May 28, 2024, 10:48:27 PM

Author Topic: Obama coming to T&T.  (Read 5974 times)

Obama coming to T&T.
« on: March 05, 2009, 06:26:45 AM »
Obama leads 1,000-strong US delegation.
By CLINT CHAN TACK (Newsday).

US PRESIDENT Barack Obama will be leading a thousand-strong American delegation to the Fifth Summit of the Americas. Obama confirmed his attendance at the Summit in a February 25 letter to Prime Minister Patrick Manning.

Addressing a news conference at the Prime Minister’s Diplomatic Centre in St Ann’s last night, Manning read Obama’s letter to reporters.

“I am pleased to confirm that I will attend the Summit. Given the challenges we face globally and regionally, I understand the importance of this event. I look forward to meeting with you and my democratically elected counterparts and working with you to achieving success for our region,” Manning said, as he read President Obama’s letter.

“The US delegation is going to be about a thousand people strong. The US delegation will come with about 25 aircraft,” the Prime Minister revealed. He expressed optimism that success will be achieved at the bilateral level, for enhanced economic relations between the US and Caricom, through efforts which this country is now spearheading in Washington DC.

Manning said US interest in TT is so high that a large number of members of the US Congress and Senate will be part of Obama’s delegation. Manning added there was no intention to scale down Summit preparations on any front.

Manning said Venezuelan President Hugo Chavez will lead a delegation of over 200 persons from that country to the Summit. Minister in the Ministry of Finance Mariano Browne said additional personnel from the country’s uniformed services will be made available to assist the Immigration Division in processing delegates at Piarco International Airport.

The PM also disclosed that over 600 Caricom soldiers and police officers, two Barbados offshore patrol vessels (OPVs) and one Bahamas OPV will be here to strengthen existing security for the Summit.

Re: Obama coming to T&T.
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2009, 06:39:56 AM »

PHOQ DAT DOING FOR WE???

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2009, 06:42:32 AM »
LOL Chavez bump into Obama at the airport you could imagine? Where they putting all of them? At the Hilton? And can you imagine the traffic at the Beetham with that convoy? They better hurry up and put that moat.  Bet ya the US sending a couple carriers. Hopefully nobody eh get robbed or anything like Latifah. The world will be watching us.

Is my Hilliary going too? I really love that woman, couple years ago, her first time on the parkway, I give her a trini flag  and she chip down the road waving it.

when is it again? Might take a quick trip down.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 06:47:21 AM by verycute1 »
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2009, 07:23:46 AM »
steups

crime out ah control
hospital have no bed
businesses closing down left and right
school teachers eh getting pay

But Manning in the papers talking about 5 tangible benefits for the ordinary man.

Come Mon 20th April everything go be back to normal.

Great is the PNM and they shall prevail!!!

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2009, 07:54:32 AM »
introduce him to some callaloo and pelau.

« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2009, 08:05:30 AM »
I am glad for everybody in TnT becuase I know that Obama is very popular and it would be a massive event. I can't lie and deny that I would be a little jealous BUT...

I cringe just thinking of how Manning will use this for political capital. The opportunities for glad-handing, photo-ops and opportunity to address the summit that come with being the leader of the host country will be milked to the fullest, for personal aggrandizement, by Manning.

On one hand you have Obama, who has made unique political and social breakthroughs and is an inspiration to the World. On the other hand you have Manning, who has done anything who has built a career of maintaining the status quo, who will be taking full advantage of the outrageous fortune that was Obama getting elected last November.

« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2009, 08:06:35 AM »
steups

crime out ah control
hospital have no bed

But Manning in the papers talking about 5 tangible benefits for the ordinary man.

Na manning is getting his time in the international press, in his big ploy to impress more foreign companies to invest in TnT.  But currently not doing good enough in giving locals the jobs faster than them foreigner in POS

« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2009, 08:09:19 AM »
can allya imagine the Ram Jam that gobe goin on when that convoy passin
whey foote
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2009, 08:10:57 AM »
PHOQ DAT DOING FOR WE???

Good question. I can't give yuh the answer other than it gives us some time in the international spotlight. Interestingly though this is not a conference that usually has a high media presence but it will have it now becuase everything Obama does is big news. On the other hand, heaven forbid, something negative should happen it will give us the kind of spotlight that we could never live down.

I don't forsee anything negative happening though so it will do a world of good for Manning.

« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2009, 08:15:23 AM »
DT, ya right
an we should ALL make up a list of the most important things tht we would ALL like to see fixed in TnT and send off an email to Obama encouraging him to mention them in talks with Manning
here is the white house email addy
http://www.whitehouse.gov/CONTACT/
lets get goin people
strike while the Iron is HOT
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2009, 08:25:17 AM »
DT, ya right
an we should ALL make up a list of the most important things tht we would ALL like to see fixed in TnT and send off an email to Obama encouraging him to mention them in talks with Manning
here is the white house email addy
http://www.whitehouse.gov/CONTACT/
lets get goin people
strike while the Iron is HOT
You right. like more welfare programs for the hungry and needy

and how to get rid of this guy  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

the UNC and all avoiding him
« Last Edit: March 05, 2009, 08:35:19 AM by Babalawo »

« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2009, 10:08:10 AM »
The only thing about this conference is that I might have a chance to stalk Obama....Manning real lucky is not dead beat McSame did win the election cuz NOBODY would be even remotely interested in this...

I just concerned about the traffic since I work just outside the "Red Zone" inside the "Blue Zone"...steups...

« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2009, 10:59:47 AM »
dem coming to bath in maracas

« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2009, 11:03:09 AM »
lookin at a pic of obama on de net,de man gettin gray faster than rabbits fuk.

« Reply #14 on: March 05, 2009, 11:10:44 AM »
big show but it back to the normal crime and killing on the 20th like disgruntled say, the govt not doing a damn for the people

« Reply #15 on: March 05, 2009, 11:19:43 AM »
steups

crime out ah control
hospital have no bed

So dais why yuh ent come sweat last night...yuh stay home and watch them on TV.

« Reply #16 on: March 05, 2009, 12:36:46 PM »
TNT have ah administration problem thus it eh have bed in d hospital. So whether d Oman come oh eh come same khaki pants. So did old Patos say anyting bout d summit holiday? I makin plans 4 d 17th dat doh include wuk.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #17 on: March 05, 2009, 02:33:51 PM »
PHOQ DAT DOING FOR WE???

Good question. I can't give yuh the answer other than it gives us some time in the international spotlight. Interestingly though this is not a conference that usually has a high media presence but it will have it now becuase everything Obama does is big news. On the other hand, heaven forbid, something negative should happen it will give us the kind of spotlight that we could never live down.

I don't forsee anything negative happening though so it will do a world of good for Manning.

Knock on wood.
It happening over the weekend, so only the usual, a couple drunk drivers deciding to use the highway as training for Indy 500. A few peeps might get chop or shot. In other words business as usual.
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

« Reply #18 on: March 05, 2009, 05:37:57 PM »
TNT have ah administration problem thus it eh have bed in d hospital. So whether d Oman come oh eh come same khaki pants. So did old Patos say anyting bout d summit holiday? I makin plans 4 d 17th dat doh include wuk.

He say business people eh too hot on de idea of a holiday ah guess especially since this would be right after Easter Weekend.....

« Reply #19 on: March 05, 2009, 05:54:27 PM »
Let's hope it ain't rain. POS is certainly not Hawaii!!!!

« Reply #20 on: March 05, 2009, 06:09:39 PM »
Where he staying, Barrackpore?

« Reply #21 on: March 05, 2009, 06:36:52 PM »
Panday throw Ms. Universe and what come out of it.........NOTHING, we are yet to see the tangible benefits he promised us

Panday built the new Airport dubbed the Iniquitous Shed of Shame by Manning which is shrouded in controversy to this day.

seems like Manning trying to one up Panday

Manning throwing the Summit and promises tangible benefits for the ordinary man

Manning build all kind a thing all bout d place all of which is shrouded in controversy i.e UDECOTT

« Reply #22 on: March 05, 2009, 08:37:57 PM »

He say business people eh too hot on de idea of a holiday ah guess especially since this would be right after Easter Weekend.....

Well me eh no what zone meh office in but POS eh seein me dat friday.

« Reply #23 on: March 06, 2009, 06:34:44 AM »
We country not in order.

Manning is de worst PM we ever had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hope Abu Baker help us...

« Reply #24 on: March 06, 2009, 09:18:15 AM »
lookin at a pic of obama on de net,de man gettin gray faster than rabbits f**k.

It's not "real".

« Reply #25 on: March 06, 2009, 10:37:34 AM »
We country not in order.

Manning is de worst PM we ever had !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I hope Abu Baker help us...

uuuuuuummmmmm boss as much as I eh like Manning either, I REALLY eh want we to go thru another Abu Bakr type episode....we still haunted to this day by the events of those 6 days in 1990.... :(

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #26 on: March 06, 2009, 11:09:12 AM »
We country not in order.

uuuuuuummmmmm boss as much as I eh like Manning either, I REALLY eh want we to go thru another Abu Bakr type episode....we still haunted to this day by the events of those 6 days in 1990.... :(

dat was a time eh?

« Reply #27 on: March 06, 2009, 12:33:07 PM »
ah wouldn't be surprised if obuma salt manning with a last second cancellation.

« Reply #28 on: March 06, 2009, 12:36:32 PM »
i wonder who go be the first trini to drop some lyrics on michelle.

...or if she go understand.

« Reply #29 on: March 06, 2009, 12:53:09 PM »
michelle ah want to bull,lemme see yuh nanny,yuh want to see meh toetee.rattle it off fast fast.