April 19, 2024, 07:05:03 AM

Author Topic: Question for Toronto peeps: Would you move to the Northwest Territories/Alberta  (Read 3832 times)

Seeing the present economic situation the world is experiencing, would you move out there.  Just wanted to hear some opinions.  Me personally wouldn't care either way, I could deal with snow and all dat but, if the money good, I doh have ah chicken on a stick really.  Once I could get to watch my football on a Saturday, and internet for porn and downloading movies I good.

What alyu saying??

i surprise u eh get blind with all that jockin. ;D

I work for a supplier to automotive manufacturers....so no surprise, I seeing the supplier industry swirling down the drain for a couple years now....matter of fact I in school part time to switch careers
I does scan for jobs in alberta somewhat regularly, but even dat province slowin down these days
If yuh have like a specialist tradesman skill, de money is yours to reap , especially in places like Ft. Mc Murray (but it hardly have anyting out dey)

Alberta , I would consider a move in a heartbeat, ...no way in hell I movin to the NWT...it eh have nuuuuttttnn up dey
but ah sure yuh go find at least two trini  ;)

you typin at 1 a.m. breds, yuh either have jumbie or yuh studyin de jouvert yuh missin

you use to live in yankee land before....go to arizona
house out dey cheeep
http://www.realtor.com/realestateandhomes-detail/3104-S-74Th-Lane_Phoenix_AZ_85043_1105893637
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 08:11:14 AM by Dutty »

I lived in Edmonton for 14 years and work was great
I limed with trinis who played rugby and cricket
the cricket lime there was sweet too bad
in the winter it does get kinda cold so ya just have to dress for it
in summer there are many festivals to go to
my cousins live in calgary and they have had a similar experience
but ya kno, once ya live in edmonton ya ent want to go calgary atall :devil:
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 08:12:20 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Well, I in IT, but I didn't check to see what out dey.  I doh really frade de cold at all, besides I like to snowboard.
Anyway is de wife mention to me lastnight if I would consider but I doh know sh*t bout out dey so de more info de better. :beermug: :devil: :rotfl:

Edmonton and Calgary are great places to live, i live in edmonton
The winter may be a bit rough, but to be honest it really ent that much different than Ontario except maybe a couple weeks a year where you could get the -30.
The rest of the time winter is sunny and around 0 to -5 in Alberta.......2 to 3 times you would get a cold snap lasting about a week.
If you look at average temps in the winter compared to toronto its only a couple degrees colder.
And if you like snowboard and thing, the rocky mountains make it worth any little cold.

But then ask Alberta trini what he thinks lol

The  NWT and northern Alberta sucks as Dutty says, if you going to come out here, Edmonton or Calgary are the only 2 spots to do it

but hear what strange, Alberta going to be sucking real salt the next little while as long as oil less than $60 so to come here for work ent making sense right now
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 03:13:39 PM by ricky »

and i would not ask toronto peeps the question cause them ent know nuttin about here
MY wife is a toronto peeps, the same ppl who think its -30 for 8 straight months and was surprised to see we have a Canadian Tire when she came

Toronto peeps self send some friends from Barbados out here it coat and parks in June when it was 30 degrees lol

Everyone who has visited me here from Trinidad says its by far the best part of Canada and next time they comin straight without stoppin in Toronto :)
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 03:12:29 PM by ricky »

a fren just move out to alberta on a contract. she said the first question they ask her at work is if she vote conservative  :devil:  walk with your harper lapel pin. but she land a good job.

another fren just move from calgary to toronto - he said it was the worst 2 years of his life and he glad to be in a place with some culture. but it sounds like culture not a concern for you.

have a cousin working in banff - is a sweet deal if you like your sporting activities.

What about winnipeg and also regina in  Saskatchewan ? people ....
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 03:11:41 PM by Trini _2010 »

calgary have real woman....

dat's all i know about calagary  ;D....so the scenery go be nice....

DO NOT GO NORTHWEST TERRITORIES...as dutty say yuh go be bored outta of yuh mind....i had a padna that went out there on contract for 2 years..he was getting paid real dollars...but he come back after 5 months cause he was so bored...

What about winnipeg and regina ? people ....

them places kind of small
at least Cgy and Edm have a million
I not even sure why it have street lights in Regina to be honest.
But the little farm woman sure like the black guys  ;D

edit, boy i spelling like organic in them first 2 post above  :devil:
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 03:14:21 PM by ricky »

Right bout now, toronto getting boring for me.....LOL.  I doh mind coming back for the WN football LOL.  Besides I go have a reason to go carnival home if I come out dey.  I go have to keep an eye out for jobs
Keep it coming

No thanks!

How about down south east........... Right now it have this thing call carnival going on,,, its quite nice, u may like it....oh gosh ah gone again ah going and do something the natives call wining, am getting rather good at it....
 :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

No thanks!

aye he said toronto peeps
me eh hear nuttin about london  :devil:
ill bet yuh any money allyuh get more snow and cold that we did this year

No thanks!

aye he said toronto peeps
me eh hear nuttin about london  :devil:
ill bet yuh any money allyuh get more snow and cold that we did this year

true dat...ah was juss playing farse  :devil:
weatherman say snow squalls, today, dat bastard lie. blue sky and hot sun whole day  >:(
tomorrow he say snow storm...we'll see. ::)

but truth be told, I back and forth to TO more dan ah care to count for last couple of weeks.
I know where each pothole is and mac truck drivers on dey 401 by now.

Well, I in IT, but I didn't check to see what out dey.  I doh really frade de cold at all, besides I like to snowboard.
Anyway is de wife mention to me lastnight if I would consider but I doh know sh*t bout out dey so de more info de better. :beermug: :devil: :rotfl:
if you go Edmonton ya could go rabbit hill to snowboard
my two daughters learned there
http://www.rabbithill.com/
there are a couple real small hills right in edmonton<-- click here
or drive three/four hours to Jasper to get big hill
and for all other sports go here
http://www.edmonton.ca/attractions_recreation/sport_recreation/recreation_centres_programs/kinsmen-sports-centre.aspx

Calgary have the olympic park right in the city
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 06:48:59 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

lemme sound like ah reel country boggie... Calgary too far from Pearson Airport. ;D

now that you mention pearson
meh cousin wife in CALGARY get a phone call from friends who had just landed at pearson, in TO and hear what she tell dem
"or hor you at the airport in toronto, whole orn I coming to pick allya up now"
they asked her "are you not in Calgary?"
"yes, of course, I coming to pick allya up now"
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
we dose pong her wid dat joke
« Last Edit: February 23, 2009, 07:50:48 PM by WestCoast »

Under serious thing, half the world thinks Toronto is Canada's capital. As soon as you say airport, first ting people say is Pearson or TO airport...

backward no arse boy :rotfl: :rotfl:

isn't the cost of living in Calgary real high???

yep
food easily 2-3X more than the east.
and rent/real estate more too but it falling like a rock now.
Shitty public transport, yuh need a car (or 2) out here.

strange, now ent the best time to be heading out here.
Check back later in the year, if oil rebound to 60+ or not.
And if it does, allyuh go be getting better out there as well anyway.

yep
food easily 2-3X more than the east.
and rent/real estate more too but it falling like a rock now.
Shitty public transport, yuh need a car (or 2) out here.

strange, now ent the best time to be heading out here.
Check back later in the year, if oil rebound to 60+ or not.
And if it does, allyuh go be getting better out there as well anyway.

Yeah yeah, I wasn't planning to leave TO tomorrow LOL.  I just looking at the options for now.  Middle of the year I want to revisit the whole plan.   :beermug: