April 25, 2024, 03:30:31 AM

Author Topic: Yorke allows friendship to cost Warriors win.  (Read 18758 times)

Re: Yorke allows friendship to cost Warriors win.
« Reply #30 on: February 13, 2009, 09:53:39 AM »
listen...we taking this friendship ting too far....
look...yorke did not give stern de penalty cause is he friend..so if lets say if spann is he friend too and he say spann??..yuh wha one o wha ??...i am sure it was not like that

it had more to do with getting our leading scorer to get a goal and get some confidence going for the campaign..
why??...because yorke knows how important stern is to tnt...unlike some of us here...
allyuh feel is only KJ  KJ  KJ KJ..well think again...a firing stern is what tnt needs...and i think thaT was the rationale behind yorke's decision...
still i think yorke should have taken it...

Thank God some ppl on this site have sense. And don't get swayed by ppl who write nonsense.

Where did Dwight SAY he gave it to Stern becz they are friends??

Perhaps Dwight was wrong but to have a headline like that is insulting to both players, misleads the public and is shabby journalism.

Peace,

« Reply #31 on: February 13, 2009, 10:04:42 AM »
me eh have no sense yuh know VB... i just know my team

« Reply #32 on: February 13, 2009, 10:09:24 AM »
Thank God some ppl on this site have sense. And don't get swayed by ppl who write nonsense.

Where did Dwight SAY he gave it to Stern becz they are friends??

Perhaps Dwight was wrong but to have a headline like that is insulting to both players, misleads the public and is shabby journalism.

Peace,

The headline is sensational but newspapers are like that the world over.

Bottom line is that it's not exactly wrong.  Padnah ting was de major factor in de decision to override the coaches instructions and allow Stern to take the penalty.

Padnah ting is also what caused Keon Daniel to be shooed away from the free kick early in the game in favour of Stern John who to the best of my knowledge has never scored a free kick for T&T...certainly not WCQ.

Padnah ting is the unpalatable by product of having Latapy and Yorke run this team.  Maturana has been made into a eunuch.  Some might say deservedly so....but it still doh make it right.  Hopefully Mr Dwight Yorke and dem learn a harsh but important lesson and will HEED the lessons that were taught on Wednesday night in the future.

« Reply #33 on: February 13, 2009, 10:13:48 AM »
Palos...Maturana was always a eunuh from day one. For Jack and the Corneals..before allegedly Latas and Yorke now. They didn't make him into anythign...he was so from day one. No balls and letting whoever else call the shots while he collect a pay check.

« Reply #34 on: February 13, 2009, 10:14:44 AM »
Friendship cost T&T big time on Wednesday night when team captain Dwight Yorke defied team instructions and allowed his friend Stern John to take a penalty, which turned out to be the defining moment in the game which ended in a 2-2 draw. With T&T ahead 2-0 and a chance of putting the game beyond the reach of El Salvador, John kicked the ball high overbar.

Whoever wrote this article is not being realistic. Isnt Stern John T&T's leading all-time goal scorer? Isnt he a senior member of the team? He has all right to ask that he take the penalty, and Yorke had all right to grant him his wish.

If you ask me, its not the penalty miss that cost you the game, its the shoddy defending on the free kicks that ES scored...especially the first one.

I agree with that. Stern has every right to request taking the penalty(he cyar afford to miss doh ::) ) He also should have scored the one on one with the keeper. That one on one is his bread and butter.

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #35 on: February 13, 2009, 10:25:45 AM »
Look me eh care if Dwight make that callbased on friendship or not...thais speculation unless de man come and say that....
The point is if u is the designated Penalty taker on the team bredder take the kick...if Dwight did miss it woulda be easier to swallow because dem ting does happen...ah man does miss keeper does guess right...so i woulda have to accept that because that is the man with the responsibility to kick we pen. dem. Stern coulda easily score jus like how he miss...but he was not the designated pen. taker. You don't play round with penalties when u 2-0 up...with a chance to break the ES. back cause before that missed penalty dem was mentally defeated.

About this whole building man confidence ting.....what???? You don't use ah opportunity like that to build ah man confidence...i coulda understand if we were 3-0 or 4-0 up with just a few mins to go in the game. But at a crucial stage like that the TEAM and the GAME and the MISSION (to get all three points) have to be more important dan one man confidence (esp. when we have man who firing and have confidence on the bench). How to build de man confidence...give him ball, get him more in the game...give him good opportunity to score...like he got with the ball from KJ to put away and throw away. I would even say that based on the game he was havin his confidence woulda been growin anyways...cause he was havin one ah the better games i seen inna while...but now how u feel hje confidence is knowin the kinda tatta he do...on top ah he poor recent form...de man sink outta the game after dat....steupss dem kinda gamble doh make no sense man.

I eh sayin STern miss loss the game...de team as ah whole loss the game with how dem handle the last 10 mins. but i would say that that 3rd goal coulda definitely save we skin despite the kinda mess we play in the dregs...and give we the luxury of regrouping, lookin at the crap we play and makin some fixes WITH our 3 pts. in the bag still...cause that penalty woulda definitely kill off dem Salvas dem.
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

Offline Hyperhot J

« Reply #36 on: February 13, 2009, 10:27:50 AM »
      Andre Baptiste you are not officially MY BEST FRIEND!! I agree 1 million percent with everything you said Mr. Baptiste. I said exactly the same thing in another post!!! You know the TTFF won't listen to me but thank God Mr. Baptiste you had the balls to say it on the express hopefully people will wake up and know that Shits John is NEVER to kick any penalties again. We all know (all persons on this site MUST know unless they are a waggonist) that Shits John was NEVER good in penalties as the wonderful Mexico game of 2005 would remind all you short memoried people off!!

Yorke and Latas were always our penalty specialists so I agree full well Mr. Baptiste!! This is not about Shits John this is about T&T football!! And I totally BLAME Yorke for allowing that lame player to kick the penalty. In 2005 Beenhakker and Stern was to be blamed, but now I am no longer blaming Stern anymore, if Maturana so stupid enough to play him, and Yorke more dotish enough to let him kick a penalty especially AFTER Yorke scored our last 2 penalties (against the US and the one before John missed) then fire bun Yorke and Maturana for their LAPSE in judgement.

I have the greatest respect for Yorke and what he has done, but I am happy that Mr. Baptiste was brave enough to say what WE ALL KNOW, that Stern is NOT supposed to kick anything (remember he missed kick a free kick before in that same game) and Yorke is to be blamed not Stern. Stern will always try to play hero based on the campaign with Beenhakker when he was fooled into thinking he was the best thing out (while the best thing out - aka Kenwyne was always put in the back burner). Well no more of that Shit. Yorke never let this happen.

If we do not qualify and miss out by 1 or 2 points I will be blaming Yorke's mis judgement and once again John will walk away scot free....

All the best Warriors against Honduras, let this shit never happen again please!!

J.
"The abuse of greatness is when it disjoins remorse from power." 

Cassius told Brutus in Julius Caesar by Shakespeare

« Reply #37 on: February 13, 2009, 10:29:40 AM »
This is rank nonsense.

What..someone looked into a crystal ball and knows for a fact Yorke would have scored that penalty just because he scored one earlier? steeups. Yorke has missed more than his share of penalties for T&T (Gold Cup against Mexico, friendly against US in the Hasely crawford come to mind) and he could very well have missed the penalty that Stern did. It's part of the game. Writing as if the penalty was sure to go in cuz Yorke was taking it is crap.

This friend thing is also bs. Is not like Yorke call a breds from in the stands to take the kick. Is Stern we torking about. A professional footballer and is very capable of taking a penalty for T&T.

The team was winning 2-0 when Stern miss. Playing like shit and collecking 2 goals in the last 9 minutes is why we didn't get the 3 points. The penalty miss shoulda just be a side note if this team was anywhere near decent on the night. Making Stern the scapegoat for this is nuts. And it especially sad since he was one of the better players on the night.

:applause: well said

« Reply #38 on: February 13, 2009, 10:30:29 AM »
To be honest I thought Stern was our designated penalty taker before Yorke sloteed in the first one.
Didn;t he kick the penalty against Mexico int he stadium a few yrs ago?

Did he not miss that penalty????

« Reply #39 on: February 13, 2009, 10:40:40 AM »
Yeah I tink so, but he was the designated kicker. So it shouldn't be a scandal tht he took it.
I was actually nervous when Dwight lined up for the first one lol. I thought he was gonna pull the small chip up the center that he lieks so much

« Reply #40 on: February 13, 2009, 11:11:53 AM »
We cah blame Stern for that lost, even though he had no right taken the penalty. Everyone looking for someone blame and the person who should be held responsible is the person that running the team and that is the coach. They should not be treating de man like that. 

Pacho not instructing the damm team correctly…an we could look try to come up with every excuse possible… if it walks like ah duck , quack like ah duck, then it’s a damm duck. Most of the teams fault is a majority of the coaches.

« Reply #41 on: February 13, 2009, 11:29:48 AM »
This is rank nonsense.

What..someone looked into a crystal ball and knows for a fact Yorke would have scored that penalty just because he scored one earlier? steeups. Yorke has missed more than his share of penalties for T&T (Gold Cup against Mexico, friendly against US in the Hasely crawford come to mind) and he could very well have missed the penalty that Stern did. It's part of the game. Writing as if the penalty was sure to go in cuz Yorke was taking it is crap.

True, Yorke could have also missed the penalty. No way we cud say otherwise. However, for me anyways, since Yorke was the designated pen. taker, if he missed it would have been easier to swallow. If you come and ask to take another man wuk, yuh better do the job. Stern had to come through in that situation.

This friend thing is also bs. Is not like Yorke call a breds from in the stands to take the kick. Is Stern we torking about. A professional footballer and is very capable of taking a penalty for T&T.

Sorry but i doh think it's bs. Not totally anyways. Tell me, of all the other players on the field, you really think Yorke would have even considered stepping aside for somebody else to take the kick if they asked? Maybe is jus me, but i highly doubt it. Yes, I know SJ is by far our leading international goalscorer and all that jazz. But i doh think that was most influential factor in Yorke's decision.

The team was winning 2-0 when Stern miss. Playing like shit and collecking 2 goals in the last 9 minutes is why we didn't get the 3 points. The penalty miss shoulda just be a side note if this team was anywhere near decent on the night. Making Stern the scapegoat for this is nuts. And it especially sad since he was one of the better players on the night.

Absolutely spot on.  :beermug:

« Reply #42 on: February 13, 2009, 11:30:57 AM »
We cah blame Stern for that lost, even though he had no right taken the penalty. Everyone looking for someone blame and the person who should be held responsible is the person that running the team and that is the coach. They should not be treating de man like that. 

Pacho not instructing the damm team correctly…an we could look try to come up with every excuse possible… if it walks like ah duck , quack like ah duck, then it’s a damm duck. Most of the teams fault is a majority of the coaches.

We ppl keep say we lost...ah see 3 ppl say we lost the game. Last time I look 2-2 is ah tie. ;D

« Reply #43 on: February 13, 2009, 11:35:39 AM »
it is not agood idea to have a player take 2 penalties in one game.

Nothing wrong with Stern or another player taking a penalty.

anybody could miss.

« Reply #44 on: February 13, 2009, 11:36:36 AM »
But didn't Stern John miss a penatly against Mexico in 2005 and came back and score two goals in that same game. If wasn't for them 2 goals we would have never even been in the world cup.

Stern eh score in a long time and needed a goal to get back some confidence I dont see nothnig wrong with that. If I was Dwight I might had done the same, but if the coach told Yorke to take the penalty alone then Yorke should have done that.

Give the guy a break fellas, he play for de same side we playing for and its important to have Stern on de team because no other striker on T&T side can put it away like Stern John, Kenwyne Jones still green, he can even control a ball good.

So Yorke will miss the next game, who will take a penalty if we get one ? we should have more options.

« Reply #45 on: February 13, 2009, 11:39:55 AM »
I see and agree with both sides of de argument. Buh de wailing and gnashing of teeth eh go do nuttin now. Just hadda focus on Honduras...and play with the cards we have. Stern confidence must be on a all time low now..i feeling sorry fuh him...and i eh even a stern fan. Yes...dat game hurt. But....it in de past..it cant be changed.....and everybody looking for somebody to blame. But dat eh getting us anywhere.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #46 on: February 13, 2009, 11:44:32 AM »

We ppl keep say we lost...ah see 3 ppl say we lost the game. Last time I look 2-2 is ah tie. ;D

Point yuh have to look at that like ah lost...when yuh know de game.  ;) That should have been ah sure three points fuh we, if Stern did score de penalty, if KJ would have make ah divining header, if de ref had gave Carlos de penalty in de box, If Latas had come on, If Birchy didn’t get sub off etc etc.  
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 11:48:21 AM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #47 on: February 13, 2009, 11:46:22 AM »
Yorke allows friendship to cost Warriors win.
By: Andre Baptiste (T&T Guardian).

Friendship cost T&T big time on Wednesday night when team captain Dwight Yorke defied team instructions and allowed his friend Stern John to take a penalty, which turned out to be the defining moment in the game which ended in a 2-2 draw. With T&T ahead 2-0 and a chance of putting the game beyond the reach of El Salvador, John kicked the ball high overbar.

It was a pathetic kick by the T&T striker and not only sent loud noises of dissatisfaction all over T&T, but also changed the direction of the game. Coach Francisco Maturana has told the team that Yorke must take all penalties. Yorke confessed afterwards that it was all his fault, as John asked him to take the penalty to gain confidence. When he (Dwight) hesitated, John asked him if he doubted that he could score. John convinced the captain that he would easily score.

It was not to be. Yorke blames himself for what happened as El Salvador scored with the last kick of the game to earn a point in the important World Cup qualifier. In the end, the grim faces of Yorke and Russell Latapy told the story. As for John, he cut a pathetic figure both in the hotel and at the airport. It was as if no one wanted to talk to him. Why did Yorke put friendship in front of country will be a question on the minds of everyone throughout this World Cup campaign. It is well known that Yorke, John and Latapy are friends. They have been playing together for so long, that it is expected they will always want to help each other.

But it cost T&T two vital away points. In the future, Yorke, despite his experience must listen to instructions. The road has now become that bit much more rough due to a stupid and costly error. Country must come first. We are all sad now but maybe on March 28, things will be different. Perhaps as well the words of Sepp Blatter, Fifa President to Austin Jack Warner are instructive. “This was inconceivable.”

Absolute shit article by a professional know-nothing.

Ah know yuh reading de site... feel free to quote that and put it in yuh next shit article, yuh rank shithong.

« Reply #48 on: February 13, 2009, 11:47:37 AM »

So Yorke will miss the next game, who will take a penalty if we get one ? we should have more options.

We know one person who's not.  :heehee:

« Reply #49 on: February 13, 2009, 11:49:08 AM »
I said it right after the game anybody have to take fault is Dwight....Anybody could miss a penalty but for Dwight to shy away the responsibility is pathetic!!

If anybody remember, go back to the first half, we get a free kick on the top of the 18, who kick it, Stern...I doh understand that.  Since when Stern is a dead ball specialist.  Yorke and Stern basically tell Keon Daniel move away, when in fact, Keon Daniel is the best dead ball specialist we have.

Dooflair is meh boy, but both of those decisions from the captain were extremely poor and for that he must shoulder that responsibility.

« Reply #50 on: February 13, 2009, 11:51:41 AM »
What an asshole and unprofessional big eyed stupid looking prick

the fearless one? i hope yuh fearless when i buss yuh head next time i see you

« Reply #51 on: February 13, 2009, 11:56:51 AM »
I doh understand how big man could engage in such fokry as some ah deze chain ah thought nah.  How de hell, Stern, York, or any other single palyer can cost you a game is beyond me.  When stern was subbed it was 2-0!!  Wham allyuh on friggin drugs aought.  Is not Lawrence fault even doh he impede Ince ability to even attempt to dive in the direction of the first goal (or the fact that if he go be on the line, he shoulda be there before the FK was taken), but is Stern and York and Maturana fault.  Sometimes I does shame to know such jackass thinkin is part ah my heritage oui.

« Reply #52 on: February 13, 2009, 12:07:50 PM »
Everyone is jumping to Stern's defence - and rightly so.
The man's character is being assassinated, and he is being made the scapegoat - not since the missed penalty - but the resulting draw.

If we had won 2-1, no one would have cared (or remembered) that Stern missed a penalty.
How many people remember the penalty that Stern missed versus Mexico, when he went on to score two goals - one absolutely spectacular laser in the V - in the last campaign?
No-one blamed Stern for that missed penalty, and no-one berated him for that result.
That is why he had a reason to cuss the entired covered section in the stadium that night.

What I am a bit surprised by is that people lack the audacity to blame Yorke for defying the coaches direct orders - if the facts in this article are true. Yorke could never pull that stunt with Alex Ferguson or Beenhakker and get away with it.

People are also afraid to critisize Latapy for the role he played in the draw. Had it been Anton Corneal in Latapy's position, he would have been crucified by now. I've heard that this is Latapy's first game and he only had a short time with the squad. Really? ... so what was Argentina all about?

I'm not against anyone dishing out blame, because someone needs be held accountable for that debacle. But let's not be biased in the criticism that we dole out, because no one deserves a free pass.

« Reply #53 on: February 13, 2009, 12:20:59 PM »
The man's character is being assassinated, and he is being made the scapegoat - not since the missed penalty - but the resulting draw.

If we had won 2-1, no one would have cared (or remembered) that Stern missed a penalty.
How many people remember the penalty that Stern missed versus Mexico, when he went on to score two goals - one absolutely spectacular laser in the V - in the last campaign?
No-one blamed Stern for that missed penalty, and no-one berated him for that result.
That is why he had a reason to cuss the entired covered section in the stadium that night.

What I am a bit surprised by is that people lack the audacity to blame Yorke for defying the coaches direct orders - if the facts in this article are true. Yorke could never pull that stunt with Alex Ferguson or Beenhakker and get away with it.

People are also afraid to critisize Latapy for the role he played in the draw. Had it been Anton Corneal in Latapy's position, he would have been crucified by now. I've heard that this is Latapy's first game and he only had a short time with the squad. Really? ... so what was Argentina all about?

I'm not against anyone dishing out blame, because someone needs be held accountable for that debacle. But let's not be biased in the criticism that we dole out, because no one deserves a free pass.

Dan I could shake yuh hand oui!!  Ah man tell me de odda day "daiz Latapy selections dey, doh geh tie up Latapy runnin da team now"  So here I am waitin to hear him say something about "Latapy" selections an he come with Maturana is ah asshole!  I cah understand dis stupid mentality of assigning blame where it is not rightfully due.  If indeed Yorke defy coaches orders he should get flippin dropped from the squad or be made to ride de bench.  I doh mind he givin Stern a shot at uppinh his confidence, I doh even mind if he gave him as a reward for earning the first penalty.  But that defyin de coach ting is rell bullshit.  Wha kinda example he settin fuh de yutes dat comin up?  Is ok to defy de coach if yuh have on de captain armband.  Beenie woulda probably exclude him from a few matches to send a message.  If Pacho do datt some ah deze jackass might want to personally cuff him dong if deh could.

« Reply #54 on: February 13, 2009, 12:24:29 PM »
Being a scapegoat is part and parcel of the sports culture. I remember TT vs Suriname and "Tom" Phillips tried to flick a hard cross into the goal on a very wet field. He missed. The game tied and we went out. My breddah was the TT goat for a long tie. "tom flicks" was the talk of the town. Yes, Stern miss the penalty. But We "lost" the game because the team lack discipline. The collective defense for the final 20 mins was abysmal. The forwards and mid field allowed ES to gain composure and confidence.By allowing this to happen, that put  extreme pressure on the defence. Pressure buss the pipe.

You all did not notice that the core of the TT team was the EPL guys. The team that went to Argentina was all local guys. The core of the team faulted badly in the final minutes. We still have not resolve the issue on the amount of time you need players to prepare for an important game.

« Reply #55 on: February 13, 2009, 12:32:33 PM »

-Well that fall in my yard there ,so ah go take it . I criticize Latas ,for letting Dwight make decisions based on favoritism ,is is Latas team he should make sure the Captain follow orders ,and use ppl depending on there strengths.And not where they play or how old they are ,no more friend thing .

As for how a miss penalty change the game I said it change of momentum . 

« Reply #56 on: February 13, 2009, 12:35:49 PM »

*thumps desk*

here, here! :beermug:

a quality post in de rubble!

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #57 on: February 13, 2009, 01:02:06 PM »
allyuh like to point finger, i swear allyuh people is hipocrits, first off it is not stern fault or dwight fault if two goals wasn't enough to win then it wasn't meant to be  the defense should have been better in the second , so forget abut the goals miss worry bout the ones the let score.
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #58 on: February 13, 2009, 01:08:05 PM »
The headline is sensational but newspapers are like that the world over.

Bottom line is that it's not exactly wrong.  Padnah ting was de major factor in de decision to override the coaches instructions and allow Stern to take the penalty.

Padnah ting is also what caused Keon Daniel to be shooed away from the free kick early in the game in favour of Stern John who to the best of my knowledge has never scored a free kick for T&T...certainly not WCQ.

Padnah ting is the unpalatable by product of having Latapy and Yorke run this team.  Maturana has been made into a eunuch.  Some might say deservedly so....but it still doh make it right.  Hopefully Mr Dwight Yorke and dem learn a harsh but important lesson and will HEED the lessons that were taught on Wednesday night in the future.

Fantastic post Palos.  Some of allyuh fellas called it way before dis article came out.  De 4kry dey doing choosing free kick takers killing we too.  Somebody else have to get de Captain's Arm Band.  In football, yuh doh go about yuh own way and not follow de coach's instructions.  I mean is Maturana job on de line. 

« Reply #59 on: February 13, 2009, 01:09:03 PM »

Bottomline is that everybody bumping dey facking gum and nobody on here know for sure what went on with the team.  Everything Andre Baptiste saying needs to be taken with a grain of salt because last I checked he didn't suit up Wednesday night, wasn't on the field and wasn't in the locker room.

As for your insinuation that Latapy had a role to play in the draw... care to specify what that particular role is?  Or are you just saying that being rhat he's part of the coaching staff he automatically should be pilloried as well?