April 18, 2024, 11:51:06 PM

Author Topic: Dimanche Gras 2009  (Read 17263 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Dimanche Gras 2009
« on: February 22, 2009, 11:47:09 AM »
...all of us who freezing up in Icebox land ready for tonight's show?

Offline TdotTrini

Re: Dimanche Gras 2009
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2009, 12:08:12 PM »
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2009, 12:33:10 PM »
every carnival season this was de show i use to takeen if ah wasn't in boyscout's fete.

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2009, 01:26:35 PM »
peps who iz the contestants in the calypso competion tonite ?

« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2009, 02:09:44 PM »
peps who iz the contestants in the calypso competion tonite ?

1. Dexter Parsons (The Stinger)—Our Environmental Engineers
2. Karene Asche—Babylon
3. Mark John (Contender)—Yuh Cyar Buy One
4. Sandra Des Vignes Millington (Singing Sandra)—Ghetto of your Mind
5. Winston Scarborough (D’ Original De Fosto Himself)—Could We Rise Again
6. Anthony Hendrickson (All Rounder)—Help Your Children First
7. Dr Hollis Liverpool (Chalkdust)—Ah Not in Dat
8. Michael Osouna (Sugar Aloes)—Obama the First
9. Joanne Rowley (Tigress) —Yuh Ent See Wajang Yet
10. Ann Marie Parks-Kojo (Twiggy)—One for Obama
11. Winston Peters (Gypsy)—Supply and Demand
12. Brian London—A Nation’s Son
13. Weston Rawlins (Cro Cro)—Ah Feeling Shame
14. Errol Ballantyne (Bally)—Amigo
15. Carlos James (Skatie) —On Solid Ground
16. Kizzie Ruiz—Class Language

« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2009, 02:29:18 PM »
ah want de teacher take it.

« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2009, 02:34:16 PM »
so, how ole is Chalkdust now?
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2009, 02:45:35 PM »
Hollis Urban Lester Liverpool, better known as Chalkdust (or Chalkie) (born 1941) is a leading calypsonian from Trinidad and Tobago. He has been singing calypso since 1967 and has recorded over 300 calypsos.

He is a seven-time winner of Trinidad's Calypso Monarch competition, most recently in 2005. Chalkdust's winning song performances for these most acclaimed Calypso Crowns are: 1976 ("Three Blind Mice" and "Ah Put on Meh Guns Again"); 1977 ("Juba Dubai" and Shango Vision"); 1981 ("Ah Can't Make" and "My Kind of Worry"); 1989 ("Chauffeur Wanted" and "Carnival Is the Answer"); 1993 ("Kaiso Sick in de Hospital" and "Misconceptions"); 2004 ("Fish Monger" and "Trinidad in the Cemetery"); and 2005 ("I in Town Too Long" and "Ah Doh Rhyme"). Only the Mighty Sparrow has more wins in that competition. Chalkdust also won Carifesta in 1976, the World Calypso King title in St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands eight times, and the Calypso King of the World in New York City on the two occasions when that competition was held.

Chalkdust, who holds a Ph.D. in history and ethnomusicology from the University of Michigan, is an Assistant Professor of History at the University of the Virgin Islands, and frequently lectures and offers workshops on the history and culture of calypso music. He is the author of the books Rituals of Power and Rebellion: The Carnival Tradition in Trinidad and Tobago and From the Horse’s Mouth, a socio-cultural history of calypso from 1900 to 2003.

« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2009, 03:03:00 PM »
Thanks Capo
I hope I have half his energy when I get his age ;D

Buss dem tonite Chalky
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2009, 03:46:00 PM »
all yuh ever tried to describe carnival to someone who has NEVER experienced anything of the sort?
Is madness...

« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2009, 03:48:55 PM »
first ting they does say,oh like brazil,i just laugh and say much better.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2009, 03:51:03 PM »
no well this crew I'm talking to don't know Brazil neither...
have me sweating to draw a vision in their mind so I haul out some DVDs I have... people planning to come with me oui... :rotfl:

Carnival needs to be FELT...

« Reply #12 on: February 22, 2009, 05:17:10 PM »
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 05:21:15 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #13 on: February 22, 2009, 05:24:01 PM »
My pick for the crown tonite iz singing sandra . them woman run things this rounds.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #14 on: February 22, 2009, 05:35:15 PM »
I went an bade and miss the opening steupse
Is Caterson the first queen

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #15 on: February 22, 2009, 05:49:43 PM »
ok I missed 2 Queens. I can't beleive this...and they don't come back across again right?

Lots of oriental queens and they are HUGE!!
Lawd the kings will be amazing!!

« Reply #16 on: February 22, 2009, 06:20:31 PM »
macfarlane on now...real theatrics sah

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #17 on: February 22, 2009, 06:26:18 PM »
McFarlane had trouble...

Eustace has it again unless another king later beats this...

The Way of Zen - Massive!!!!!!!

Aight ah seeing serious competition in the kings

Roland St. George looking GOOD!!
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 06:40:12 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2009, 06:53:16 PM »
if the internet feed keeps dropping sound like this, the voice competitions will be painful to follow.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2009, 06:53:48 PM »
Do they give the King & Queen results before the Kaiso or all results at the end of the night.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #20 on: February 22, 2009, 06:55:02 PM »
Somebody had an audio feed last night for the Panorama.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #21 on: February 22, 2009, 06:58:32 PM »
What I've done is streamed in audio only from one of the 3 radio stations listed on the link...Talk Radio has a sync'd feed

« Reply #22 on: February 22, 2009, 07:08:39 PM »
check small man .

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #23 on: February 22, 2009, 07:11:50 PM »
sonny good looking like he fadda but don't have the style and carriage..

de host look like Obama...lol

« Reply #24 on: February 22, 2009, 07:23:54 PM »
allya video stickin also?

hear nuh leh we try sumting
all ah allya come off and |I go tell allya if de video stop stickin :devil:
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 07:26:31 PM by WestCoast »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #25 on: February 22, 2009, 07:29:21 PM »
 :rotfl: steupse

« Reply #26 on: February 22, 2009, 07:39:57 PM »

« Reply #27 on: February 22, 2009, 07:43:35 PM »
these songs real long boy.12 mins or something

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #28 on: February 22, 2009, 07:44:57 PM »
boy ah finish fold a load of laundry and put it away and she still singing Babylon is you...

« Reply #29 on: February 22, 2009, 07:45:49 PM »
boy ah finish fold a load of laundry and put it away and she still singing Babylon is you...
yeah
I startin to feel it now in trute oui ;D ;D
« Last Edit: February 22, 2009, 07:47:39 PM by WestCoast »