October 31, 2024, 06:17:52 PM

Author Topic: Internazionale - Man. United Thread (Feb-24-09).  (Read 30797 times)

Re: Internazionale - Man. United Thread (Feb-24-09).
« Reply #150 on: March 11, 2009, 09:15:23 AM »
Mourinho outshines Sir Alex at Old Trafford

It was one of the individual performances of the round – and it came before a single ball had been kicked. José Mourinho produced a star turn as he addressed the media on the eve of his FC Internazionale Milano side's second-leg showdown with last-16 rivals Manchester United FC.

Famous dash
It was five years ago this very week that Mourinho embarked on his famous dash down the Old Trafford touchline after FC Porto snatched a last-gasp equaliser to send United crashing out of the UEFA Champions League in a 3-2 aggregate defeat. It proved the start of a compelling rivalry between Sir Alex Ferguson and the cocky Portuguese coach 21 years his junior but seemingly as good as anybody at outwitting the United manager.

Impressive record
In his three years in charge at Chelsea FC, Mourinho suffered only one defeat in ten meetings with United, outscoring Sir Alex 2-1 in Premier League titles in that period and also overseeing a 1-0 FA Cup final win over the Mancunians in May 2007. Little wonder Mourinho sounded so happy to be back at Old Trafford yesterday. "It looks like home because for four years I came here a lot of times – for the Premier League, the League Cup and FA Cup. It has become a part of my life. I even know the groundsman," he joked.

'Never the same'
The Inter coach looked back to that "crucial moment" that proved a launch pad for Porto's 2004 UEFA Champions League triumph – and the subsequent exodus of star names like Deco, Ricardo Carvalho and, of course, Mourinho himself. "I can say that Costinha's goal was probably the goal that opened for me doors in England," he said. "It was a goal that gave us a chance to win the Champions League and our careers were never the same again." Not surprisingly, Sir Alex had a less warm recollection. United "were the better team" that night, he insisted, and it was a "time of rebuilding" for his team anyway. "Football is a strange game," he added, "and tomorrow it may be even stranger."

'A detail, a mistake'
Could Mourinho – beaten just once in five trips to United – really get the better of Sir Alex again? The Portuguese believes "a goal, a detail, a mistake" will decide a tie that remains delicately balanced after a goalless first leg. And like five years ago, another 1-1 draw would send Inter through. Looking beyond tonight, Mourinho may want United's scalp but he talked down suggestions that he might one day succeed Sir Alex as their manager. "He's top, he's strong, he's happy, he loves it, he wins. Let him stay 20 years more." Entertaining stuff but it remains to be seen whether Mourinho is still smiling at the final whistle.

« Reply #151 on: March 11, 2009, 09:33:11 AM »

study de cutass lyon puttin on barca today. ;D

I should bark yuh ah slap for speaking such blasphemy.

daiz she pimp.

« Reply #152 on: March 11, 2009, 09:39:16 AM »
^^^Rihanna and Chris Brown

« Reply #153 on: March 11, 2009, 09:42:35 AM »
Come on INTER...do MANURE ah favour and put ah solid cutass on dem...... :devil:

Let dem sit down tomorrow and tink what might have been.........

Yuh know like how d England team feeling after WI rub it in dey face.... ;D

COME ON INTER

« Reply #154 on: March 11, 2009, 09:48:37 AM »
FORZA INTER!!

« Reply #155 on: March 11, 2009, 10:41:49 AM »
Preview: Manchester United vs. Inter MilanAssociated Press
MANCHESTER, England (AP) - After withstanding Manchester United's dominating performance two weeks ago, Inter Milan has a chance Wednesday to oust the Champions League holders and reach the quarterfinals.

Inter manager Jose Mourinho has history on his side going into Wednesday's second leg at Old Trafford: He has lost just one of 13 confrontations with United's Alex Ferguson.

The most memorable of Mourinho's victories came on his first visit to Old Trafford five years ago, when he guided eventual champion FC Porto to the final eight and sprinted down the touchline in celebration.

Mourinho joined Inter last summer after a stint at Chelsea, where he twice beat Ferguson's side to the Premier League title.

The Red Devils outplayed the Italian league leaders at the San Siro, but had to settle for a 0-0 draw and no valuable away goal.

That puts extra pressure on United's formidable defense to stop Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Adriano from scoring. Despite concerns over Rio Ferdinand's fitness, center back Nemanja Vidic will return after missing the first leg through suspension.

"He's a great player, he's done very well so far this year," Ibrahimovic said. "I'm looking forward to taking on Vidic. It's no problem for me to play against the best because that's part of the challenge. Players look forward to big occasions. You have to enjoy them.

"We have to win or draw to go through, but I don't think that any team really plays for a draw. We'll have to see how it turns out."

United defender Patrice Evra is confident about keeping Inter's strike force at bay.

"We really feel that people cannot score against us, be it home or away," the Frenchman said. "It makes us feel incredibly confident. We know we can win by scoring a single goal because we are able to hold on to a result."

Evra lost out to Mourinho's Porto side in the 2004 final during his Monaco days.

"Mourinho is the kind of coach that everyone wants to beat," Evra said. "I lost a Champions League final against him with Monaco, but I turned that around with United when I won my first league title here. That was a beautiful victory.

"I don't talk about revenge, but I really want to beat him again."

« Reply #156 on: March 11, 2009, 10:55:23 AM »
:devil: :devil: :devil: MANCHESTER UTD  :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #157 on: March 11, 2009, 11:00:37 AM »
2 1/2 hours to go Gentlemen

« Reply #158 on: March 11, 2009, 11:07:31 AM »
hold steady lad. ;D

« Reply #159 on: March 11, 2009, 11:19:07 AM »

yuh anxious for that cutarse!!

« Reply #160 on: March 11, 2009, 11:21:51 AM »

yuh anxious for that cutarse!!
yuh talkin bout de one he might get from BM fuh not washin de car.

« Reply #161 on: March 11, 2009, 12:38:04 PM »
1 goal, 1 goal, 1 goal, 1 goal.

Not give up a goal, not give up a goal, not give up a goal.

4-4-2 to a 5-4-1

:frustrated: :frustrated:

« Reply #162 on: March 11, 2009, 12:52:56 PM »
Man Utd:

VDS

O'Shea
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Scholes
Carrick
Giggs

Ronaldo
Berbatov
Rooney

Bench:
Foster..Evans...Fletcher..Anderson..Park..Gibson..Tevez
[/color]

Inter Milan:

Cesar

Maicon
Cordoba
Samuel
Santon

Zanetti
Cambiasso
Stankovic
Vieira

Balotelli
Ibrahimovic

Bench:
Toldo..Maxwell..Figo..Adriano..Cruz..Muntari..Rivas
« Last Edit: March 11, 2009, 12:56:42 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #163 on: March 11, 2009, 01:19:37 PM »
 :wavetowel: :wavetowel: LETS GO

« Reply #164 on: March 11, 2009, 01:39:55 PM »
swan dive boy startin, so I go watch Arsenal vs Roma :devil:

buss dem ManU
« Last Edit: March 11, 2009, 01:44:20 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #165 on: March 11, 2009, 01:45:08 PM »
Wood go pass.............. :devil: :devil:

« Reply #166 on: March 11, 2009, 01:45:27 PM »
De shit syde in red should win today.  Inter have too many injury problems in defense. Enjoy it now because allyuh eh gettin' past de nex roungz!!  :flamethrower:

« Reply #167 on: March 11, 2009, 01:50:31 PM »
lignum vitae in day wire :applause: :applause:
Vidic 4'
« Last Edit: March 11, 2009, 02:12:17 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #168 on: March 11, 2009, 02:01:07 PM »
any links for the game

« Reply #170 on: March 11, 2009, 02:07:17 PM »
we score aready.

« Reply #171 on: March 11, 2009, 02:08:08 PM »
any viewin later on tv

« Reply #172 on: March 11, 2009, 02:11:52 PM »
we score aready.

Missed that goal.

What a good day. Lots of football games to follow and my wife is out with her boyfriend for the day.
Now if ManU , Arsenal, CR and T&T win then it will be a perfect day.  :praying:

« Reply #173 on: March 11, 2009, 02:13:16 PM »
arsenal dong 1 nil

« Reply #175 on: March 11, 2009, 02:17:12 PM »
ah ask ah question nobody answer meh.is de manchester game comin on tv later?

« Reply #176 on: March 11, 2009, 02:21:15 PM »
I could geh ya an answer but you ent go like it

« Reply #177 on: March 11, 2009, 02:24:05 PM »
I could geh ya an answer but you ent go like it
once manchester winnin say wuh yuh want  :D

« Reply #178 on: March 11, 2009, 02:26:40 PM »
Good Lord ...... Inter getting closer and closer.

« Reply #179 on: March 11, 2009, 02:27:03 PM »
Inter Milan missing ah whole bagga sh**  :rotfl: