March 28, 2024, 10:35:47 AM

Author Topic: South Africa coach wants more tough matches  (Read 1112 times)

South Africa coach wants more tough matches
« on: February 12, 2009, 08:51:42 AM »
By Mark Gleeson

POLOKWANE, South Africa, Feb 12 (Reuters) - South Africa's 2-0 defeat to Chile came as no surprise to coach Joel Santana and he wants the team to get used to playing similar opposition if the World Cup hosts are to be competitive at the 2010 finals.

The Brazilian's charges were handed a comprehensive lesson inn Wednesday's friendly international, laying bare the task facing Santana.

"What happened really did not surprise me. Chile had a very strong team who know what to do out on the field. They made us hurry through everything," Santana said in a post-match interview.

"It was a good friendly for us. These are the type of games we need and we have to apply now what we have learnt."

The result was a reality check for South Africa after a record run of five successive wins, albeit all against African opposition.

"This game augers well for our future," added Santana, who took the job last May. "We were beaten by a better team and now we know where we stand and what we need to do."

South Africa have an extensive schedule of games over the next year to prepare for the 2010 World Cup. They will compete in the Confederations Cup in June, including a match against European champions Spain, as well as play friendlies against Portugal and Poland.

South Africa's next match is at home to Norway in Rustenburg on March 28.

Allyuh want ah tough match den come play TNT