April 25, 2024, 10:25:31 AM

Author Topic: Constructive Criticism here...  (Read 7725 times)

Re: Nothing but a bunch a damn boo-birds
« Reply #30 on: February 12, 2009, 09:52:49 AM »
I would like to say though that the 2 substitutions of Birchall and Cornell for John was a big mistake and the men in charge were responsible for the loss of 2 points.

What would you have done that would have guaranteed the extra 2 points?

« Reply #31 on: February 12, 2009, 09:59:25 AM »

BTW..is de same peeps u beratin is de one's who after dey get dey heart broken in de most cruel of manners, in front of a ram cram stadium, needin only 1 point to qualify fuh dey first World Cup at any level & lorse, is de one's who gave dey team a standin ovation and tell dem WE LOVE YOU!

Now DAT yuh doh see anywhere else in de world!

:applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause:

Re: Constructive Criticism here...
« Reply #32 on: February 12, 2009, 10:00:02 AM »
Another problem that seems to be causing a problem could be the language barrier between the coach and the players.   How can Pacho explain simple things to the players in broken pieces of English? :yapping: How can he relate to a player on a level to evaluate, advice him of his faults etc? For a team such as ours, an English speaking coach is needed…thanks to Latas being added. Believe it or not this could be a major issue of the why’s and not’s on this team. Communication problems!  :notlistening:

« Reply #33 on: February 12, 2009, 10:01:11 AM »
Dat violence thing, spitting, pelting piss is not we. Doh take mih point so far nah. We not like dem in that way. I did say that we are a fun loving people. I just can't understand why we cyah enjoy a 2-0 lead even if we playing shit, but instead we wasting down de players who at that point were doing something that we really not accustomed to. Like enough is really never enough

Yuh mus ask yuhself why sometimes yuh does bawl HYMC! when yuh greet a padnah.  Or why yuh does cuss when Stern trow away yet another goal.  Or why yuh does leggo MC and carry on when WI snatch defeat from victory.  Is not because yuh go never support dem again.  Is not because dem is not your team.  Is because you CARE!

BTW..is de same peeps u beratin is de one's who after dey get dey heart broken in de most cruel of manners, in front of a ram cram stadium, needin only 1 point to qualify fuh dey first World Cup at any level & lorse, is de one's who gave dey team a standin ovation and tell dem WE LOVE YOU!

Now DAT yuh doh see anywhere else in de world!

Thanks for saying that.... may we never forget...

« Reply #34 on: February 12, 2009, 10:06:15 AM »
Hmmm....no fight down yet of Akile Edwards?

I must be on de wrong forum.

De youth played alright. He made some decent plays. He is getting ah lil better.  De Spanish and them did not raid that side as much, is down de middle they killed us. Bad marking and everyone's to blame.

« Reply #35 on: February 12, 2009, 10:30:34 AM »

Our defense looked a bit suspect at times but the fact that ES did not score from open play says something good about the defensive back 4 what more can we ask playing away from home.

i cyah accept that....The fact that ES didnt score from open play was due to their poor striking , and not our defense.

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #36 on: February 12, 2009, 10:31:02 AM »
Allyuh doh seem to understand mih point is really that we up 2-0 and we have not been in that situation before, yet people acting like that is normal and already expecting more. socapro, you hear me say anything bout celebrate a 2-0 lead? I say enjoy de position instead of dealing only with who playing shit and want man to come off. I not trying to compare trinidad to big football countries cause we're not one. Yuh cyah compare Jamaica carnival to Trini carnival cause is just facking apples and oranges. I just saying we all know de limitations and weaknesses of our team, but all we want to do is cuss and pretend is not so and not appreciate what these guys were doing. I diappointed too, but are we not capable of being satisfied by what the national team of T & T does at all? Big man here who does run dey mouth plenty feel nobody else could have an opinion. Ah really doh care how smart yuh feel yuh is or how yuh tone yuh response, yuh ent affecting me one way or de other. Yes, you   ;D
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 10:56:48 AM by Fantastic »
Doh loss yuh head boss

Offline kaiser

« Reply #37 on: February 12, 2009, 10:38:33 AM »
could sombody help me please,why when we were up 2 nil and carlos and others were being stoned why didn't the technical staff either call off the players or make a protest to the referee to discontinue the game ? i dont know the ruling on this but if it can be done and wasn't then we dealing with real amateurs and trinidad football in trouble

« Reply #38 on: February 12, 2009, 10:55:41 AM »
Even though Stern missed that PK last night, I can't in good conscience blame him for the draw.  Stern was the better striker last night as far as his awareness and tactical approach.  He held up the ball well and increased our chances of positive outcomes around the goal.  KJ's first touch was atrocious in my opinion and if a forward was to be subbed out it should have been him.  Carlos looked good last nigh but again his crossing was suspect.  Although I understand why Birchie was taken off, I still dont like it one bit.  He is our best and most active defensive midfield option and at this stage should understand how to play with a yellow and not be sent off.  Our defensive depth was a problem last night and that is unacceptable.  Defensively for over two thirds of the match we looked competent.  i wouldn't say great but they performed fairly well.  I think at about the 60 minute mark we needed to give Yorke a rest and maybe Latas should have closed.  I will not blame the coachin entirely because I believe we had some very poor execution of tasks on defense in the last 20 minutes.  Our players have to also be held accountable for the uninspiring clearances that amounted to long passes to the oppenent allowing them to regroup.  As much as I was pained by the ES comeback, I take comfort that we at least secured a point and at minimum hold the 3rd spot based on the away goal. 

What we do in the next match will be very crucial as it can (with a win) vault us potentially into second place or at minimum create a 3 point separation between us and 4th place.  This of course is based on the assumption that US will take home 3 points in the next match.

« Reply #39 on: February 12, 2009, 10:58:57 AM »
After that first free kick goal I tell my padner we good to take two more. Es was playing football and we was looking like some dunce and it start with Ince.

We under pressure. He get a goal kick and he voom kick it up the road. Jones does not control and is pressure in we a$$ again. We all know pressure does buss pipe. Latas should have introduced himself into the game and also change the tactics. Men does get vex but USA does kill off a game with them kinda lead by playing what we like to call negative football. Back pass and keep it in midfield till yuh dead.

We played into the Spanish and them hands. We cannot run at Spanish teams. They will always kill us on the counter. We need to take our time and build plays and take opportunities when the come. At no time was Trinidad ever a counter attack team because we cannot string passes together and travel with the ball at pace. The defence need to learn to possess the ball to release pressure. The boom kick only helping build pressure.

Our players are no more technically competent than the US.  In fact we might be less. We need to play the same kinda grind it out football they do and capitalize on setplays. In the USA Mex game who look more pleasing to the eye? Men cry down Beenie style but  when you have lemons yuh cannot get grape juice.  All this flair football man does talk bout. Yes we could hit a spanner but what happens after? Is either a wayward pass or we get foul. Jones need to start running at players and creating for the rest of the team. His aerial prowess can only be exploited on set pieces so we better know who taking the set pieces and they better know where Jones want it because if we waiting to exploit Jones aeiral prowess in the run of play JW might get Sainthood first.

About Stern penalty. I watch the same training video other men watch. I remember somebody talking about Stern and Birch kicking during the drills. You play how you practice. That was the most unprofessional training I see and the fact that all them men kicking wide was in the video leads me to believe it was probably worst to see in person. Man training Carlos by the cooler talking shit. The two pregame video had a fete match atmosphere. If they thought they had a win they shoulda be practicing to make it convincing. This team not hungry. We need hungry players on the fiedl. I cuss Mats selection many times but if he drop some of the so called seasoned pros and bring in hungry players I  cyah get vex.

My advice to my fellow supporters. Figure out how best yuh like yuh lemonade and let it quench yuh thirst because until the ingredients change lemonade is the only drink of choice.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 11:00:28 AM by rippin »

« Reply #40 on: February 12, 2009, 10:59:31 AM »
could sombody help me please,why when we were up 2 nil and carlos and others were being stoned why didn't the technical staff either call off the players or make a protest to the referee to discontinue the game ? i dont know the ruling on this but if it can be done and wasn't then we dealing with real amateurs and trinidad football in trouble

All thai part of it...did you see the Qualifying’s when we played in Bahrain country? Is grenade all kinda ting them was pelting at we players after we win de game.    :-[

« Reply #41 on: February 12, 2009, 11:02:28 AM »
... Is grenade all kinda ting ...

:o

lol.

Offline Saltanfresh

• Doi! Doi! Doi!....everytime
« Reply #42 on: February 12, 2009, 11:06:51 AM »
Well I must say that the result was very disappointing when condisering that we were leading by 2 goals with only a few minutes left in the game.

Blame must be placed on our technical staff and our captain Dwight Yorke. We started off well but I noticed in the first half that Stern John seemed to persuade Dwight to let him take a free kick and then Dwight gave in chasing away the younger Keon Daniel. To me this is real "Fete match" football, the dead ball specialist should be known before kick off. This "leh me take it nah" business also cost us a penalty again due to Mr. Stern John.

A World Cup Qualifier is serious business but like days of the untouchables Latas/Yorke/Stern start back again, I am waiting to see when they invite Lara to lime before the Honduras game..... So the discipline of Don Beenhakker gone through the window...oh what a shame...we regressing even after playing in a world cup.

Solution:

Defensive discipline and depth is needed.
The skipper needs to be a leader to all and not a pardner to some.
KJ needs to control and hold up the ball some more (his touch needs impovement)
Clearly define the men who are to take dead ball kicks
Clearly define and practice defending free kicks

Still, I agree with some that a point is better than nothing and trust me for a while last night I thought we were going to leave El Salvador with nothing.

« Reply #43 on: February 12, 2009, 11:09:08 AM »
I would like to say though that the 2 substitutions of Birchall and Cornell for John was a big mistake and the men in charge were responsible for the loss of 2 points.

What would you have done that would have guaranteed the extra 2 points?

With 15 minutes to go you preserve a 2 goal lead you dont go looking for goals,it was 15 mins to for God's sake.I said that we should have sent a defensive player to replace John,one of our better players was Birchall and he should have played out the match.WHOEVER MADE THAT STUPID DEDECISION TO LOOK FOR GOALS WITH 15 MINS TO GO SHOULD TAKE THE BLAME FOR THE LOSS OF 2 POINTS.

Offline vale

« Reply #44 on: February 12, 2009, 11:18:08 AM »
I think the 4-4-2 system is a much better system that the 4-5-1 we were using. I think it send a message that we are going to attack you and score goals rather than defend and use the midfield to do the running and pass the ball to the striker to score.

Kenwyne did not play well last nigt when compared to Stern. May be they need more time to partner together up front.

« Reply #45 on: February 12, 2009, 11:31:17 AM »
I think a 4-4-1-1 is the best option. And the one in front of the midfield should be a striker who mobile and does help out defensively i.e. Daryl Roberts. Props to Stern for putting in a shift though.

I would say it again. T&T is not an attacking team. Players might think so, coach might think so but the tools not there.  We have a midfield that can shoot. We do not need to run at teams and take crosses. We need to possess the ball so the defense not under pressure and tee up men at the top of the box to shoot.  Any how u look at it we not going to get no set a quality cross coming off of either wing. A little spark of individual creativity here and there and we ok.  We need to play to our strengths and develop new ones while we at it. If we have the ball the other team can't score.

« Reply #46 on: February 12, 2009, 11:56:06 AM »
Hmmm....no fight down yet of Akile Edwards?

I must be on de wrong forum.

Definetly u on phase 2 fan site.

« Reply #47 on: February 12, 2009, 11:56:20 AM »
Solution:

Defensive discipline and depth is needed.
The skipper needs to be a leader to all and not a pardner to some.
KJ needs to control and hold up the ball some more (his touch needs impovement)
Clearly define the men who are to take dead ball kicks
Clearly define and practice defending free kicks

Still, I agree with some that a point is better than nothing and trust me for a while last night I thought we were going to leave El Salvador with nothing.

Yuh forget one. Only certain men taking penalties.  ;D

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #48 on: February 12, 2009, 12:32:16 PM »
Positives:
1. We went to a hostile environment and scored 2 goals
2. We did not concede a goal in the first half, like we have done many times in the past
3. We secured a point in an away game

Negatives:
1. In the second half we were too complacent
2. We could not keep 100% concentration
3. We let a 2 goal lead slip
4. We were second to the ball far too often
well yes

« Reply #49 on: February 12, 2009, 12:52:41 PM »
We need to do a lot of practicing with 2 and 3 balls at the same time. Things players should have learned coming up, but I guess they have to learn it on the National team. Was that constructive   ??? :-\

« Reply #50 on: February 12, 2009, 12:55:31 PM »
but ah never see any other country supporters rag down and belittle dey own team so during a game when men trying for dey country.

All I have to say to dat is obviously you never visit a Brazilian board or a English board or any a dem other country supporters sites.

Unless of course you doh consider dem as "countries".

ENT! Man should ah listen to the French crowd at the stadium after they were down 2-0 versus Argentina. Every French player that touch a ball get a booing. 60,0000 booing is more than on this forum. Read the Mexico or Honduras forum sites this morning.

On a constructive note: T&T has fire power, and will score goals, not only that but the attack has depth. The midfield put the back line under constant pressure. Poor organization when the ball was lost and / or a lack of athletic ability to recover in positions was the main weakness.
T&T should have known El salvador would have come out with piss and vinegar in the second half. The team should of been in a position to keep possession of the ball and make EL Salvador run and in instances when El Salvador had the ball recognize that they had to come forward with risk & have a plan to counter attack. I don't want to talk about subs and individuals, but Glenn was the option for springing the counter and maybe that was the reasoning. Then again if you are doing that you must have a plan for recovering possession and clearly thi was not the case.

Summary: Live and learn. Don't let it happen again. Have a plan if yuh up. Have a plan if yuh down. Away from home @ home. Evaluate performances individual and collective. take yuh point and get it right next time.

Offline jaden

« Reply #51 on: February 12, 2009, 01:24:10 PM »
i think we started the game well but when we take the early lead we jus relax and never really got back in the game with the intensity of the first 7 minutes. Even when we scored the second off the  penalty, ir was against the run of play. Spann was badly out of position, yorke and birchall lack of playing time showed, keon daniel looked a shadow of himself, jones did nothing for us, stern played well except for the penalty miss which he being a seasoned pro should not miss. ince was good. nothing special from no one except maybe carlos at times.

i just heard on news that yorke, birchall and ince is suspended for the next game, could anyone confirm this?
mistakes are stepping stones to success

« Reply #52 on: February 12, 2009, 01:39:17 PM »
ince was good.

i just heard on news that yorke, birchall and ince is suspended for the next game, could anyone confirm this?

Ince was good? Revise.  ;D Ince gloves was slippery last night, he did nothing spectacular; his mistake could have cost us to loose the game.  He needs to learn to hold unto the ball
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 02:34:31 PM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #53 on: February 12, 2009, 01:54:17 PM »
Alyah think the locals e.g Keon is have to take ah back seat when the English based come back ,sure they is get little punk of.. And they have to over come this and just step up to the crease and play they game ,demand the ball and shit .Doh leh them ole men punk u off,show them.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2009, 01:56:38 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #54 on: February 12, 2009, 02:30:40 PM »
Alyah think the locals e.g Keon is have to take ah back seat when the English based come back ,sure they is get little punk of.. And they have to over come this and just step up to the crease and play they game ,demand the ball and shit .Doh leh them ole men punk u off,show them.

U 4get bout d set ah fractions it had round d Bermuda game. I figure is more fractions what dey need 2 learn is bout set u know how 2 deal wit set pieces.

« Reply #55 on: February 12, 2009, 02:56:57 PM »
ince was good.

Ince was good? Revise.  ;D Ince gloves was slippery last night, he did nothing spectacular; his mistake could have cost us to loose the game.  He needs to learn to hold unto the ball
Me eh know how men giving Ince 7 and 8 nah. Dat amount ah butter fingers cyah earn a keeper that much praise.

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #56 on: February 12, 2009, 06:09:06 PM »
Good post Optimus.
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #57 on: February 12, 2009, 06:42:44 PM »
I didn't see the game eh so forgive me,is just that i think we should name this post "we need" that's all i'm hearing or getting from the posters.
Having said that i don't know what it is peeps want,we ask for guys with WC experience they get them,get rid of the Corneals we get that,i thought there would be some difference in our game with the changes made.All or most of our players are foreign based which means they are coached by quality Coaches what is there for Mats to teach,KJ is the hottest thing in the EPL.
T&T still playing players on name and not ability and form,Anton not there to pick the team(same team),in times like these you will not get away with that,it have too much men benching or not playing for their club or not playing at all and starting on T&T team,these guys can't last 90 mins,even if they play a good game the next one is poor because they can't be consistant,i just have to sympathise with Mats because he have to take the blame,i don't know what he can do again,getting rid of any Coach is not making us better because who ever comes have to work with the same players(names),i will still say our problems are our players,we have to get players with heart and willing to die out there.   

« Reply #58 on: February 12, 2009, 06:57:23 PM »
we have to get players with heart and willing to die out there.    

Amen.

« Reply #59 on: February 12, 2009, 07:10:21 PM »
Then we really need 2 look 4 d Britz because dat eh Trinis trait.