April 29, 2024, 11:10:13 AM

Author Topic: Malick player dies  (Read 3123 times)

Malick player dies
« on: September 25, 2005, 06:55:27 AM »
Malick player dies
Trinidad Express

Malick Senior Comprehensive are now mourning the loss of one of their players, Rudolph Charles, who collapsed and died on Friday during the school's BG T&T Secondary Schools Football League (SSFL) match with Tranquility Government Secondary.

According to a TV6 News report, Charles, a 17-year-old defender, collapsed suddenly with about four minutes to go in the first half of the game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.

Charles was taken off the field and rushed to the Port of Spain Hospital, but was pronounced dead on arrival.

A post-mortem will be performed tomorrow to determine the cause of the young footballer's death.

Re: Malick player dies
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2005, 08:16:04 AM »
jeeeeezzzz

PAO

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2005, 08:37:52 AM »
 Condolences to the family and Malick team... :(

« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2005, 08:43:31 AM »
when I was a school boy in Trinidad we did not need medical clearances to play sports.

Has that changed?

« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2005, 09:37:39 AM »
Very sad..condolences to the all affected.

« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2005, 09:46:29 AM »
 :'(

I hope the rest of the team can stay strong and finish the season proudly.

« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2005, 09:58:35 AM »
god blessings and strenght to the family and teammates of charles.....i heard there was no medical stuff at the game >>eg...stretcher and ting.....also no ambulance...this must not continue......hope the league pay respect with one min silence and black armbands at upcoming games....sad day for football

« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2005, 10:46:47 AM »
Same thing happened with that Cameroon fella some time back in de confederation cup. My deepest sympathy to the family of Rudolph Charles.

RIP brother.

Offline Solo

« Reply #8 on: September 25, 2005, 02:32:44 PM »
RIP. May have been something to do with his heart.

« Reply #9 on: September 25, 2005, 02:49:02 PM »
This is very sad.

My condolences to his family, friends and team mates.

« Reply #10 on: September 25, 2005, 03:08:33 PM »
MY PARDNER ON D TEAM SAID D MAN HAD JUS GONE INTO A TACKLE WIT A PERSON WHOM HE KNOWS AND AFTER THE TACKLE HE FELL THEY THOUGHT IT WAS FITS AND WERE THINKIN NO ONE DIES FROM FITS

SAD DAY IN MALICK

« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2005, 03:10:11 PM »
My goodnes....what a shame!

RIP youth man, RIP.

Condolences to his family and friends.

« Reply #12 on: September 25, 2005, 04:18:45 PM »
Playing back home is ah liability.  Sorry to say so, but the medical clearances that the  doctors does give yuh back home is a joke.  Also, I don't think the SSFL is organzied where they require that players must be medically cleared before they can begin practicing with their teams.  We have a long way to go.  One of my close friends who had a heart history died while practicing with Caledonia.  It was really sad.  He loved the game, and was a good player, although he really should not have been playing football at all.  A proper physical would have disallowed him from going on the field in the first place.

Offline nobody_s angel

« Reply #13 on: September 25, 2005, 04:39:50 PM »
 :'( RIP Rudolph charles RIP

« Reply #14 on: September 25, 2005, 10:56:47 PM »
A medical isn't sure to pick up heart defects.  As Sam mentioned, Marc Vivien-Foe from Cameroon died, even though he had to have had a medical done while at his club, they were in a top-class game with the best on-site medical facilities and staff available.  Medicals would weed out some ppl with problems, but not all.

That being said, I would have felt better knowing that everything possible was done to save this youth.  From medical screening to ambulances at games to adequate hospital facilities and staff.  I still waitin for the government to spend some oil money on the health sector.

« Reply #15 on: September 26, 2005, 07:22:19 AM »
Another youth gone too soon. RIP Rudolph Charles.
« Last Edit: September 26, 2005, 08:10:49 AM by Fire Brand »

« Reply #16 on: September 26, 2005, 08:23:36 AM »
My condolences go out to this kid and his family,i'm really saddened by this.
 I asked some time ago what or who controls the money that the colleges league makes?and the answer was they don't make any money,the crowds don't say anything.
 I've always said the colleges league is a big joke,all we see is these kids playing Football out there year after year and we have a good time,but there is too much going on outside of that and unless something happens then we want to talk about it,college football is a can of worms,Coaches,the whole process for players to represent schools,kids are being exploited,treatment of players,we see only those that are successful what about those that are not?the colleges league has no  structure or plan in place for anything,i guess it's T&T no one has to account to nobody for anything.
   Any how i hope situations like this will bring us closer to reality.

« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2005, 08:46:13 AM »
RIP :(

Offline makaveli

« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2005, 07:25:04 PM »
ah hear a tranquil player hit him an elbow to the chest..after the match the malick team and thier supporters almost blow out tranquil side..bottle and thing....ma bro goin tranquil tell mih the fella real quaking. ah hear about 90 men pose off waiting for the man yes.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2005, 04:53:52 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #19 on: September 26, 2005, 07:43:22 PM »
Really sad to hear about this.  Condolences to the entire family.  Spare a thought fuh de opponent who ALLEGEDLY trow de elbow dat MAY or MAY NOT have had a direct impact on this situation.  If true...something he have to live with for life.

Imagine yuh suit up to play a game of football representin yuh school and daz it fuh u.

Imagine further yuh suit up fuh de same game and someting everybody does do at one time or de oddah have such tragic consequences.

Sad.