April 19, 2024, 12:29:02 PM

Author Topic: Sancho signs with Rochester Rhinos  (Read 4126 times)

Sancho signs with Rochester Rhinos
« on: February 26, 2009, 04:46:13 PM »
Sancho signs with Rochester Rhinos
oursportscentral.com

Rochester Rhinos President Matthew Ford announced today that the club has signed experienced Trinidad and Tobago International Brent Sancho to a two -year contract. The deal is subject to USL and USSF approval.

"Brent brings a wealth of experience and he'll add an extra dimension to our defense," said Rhinos President and General Manager Matthew Ford. "We'll be looking for Brent to make an immediate impact and give us great leadership in the back."

Sancho, a 6'1", versatile defender from Trinidad and Tobago has traveled Europe in recent years gaining experience in both the English and Scottish leagues. Sancho initially signed for Dundee in 2003, making 48 appearances before a transfer to English League 1 side Gillingham, where Sancho went on to make 45 first team appearances.

Sancho saw success in the college game here in the United States, leading St. John's to a NCAA Division 1 National Championship in 1996. After a short stint in USL with Charleston and Portland, Sancho moved his trade back to the Carribean, playing 58 games for Joe Public prior to his move to the United Kingdom.

Sancho, a veteran of 43 Trinidad and Tobago international caps at the senior level, played all three games in the 2006 World Cup Finals in Germany, making him only the second Rhinos player to have represented his country at the World Cup Finals. Former Rhino Onandi Lowe represented Jamaica at the 1998 World Cup Finals in France.

Sancho is expected in Rochester for the start of the Rhinos training camp, set to commence on March 19.

Re: Sancho signs with Rochester Rhinos
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2009, 05:10:00 PM »
sound good to me

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2009, 05:16:42 PM »
Finally we could get him back in de qualifying campaign....TTFF have no excuse now

« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2009, 05:21:54 PM »
Finally we could get him back in de qualifying campaign....TTFF have no excuse now

good 1

« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2009, 05:25:14 PM »
Good for him, Rhinos should be an MLS teams by now though.

I don't understand why MLS bracing Rochester so hard.  The metro area has over a million people and the rhinos have been averaging crowds over 10k for the last 10 years in the USL.  If they were to move up they would be the only major league sports team in the city so attendence would most certainly increase.

Their attendence isn't far behind MLS attendences especially considering this article:MLS systematically lies about its attendance
« Last Edit: February 26, 2009, 05:27:38 PM by PantherX »

« Reply #5 on: February 26, 2009, 05:39:00 PM »
Well done Sancho. Yuze a real warrior. Good luck and enjoy your new home.  :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2009, 06:11:19 PM »

I don't understand why MLS bracing Rochester so hard.  The metro area has over a million people and the rhinos have been averaging crowds over 10k for the last 10 years in the USL.  If they were to move up they would be the only major league sports team in the city so attendence would most certainly increase.

Their attendence isn't far behind MLS attendences especially considering this article:MLS systematically lies about its attendance
Who say dey want to go to the MLS remember the MLS owns all the teams so why would dey give that up 

« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2009, 06:24:05 PM »
I know Sancho was waiting on a move like that for a long time now, so I glad for the man.

« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2009, 07:10:04 PM »
good luck big man

« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2009, 08:01:30 PM »
Gr8

« Reply #10 on: February 26, 2009, 08:29:16 PM »

Who say dey want to go to the MLS remember the MLS owns all the teams so why would dey give that up 

They've been trying since 2004.

« Reply #11 on: February 26, 2009, 08:31:24 PM »
Congrats, great news

Online Deeks

« Reply #12 on: February 26, 2009, 08:35:23 PM »
Great news and good luck. unemployment is no fun!

« Reply #13 on: February 26, 2009, 09:10:59 PM »
I glad for de man. Hopefully he keep growing from strength to strength. All de best brent.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #14 on: February 26, 2009, 09:42:32 PM »
good luck Sancho..  :beermug:
All American

« Reply #15 on: February 26, 2009, 11:00:39 PM »
Really good news ,all the best Brent .

« Reply #16 on: February 27, 2009, 06:18:14 AM »
Ah glad for him.

« Reply #17 on: February 27, 2009, 11:32:17 AM »
Nice one Sancho  :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: February 27, 2009, 11:41:44 AM »
Glad for him- I'm not sure if that level of football prepares a player to be a quality international though

All the best nevertheless  :beermug:
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 01:59:37 PM by kicker »

« Reply #19 on: February 27, 2009, 12:02:45 PM »
didn't know sancho was so tall.

« Reply #20 on: February 27, 2009, 12:03:29 PM »
Glad for him- I'm not sure if that level of football prepares a player to be a quality international though

kicker ah was about to say,'what de hell yuh talking bout, look at we pro league and what it has done for Akile", but then ah re-read yuh comment and notice the word, "quality", so ah decide to hush meh mouth...oh wait should i not be posting dis in case someone from red bulls reading??

Offline 7 blessings

• Lion II Zion
« Reply #21 on: February 27, 2009, 12:04:34 PM »
I glad for yuh hoss..get back in the mix...i eh see him play inna while but i sure he could give we ah better pull dan Spann in the back
Jesus Christ died for us....now it's time for us to Live for Him

« Reply #22 on: February 27, 2009, 01:19:21 PM »
I glad for yuh hoss..get back in the mix...i eh see him play inna while but i sure he could give we ah better pull dan Spann in the back

great point!! best of luck brenty! we go link up when ah in d area!!! :beermug:

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #23 on: February 27, 2009, 01:32:47 PM »
I cyah believe all dis props for a man signin for a poor team in a poor league. It shows how easily and readily we accept mediocrity. Ah glad for de man...he get a lil ting...but c'mon man. Wake up ppl!!!!!!!

« Reply #24 on: February 27, 2009, 01:38:30 PM »
Good luck Brent

« Reply #25 on: February 27, 2009, 01:56:23 PM »
I cyah believe all dis props for a man signin for a poor team in a poor league. It shows how easily and readily we accept mediocrity. Ah glad for de man...he get a lil ting...but c'mon man. Wake up ppl!!!!!!!

I hear you, but peeps just wishing him the best...no harm in that. 

As we say in Trini "a man hadda eat a food"...  So whether it be Man U or Rochester Rhinos, yuh hadda lift up a soldier for following his dream...

Offline diamondtrim

« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2009, 01:57:59 PM »

As we say in Trini "a man hadda eat a food"...  So whether it be Man U or Rochester Rhinos, yuh hadda lift up a soldier for following his dream...

True....respect

« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2009, 05:01:20 PM »

Thas some Big Lyrics kicker .... ah second dat

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2009, 05:09:40 PM »
Congrats man and good luck at your new club :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2009, 05:27:20 PM »
Play ya ball man :wavetowel:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.