April 28, 2024, 09:00:36 AM

Author Topic: Hart and UDeCOTT  (Read 46261 times)

Re: Hart and UDeCOTT
« Reply #90 on: March 11, 2010, 04:21:13 AM »
Minister: Allegations affecting T&T's soul

Trinidad and Tobago’s soul has been affected by allegations against UDeCOTT, former chairman Calder Hart and the Government.

The ’unrelenting bombardment and actions’ which led to Calder Hart’s resignation over allegations of corrupt practices at UDeCOTT by the media and others, particularly over the past two years and intensifying in recent weeks, are meant to pre-empt the findings of the Uff Commission of Enquiry, a statement from Emily Dick-Forde’s Housing Ministry said yesterday.

The statement was meant to ’amplify’ her response during the Senate tea break on Tuesday.

Dick-Forde said then that Hart was hounded out of office, and the people of the country should be ashamed.

The bombardment of attacks, the ministry added yesterday, was intended to spread alarm and to have a man and his family, the directors of an organisation and the Government branded as ’corrupt and even criminal, with no legal process to support such statements’.

’The nation’s soul is affected by these bold infringements on a person’s right to fairness in matters of this nature. What we are witnessing today violates the procedures established in the Constitution to conduct such investigations and descends into a vigilante-style approach with a pretence at speaking for the ordinary people,’ the ministry said.

That the kind of action spurred on by people with legal qualifications betrayed the spirit of the country’s Constitution, which referred to the dignity of human beings and which must be defended for all, it was said.

’Dr Dick-Forde believes that we should be cringing from and be ashamed of what is playing out in the media rather than celebrate and agree with acts of injustice against another human being, a citizen even. Let the police do their work,’ the ministry said.

----------------

The Police???? if it wasnt for the Rowley, Ramesh and the media we woulda never know bout the theifing.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 04:22:49 AM by sammy »

« Reply #91 on: March 11, 2010, 05:25:06 AM »
Dale and Tony just read out the entire press release from the Ministry and I want to get mih own personal copy so ah could frame it and admire it as the most asinine thing I ever hear coming from someone in Government......it worst than Gary Hunt's classic "national pride"....

Dick-Forde and the PM want to use their offices to preach to we, but they can both kiss my a$$!!!....I don't need either one of them to preach to me because he who is without sin cast the first stone.  Is christians like Dick-Forde who turn me off from religion.....the hypocritical ones.  She is a friggin hypocrite, crying shame on we over Calder Hart, but like she forget is she who sat (or stood) by the Pastor when he asked Dr. Rowley "where the money gone??!!" but when it came out that the $10M wasn't missing she and the Pastor are yet to back track....christian my a$$!!...

She build any houses since she reach??  What she doing to protect the environment??  Town and country still in a mess, what she doing to fix it??  No, since she reach she only engaging in a witch hunt on Dr. Rowley.....and now like she turn high priestess....what de a$$ we do to get these kaka holes to run we country??!!...what de a$$ we do??!!

Why de a$$ she doh resign and go and prepare she self to preach to the flock up in Guanapo??!!  Look, look.....ah was really trying not to let these people raise mih blood pressure but is like they cyar help themselves.....

Soul of the nation my a$$!!.......:cursing: :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
« Last Edit: March 11, 2010, 09:11:21 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #92 on: March 11, 2010, 05:36:49 AM »
She serious... my fadder company trying to bid for Udickot contracts for several years now and we getting blank even though we is the cheapest, most diverse and we is forking trinidadians... is ah shame how dey sell we out.

She has a house on the Toco/Manzanilla Rd..

« Reply #93 on: March 11, 2010, 08:25:39 AM »
Sugar, Allyuh,
                      The only way  Dick-Forde moving is if Patrick say so. Term limits. 2 and out!!!!!!

« Reply #94 on: March 11, 2010, 02:35:12 PM »
The are re-running the Calder Hart investigative report tonight at 8 pm on TV 6!!!....where the techies on here??!!  Ah need somebody to record this thing!!...ah need mih own personal copy!!...

« Reply #95 on: March 12, 2010, 01:18:58 PM »

Future of UDeCOTT executives to be debated friday

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/tzaDABBndBk" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/tzaDABBndBk</a>

« Reply #96 on: March 12, 2010, 02:03:21 PM »
TNT Insider Staff | March 12, 2010 | Breaking News
Jerlean John is new UDECOTT chairman

The Prime Minister announces Calder Hart’s replacement this morning. He shocked the press by announcing that he has been in the country since Tuesday.

Jerlean John, Chief Executive Officer of the Housing Development Corporation (HDC), is the new Chairman of the controversial UDECOTT State special purpose company.

Prime Minister Patrick Manning made the announcement during a hastily called press conference at 11 a.m today, stressing that she will not be an executive chairman as her predecessor Calder Hart who resigned on Saturday.

At the conference which lasted 30 minutes, Mr Manning continued defending Hart asking “he is guilty of what?”..Read the rest ..http://www.tntinsider.com/news/03377/jerlean-john-is-new-udecott-chairman

« Reply #97 on: March 12, 2010, 02:05:26 PM »
Calder Hart innocent until proven guilty

Calder Hart is innocent until proven guilty.

That's the word from the Minister of Information at today's rowdy Post Cabinet media briefing as reporters demanded answers on matters concerning Calder Hart's resignation and allegations of corruption.

Part of the heat involved the Information Minister attempting to fend off Newsday journalist Andre Bagoo's attack.

What Minister Parsanlal was willing to acknowledge is that the controversial Calder Hart was the hot topic on Cabinet's table..Read the rest .. http://ctntworld.com/LocalArticles.aspx?id=18958

« Reply #98 on: March 12, 2010, 05:02:49 PM »
Minister: Allegations affecting T&T's soul

Trinidad and Tobago’s soul has been affected by allegations against UDeCOTT, former chairman Calder Hart and the Government.

The ’unrelenting bombardment and actions’ which led to Calder Hart’s resignation over allegations of corrupt practices at UDeCOTT by the media and others, particularly over the past two years and intensifying in recent weeks, are meant to pre-empt the findings of the Uff Commission of Enquiry, a statement from Emily Dick-Forde’s Housing Ministry said yesterday.

The statement was meant to ’amplify’ her response during the Senate tea break on Tuesday.

Dick-Forde said then that Hart was hounded out of office, and the people of the country should be ashamed.

The bombardment of attacks, the ministry added yesterday, was intended to spread alarm and to have a man and his family, the directors of an organisation and the Government branded as ’corrupt and even criminal, with no legal process to support such statements’.

’The nation’s soul is affected by these bold infringements on a person’s right to fairness in matters of this nature. What we are witnessing today violates the procedures established in the Constitution to conduct such investigations and descends into a vigilante-style approach with a pretence at speaking for the ordinary people,’ the ministry said.

That the kind of action spurred on by people with legal qualifications betrayed the spirit of the country’s Constitution, which referred to the dignity of human beings and which must be defended for all, it was said.

’Dr Dick-Forde believes that we should be cringing from and be ashamed of what is playing out in the media rather than celebrate and agree with acts of injustice against another human being, a citizen even. Let the police do their work,’ the ministry said.

----------------

The Police???? if it wasnt for the Rowley, Ramesh and the media we woulda never know bout the theifing.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/UPpW7xvXRsA" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/UPpW7xvXRsA</a>

« Reply #99 on: March 12, 2010, 05:10:46 PM »
"Moreover, we have the deplorable spectacle of the line Minister for UDeCOTT, Ms Emily Dick-Forde, condemning any and everyone who dared to call for an investigation into Mr Hart and preaching that our nation has lost its soul for so doing and should be ashamed for what she describes as hounding Calder Hart!’ What planet is this Minister from? The shame is on you Ms Minister. You have conducted yourself in the most high-handed and irresponsible manner that sadly now typifies the style of the Manning administration." - Kamla Persad-Bissessar

« Reply #100 on: March 15, 2010, 11:41:34 PM »

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/mjvG8yCdrJ8&amp;feature=player_embedded" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/mjvG8yCdrJ8&amp;feature=player_embedded</a>

Well.. Manure finally hit the fan:Police raid Udecott and Sunway offices
« Reply #101 on: March 25, 2010, 02:22:13 AM »
From The Guardian:
Police raid Udecott and Sunway offices
Akile Simon
Published: 25 Mar 2010

Anti-corruption officers conduct investigations at Sunway offices in Port-of-Spain yesterday. Photo: David Wears
Akile Simon

Police investigating allegations of corruption involving state-owned Urban Development Corporation (Udecott) and Sunway raided the offices of the companies yesterday. Officers executed search warrants at Sunway’s St Clair Avenue, St Clair, office; David Montgomery and Chartered Accountants at 118 Gordon and Abercromby Streets, Port-of-Spain; Udecott’s Sackville Street offices and the home of a Udecott director. At the end of the exercises, police seized hundreds of financial, contractual and legal records. They also seized several computers, hard-drives, lap tops, fax machines, photo-copiers and CCTV footage from the offices.
Officers met with Udecott’s chief operations officer (COO) Neelanda Rampaul and informed her they (officers) were there to search for items listed on a warrant.

Among the items seized at Udecott were board meeting minutes, contracts and financial records relating to the company and CH Construction, which is a subsidiary of Sunway. A police source said Rampaul was co-operative during their searches. Police spent more than 10 hours at Udecott’s office. At the time of the searches, Udecott’s new executive chairman Jerlean John was not present. While at the office, officers discovered that most of the company’s financial accounts were undertaken by David Montgomery and Company Chartered Accountants, located at the corner of Gordon and Abercromby Streets, Port-of-Spain. This was the first time the chartered accounting firm’s name surfaced, following corruption allegations involving Udecott, Sunway and CH Construction.

A judicial source told the T&T Guardian a search warrant was signed by acting Chief Magistrate Mark Wellington. Several boxes containing records also were seized from the business place. The accounting firm, police said, dealt with the disbursements of billions of dollars in construction and legal contracts on behalf of Udecott, for several years. Police obtained seven warrants but only four were executed. The warrants were signed by Wellington at his chambers at the Port-of-Spain Magistrates’ Court between Tuesday afternoon and yesterday. Senior Supt Terry Young, head of ACIB, who was mandated by Acting Police Commissioner James Philbert to lead the probe, was seen at the offices, including Hart’s home, giving directives to his juniors.

The investigation is being spearheaded by both the ACIB and the Fraud Squad, headed by Young and Senior Supt Harold Phillip. From as early as 4.30 am, 60 officers assigned to the Anti-Corruption Investigations Bureau (ACIB), Special Branch, Criminal Intelligence Unit (CIU) and the Fraud Squad, first went to the Cascade home of former Udecott executive chairman, Calder Hart. However, officers were unable to execute a search warrant because no one answered the bell.

http://guardian.co.tt/news/crime/2010/03/25/police-raid-udecott-and-sunway-offices
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 02:23:52 AM by davyjenny1 »

Re: Well.. Manure finally hit the fan:Police raid Udecott and Sunway offices
« Reply #102 on: March 25, 2010, 04:06:47 AM »
cool, i hope they didnt have enough time to get rid of the evidence.

« Reply #103 on: March 25, 2010, 04:09:21 AM »
3 weeks after the fact???

steupse!!

« Reply #104 on: March 25, 2010, 04:21:53 AM »
3 weeks after the fact???

steupse!!

3 weeks?more like 7 months....remember the esteemed AG say that hart being investigated since last september

« Reply #105 on: March 25, 2010, 05:34:06 AM »
Enough times to cook the books, alter records etc....

(btw some report go come out soon about dem police having printer, lap top and phone from de evidence list at they home for personal use)
« Last Edit: March 25, 2010, 05:40:44 AM by Daft Trini »

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #106 on: March 25, 2010, 07:14:09 AM »

dem men taking sealed reams of paper as evidence oui...
dey good... :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #107 on: March 25, 2010, 07:37:29 AM »

Thank you for posting this.... it emphasizes my point that some of dat go end up fuh personal use  :-\

« Reply #108 on: March 25, 2010, 07:56:42 AM »

allyuh good oui.

Is damn if you do, damn if you don't in sweet T&T eh?

Too soon, not fast enough.

« Reply #109 on: March 25, 2010, 08:03:14 AM »
allyuh good oui.

Nah iz only damned if yuh do take sealed blank paper.
And the raid is in no way too soon.

A raid at this point doesn't have a good chance of turning up anything useful.
Except office supplies :)

« Reply #110 on: March 25, 2010, 08:14:11 AM »
allyuh good oui.

Nah iz only damned if yuh do take sealed blank paper.
And the raid is in no way too soon.

A raid at this point doesn't have a good chance of turning up anything useful.
Except office supplies :)
The police that stupid ent ?

« Reply #111 on: March 25, 2010, 08:18:48 AM »
allyuh good oui.

I steups when I heard this last night too.......this raid should have been made since the day TSTT confirmed under oath at the Commission of Enquiry, that the fax number on the document sent to CH Development was Calder Hart's .....but ah eh blame the police, who de hell was going to challenge Manning's blue eyed boy??....

In the meantime I heard sales of shredders went up from the time the UFF Commission started.... :-X

And ah hear Hart reach the UK.  Ah thought he just went Florida for a few days??  Ent it should be easy to reach Malaysia from London??  We have an extradition treaty with Malaysia??

« Reply #112 on: March 25, 2010, 08:28:32 AM »
deleting evidence on a computer don't mean that it gone forever.. unless of course the perpetrators were diligent enough to format each hard drive/server drive 7 times over or burn the evidence altogether.

allyuh need to cool it.. because time pass for due process doesn't mean that evidence can't be uncovered if the right tools are used.

« Reply #113 on: March 25, 2010, 08:29:04 AM »
allyuh good oui.

I steups when I heard this last night too.......this raid should have been made since the day TSTT confirmed under oath at the Commission of Enquiry, that the fax number on the document sent to CH Development was Calder Hart's .....but ah eh blame the police, who de hell was going to challenge Manning's blue eyed boy??....

In the meantime I heard sales of shredders went up from the time the UFF Commission started.... :-X

And ah hear Hart reach the UK.  Ah thought he just went Florida for a few days??  Ent it should be easy to reach Malaysia from London??  We have an extradition treaty with Malaysia??

First of all, those look like boxes to me and not sealed reams of paper..say what.

Secondly, you don't just rush in after you find a fax number on a piece of paper.  The AG said an investigation was initiated since last year.  Does anyone know what that investigation has gleaned?  I like how we have all the forensic people here, along with the seasoned investigators.

In the US and UK they take years sometimes before an arrest is made or documents etc are seized.

Let us wait and see what happens.

allyuh real good in trute.

As I said is damn if you do and damned if you don't.

I am reminded of when the amnesty papers for ABu Bakr turned up.. after all were supposedly destroyed..who was responsible for helping him get free again?

ahhhhhh!

« Reply #114 on: March 25, 2010, 08:49:10 AM »
no matter what u cook, a true forensic investigator will still find foul play.

Re: Police raid Udecott and Sunway offices
« Reply #115 on: March 25, 2010, 07:46:02 PM »
Like I read on the Guardian. Enough time to hide evidence. erase info from desktop, etc. phoooweee

« Reply #116 on: March 26, 2010, 04:23:39 AM »
no matter what u cook, a true forensic investigator will still find foul play.

The last good one Trinidad had passed away 2 Christmases ago.

« Reply #117 on: March 26, 2010, 07:27:54 AM »
Like I read on the Guardian. Enough time to hide evidence. erase info from desktop, etc. phoooweee

Like i said before, yuh cant erase info from desktop without going through some lengths.. and in most cases, its difficult to undertake that without arising some suspicion in house... which is why taking those resources as evidence always makes alot of sense.

« Reply #118 on: March 26, 2010, 07:36:37 AM »
de only thing dey go report if they find it.... is if  de Harts have a sex tape..... daiz all...!

« Reply #119 on: March 26, 2010, 08:49:18 AM »
deleting evidence on a computer don't mean that it gone forever.. unless of course the perpetrators were diligent enough to format each hard drive/server drive 7 times over or burn the evidence altogether.

allyuh need to cool it.. because time pass for due process doesn't mean that evidence can't be uncovered if the right tools are used.

there's technology that goes in layer after layer and recoups most (if not all data), even after formatting. Takes time and you must have the tools.. but if they really want to find info they will.