September 17, 2024, 05:00:54 PM

Author Topic: Has it escaped most here that Yorke was CAPTAIN on Saturday?  (Read 4205 times)

Has it escaped most here that Yorke was CAPTAIN on Saturday?
« on: March 28, 2005, 03:44:42 PM »
How de hell dat happen?

Angus Eve was de captain

Shaka been captain

Both a dem play and start

How Yorke is captain all of a sudden?

Dotishness RULE in de BSC regime.

Re: Has it escaped most here that Yorke was CAPTAIN on Saturday?
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2005, 03:49:40 PM »
ah think "de Five" weighing heavier on most ppl mind. However... that Yorke was de captain was in line with we warm-up and we preparations...
cuz like yuh forget....

... we jokey!

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2005, 03:54:39 PM »
How de hell dat happen?

Angus Eve was de captain

Shaka been captain

Both a dem play and start

Dotishness RULE in de BSC regime.

Doh fuhget Dog, Stern and Derek King. Dey have all worn de captain's armband in de last 6 months.

« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2005, 04:33:38 PM »
Is puff puff pass...

Offline NC

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2005, 04:35:06 PM »
According to source close to the team, York being captain was one of the conditions of his return.

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2005, 05:21:26 PM »
Plenty about Yorke's return get glazed over because when men check they heart nobody really bear the man no malice and everybody was hoping to be proved wrong by Yorke, just as with Bertie.

Bringing back Yorke was one thing but the begging and cajoling that was required was ridiculous, all for a man who was never a certainty to make us better. And then to make the man captain.

Lord have mercy.

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2005, 05:34:32 PM »
I doh really see de big deal wid yorke being captain this time around.  In the two games so far he seems to be giving 100%.  He has shown up on time when called up and hasn't been a disruption to the team. 

If he has been accepted back into to the team then what he did in the past should not be held against him this time around.  He should be judged on what he does from this point forward. So far he has been a model citizen

Offline NC

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2005, 05:45:28 PM »
That would have bee fine if he offered too or was required too apolagize to the public and TTFF for his past actions.  That is the way it is done in most countries, just ask Mido, the Egyptian International.  In most other countries citizens respect each other and view representing their country as a privilage and not a right.  We have some work to do in those areas.

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2005, 07:01:57 PM »
I doh really see de big deal wid yorke being captain this time around.  In the two games so far he seems to be giving 100%.  He has shown up on time when called up and hasn't been a disruption to the team. 

If he has been accepted back into to the team then what he did in the past should not be held against him this time around.  He should be judged on what he does from this point forward. So far he has been a model citizen

Nuff, I agree with  you.   Unlike a few of the posters here you have probably carefully looked at both of the recent games.

In my humble opinion, Yorke was the best player in the game against Guatemala. I also respect the opinion of those who disagree with the last statement.  But in looking at the game, when it comes to moving the ball forward and assisting in the critical plays, to me it appeared as though Yorke was involved about 60% of the time.   See my report:

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #9 on: March 30, 2005, 12:44:23 PM »
How de hell dat happen?

In sports therre are many intangibles. Let us give the benefit of the doubt to those who were chosen through a transparent process. 

Yorke captained the ``soca babes'' to Portugal in 1991 (our only high profile international event).  My he feels that by wearing the Captain's band, he can lead the team to the WC.  Tiger Wood's mom told him many times that Red-and-Black are his power colors. During his youth sometimes he disagreed  sometimes he went along.
George Bush wears his blue tie .... probably feels he is most sensible when he is wearing it.
This is the world we are living in: technical things, spirits , belief etc.

I think that the Captain's band on Yorke will help.  Go T&T.

« Reply #10 on: March 30, 2005, 12:58:56 PM »
Captain Yorke, the ship is sinking!
Captain Yorke, the seas are rough!
Coach Bertille eh have a clue
And he feel his saviour is you!
Oh no Captain Yorke, he doh know he doh know!
Please tell him what to do!

Good luck to the Warriors, I will be satisfied with a clean sheet and a draw! A surprise win will be a bonus!
 :o

« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2005, 01:14:33 PM »
What impact has this decision have on our results to date?

On the other hand,  if the decision will assist team morale and if this decision will raise the level and leadership of one of our most celebrated players to rise to the occassion and to inspire others, then I don't see the issue here.

This decision is  what I see as "smoking mirrors" much like the call for a name change. There is some affect on the team but the 'real' issuse is the nature of the team's performance not on the name  nor who is wearing the armband.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2005, 01:48:59 PM by AlbertaTrini »