April 29, 2024, 03:17:26 AM

Author Topic: Lawrence Duprey/Clico Thread.  (Read 41127 times)

Re: Lawrence Duprey
« Reply #90 on: February 28, 2009, 05:03:14 PM »
I hear Manning doing the same thing with Calder Hart with some properties in Canada.  And Rodger Boynes with he Sylibia estates.  Every Trini politician is a scyamp yes

« Reply #91 on: February 28, 2009, 07:22:36 PM »
They haven't implicated him in any illegal activity yet. Until they do so he just another greed capitalist exploiting the system.

Cosign especially d part bout d greddy capitalist.

« Reply #92 on: February 28, 2009, 08:02:58 PM »
They haven't implicated him in any illegal activity yet. Until they do so he just another greed capitalist exploiting the system.

unless LD tief or commingle,they cyar lock him up,nobody could have foreseen this recession,the man made some business deals that didn't pan out.

« Reply #93 on: February 28, 2009, 08:34:07 PM »

unless LD tief or commingle,they cyar lock him up,nobody could have foreseen this recession,the man made some business deals that didn't pan out.

OK

« Reply #94 on: March 01, 2009, 09:17:08 AM »
Where the money gone?
...Lawyers, auditors work on Clico’s paper trail
Shaliza Hassanali | 9:05 pm
Guardian

Lawyers and auditors are working feverishly to find out what has happened to more than $5 billion from Clico’s Statutory Fund. And irate Clico employees—who were told by the company’s newly appointed managing director, Claude Musaib-Ali on Wednesday, that they did not know where the money went and were not sure to retrieve it—are calling on their bossman and CL Financial jefe Lawrence Duprey to come clean and answer to them and their clients on where the money has gone.

“We have auditors and lawyers trying to find it... We don’t know where it went to,” Musaib-Ali told workers when he held a meeting with them for the first time last week. He was accompanied to the meeting, held at Clico’s St Vincent Street office, by Clico’s senior vice president Carolyn John. Workers said they were told that some of the funds were invested with “companies that were connected with CL Financial,” which the lawyers and auditors were trying to trace. Musaib-Ali indicated to them that CL may not be able to repay the money. “So that is a loss for us that we have to bear. “We first have to find out where this money went to, and if we could get it back from where it went,” Musaib-Ali told them.

He told workers that “probably in a few months” he would meet with them where he would be able to inform them “where the money went and if they have got some back.” This forced some of the workers to erupt into laughter. “The people who were here before took the money and put it somewhere. We don’t know where. “We are perplexed...” he told workers, “we don’t know where it has gone.” Musaib-Ali informed them the insurance company was facing a rough time and urged them to tighten their belts and put their shoulders to the wheel to come up with an improved service in order to survive. Musaib-Ali said while the company was facing mounting pressures, he was confident Clico could move forward because of the Government and Central Bank’s intervention.

Take out money

Musaib-Ali also informed the workers that customers of Clico’s Executive Flexible Premium Annuity (EFPA) were taking out their money. EFPA is an insurance product specially designed to achieve a balance of financial growth, security and retirement income. “The EFPA was supposed to give you gravy. Now we have no gravy. “You have to let them (customers) know that the company is not closing down. We may offer a lower interest rate and we have become a little slimmer, but we are not going to disappear,” Musaib-Ali insisted.

New board

On February 3, Finance Minister Karen Nunez-Tesheira announced in Parliament the names of Clico’s new board of directors. The members include former Central Bank governor Dr Euric Bobb, who was appointed chairman of Clico, Claude Musaib-Ali, Judy Chang, Marlon Holder, Hayden Charles and Anthony Watkins.

« Reply #95 on: March 01, 2009, 09:20:06 AM »
So my question is....isn't there a annually audit done on companies anymore ???
Or just to go further, an internal audit dept ? Ent all insurance companies muss have either an internal audit or actuarial dept ???

ah juss asking, because back in meh day, you either had quarterly and/or annually audits.

« Reply #96 on: March 01, 2009, 11:51:46 AM »
Or just to go further, an internal audit dept ? Ent all insurance companies muss have either an internal audit or actuarial dept ???

ah juss asking, because back in meh day, you either had quarterly and/or annually audits.

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: ..... when u big u large.............apparently............. wont say more than that

« Reply #97 on: March 01, 2009, 07:24:25 PM »

I think it was stated when this whole thing first broke that PWC were/are CL Financial's auditors.....thing to make yuh go hhhhhhhmmmm....yuh see apparently since CLICO was private, they could have done what de hell dey want without having to adhere to the stringent rules required by a publicly listed company....

Girl, I feel it have more story to break out....dis only now start....

« Reply #98 on: March 01, 2009, 08:03:04 PM »

I think it was stated when this whole thing first broke that PWC were/are CL Financial's auditors.....thing to make yuh go hhhhhhhmmmm....yuh see apparently since CLICO was private, they could have done what de hell dey want without having to adhere to the stringent rules required by a publicly listed company....

Girl, I feel it have more story to break out....dis only now start....

No girl...hear nah. Once you a member of ATTIC you have to adhere to the Supervisor of Insurance office rules and regulations, which requires either a quarterly (datz for dem insurance companies who under the microscope eg Capital, Demerara etc) or an annually audit by auditors recognized by the SOI office.

So this is why I had to ask the question. Ah not to familiar with Price Waterhouse. I'm more with Ernst and Young.  So you'll have to full me ein with the 'hhhmmmm' part  ;D

In true....dis only now start.
What I waiting for is the name calling. Avid UNC supporter + money lender = Durpey ent ? And during the UNC rein of Trinidad and Tobago, Durpey and his empire were top noch and untouchable....not so ?

ah cyah wait ;D
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 08:10:38 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #99 on: March 01, 2009, 08:05:16 PM »
The great irony of this whole Clico debacle is the whole notion of laissez faire economics. Limited gov't intervention(least amount of regulations) especially when the markets are hot. That is the mantra of consevatives and free marketeers. The fever did caught on the the Caribbean especially in TT. Now the market bust, it is the gov't who has to bailout everyone. Duprey and Clico shareholders lucky Patrick did not spend all the money as yet.

« Reply #100 on: March 01, 2009, 10:03:09 PM »
true conservatives are still against bailouts.

« Reply #101 on: March 01, 2009, 10:24:19 PM »
true conservatives are still against bailouts.
only if they are not the ones benefiting from said bailout :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #102 on: March 02, 2009, 05:35:20 AM »
The great irony of this whole Clico debacle is the whole notion of laissez faire economics. Limited gov't intervention(least amount of regulations) especially when the markets are hot. That is the mantra of consevatives and free marketeers. The fever did caught on the the Caribbean especially in TT. Now the market bust, it is the gov't who has to bailout everyone. Duprey and Clico shareholders lucky Patrick did not spend all the money as yet.

We have to remember that Clico is Caribbean, so at the moment the PM of Barbados have to bailout also.

The government of Trinidad & Tobago is refusing to say how much money it is giving to bail out the CL Financial Group and CLICO, but the estimated liabilities amount to US$16 Billion dollars.

Yes, BILLION with a “B”.

Prime Minister David Thompson of Barbados has yet to make a statement about CLICO’s narrowly averted bankruptcy, but soon (and probably already secretly done) his longtime friend, client and patron Leroy Parris will come asking for additional concessions from Barbados. That means that CLICO and associated companies will be asking the Prime Minister to give your tax money to a company that has an estimated 100 billion dollars in assets, but has run out of cash.

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2009/01/30/clico-on-life-support-will-barbados-prime-minister-thompson-favour-his-patron-leroy-parris-or-the-people-of-barbados/

High Court agrees to liquidate CLICO Bahamas Holdings

Published 02/27/2009 by Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation
The Bahamas Supreme Court has ordered the liquidation of local insurance company, CLICO Holdings Bahamas Limited -- a subsidiary of the Trinidad-based conglomerate CL Financial.The Court on Tuesday issued the winding-up order based on an application made ...
http://www.cbc.bb/index.pl/article?id=3403544

« Reply #103 on: March 02, 2009, 07:54:45 AM »

At the end of all this...Duprey still holding real $$ ent?
Think he had enough years to see what coming and try to protect himself from the worse case.

« Reply #104 on: March 02, 2009, 04:51:27 PM »
Guyana hunts for bloggers after false bank report causes panic
Last Updated: Monday, March 2, 2009 | 8:54 AM ET
CBC News

Police in Guyana say they are looking for bloggers who caused alarm with a false report that a commercial bank in the South American country had requested a $6.35-million bailout to avert a collapse.

The Guyana Bank for Trade & Industry said it fielded thousands of calls from worried customers after a website posted a report Thursday that the bank was seeking government aid, which it said was not true. The bank said there was no mass withdrawal of funds and the government's central bank said the institution was sound.

A police statement issued Friday called the blog report "erroneous, wicked and intended to cause public mischief" and it said officers have asked for international and local help "to verify who is hosting this website" and pursue other information.

The website, www.livinguyana.blogspot.com, displayed a message Saturday indicating it had been "eliminated."

The website earlier had removed the original report and published an apology, accepting that the information was "100 per cent incorrect." It said it "relayed information by someone who was duped by a wicked person whose aim was to use this blog to create mischief."

The website, launched in 2005, is run by an anonymous blogger who goes by the name of "Media Critic" and who jokingly refers to himself as "a miserable old disgruntled goat." It says he lives in Guyana.

"The writer has already apologized on the blog, so we have to see what the next step is," said police Cmdr. Paul Slowe.

The false report came just hours after the government took over Guyana's Colonial Life Insurance Company, the local subsidiary of the Trinidad-based CL Financial Group.

« Reply #105 on: March 02, 2009, 09:34:11 PM »
All yuh know what that means for any Trini going in the caribbean to set a company. Duprey spoil we "reputation"

« Reply #106 on: March 02, 2009, 10:10:56 PM »
CBC News

Police in Guyana say they are looking for bloggers who caused alarm with a false report that a commercial bank in the South American country had requested a $6.35-million bailout to avert a collapse.

The Guyana Bank for Trade & Industry said it fielded thousands of calls from worried customers after a website posted a report Thursday that the bank was seeking government aid, which it said was not true. The bank said there was no mass withdrawal of funds and the government's central bank said the institution was sound.

A police statement issued Friday called the blog report "erroneous, wicked and intended to cause public mischief" and it said officers have asked for international and local help "to verify who is hosting this website" and pursue other information.

The website, www.livinguyana.blogspot.com, displayed a message Saturday indicating it had been "eliminated."

The website earlier had removed the original report and published an apology, accepting that the information was "100 per cent incorrect." It said it "relayed information by someone who was duped by a wicked person whose aim was to use this blog to create mischief."

The website, launched in 2005, is run by an anonymous blogger who goes by the name of "Media Critic" and who jokingly refers to himself as "a miserable old disgruntled goat." It says he lives in Guyana.

"The writer has already apologized on the blog, so we have to see what the next step is," said police Cmdr. Paul Slowe.

The false report came just hours after the government took over Guyana's Colonial Life Insurance Company, the local subsidiary of the Trinidad-based CL Financial Group.

6.35 million guyanese is like $100.00 tnt money.

« Reply #107 on: March 03, 2009, 02:22:53 AM »
CBC News

6.35 million guyanese is like $100.00 tnt money.

lol, guyana jus want 2 be in ting, yuh done know dey eh have no money.

« Reply #108 on: March 09, 2009, 11:59:47 AM »
Don't u think dey should lock up this man and throw away de key because how he indiscriminately spend we money.  I reading the papers this week and see de man invested in some high profile properties in Florida using we hard earned money.  What de  :cursing: Now people go lose their jobs because he was on a spending spree.  Trinidad really soft yes!  If it was America, he would already be in a cell with Bubba and de soap.

Duprey didn't take anybody's money.

Offline Saywha

« Reply #109 on: March 25, 2009, 10:20:48 AM »
Don't u think dey should lock up this man and throw away de key because how he indiscriminately spend we money.  I reading the papers this week and see de man invested in some high profile properties in Florida using we hard earned money.  What de  :cursing: Now people go lose their jobs because he was on a spending spree.  Trinidad really soft yes!  If it was America, he would already be in a cell with Bubba and de soap.

Duprey didn't take anybody's money.

you is he family or wha

Govt withdraws Clico bill
« Reply #110 on: September 30, 2010, 10:18:48 PM »
...PM to make statement today
Gail Alexander
Published: 1 Oct 2010
Gail Alexander
The Government yesterday bailed out at the eleventh hour from proposed legislation which would have blocked legal action against its plans regarding the Clico dilemma. Leader of government business in the House of Representatives, Roodal Moonilal, confirmed that the legislation—the Central Bank Amendment (CBA) Bill—has been withdrawn from today’s House debate agenda.
Moonilal added yesterday: “The Prime Minister will make a comprehensive statement on the situation in the House on Friday (today).”

Among provisions pertaining to the Central Bank, the bill sought to empower the Attorney General to act on issues—such as the Clico problem—arising out of circumstances that resulted in a threat to the stability of the local financial system. It would have also empowered the Attorney General to apply to the courts for the appointment of a chief restructuring officer for an institution that is given assistance under this legislation. A three-fifths’ special majority of votes—26 of the 41 MPs—was required for the bill’s passage since it would have affected sections of the Constitution concerning constitutional rights. The bill was expected to have been passed in the House since the ruling People’s Partnership has 29 MPs. The Opposition PNM has 12. Instead, however, Government would now present a bill on procurement practices for today’s House debate.

Government’s decision to pull back on the CBA Bill was confirmed after yesterday’s Cabinet meeting where the bill was expected to have been “finalised” and given “final approval” (sic) according to announcements on Tuesday by Attorney General Anand
Ramlogan. However, yesterday’s weekly Cabinet session chaired by Prime Minister Kamla Persad Bissessar—who returned from overseas Wednesday—withdrew the bill Ramlogan had promoted as the “flesh and bones” of the Government’s Clico plan. Government’s about-face yesterday arose after continuing criticism, and threat of legal action regarding its plans on the Clico issue. The Clico policyholders’ group has called for a meeting with Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar on the situation. Asked about the withdrawal of the CBA Bill, Moonilal said the plans announced in the 2010-2011 budget to deal with the Clico dilemma would be effected via other measures. He said the proposed legislation was just one suggested measure regarding the Clico problem.

“But we have other options to pursue including listening to the concerns of parties,” Moonilal added. Asked about the options, Moonilal repeated: “As I said, the Prime Minister will respond more comprehensively.” Moonilal denied that recent arguments by former attorney general Ramesh Lawrence Maharaj had influenced Government’s decision on—or to pull back from—the CBA Bill. Moonilal declined comment on how the bill might limit the rights of Clico policyholders to take legal action. PNM MP Colm Imbert, who was scheduled to have delivered the Opposition’s reply to the Government on the bill today, said yesterday: “Clearly, they had to pull this bill since it would have been oppressive, draconian and the beginning of a creeping dictatorship.” “Government needed a special majority to pass the bill because it takes away the rights of policyholders to take action against Clico and the Central Bank on the current matter,” he said.

“It provided no alternative remedy and would have left policyholders in pain and in limbo. “It’s very inhumane legislation. It deprives people of their rights to justice. Government does not need this bill to provide funds to pay Clico investors. Its only purpose is to prevent a lawsuit. “They haven’t dealt with the substantive issue—only tried to block complaint—when what they should be doing is holding discussions with policyholders and improving their offer.”
Ramlogan had alluded to strengthening financial regulations in his budget contribution last week. However, first concrete word of the proposed CBA legislation arose this week. The day after Maharaj’s contentions on Clico aired—while the Prime Minister was overseas—a special Cabinet meeting on the Clico issue was convened on Monday under acting Prime Minister Errol McLeod. On Tuesday, McLeod and Finance Minister Winston Dookeran defended the Government’s Clico plan at a media conference, alongside Ramlogan who attacked Maharaj’s arguments. Ramlogan is quoted as saying that the planned bill would have effected and facilitated the Finance Minister’s budget policy announcement.

Ramlogan said the proposed bill would be “the flesh and bones of the formula we have come up with” and would effect and implement assistance for Clico depositors. Short on the legislation’s details, Ramlogan had announced that yesterday’s Cabinet session would have finalised and given final approval to the bill. He said the Clico plan would have been a private arrangement between the Government and depositors who chose to avail themselves of the plan and would not have involved the regulatory aspects of Central Bank’s powers.
Ramlogan said the bill would have been tabled in Parliament today to “give legal authority and proper framework” to effect this solution.
However, the bill is now off the table.

PNM’s Imbert added: “Even if the House passed the bill, I wonder if Independent senators would have supported it, since it was so draconian and oppressive.” Independent senators did not receive a copy of the bill in the usual weekly package of documents sent to them yesterday, they confirmed. Independent bench leader Basharat Ali said he had not seen the bill. “So I can’t formulate a position...All I know is, it is supposed to be going to the House on Friday and House leader Moonilal informed me that we in Senate will be doing it next Tuesday, provided it’s passed in the House,” Ali said.
policyholders welcome decision
Clico Policyholders Group has welcomed the Government’s withdrawal of the Central Bank Amendment Bill, the group’s Peter Permell said yesterday. “While we feel the Prime Minister’s remarks—to take-it or leave-it where the Government’s plan was concerned—were unfortunate, we feel she only said so since she was not in T&T recently and was not fully briefed on the issue,” he said. “But we feel Government should be commended for withdrawing the CBA Bill as it opens the door for dialogue...We stand ready to engage in this with the PM or her technical people.”

Re: Govt withdraws Clico bill
« Reply #111 on: September 30, 2010, 10:20:15 PM »
Did she not already make a statement- Take it or Leave It? I guess she 4got lie down by it.

« Reply #112 on: October 01, 2010, 05:00:53 AM »
ooohhh guuudd....Ramesh back in town!!.... :devil:

« Reply #113 on: October 01, 2010, 06:13:53 AM »
ooohhh guuudd....Ramesh back in town!!.... :devil:

ENTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT

« Reply #114 on: October 01, 2010, 06:14:49 AM »
shows that the govt willing to listen and re-think its policies

« Reply #115 on: October 01, 2010, 10:21:20 AM »

STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS. A policy 2 stop people from suing yuh. What a slippery slope. Next bill is 2 say d warriors wrong 2 sue and not entitle 2 dey money.

« Reply #116 on: October 01, 2010, 07:12:37 PM »
Breaking News
Commission of Inquiry into CLICO, Hindu Credit Union
Story Created: Oct 1, 2010 at 7:08 PM ECT

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has announced that there will be a Commission of Inquiry into CLICO and the Hindu Credit Union.

Following is the Prime Minister's address in Parliament today:

--Mr. Speaker, my colleague would indeed pilot the Motion that is on the Order Paper in a short while. I thank you for the opportunity to make this statement to the House. 

The CL Financial crisis is, perhaps, one of the largest failures in our country's history; financial failures.  We believe that it is important to reiterate and reemphasize the magnitude and systemic exposures that may arise from this crisis, as well as some of the factors which contributed to this fiasco, based on our understanding to date.  May I say, we continue to gain more and more information as time unfolds daily..Continue..http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Breaking-Event-104183974.html

« Reply #117 on: October 01, 2010, 07:48:45 PM »
Hear we go again. Another in a long list of C o I. Will anything result after it is done?

« Reply #118 on: October 01, 2010, 11:01:36 PM »
Hear we go again. Another in a long list of C o I. Will anything result after it is done?

Yep another waste of time and money.

« Reply #119 on: October 02, 2010, 04:28:08 AM »

If they were really listening, we'd have state boards by now, the laptop thing would have been dead in the water, Steve and Ish woulda be on a plane to the US long time, the Min of Public Utilities would have resigned since the expose on his handling of the Desalcott contract and he would have taken his "Acting" CEO with him, they would have kept the policy the PNM had in place to deal wit CLICO, they would have come clean with the pensioners (no scratch that one it was a misprint and the pensioners getting exactly what was promised ::) ::))......

Yuh want more??.....steups!!  Bunch ah frigging headless chickens eh know where they arse from they elbow is.....