April 25, 2024, 04:40:17 PM

Should we use this to our home advantage.

No
20 (48.8%)
Yes
14 (34.1%)
Doesn't Matter
7 (17.1%)
Don't Care
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 41

Author Topic: Should we play our home game in 12 o'clock hot sun ?  (Read 4407 times)

Should we play our home game in 12 o'clock hot sun ?
« on: February 20, 2009, 11:29:09 AM »

I figure it will help us against teams such as USA.

Mexico use altitude

USA use the cold

El Salvador and Honduras use violence.

Costa Rica use astro turf and they stadium like a bowl where the fans are very close to the teams.

I feel we should have something going for us seeing that our fans are not vocal and we don't pocess what the others do.

If we play in de burning sun on a Saturday or Sunday when there is no school might bring out de crowds too.

Re: Should we play our home game in 12 o'clock hot sun ?
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2009, 11:38:11 AM »
I thought about that some time ago, but I wonder if our own oversees based players would have trouble readjusting???

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2009, 11:38:22 AM »
it doh matter. As ah matter of fact it might work to our disadvantage since we eh all dat in terms of fitness, and plenty man playing in foreign. Even de local-based eh go be accustom playing at dat time. De USA have de luxury of being able to train for all kinda weather variations.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 11:40:33 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2009, 11:39:25 AM »
We go get bun before dem.

« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2009, 11:41:23 AM »
I feel we should have something going for us seeing that our fans are not vocal and we don't pocess what the others do.

The fans were pretty vocal for the last 2 games in the Semis against US and Cuba.....we just need to do it more often and from start to end....

« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2009, 11:43:56 AM »
You guys are real funny....

It might work if we train for that, but for us to re adjust to hot sun is still easier to if USA had to get adjusted to the heat.

And the sun does not affect dark colored people like it would against light colored.

This is very possible. We should play a few friendly games against qualifty teams in very hot climate and see what happens.

Remember, our under 20 team will be playing soon at 1pm when the sun is very hot. The under 20 schedule is all book for early games.

I know people live in America for 20 years and cant get adjusted to the cold. But the Americans could walk outside with t shirts.

Same thing with us, we were naturally born in hot claimate...

The Americans will not be able to open their eye with that sun beaming in the middle of they head.....
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 11:54:34 AM by Sando »

« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2009, 11:45:29 AM »
Which team in the CONCACAF besides Canada would have trouble with a hot-weather start?

The sun hot same way everywhere, and if they have to the US could train in any number of territories. Puerto Rico?

Plus, our foreign-based coming from playing a season in europe, the sun will be blazing for them too.

« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2009, 11:49:53 AM »
Which team in the CONCACAF besides Canada would have trouble with a hot-weather start?

The sun hot same way everywhere, and if they have to the US could train in any number of territories. Puerto Rico?

Plus, our foreign-based coming from playing a season in europe, the sun will be blazing for them too.

Doesn't matter, one game is still alot and its against USA, the best team in the group.. or suppose to be... but the point is, we have to use anything to our advantage as one point could determin our faith. It will only get harder for all teams, and we have to win ALL our home games as we could end up in South America and you know what could happen there, if you feel El Salvador fans was bad wait tell we go Colombia.

Offline Tha G.

• Anytime is trini time, cyah wait to buss ah lime
« Reply #8 on: February 20, 2009, 12:20:45 PM »
Allyuh ever been in US in the middle of summer, believe me, is does get hotter in the us than it does in T&T, its alot for them to play in hot sun, that it would be for we to play in cold. So to me, that 12noon thing go be a non factor... we just need to be fit strong and determined to win games.... that hot sun thing is not an advantage

Offline richpy

• *Marta is ah boss*
« Reply #9 on: February 20, 2009, 12:28:52 PM »
Allyuh ever been in US in the middle of summer, believe me, is does get hotter in the us than it does in T&T, its alot for them to play in hot sun, that it would be for we to play in cold. So to me, that 12noon thing go be a non factor... we just need to be fit strong and determined to win games.... that hot sun thing is not an advantage

Exactly! No advantage for us against the US by trying to use hot conditions. Try a bumpy ground, that might work better... ;D
Ketch footballitis

Offline noize

« Reply #10 on: February 20, 2009, 12:30:42 PM »
Didn't we play the last game at night...and we was "Bun" in the last 20 mins so imagine us in the Hot Sun ???

« Reply #11 on: February 20, 2009, 12:35:32 PM »
Trinis doh even self like tuh play under those conditions....

Offline isaachunt

« Reply #12 on: February 20, 2009, 01:01:32 PM »
I say no....we does always get sun in we eyes and goal score

« Reply #13 on: February 20, 2009, 01:14:35 PM »
That might affect our players coz most ah dem play in cold,cold England.

« Reply #14 on: February 20, 2009, 02:03:33 PM »
Is not like we playing against some Scandinavian Teams.  The US team can choose to train in Colorado or Arizona...altitude or heat and I guarantee you if dey lost a game, the excuse would not be fatigue.  Their player contracts are very strict in regards to body fat and fitness.  Is we dat go bun first vs dem.  The other countries real hot too so it not dat like dey cyah train at mid-day and come prepared for we.

« Reply #15 on: February 20, 2009, 02:23:39 PM »
Sam lookin to kill Birchall

Plus the stadium go be empty...except for ah handful ah ladies wit dey parasol

« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2009, 02:24:33 PM »
"Should we play our home game in 12 o'clock hot sun ?"

Yuh mad?  That like playing in ah hot furnace.  

« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2009, 02:33:51 PM »

I figure it will help us against teams such as USA.

Mexico use altitude

USA use the cold

El Salvador and Honduras use violence.

Costa Rica use astro turf and they stadium like a bowl where the fans are very close to the teams.

If we play in de burning sun on a Saturday or Sunday when there is no school might bring out de crowds too.
SURE
have a Big Arse Music Truck driving around the HCS Track Blaring music with a drinks cart following
Play like is mid day Carnival Monday ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 04:17:19 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #18 on: February 20, 2009, 03:06:11 PM »
Wasn't this tactic employed in 89 on the road to Italy?
The young US team was supposed to wilt in the heat.

However, you guys correctly mentioned, there are places in the US that are way hotter than TT. The humidity might not be as high, but they could definitely train and acclimatize themselves before they come to TT.

« Reply #19 on: February 20, 2009, 04:32:39 PM »
It should not matter. These guys are pros. They should be prepared for any conditions. If the Euro players for TT come home for about 5 days at least and train in the hot sun it would not be a factor. But if the come 2 and 3 days before the match, crapaud smoke they pipe.

« Reply #20 on: February 20, 2009, 05:08:29 PM »
Any advantage should work.  Thats the only reason USA dont play their games in major metro cities because less Trini's and American fans would be in that stands. 

« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2009, 05:37:46 PM »
this time de keeper go wear shades.

« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2009, 05:48:21 PM »
I know.
1. Night before the game.  11pm.  Let go 10 pound hound on the yankee floor.   Tell dem is guard dogs.
2. Every time the dogs bark pound on they door make sure they ok.  ;D take a break at 1am
3. 1:30.  Fete outside.  Bring down Papa Rocky and Dr. Hyde.  Ole school fete. till 3:00
4. 6.00am Pan in they dey tail till 7am.
5. When they getting a touch on the pitch let go 75 vagrant on the field.  ;D

« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2009, 05:55:01 PM »
man lookin 4 shade oui, even the players go look for shade lol

« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2009, 05:55:24 PM »
I know.
1. Night before the game.  11pm.  Let go 10 pound hound on the yankee floor.   Tell dem is guard dogs.
2. Every time the dogs bark pound on they door make sure they ok.  ;D take a break at 1am
3. 1:30.  Fete outside.  Bring down Papa Rocky and Dr. Hyde.  Ole school fete. till 3:00

organise some sand fly too.

« Reply #25 on: February 20, 2009, 06:11:15 PM »
I know.

organise some sand fly too.

;D  ah swarm. 

« Reply #26 on: February 20, 2009, 08:27:44 PM »
this time de keeper go wear shades.

allyuh leave Brow alone nah, or maybe he could ask Latas for de shades he was wearing when he come out to warm-up on Nov. 19th '89....anyway Tallman sum it up quite nicely and ah believe Noize too.....we team will surely roast way before de US team.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2009, 08:29:58 PM by Fyzoman »

« Reply #27 on: February 20, 2009, 08:38:40 PM »
No

Hell No

Are u Crazy

« Reply #28 on: February 20, 2009, 09:43:02 PM »
it doh matter. As ah matter of fact it might work to our disadvantage since we eh all dat in terms of fitness, and plenty man playing in foreign. Even de local-based eh go be accustom playing at dat time. De USA have de luxury of being able to train for all kinda weather variations.

Remember the 2-0 loss to the USA in the Oval? We play what 1-2pm and we was struggling more than the USA players.

« Reply #29 on: February 20, 2009, 10:49:47 PM »
Ent most times they does set the game times after consulting with the tv rights people.  I don't know if 12 noon is prime time for sports or not, but Jack would certainly want to capitalize on the tv rights.  We start games 6 pm recently and the last game against Cuba was an unprecedented 9pm.  But ah really believe it wont make a difference to the US team.