April 19, 2024, 06:16:47 PM

Author Topic: Why don't we have a recognized sponsor?  (Read 4314 times)

Why don't we have a recognized sponsor?
« on: September 28, 2005, 11:26:58 AM »
How come after reachin dis far & getting ranked highly in the fifa rankings in the past, we don't have a good sponsor and a dreadest kit like a nike or a puma?
« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 01:51:48 PM by Tallman »

Re: Why don't we have a recognized sponsor?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2005, 11:48:11 AM »
reachin' dis far ??

We eh reach no where yet......stress on the word "yet"

No "major" sponsor sees us as profitable.....We have no icon-like players, we don't play in any high-profile tournaments, we can't pull a good following on a world tour .............and the list goes on.

If you were Nike, would you sponsor us ?
« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 11:51:18 AM by kicker »

« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2005, 11:49:01 AM »
How come after reachin dis far & getting ranked highly in the fifa rankings in the past, we don't have a good sponsor and a dreadest kit like a nike or a puma?

Cause we have not reached far enough for Nike, Puma or Addidas to be willing to invest money in mass producing TnT kits, once we qualify that will all change.  Depending on the contract with Finta.

« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2005, 11:54:49 AM »

Spnsors take into concideration the market that exists for the team they are going to sponsor. IE, how marketable is the team. Mexico and team USA are very marketable....hence Nike Sponsoring them....Jamaica to some extent got good sponsorship from Kappa during teh world cup, as the "reggae-boy" slogan was readily identifiable worldwide, an dthat translated into the sale of shirts for Kappa.

Puma also pays the JAmaican Atletic federation and the players good money to wear their apparrel...Jamaican track stars are well known in the industry, hence they sell Puma products (Its hard to walk in a sport shop here in teh USA and not see Jamaica inspired Puma products)

If T&T qualifies for the Word Cup, you could have a situation where a Puma or a Kappa, or even a UHLSport might offer sponsorship. Or Trinidad could be in a positon to demand top dollars from Pinta

« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2005, 12:20:23 PM »
Does Finta sponsor us or do we just pay them for kits?

College teams wear Nike but they not sponsored by Nike.

« Reply #5 on: September 28, 2005, 12:43:38 PM »

I dont suppose Trinidad would be wearing Finta if they werent being paid to do so. BTW, is there another international team wearing Finta kits? or Cluib team for that matter. Finta may be owned by Jack Warner  :-\

« Reply #6 on: September 28, 2005, 12:44:30 PM »
Peong did you get my reply message.

We do not get sponsor because we are nobody in terms of the word dynamics. Main Stream Markets have still not heard of Trinidad and Tobago.

It is up to the Govt to promote the image of the country and make us well know.

Everything from TV commercials to putting Trinidad and Tobago as the name of the Airlines, To foreign based promoting them selves and their culture.

Until then
Soca will be a form of Fast Reggae
Trinidad and Tobago will be an island near Jamaica.
And Steel Pan will be invented in Jamaica.

We have no Bob Marley so it will make things Harder.

In the end the foreign based Trinis as a community are not as vibrant as the Jamaicans.
They outnumber us and they make they presence known.

In Mainstream market anything Caribbean is Jamaican and until we can differentiate we self Markets will not open up.

« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2005, 12:45:44 PM »
Finta is a Brazilian brand, we get paid to year it and club teams in Brazil do where it.

« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2005, 12:47:05 PM »

I dont suppose Trinidad would be wearing Finta if they werent being paid to do so. BTW, is there another international team wearing Finta kits? or Cluib team for that matter. Finta may be owned by Jack Warner  :-\

RF....sssssh not so loud!!
a wise man once said within every jest therein lies some Truth!!

« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2005, 01:13:35 PM »

RF....sssssh not so loud!!
a wise man once said within every jest therein lies some Truth!!

Whey sah allyuh men could real start ting weeee ;D ;D

« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2005, 01:29:05 PM »
But we used to have a dreadest Umbro kit. Why did we get it then but not now?

Plus many US colleges play in sponsored gear yet they are no more reconizable than Trinidad. Even for particular sports for which the schools are not reknowned they receive good kits.
I mean, even the University of Maryland had a good enuff kit, and that was before they won anything, when men on dis site used to sweat for dem.
So success is not the only deciding factor. I really doubt that these teams have more exposure than an entire country that boasts professionals in Europe as well as an event as celebrated as Carnival.
« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 01:34:04 PM by Marcos »

« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2005, 01:46:44 PM »

Plus many US colleges play in sponsored gear yet they are no more reconizable than Trinidad. Even for particular sports for which the schools are not reknowned they receive good kits.
I mean, even the University of Maryland had a good enuff kit, and that was before they won anything, when men on dis site used to sweat for dem.
So success is not the only deciding factor. I really doubt that these teams have more exposure than an entire country that boasts professionals in Europe as well as an event as celebrated as Carnival.

US college sport is well supported...you still have 90 year old men still wearng their UCONN sweat shirts and hats. College sport is a huge part of the American culture. Nike probably sell more Nike shirts to UCONN past students this year than they sell to people in the entire Caribbean fo rthe past two years. no lie.

« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2005, 02:02:50 PM »

US college sport is well supported...you still have 90 year old men still wearng their UCONN sweat shirts and hats. College sport is a huge part of the American culture. Nike probably sell more Nike shirts to UCONN past students this year than they sell to people in the entire Caribbean fo rthe past two years. no lie.

You're correct...College sales are very strong!

BTW do you sell ad space on your forums?

« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2005, 02:07:07 PM »

I dont yet sell ad space, but plan to do so some time in teh near future.

« Reply #14 on: September 28, 2005, 02:10:48 PM »

I dont yet sell ad space, but plan to do so some time in teh near future.

Let me know when you do decide.

« Reply #15 on: September 28, 2005, 03:02:46 PM »

My college football (american) team is sponsored by Nike to the tune of millions of dollars.
The sad thing is that there is more college football gear being sold for my university than T&T soccer gear.
The only way we getting a big sponsor is to make WC.
Even then, we aint promised a lasting contract, as we dont have the international appeal as someone rightly pointed out above.
We have to keep qualifying for WC's to do that.
But nothing wrong with Finta man, at least it one better than them tight-up Rossi  ;D

« Reply #16 on: September 28, 2005, 03:08:07 PM »

at least it one better than them tight-up Rossi  ;D

the strike squad 89 rossi was nice though..........
« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 03:09:56 PM by kicker »

« Reply #17 on: September 28, 2005, 03:15:23 PM »
Finta sponsors some Brazilian sides and St Kitts and St Vincent.

In the last WC had TT made it to the Wc finals Adidas was going to sponsor us......it would have been the generic cookie cutter uniform, with the mesh panels under the arms. I got this information from the regional Adidas sales rep when I had a small wuk ina football store in West Palm.

But if we get a generic Nike Uniform.......the marketing channels that would open up would be good. Also Nike usually carries the entire line of replica countries in their flagship stores. Thus even if they didnt know about TT once the jersey looks good.......and I am sure it would given the colour combo. It would have been picked up under fashion.

I dont think country ranking has anything to do with it as Haiti's last kit was a Adidas, other lesser known teams does be banging out puma and nike right tru.

Panama has lotto and that kit real nice with some lil lines going across it.

TT shoulda stick with the Athletica brand........those were decent and is very popular in Mexico and Latin America.

Another good cheap brand that is durable is Joma.

But at the end of the day we are still regarded as a DEAD PIPS.

However I find we shouldnt need to go begging for a Foreign brand name uniform. We should produce our own uniforms and we can do so. Rossi jerseys are top of the line garments.........No amount of Breeze or bleach does fade a rossi garment Rossi doe shrink or rip. Even Flipper down here was good jersey quality wise.

With all the designers such as Radical who have they own sportswear line and other fashion conscious people why can't we produce something locally that is just as good.

« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 03:27:15 PM by Touches »

« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2005, 03:17:57 PM »
89 batty riders was classic,
wonder how mch finta paying ttff.  

« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2005, 04:05:52 PM »
yeah man rossi make some classic malick jersey and mines is about 8 yrs and going strong

« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2005, 04:18:37 PM »
Best uniform TnT ever had was the Rossi for '89 Strike Squad...De white one was boss. I would pay real good money for dat one....

« Reply #21 on: September 28, 2005, 06:21:03 PM »
D Umbro trump all.
daz d first tt jersey that command 200$ AND MEN EAT IT UP
Dat was when we were playin good ball too and umbro was THE brand.
D Finta kit dece too man, i cah hate. Iz like a Imitation dri fit.

« Reply #22 on: September 28, 2005, 08:48:30 PM »

I rather the Finta than the Nike appearance wise.
Nike uniforms have no real identity....jus different colours.

Even if we get a generic Finta the design new to most people.

Just Finta real sticking on sending the uniforms on time which is real shit as a supplier.

« Reply #23 on: September 28, 2005, 09:11:49 PM »
If we make (well I mean WHEN)Germany, we will bang out some real nice new designs.
Might still be finta, but they will have big thing to deisgn a kit.

I give my cousin in the US my 1989 jersey, who tell me to listen to my parents way back then. Meh next partner in Trini still have he own, good quality too, jus he belly outgrow it a little bit.
Imagine in dem days, yuh get the original for $45 yes, and a official sticker saying u help support the boys on the road to Italy.
Yuh could barely get a dinner special in KFC with that now yes...