March 28, 2024, 03:44:07 PM

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T U-20 vs Costa Rica U-20 (09-Mar-09).  (Read 28629 times)

Re: Thread for the T&T U-20 vs Costa Rica U-20 (09-Mar-09).
« Reply #180 on: March 09, 2009, 07:48:57 PM »
It have too many radio stations in T&T NOT to justify AT LEAST ONE a dem providing LIVE coverage of T&T football matches.

Allyuh lookin to fork up TI but he right.  Dat is slackness to de max.  It unacceptable.  But no....people home raddah lissen to Gladiator, Umbala, and Spalk dem chattin a setta tata on de public airwaves.

You preach dey.

Offline makaveli

« Reply #181 on: March 09, 2009, 07:49:36 PM »
This is one shitty generation of Mexican footballers, they eh make U-17 world cup either. I wouldnt want to be them reaching that airport nah.

But their current U-17s is real pressah, we get 7 from them last year. They on point to regain the U-17 crown

true talk..the way things going there right now they should be very afraid

« Reply #182 on: March 09, 2009, 07:52:42 PM »
We REALLY missing Jamal Gay and Stephen Knox

Cosign Cosign Cosign

« Reply #183 on: March 09, 2009, 07:54:12 PM »
Well yes fellas.. I was here maccoing but ah was fraid to post or even listen to de commentary as ah fraid to blight de team...

but it look like that CFU youth tournament plus the super league experience really helping de team...

de future looking bright... now if we could keep this team together

Co sign

« Reply #184 on: March 09, 2009, 07:54:40 PM »
Thanks very much for the updates E-Hombre

« Reply #185 on: March 09, 2009, 07:57:25 PM »
Ok we eh loose that is a plus. We had some good chances that were not converted but since Canada help we out gr8 in d 1st game. D pyramids in sight so lets deal wit dem Mexicans on wed.

« Reply #186 on: March 09, 2009, 08:00:54 PM »
Look like that local league will produce great prospects for the future. i glad tuh see so much youths playing in the PFL,in that way we coulkd develope a lot of good sound players, who knows....maybe our league will be the jewell of the  region.

« Reply #187 on: March 09, 2009, 08:06:11 PM »
Look like that local league will produce great prospects for the future. i glad tuh see so much youths playing in the PFL,in that way we coulkd develope a lot of good sound players, who knows....maybe our league will be the jewell of the  region.

In due time we will rule   ;D

« Reply #188 on: March 09, 2009, 08:22:19 PM »
Well we shouldn't wait to see if Costa Rica beat Canada...we need to take care of business in beating Mexico.....what we supposed to do with Costa Rica but we didn't

« Reply #189 on: March 09, 2009, 08:27:22 PM »
Well we shouldn't wait to see if Costa Rica beat Canada...we need to take care of business in beating Mexico.....what we supposed to do with Costa Rica but we didn't

Well since CR playing Canada first we still have to wait. Plus it would be good to know exactly what we have to do.

« Reply #190 on: March 09, 2009, 08:50:11 PM »
Fair Result

1st Half was CR and we started the second better and they went down to 10 and we Dominated from then on...

We lined up in the same 3-5-2

-----------------Samuel---

-----------Primus---Gonzales--Bateau

--David---------------------------------Adams

--------L.P------Cyrus-----Sean

------------Grovi-----Loughleed

N.Walker was out with a groin strain but will be back vs Mexico...and we missed him badly tonight

That David fella is a real suspect and had the defense in shambles tonight

unfortunately...Gonzales and Primus seem to be out for the next game...both were booked today as well as Sat

So Walker back in...and Cyrus to fall into CB with Bateau

IMO Rochford should play the RB and David should ride pine...Adams will continue at LB

Sean and Adams were my Man of the match....

We werent as good as Saturday but CR were moving the ball around very good in the 1st half and we couldnt live with them...they bun us out chasing shadows...and they were sloppy in the second half and the red card killed their flow

Credit to us for having a very good second half...Q.Grovi pull real stones today and Loughleed had a poor game till the 60th ...after he was quite good

Molino came in and was f**king awesome... madness that he isnt starting

We had some close chances in the 2nd but CR hit the post in the 88th

My team vs Mexico:

----------------Samuel

--------Walker---Cyrus---Bateau

Rochford----------------------------Adams

--------Molino-----Paul------Sean

----------D.Joseph----T.Loughleed

2-0...Molino and D.Joseph

« Reply #191 on: March 09, 2009, 08:52:44 PM »
 :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Cheers Small Mags
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #192 on: March 09, 2009, 09:20:36 PM »
Good result for the young Warriors !!

« Reply #193 on: March 09, 2009, 09:35:33 PM »
It have too many radio stations in T&T NOT to justify AT LEAST ONE a dem providing LIVE coverage of T&T football matches.

Allyuh lookin to fork up TI but he right.  Dat is slackness to de max.  It unacceptable.  But no....people home raddah lissen to Gladiator, Umbala, and Spalk dem chattin a setta tata on de public airwaves.

You preach dey.

C (The Government) is only entity that could be considering broadcast as a national service. Still, broadcaast rights are sold, and you would have to present a compelling argument to preempt any other programming.

As others have said here, some enterprising person could decide to put together an internet broadcast system and fill the market niche. I recall listening to the FA cup final on the internet a few years back that was being broadcast by a dude sitting in his livingroom (and cussing up a storm).

To expect that a for-profit operation would do this as a form of community service is naive. There's a reason no one bought the broadcast rights.

« Reply #194 on: March 09, 2009, 09:38:33 PM »
You preach dey.
C (The Government) is only entity that could be considering broadcast as a national service. Still, broadcaast rights are sold, and you would have to present a compelling argument to preempt any other programming.
As others have said here, some enterprising person could decide to put together an internet broadcast system and fill the market niche. I recall listening to the FA cup final on the internet a few years back that was being broadcast by a dude sitting in his livingroom (and cussing up a storm).
To expect that a for-profit operation would do this as a form of community service is naive. There's a reason no one bought the broadcast rights.
didnt Jah Gol try ah ting one time?
or was it a transmission of a televised match?
get Patriot setup on a wifi with a mic ;D
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

PATRIOTS VIEW - T&T U-20 vs Costa Rica U-20 (09-Mar-09).
« Reply #195 on: March 09, 2009, 09:58:03 PM »
Don't know if the team was overconfident coming into this match but for the first 20 mins it was ALL Costa Rica, as they dominated play and posession, keeping us pegged in our 1/2 throughout. Unlke vs Canada we weren't allowed time on the ball, and SOME players tended to panic when under pressure... this showed itself with yellow cards to Cyrus, Primus and Gonzales, with the latter two earning their second of the tournament, meaning we will play with a completely new central defence vs Mexico... I'm guessing David and Walker, if he recovers will replace them, otherwise Cyrus may drop back into defence as he did in the Under-17 WC. But getting back to the game, after a nice knock in the 21st min we put together a decent attack that resulted in two shots at goal from first Captain Paul, then De Silva... one just over, the other wide.
In the second 1/2 there was a turning point when first CR got reduced to 10 men after a CR player who had been booked earlier received a 2nd yellow after a cynical tackle on the T&T captain who up to that point was the fulcrum for most of our attacks with his mazy, dribbling runs... showing quick feet and plenty determination given his height and frame. Late on, after Molino replaced David, T&T were finally exploiting the space created by CR being a man down. We launched wave after wave ourselves and were unlucky not to go a goal ahead after a snap header by Louheed was brilliantly saved by the CR keeper... but the T&T striker would soon be replaced by Daniel Joseph, who looked lively, but IMHO, he should have taken the place of #19 Grosvenor, who must have touched the ball twice in the whole of the 1st 1/2 and seemed determined to make up for that in the 2nd 1/2 as he held onto the ball TOO long, and usually ended up losing it! T&T were almost made to regret that in the 86th min when a rare CR raid resulted in a a shot rocketing off our crossbar with Samuel a mere spectator, although he DID recover to save the rebound! There were two free-kicks just outside the box, one by Primus which went just over ad another by De Silva that the keeper held. In the end a draw could be considered a fair result, because CR ran rings around us in the 1st 1/2 while we showed determination and grit to hold them at bay, with the reverse being true for much of the 2nd!

Molino impressed me when he came on, his link up play with Leston Paul was good and he added some much needed zest to the T&T attack... but picked up a yellow for simulation. He should chat with De Silva and get some advice on how to gain HEALTHY weight ie MUSCLE tho, as his tiny frame will not cut it at International level.

It's a mystery to me why Grosvenor gets as much playing time as he has so far - 75 in the 1st game and a full 90 tonight... he was out of the game and barely touched the ball in the first 1/2. and held on waay too much in the 2nd.

Cyrus seemed a spent force since the 32nd min after he made an end to end run and put in a defence-saving tackle. Thereafter he was frequently holdng his waist and made little forward runs.

Leston Paul showed glimses of his potential, but he too seemed to run out of steam towards the end of the game...understandably so tho, as he worked hard in both offence AND defence.

Other than a 1st 1/2 fumble, goal-keeper Samuel was relatively solid.

De Silva, like his Captain shined in spurts and worked hard, but had some frequent lapses, losing the bal in midfield, but he made some brilliant cross-field passes and delivered a couple pin-point crosses as well.

Overall, we faced stronger opposition than Canada provided, and panicked in the earlies, eventually when we settled down, we looked GOOD and matched the CR's. I expect this team to beat Mexico and depending on the result of the CR/Canada game, finish 1st or second in our group...the GOOD thing is, we have the advantage of playing AFTER them, so we'll ALREADY KNOW what we need to do. Irregardless of THAT game tho - once we do NOT lose to Mexico, we are through! EGYPT HERE WE COME!!!

« Reply #196 on: March 09, 2009, 10:14:36 PM »
Thanks for the reports SM and Patriot  :beermug:

« Reply #197 on: March 09, 2009, 10:32:30 PM »
Big up Smalls and Patriot...top stuff!  Well done Young Warriors!

« Reply #198 on: March 09, 2009, 10:39:29 PM »
Thanks Patriot

« Reply #199 on: March 09, 2009, 10:59:43 PM »
Much appreciated Smalls and PATRIOT.

« Reply #200 on: March 09, 2009, 11:53:23 PM »
patriot give yall a good report there....My own was a lazy one but basically along the same lines

« Reply #201 on: March 10, 2009, 12:10:23 AM »
We cud real nearly score.
That ball passing right by the post having the crowd holding their head.  The first free kick was just wide.  2nd half another try from in the box dribble past the post.  And we had the header that the keeper flapped onto the crossbar.
These guys well know how to create chances is just to get one in from all the good buildup play.
Samuel could work on his distribution but otherwise he is a very good keeper...very vocal and covers ground well.  19 has to learn to take his opportunities first time...he is probably developed a habit of spinning around to decide what he want to do then finish but that cah happen at the higher level.  Plenty times he cud have pull the trigger for a shot but cut back or push past another man and end up running away from the opportunity.  Hopfully he learn.  Very impressed with Leston Paul....wins a lot of battles for the ball and he is looking like he can move on to another level.  Almost scored in the end with the keeper having to save point blank.

The game before the Mexicans dominated possession so much but I guess they wanted to be so precise with everything they never took any risks or even tried playing a little more direct.  Everything going out wide and by the time they ready to attack the whole Canadian team camping out in the box waiting to clear.  Kinda like how argentina in the past when they get poison on the counter after they fail to penetrate a team that just sitting back clearing anything they try to get into the area.  Them youth was well vex at the end..the captain storm off and refuse to greet the Canadian players.  Of course the crowd was celebrating de Canucks.  Dem mexican youths look like they was lost and mightn be able to eat for days. Is ZERO points and ZERO goals and ZERO qualification compared to the past success of their U-20 teams at the WC much less qualifying.  We will see how resilient they are but we on a mission.

« Reply #202 on: March 10, 2009, 12:12:23 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/XVKnkAsr2Tc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/watch/v/XVKnkAsr2Tc</a>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XVKnkAsr2Tc

oh god where they held this press conference? in the car park?  It real noizy

« Reply #203 on: March 10, 2009, 04:40:06 AM »
We cud real nearly score.
That ball passing right by the post having the crowd holding their head.  The first free kick was just wide.  2nd half another try from in the box dribble past the post.  And we had the header that the keeper flapped onto the crossbar.
These guys well know how to create chances is just to get one in from all the good buildup play.
Samuel could work on his distribution but otherwise he is a very good keeper...very vocal and covers ground well.  19 has to learn to take his opportunities first time...he is probably developed a habit of spinning around to decide what he want to do then finish but that cah happen at the higher level.  Plenty times he cud have pull the trigger for a shot but cut back or push past another man and end up running away from the opportunity.  Hopfully he learn.  Very impressed with Leston Paul....wins a lot of battles for the ball and he is looking like he can move on to another level.  Almost scored in the end with the keeper having to save point blank.

The game before the Mexicans dominated possession so much but I guess they wanted to be so precise with everything they never took any risks or even tried playing a little more direct.  Everything going out wide and by the time they ready to attack the whole Canadian team camping out in the box waiting to clear.  Kinda like how argentina in the past when they get poison on the counter after they fail to penetrate a team that just sitting back clearing anything they try to get into the area.  Them youth was well vex at the end..the captain storm off and refuse to greet the Canadian players.  Of course the crowd was celebrating de Canucks.  Dem mexican youths look like they was lost and mightn be able to eat for days. Is ZERO points and ZERO goals and ZERO qualification compared to the past success of their U-20 teams at the WC much less qualifying.  We will see how resilient they are but we on a mission.
The Mexicans showed themselves to be poor sportsmen. Serves them right being where they are. 

« Reply #204 on: March 10, 2009, 06:01:51 AM »
If Canada beat Costa Rica, they on 6 pts and Costa Rica on 4, if they draw Canada on 4 and Costa Rica on 5 and if Costa Rica win, we in for sure. But basically, we have to not lose against mexico and we safe. On the back of two clean sheets, some organised midfielders and defenders and the big save I see the keeper pull of, I have full confidence of getting a result against mexico, man.

Lincoln under -15 squad reaping the dividends

« Reply #205 on: March 10, 2009, 08:30:12 AM »
If Canada beat Costa Rica, they on 6 pts and Costa Rica on 4, if they draw Canada on 4 and Costa Rica on 5 and if Costa Rica win, we in for sure. But basically, we have to not lose against mexico and we safe.

Just one correction spidey, if canada and costa rica tie, we in cause we beat canada!! Head to head over goal difference!

The only result that could mess us up is if we lose to mexico more than how much costa rica lose to canada.

So basically we inside.

ps: if we cant avoid defeat to an already eliminated mexico, then we dont deserve to go to the world cup!!

« Reply #206 on: March 10, 2009, 10:46:41 AM »
If Canada beat Costa Rica, they on 6 pts and Costa Rica on 4, if they draw Canada on 4 and Costa Rica on 5 and if Costa Rica win, we in for sure. But basically, we have to not lose against mexico and we safe.

Just one correction spidey, if canada and costa rica tie, we in cause we beat canada!! Head to head over goal difference!

The only result that could mess us up is if we lose to mexico more than how much costa rica lose to canada.

So basically we inside.

ps: if we cant avoid defeat to an already eliminated mexico, then we dont deserve to go to the world cup!!

Is head to head 100% confirmed?

if yes..then a draw for me please...so we could beat Mexico and top the group...

« Reply #207 on: March 10, 2009, 11:53:07 AM »
spidey..only Lincoln ??..nothing for Anton ???

« Reply #208 on: March 10, 2009, 12:30:49 PM »
Brazil 2014 here we come !!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #209 on: March 10, 2009, 04:46:39 PM »

Mr. Jack Warner, president of CONCACAF and vice-president of FIFA, gears up for the Dixee Football Skills Challenge at the CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone at the Marvin Lee Stadium.

The Dixee Football Skills Challenge: Mr. Jack Warner, president of CONCACAF and vice-president of FIFA, takes aim while members of the Boys and Girls Championship Football teams of St.Augustine Senior Secondary Comprehensive School look on in the background. CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone.

Mr. Warner goes for goal! CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone

Championship Football Team of the St.Augustine Senior Secondary Comprehensive School. CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone. Mon March 9th 2009.

Mr. Warner spins the KFC Wheel for a prize. CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone.

Mr. Warner presents the KFC meal voucher he won to a student of the St. Augustine Senior Secondary Comprehensive School. CONCACAF U-20 Fan Zone.

dcs, smile nah man