April 26, 2024, 01:47:23 AM

Author Topic: Yorke allows friendship to cost Warriors win.  (Read 18774 times)

Re: Yorke allows friendship to cost Warriors win.
« Reply #60 on: February 13, 2009, 01:13:42 PM »
Everyone is jumping to Stern's defence - and rightly so.
The man's character is being assassinated, and he is being made the scapegoat - not since the missed penalty - but the resulting draw.

If we had won 2-1, no one would have cared (or remembered) that Stern missed a penalty.
How many people remember the penalty that Stern missed versus Mexico, when he went on to score two goals - one absolutely spectacular laser in the V - in the last campaign?
No-one blamed Stern for that missed penalty, and no-one berated him for that result.
That is why he had a reason to cuss the entired covered section in the stadium that night.

What I am a bit surprised by is that people lack the audacity to blame Yorke for defying the coaches direct orders - if the facts in this article are true. Yorke could never pull that stunt with Alex Ferguson or Beenhakker and get away with it.

People are also afraid to critisize Latapy for the role he played in the draw. Had it been Anton Corneal in Latapy's position, he would have been crucified by now. I've heard that this is Latapy's first game and he only had a short time with the squad. Really? ... so what was Argentina all about?

I'm not against anyone dishing out blame, because someone needs be held accountable for that debacle. But let's not be biased in the criticism that we dole out, because no one deserves a free pass.

*thumps desk*

here, here! :beermug:

a quality post in de rubble!
How that is a quality post ...the man lying ...no offense acb ...or atleast picking and choosing posts and posters.
lie ,not everybody in his defense .

If we had won 2-1, no one would have cared (or remembered) that Stern missed a penalty.
How many people remember the penalty that Stern missed versus Mexico, when he went on to score two goals - one absolutely spectacular laser in the V - in the last campaign?
lie ,plenty ppl remember and bring it up .

What I am a bit surprised by is that people lack the audacity to blame Yorke for defying the coaches direct orders - if the facts in this article are true. Yorke could never pull that stunt with Alex Ferguson or Beenhakker and get away with it.
A lot of ppl lacked the audacity ,and half the board blaming yorke.

People are also afraid to critisize Latapy for the role he played in the draw. Had it been Anton Corneal in Latapy's position, he would have been crucified by now. I've heard that this is Latapy's first game and he only had a short time with the squad. Really? ... so what was Argentina all about?
Lie I criticize latapy ,and we saying is ah ole boys club.

I'm not against anyone dishing out blame, because someone needs be held accountable for that debacle. But let's not be biased in the criticism that we dole out, because no one deserves a free pass.

Lie everybody getting ah share besides Carlos .

« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 01:15:47 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #61 on: February 13, 2009, 01:19:09 PM »

Absolute shit article by a professional know-nothing.

In a nutshell.

Offline dombasil

« Reply #62 on: February 13, 2009, 01:32:58 PM »
First off Stern had good game. One man did not lose the game for us.
In terms of the penalty as some else has said it is about momentum. If the penalty had scored. The spanish and dem would have folded their tent and gone home instead the crowd got life, and the spanish thought that they had gotten out of jail and the momentum shifted.

As to Stern and the penalty. Every one misses penalties.
My issue with the episode was that this is the Stern John who asked for the armband from the designated Captain in the Oval.

This is the Stern John and his pardners who run Keon Daniel who has scored freekicks for T & T ( while Stern is by no means a free kick specialist)
This is the same Stern John who goes up to his partner and asks him to take the penalty even though he knows that Yorke has been told by the coach to take all penalty kicks.
Anyone see a pattern of behaviour here?

« Reply #63 on: February 13, 2009, 01:39:33 PM »
I really can't say that it was Stern's fault we lost but I do know from experience, when you're 3 goals down in a game, it's a daunting task to get back into the game, especially if you concede the 3rd one within the first 5 mins of the 2nd half. Could they have come back? Who knows but the crowd would've been out of it , the coached might have pulled his top players out to save them from cards so they're available for the next game, ES players might have given up, and the list goes on and on.
But the main thing I'm hurt about is why de hell Stern balsted that ball over the bar from a penalty! I mean put the ball on target and at least make the keeper save, had it rebounded it's all for Jesus and we might have still have a chance to score. I mean we saw Baggio and many other top players try to go for upper corner and end result, over bar most times....why do we always try to look pretty and aim for the V's or jep nest? This is a WC qualifier, play it safe like Dwight did and you have a better chance of scoring. I've seen men collect bottle in fete match for trying to look pretty kicking pk's and missing...and my point is these players know better!!!
If Maturana told Dwight he is the one responsible for all penalties and Stern still ask him to kick, shows indiscipline on the team and no respect for the coaches orders. I'm sure if Leo told Dwight the same, no player, Carlos, KJ, Stern or even Birchall would have gone to Dwight and asked. However several other factors led to us losing as well and I'm still heart broken....I won't lie, I love the warriors but they always put me through pain and grief. Guess that's part of the passion for the game I guess...it might help me in building character. Anyways on to fight Honduras, de journey now start!!!

« Reply #64 on: February 13, 2009, 01:54:47 PM »
In terms of the penalty as some else has said it is about momentum. If the penalty had scored. The spanish and dem would have folded their tent and gone home instead the crowd got life, and the spanish thought that they had gotten out of jail and the momentum shifted.

My issue with the episode was that this is the Stern John who asked for the armband from the designated Captain in the Oval.

This is the Stern John and his pardners who run Keon Daniel who has scored freekicks for T & T ( while Stern is by no means a free kick specialist)
This is the same Stern John who goes up to his partner and asks him to take the penalty even though he knows that Yorke has been told by the coach to take all penalty kicks.

Its always Sterns turn ?.
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 02:00:54 PM by Quagmire »

Offline dombasil

« Reply #65 on: February 13, 2009, 02:15:30 PM »

« Reply #66 on: February 13, 2009, 02:29:20 PM »
The man's character is being assassinated, and he is being made the scapegoat - not since the missed penalty - but the resulting draw.

No-one blamed Stern for that missed penalty, and no-one berated him for that result.
That is why he had a reason to cuss the entired covered section in the stadium that night.

EXACTLY! and Baptiste is correct in saying that Dwight disobeyed coaches orders. His article was perfectly legit. Im more infuriated at Dwight than Stern

« Reply #67 on: February 13, 2009, 02:32:56 PM »

EXACTLY! and Baptiste is correct in saying that Dwight disobeyed coaches orders. His article was perfectly legit. Im more infuriated at Dwight than Stern

The gist of the article is that it cost us the game....and that's bullsh*t..... What cost us the game runs alot deeper than the missed PK. 

So it's NOT perfectly legit. 

« Reply #68 on: February 13, 2009, 02:36:00 PM »

The gist of the article is that it cost us the game....and that's bullsh*t..... What cost us the game runs alot deeper than the missed PK. 

THANK YOU KICKER
is de WHOLE TTFF SYSTEM that sucks

like ah 4king HOOVER
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #69 on: February 13, 2009, 02:36:46 PM »
I don't see anything wrong with Stern taking the PK. Normally the guy who get foul does take the PK unless they English, then you get another nationality to take it  ;D  Yorke take the first PK that Stern get, so anyone would have guessed if we had gotten a 2nd Pk (which we did) that Stern would have taken it (which he did).

We need to get off this shyte and focus on the problem, We allowed 2 goals with 10 minutes to go in the game from 2 set play. What the hell does Stern missing have to do with anything really. What so now we have to spend a whole practice working on PKs? We have way more urgent problem than who taking a PK. Get over it.

I vote that the very next PK we get Stern must take it.

« Reply #70 on: February 13, 2009, 02:38:23 PM »
I vote that the very next PK we get Stern must take it.
oh goooooood, you real brave ;D

many players have missed PK's
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline WARRIORKING

• Deep into weaponry
« Reply #71 on: February 13, 2009, 03:16:16 PM »
basically what u guys are saying the two goals allowed is ok we should of just made the penalty and the two goals would of been fine remember the penalty took place before the two goals were scored so we were still in the driven seat but like always we faulter on defense at the end of games. so yea stern miss but so what we would have the second goal is=f he didn't make the dive to get the penalty cause he didn't get foul he just made a veteran play and made the best of it
My lyrical tendency`s equivalent to a critical felony
Precise behind bars like a criminal`s penalty
Pinnacle definitely, hold so much jewels in my miracle memory
It`s like I`m a physical treasury
I was born with a difficult destiny, not your typical mentally
Givin my vision through treacheries

« Reply #72 on: February 13, 2009, 03:21:54 PM »
Thank God some ppl on this site have sense. And don't get swayed by ppl who write nonsense.

Where did Dwight SAY he gave it to Stern becz they are friends??

Perhaps Dwight was wrong but to have a headline like that is insulting to both players, misleads the public and is shabby journalism.

Peace,

The headline is sensational but newspapers are like that the world over.

Bottom line is that it's not exactly wrong.  Padnah ting was de major factor in de decision to override the coaches instructions and allow Stern to take the penalty.

Padnah ting is also what caused Keon Daniel to be shooed away from the free kick early in the game in favour of Stern John who to the best of my knowledge has never scored a free kick for T&T...certainly not WCQ.

Padnah ting is the unpalatable by product of having Latapy and Yorke run this team.  Maturana has been made into a eunuch.  Some might say deservedly so....but it still doh make it right.  Hopefully Mr Dwight Yorke and dem learn a harsh but important lesson and will HEED the lessons that were taught on Wednesday night in the future.

Sensational headlines is one thing. That's why they are called headlines.
However, clueless headlines or classless ones are something completely different. Reputable publications know the difference. Unless of course you lack pride in what you do.

Padnah thing? Where did we get this information frome? Mr. Baptiste.?

When one defers to the number on striker in the history of our country is becz of padnah thing??
Perhaps so, but I would like some evidence. Is not like Dwight ask some inexperienced person.

We need to know that someone besides DY can step and take penalties, fks and corners. we should have more than one specialist. In the past DY took on too much responsibility and usually accomplished very little.

In the end, this penalty debacle is nothing new for TT - sadly. Nakhid and DY missed penalties in the 2000 GC. Nak's miss would have probably put us in the final of the GC.

John missed a penalty vs Mex in 2005. And let me tell you when I saw DY go take the penalty, I was frigging nervous. OUr country simply does not have a good rep with penalties in competitive ftbl.

Peace,
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 04:25:55 PM by vb »

« Reply #73 on: February 13, 2009, 03:50:44 PM »

The missed penalty shifted the momentum and this ultimately cost us the game. End of story! If the penalty had scored IT WAS HIGHLY PROBABLE we would have gone home with 3 points.

HOWEVER we will NEVER know if anybody else would have scored that penalty. It miss!

What I vex with is that the 2-0 lead was by NO MEANS SAFE... We was not playing we best and looking shaky in de back. Several key players was already on yellow cards and we done use a sub for injury! So when you have a GOLDEN opportunity to seal up a game you don't take chances at all at all....
Give yuh specialist de ball... talk done.... is de same reason I vex they keep running away Skilla...

We ent just loss two points we lorse ah golden opportunity to hit El Salvador ah good thumping at home... demoralizing them for de rest of de Hex. Inject some fear into Honduras coming from ah beating from Costa Rica and make USA and Mexico think twice about we and maybe take we serious. We lorse an opportunity to take ah serious psychological advantage with we going forward and MOST times in this region that does be the edge!

Anyhow we is trinis.. we just like a fridge we does get hot from behind!  ;D

« Reply #74 on: February 13, 2009, 04:04:11 PM »

Give Thanks!! yuh save meh having to write along the same lines....but dais just how I see it to, granted we really eh know if he ask for de penalty but de waving off of a man who prove heself ah time or two with goals from free kick, well me eh know nah....no wait, he wanted to take it to score and get he confidence back, steups!

« Reply #75 on: February 13, 2009, 04:04:51 PM »

The missed penalty shifted the momentum and this ultimately cost us the game. End of story! If the penalty had scored IT WAS HIGHLY PROBABLE we would have gone home with 3 points.

HOWEVER we will NEVER know if anybody else would have scored that penalty. It miss!

What I vex with is that the 2-0 lead was by NO MEANS SAFE... We was not playing we best and looking shaky in de back. Several key players was already on yellow cards and we done use a sub for injury! So when you have a GOLDEN opportunity to seal up a game you don't take chances at all at all....
Give yuh specialist de ball... talk done.... is de same reason I vex they keep running away Skilla...

We ent just loss two points we lorse ah golden opportunity to hit El Salvador ah good thumping at home... demoralizing them for de rest of de Hex. Inject some fear into Honduras coming from ah beating from Costa Rica and make USA and Mexico think twice about we and maybe take we serious. We lorse an opportunity to take ah serious psychological advantage with we going forward and MOST times in this region that does be the edge!

Anyhow we is trinis.. we just like a fridge we does get hot from behind!  ;D
So what if de momentum change? We could only play when de opposition lie down for we? De momentum change, OK. How we deal with it?

« Reply #76 on: February 13, 2009, 04:17:42 PM »
So what if de momentum change? We could only play when de opposition lie down for we? De momentum change, OK. How we deal with it?

We was unable to deal with it!

Well from about the 75th min onward when ES start to turn de screw and throw men forward... This was due to a combination of being hamstrung by de early sub and subsequent tactical adjustments, lack of leadership and poor execution on de field... but thais another story which ah could elaborate further on but is Friday evening!  ;D

All I saying is you in foreign territory, you have a shaky lead, shaky situation with cards and injuries and you have ah opportunity to say good night El Salvador, sleep tight and we moving like we in a fete! Hold ah wine on de thick ting nah... all of we could like weself

DON'T PLAY DE ARSE!!!

but hey thais de trini way... we could always ketch up in de end.... a day late and ah dollar short, but we go find a way to scrape in right?

Take ah wine by de time!
« Last Edit: February 13, 2009, 04:19:21 PM by FF »

Offline fatimarima

« Reply #77 on: February 13, 2009, 04:21:14 PM »
Andre Baptiste is ah kinda corbeaux so take this article back to the la Bas

« Reply #78 on: February 13, 2009, 04:29:01 PM »
Good that Yorke owning up to his error of disobeying the coach.  Still Stern should get more buff cuz this the 2nd time he disobey Mats, just like he take the cap/t ban from Theobald.  The bad side of Stern rearing his head lately... Plus let Keon Daniel take the free kicks, NOT STERN or Edwards....But we still have to practise defending freekicks overall.

« Reply #79 on: February 13, 2009, 04:35:05 PM »
Its always Sterns turn ?.

Stern Turn .... hoss, I almost start hyperventilating here.

« Reply #80 on: February 13, 2009, 05:31:06 PM »
i know people emotional and ting....but lawd breathe and think rationally.....yuh cah blame one person for the loss.....this article is bullshit and its only purpose was to stir up ting, which it obviously did...

also if you get a penalty...you 2-0 up....your star forward(not only star forward-but legend goal scorer for yuh country) tell you he confident he could score the penalty.....i cah fault dwight for giving him the penalty..

also, i actually get more nervous seeing dwight take a penalty than any other player....i always get scared of de chip own the middle.... ;D

« Reply #81 on: February 13, 2009, 05:36:53 PM »
So if Yorke not on the field e.g. the next game, who is the next designated penalty kicker?

NOT STERN JOHN!

Co sign

« Reply #82 on: February 13, 2009, 05:40:10 PM »
Palos...Maturana was always a eunuh from day one. For Jack and the Corneals..before allegedly Latas and Yorke now. They didn't make him into anythign...he was so from day one. No balls and letting whoever else call the shots while he collect a pay check.

Co sign

« Reply #83 on: February 13, 2009, 05:41:31 PM »
I see and agree with both sides of de argument. Buh de wailing and gnashing of teeth eh go do nuttin now. Just hadda focus on Honduras...and play with the cards we have. Stern confidence must be on a all time low now..i feeling sorry fuh him...and i eh even a stern fan. Yes...dat game hurt. But....it in de past..it cant be changed.....and everybody looking for somebody to blame. But dat eh getting us anywhere.

Co sign

« Reply #84 on: February 13, 2009, 05:43:24 PM »
What an asshole and unprofessional big eyed stupid looking prick

the fearless one? i hope yuh fearless when i buss yuh head next time i see you

Cyah co sign dat dey SM. He does talk nuff nonesense but he serves his purpose at times.

« Reply #85 on: February 13, 2009, 06:13:30 PM »
Aye Weary .... your keyboard run out ah ink yet?

you jess co-sign everybody and dey neh neh

« Reply #86 on: February 13, 2009, 06:15:31 PM »
Aye Weary .... your keyboard run out ah ink yet?

you jess co-sign everybody and dey neh neh

U know I does b brief so I more brief now.

« Reply #87 on: February 13, 2009, 06:27:22 PM »

Andre Baptiste yuh is ah dyam blasted liar that verbal exchange never happened .

you get a special broadcast of the game or wha

how you know that never happen??

Dwight tell meh it never happen ....anything else yuh want tuh know ?

« Reply #88 on: February 13, 2009, 06:51:48 PM »
           Our first watch word is

......Discipline.....

« Reply #89 on: February 13, 2009, 07:06:59 PM »
           Our first watch word  we ignore is

......Discipline.....