0 (0%)
United States
0 (0%)
Ivory Coast
0 (0%)
South Africa
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 10

Author Topic: Favourites for SA 2010  (Read 1986 times)

Favourites for SA 2010
« on: February 14, 2009, 03:19:30 PM »
They're running this on Yahoo! at the moment.

http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/blog/sow_experts/post/The-Road-to-South-Africa-Ranking-the-favorites;_ylt=AsFT5EL4W8L_EyoBC6N2Bgomw7YF?urn=sow,141410

The first edition of our World Cup rankings looks at which teams are shaping up as the strongest favorites if the tournament was about to begin.

We have looked beyond the form and strength of the relative teams and included factors such as acclimatization to the hot South African temperatures and home advantage. Hence, the surprise inclusion of some African teams, including the hosts, in our top 16.

1. Spain: Euro champ is a class above the pack.

2. Brazil: Needs to peak at the right time.

3. Argentina: Potential for greatness despite inconsistency.

4. Holland: Star-studded lineup keen for major success.

5. Germany: Always comes up big at major events.

6. Italy: Finally getting it together after poor Euros.

7. Portugal: Talented team should survive qualifying.

8. England: Bouncing back from missing the Euros.

9. France: Troubled squad needs to get its act together.

10. Paraguay: Dominating South America and could go far.

11. Cameroon: Classiest team in Africa could provide shocks.

12. Croatia: Wants to make up for Euros heartbreak.

13. Greece: Temperatures could suit this developing side.

14. United States: Will cruise through CONCACAF but needs to step up.

15. Ivory Coast: Will like its chances of making the knockout phase.

16. South Africa: Will have home support and an easy draw.

Re: Favourites for SA 2010
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2009, 03:30:34 PM »
This tournament not being on European soil will be a more open one, less dominated by european teams.

While it's too early to pick a winner i figure a semi final foursome on current form could be:

Brazil
Argentina
Spain
Afrian Team (Egypt,Cameroon,Ivory Coast, Ghana)

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2009, 03:32:16 PM »
Spain
Brazil
Argentina
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2009, 04:04:40 PM »
Spain
Brazil
Argentina
Allyuh better doh sleep on England, capello have them firing on all 8, remember rooney have plenty competition for his spot, defoe, walcot, agbonlahor, write phillips, jennas,england look real facking good i tell yuh.

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2009, 04:56:37 PM »
Too soon for me to call it.

I like Spain, Russia, Brazil, England, Gahna

« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2009, 06:02:09 PM »
Spain
Portugal
Argentina

Once Spain stay in the this kind of from right now, they go be ah hard side to beat.

Argentina have the 2nd coming on their side.

Portugal is ah talented side, dey eh go win but they go provide entertainment.

« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2009, 06:05:13 PM »
Leh we c who qualify 1st nahhhhhhhh.

« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2009, 06:07:43 PM »

Thank you.

But on ah side note I going with T&T.

« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2009, 06:10:26 PM »

Thank you.

But on ah side note I going with T&T.
When, 2099 in jamaica? :devil:

« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2009, 06:14:30 PM »

I backing Holland one time...I eh waiting....having said that, for WC 2002 I buss up mih mouth telling a friend I backing Holland for the WC cuz kill me dead dem done qualify wid the bomb squad from Euro 2000.

Aye, aye, mih friend goh make me to know Holland eh qualify...needless to say I was devastated.... ;D

« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2009, 06:17:07 PM »

I backing Holland one time...I eh waiting....having said that, for WC 2002 I buss up mih mouth telling a friend I backing Holland for the WC cuz kill me dead dem done qualify wid the bomb squad from Euro 2000.

Aye, aye, mih friend goh make me to know Holland eh qualify...needless to say I was devastated.... ;D

Exactly y u need 2 c who qualify.

Offline makaveli

« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2009, 06:43:50 PM »
Spain
France (on the condition that Domenach isn't coach)
Brazil 

Offline Oz

« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2009, 07:46:39 PM »
We have looked beyond the form and strength of the relative teams and included factors such as acclimatization to the hot South African temperatures and home advantage. Hence, the surprise inclusion of some African teams, including the hosts, in our top 16.

Average June/July max temps in Johannesburg 16 degrees Celsius.
Average June/July min temps in Johannesburg  4 degrees Celsius.

Points furtehr south such as Cape Town, Port Elizabeth, Durban etc will be even cooler.

Walk wid yuh jacket and plenty layers instead. ;D ;D