April 25, 2024, 04:22:16 AM

Author Topic: England vs. Windies A - warm up match  (Read 3231 times)

England vs. Windies A - warm up match
« on: January 29, 2009, 02:41:40 PM »
Windies A have been putting the English to the sword on the first day of their warm-up match. Last score I saw was 244-1 after 64 overs. Barath on 112 n.o. and Simmons on 116 n.o. I'm still not getting excited about our chances in the series.

Re: England vs. Windies A - warm up match
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2009, 02:43:23 PM »
i glad tho...let them toil in de field for as long as possible and miss out on batting practice!
The A team doing us a favour...is to see if de senior squad cud do the same!

« Reply #2 on: January 29, 2009, 02:44:37 PM »
wow, that's really good- especially for bharath as he had a bad innings for TT last week...
take some batting practice ;D

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #3 on: January 29, 2009, 02:49:06 PM »
the trini boys doing it, too bad Bravo get hurt,we should get some picks in that tour ah guess?

« Reply #4 on: January 29, 2009, 03:04:03 PM »
Are these guys for real or will they, like the great Carl Hooper, once again flatter to deceive. This has to be one of the better performances by our "A" team in a long time.

Only time will tell.

« Reply #5 on: January 29, 2009, 05:32:14 PM »
Is licks like peas.  Shot call for England.

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #6 on: January 29, 2009, 05:43:37 PM »
342/2 at stumps

barath made 132 and simmons is 171 n.o.

Offline Gladman

« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2009, 07:18:32 PM »
So after barath and simmons plunder d england attack ,d first team should murder them. i hope
Life Is Like Sugar Cane,It Hard But Sweet

« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2009, 09:24:55 PM »
So after barath and simmons plunder d england attack ,d first team should murder them. i hope

Wake up from dat dream.

« Reply #9 on: January 30, 2009, 11:48:23 AM »
Well West Indies are 466/3 from 124 overs, Simmons n.o.249 and Johnson n.o. 25.

Although the track has been reported as being as flat as a pancake, at least the batsmen are taking full advantage of the favourable conditions.

Let's hope this carries over into the test matches.

Offline rickstaa

« Reply #10 on: January 30, 2009, 11:52:19 AM »
wow tihs is the best windies score i have heard in years :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: January 30, 2009, 12:58:31 PM »
I hope we score 1000 in the first innings.

I can't stand England ... right next to Australia.
Who they going to blame now? Stanford?

« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2009, 07:51:42 AM »
574/8 declared. Simmons eventually made 282. Good knock and I enjoyed hearing about it, but this is a fluke performance. Besides him and Barath nobody else made a good score - unless you counting 38 and 37 as good scores - so I still see plenty pressure for us in the series.

On the other hand it was refreshing to see a 574 score on the board for a Windies team... with a declaration to boot. England were 134/2 at stumps. Waiting to see what today holds. Strauss is not out on 59 and Bell made 52. Pieterson is the other not out batsman.

« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2009, 10:48:14 AM »
England - 295/5 at lunch. Pieterson b. Jaggernauth 90 & Strauss b. Wallace 97 were the two top performers for England. Jaggers has figures so far of 14-0-48-2. Wallace is 19-0-123-2. McClean took the other wicket.

« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2009, 06:19:10 PM »
Well, well, well. England were BOWLED OUT for 414 in their second innings! Given the recent ineptitude of the current crop of bowlers in the West Indies senior team, the fact that West Indies "A" were able to bowl England's full test team out in four sessions on a decent batting track is a step in the right direction. If this were a full five-day test, West Indies 'A' would have had a first innings lead of 160, which would actually have put them in with a chance of winning the test match.

I know that these are a lot of hypotheticals, but if I am to remain a sane supporter of West Indies cricket, I guess I have to continue to live in a fool's paradise.

http://content-usa.cricinfo.com/wiveng2009/engine/current/match/352671.html

« Reply #15 on: January 31, 2009, 11:52:21 PM »
That fool's paradise has a population of at least 2 because I right there with yuh, boss.

« Reply #16 on: February 02, 2009, 07:42:33 AM »
3 because right now I am also rejoicing...imagine we bowled them out!!!
let's see what the 'senior' team can do now :devil:

« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2009, 08:13:21 PM »

Wake up from dat dream.
Weary, you got to eat them words for now!

« Reply #18 on: February 09, 2009, 08:49:42 PM »

Wake up from dat dream.
Weary, you got to eat them words for now!

As u say 4 now I not gettin back on dat roller coaster dat is WI cricket. Glad 4 dem but meh stress tablets reserve 4 d socawarriors.