58:13 AM »
can we get a better video try to make it like  this site http://ussoccer.com/

« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2009, 07:22:00 AM »

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2009, 07:29:18 AM »

Real appreciation boy!!

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
Re: T&T face tougher Tigre test.
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2009, 07:57:29 AM »

alyuh not easy nah...yuh should be happy for whatever little video yuh get.....

Offline Gladman

« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2009, 08:55:49 AM »
Jus hear tht we won 3-2 goals by latas ,glen and jaggy
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2009, 09:05:57 AM »
Jus hear tht we won 3-2 goals by latas ,glen and jaggy

and we couldnt beat grenada? stueps oh well . good job team  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: January 28, 2009, 09:13:44 AM »
please confirm the 3-2 score ... if so well done again...

Offline Gladman

« Reply #8 on: January 28, 2009, 09:16:08 AM »
hear d score on red96.7fm so ah guess it correct

« Reply #9 on: January 28, 2009, 09:21:18 AM »
cool gladman...you not machel by any chance ???

well done tnt...unbeaten so far...hope the quality of play going good as the results...not to mention the fitness levels getting better...the big day is Feb 11th... remember we never started the hex with 3 points...ever...

Offline Gladman

« Reply #10 on: January 28, 2009, 09:24:35 AM »

nahh

« Reply #11 on: January 28, 2009, 09:49:25 AM »

well done tnt...unbeaten so far...hope the quality of play going good as the results...not to mention the fitness levels getting better...the big day is Feb 11th... remember we never started the hex with 3 points...ever...

I stand corrected but did'nt the '73 team start of with a victory in the HEX? I know we lost 2 games one was the tief game against Haiti and the other was a 1-0 defeat to Guatemala.

« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2009, 09:53:00 AM »
A wish we could see this one

« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2009, 09:59:38 AM »
A man tell me he go need aspirin if every time we win ah game I go big up Mats ...Ah tell he ..buy plenty aspirin !!!
I dont know which Tigres team played ...ist 11 or not ..but I saw Quilmes play in the three way play off for argentinian Aperatura title ...they beat eventual winners Boca but lost out on the title on goal difference ....Tigres were described as the surprise of the tournament ..... is we second 11 doing us proud folks ...and I go keep giving Mats he pips so all who need aspirin better get stock up now ...

..buh wait ...where de woman wid de hammer gone ?
tell meh, tell meh  where she gone ?
Ah weary waiting on she ... :devil:

« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2009, 10:05:54 AM »
aye shaun, when yuh making this video - use Meet Superblue & Plenty Gyul for the music - please, thanks.

and member to arkse for proper permission.

« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2009, 10:14:27 AM »
good result...how many more games left? and when do the boys return?

« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2009, 10:18:59 AM »
The Argentinos game looked of higher intensity. In the clips men looked like they were hustling the ball higher up the field than is normal for a Trini side. Latas had a really good shot in one of the two videos but the man belly real big.

Theobald do himself some service with that goal.

From the little seen, the passing and first touch of the team seems improved. It kinda hard to judge what going on with out seeing the whole flow of the game though.

At least they getting match practice and winning.

Who is # 2?

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2009, 10:22:10 AM »
De 3-2 victory is correct - well done.

« Reply #18 on: January 28, 2009, 10:23:29 AM »

Who are the scorers??

Offline Baygo Boy

« Reply #19 on: January 28, 2009, 10:27:22 AM »

Who are the scorers??

Russell, Cornell and Jags

« Reply #20 on: January 28, 2009, 10:44:33 AM »
Good stuff, thanks.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #21 on: January 28, 2009, 10:46:47 AM »

Who are the scorers??

So that's 2 for Jags on the tour thus far...nice
well yes

« Reply #22 on: January 28, 2009, 10:57:03 AM »

Who are the scorers??

like theobald pop down already

« Reply #23 on: January 28, 2009, 11:15:31 AM »
Nice results... Congrats

« Reply #24 on: January 28, 2009, 11:20:12 AM »
3 goals in 3 games for Cornell?

Nice goin.

« Reply #25 on: January 28, 2009, 11:21:14 AM »

Who are the scorers??

like theobald pop down already
arrow arrow arrow
ya go confuse some people ;D :D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #26 on: January 28, 2009, 11:41:11 AM »
alright so where de video Shaun  ;D

« Reply #27 on: January 28, 2009, 12:51:09 PM »
Don't we tend to do well (ah mean not a bad track record) against South American opponents?

« Reply #28 on: January 28, 2009, 01:32:49 PM »
Don't we tend to do well (ah mean not a bad track record) against South American opponents?
No.

Played: 13
Wins: 2
Losses: 5
Draws: 6
Goals For: 12
Goals Against: 21

« Reply #29 on: January 28, 2009, 01:39:38 PM »
No.

Played: 13
Wins: 2
Losses: 5
Draws: 6
Goals For: 12
Goals Against: 21

Maybe we getting a headstart in anticipation for that 4th place play-off spot.