April 23, 2024, 01:32:27 PM

Author Topic: Hot spots lockdown for Fifth Summit  (Read 7569 times)

Hot spots lockdown for Fifth Summit
« on: March 07, 2009, 07:54:22 AM »
So why they cant do this all the time?  >:(

-------------------------------------

Hot spots lockdown for Fifth Summit

By NALINEE SEELAL Saturday, March 7 2009

Heavily armed police and soldiers, both local and foreign, will move into seven “hot spot” crime areas in advance of the Summit of the Americas in April, and maintain a round-the-clock presence as part of the security arrangements.

While this is taking place, members of the United States Secret Service and Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) will take up their positions at the Hyatt and Hilton hotels in Port-of-Spain.

The hot spot areas to be heavily manned are: Laventille, Beetham Gardens, Sea Lots, Belmont, Long Circular Road, Dibe, and Maloney Gardens before and during the Summit of the Americas, which takes place on April 17 to 19.

Sources said yesterday the police force has already begun to make arrests and are targeting some of the persons believed to be a security threat to the summit.

In Laventille yesterday, 19 persons were arrested, some of them members of gangs, and in Central Trinidad, a man who police identified as a suspected kidnapper, was among 11 arrested. Sources also said the hot spot areas will fall under a special zone, and heavily armed police and soldiers will take up positions there. Soldiers are also expected to set up camps in those areas.

Newsday understands the Priority Bus Route from Piarco to Port-of-Spain, the Churchill-Roosevelt Highway and the Beetham Highway will be heavily manned during the three-day conference.

On the day of the arrival of US President Barack Obama, security will be tight around Maloney Gardens and surrounding areas. Most of the visiting 1000-strong American delegation are expected to stay at the Hilton Trinidad, St Ann’s. There will be a heavy police and army presence in this area, as well as Belmont, and Long Circular Road, Dibe.

More than 300 soldiers and 150 police officers from five Caricom countries will arrive in the country at the end of March for special training to assist with security for the summit.

Several soldiers from Guyana arrived last week and are to set up camp at Macaqueripe where the other visiting soldiers will be housed. Yesterday, Gold Commander for the Summit of the Americas, Assistant Police Commissioner Steve Waldron confirmed the Caricom police and soldiers will form part of the summit security team.

He said when the full contingents arrive by the end of the month they will be briefed and trained.

Other sources revealed that Caricom soldiers and police officers will provide guard and surveillance duties at several hotels where visiting delegates will stay.

This will ensure that local Special Branch officers have the necessary manpower to provide escort and other key services for the high profile visitors.

The visiting cops will be housed at local police stations and they are coming with their own weapons and bullet-proof vests.

The move is one of several recommendations made by the FBI. Local law enforcement officers, who are to be outfitted with 3,000 bullet-proof vests, yesterday said they were satisfied with the security preparations for the summit.

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,96271.html

Re: Hot spots lockdown for Fifth Summit
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2009, 02:15:20 PM »
Ent. another example manning does treat foreigners better than locals

« Reply #2 on: March 07, 2009, 03:38:15 PM »
How is that Bab. They leaving no stones unturn. Better to be cock sure than sure. I am no Manning supporter, eh. But if we going to host this summit and Mr. knucklehead is hell-bent on proceeding, lets put eveything in order so that TT  will not be the pappyshow of the Caribbean. If rain fall... that is a next story. No multimillion security will prevent flood. We should recommend amfibious vehilces in case of a slight downpour.

Offline verycute1

• Me Smash.. You Die
« Reply #3 on: March 07, 2009, 04:35:16 PM »
Better the build the Wall along the beetham that they wanted to and done the whole thing yes. Or was it a moat one of them parties suggested?
One of these days I'm going to bust out the crystalline doomhammer and go positively orc on this town. Then they'll be sorry...

Read the lore, warlocks are mages that decided not to suck.

« Reply #4 on: March 07, 2009, 07:00:32 PM »
The point is that should of been done long time no matter if visitors coming or not.

« Reply #5 on: March 07, 2009, 07:05:22 PM »
Better the build the Wall along the beetham that they wanted to and done the whole thing yes. Or was it a moat one of them parties suggested?
I think the moat is around the man castle in what was once "Presidents Grounds" :D
check the story here
http://www.newsday.co.tt/politics/0,96036.html

I wonder if the likkle puppy dawg go come an say sumting, again
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 07:07:21 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #6 on: March 07, 2009, 07:10:18 PM »
I think the moat is around the man castle in what was once "Presidents Grounds" :D
check the story here

Like them feel he's a king in a castle? wat he doing with moat?  I wonder in the next primeminister will be aloud to stay their or manning move in permanently  :devil:

« Reply #7 on: March 07, 2009, 07:22:57 PM »
check the story here

Like them feel he's a king in a castle? wat he doing with moat?  I wonder in the next primeminister will be aloud to stay their or manning move in permanently  :devil:
I think you are right
He ent movin out if he ever lorse an election :devil:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: March 07, 2009, 07:57:12 PM »
So why they cant do this all the time?  >:(

Cuz some ass go play badder dan police.....some mad scene go play off...and den ah setta idiot go come protesting police violence and saying.."oh he was a good boy...tingtingting....." and yuh go hear talk bout how residents being victimised etc etc etc.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2009, 08:52:46 PM »
check the story here

I think you are right
He ent movin out if he ever lorse an election :devil:

No dat was Bas during d 18-18. Dey had 2 stop him usin d car dem b4 he got d message he was no longer PM

« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2009, 09:59:40 PM »
I wonder in the next primeminister will be aloud to stay their or manning move in permanently  :devil:

That is not an issue because Manning leaving the same way the Doc leave. He is PM for life because there is no viable opposition, within or outside the Party..

« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2009, 10:02:30 PM »
I wonder in the next primeminister will be aloud to stay their or manning move in permanently  :devil:

That is not an issue because Manning leaving the same way the Doc leave. He is PM for life because there is no viable opposition, within or outside the Party..

muhahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha!

De CoP as viable as a fetus in ah drain.

« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2009, 10:27:10 PM »
It dont have none ...or nobody getting a chance or being groomed ,you tell me trini ent have no great young talented minds ? In the states ,you have to leave so they constantly grooming ppl for the job .
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 10:36:24 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2009, 10:29:47 PM »
It dont have none ...or nobody getting a chance or being groomed ,you tell me trini ent have no great young talented minds ? I the states ,you have to leave so they constantly grooming ppl for the job .
I was coming to ask that same thing

but I feel Manning ent goin that route....is like ah Eric and Karl kinda scene.....right TT?
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 10:39:36 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2009, 10:43:20 PM »
It dont have none ...or nobody getting a chance or being groomed ,you tell me trini ent have no great young talented minds ? I the states ,you have to leave so they constantly grooming ppl for the job .
I was coming to ask that same thing

but I feel Manning ent goin that route....is like ah Eric and Karl kinda scene.....right TT?

seems like you and de rest ah pandits  (yes PANdits) know best.  When manning promote young people he getting rid ah de older heads who opposing him.  When he had old heads it was a case ah nobody getting groomed...cyar please allyuh f**kers at all.

Now de real question is wey de f**k is de stinking opposition?

Jack Maharaj and Panday  hahahahahahahaha  doh kill me here..is dat asshole party that should be grooming.....dey eh have dog groomers in T&T?

« Reply #15 on: March 07, 2009, 10:47:26 PM »
I doh care bout no stinkin opposition.....at the start the COP sounded good, but was short lived

in your opinion, who should Patrick groom.

But to be honest, I dont think that ANY TnT PM like to groom nobody
please prove me wrong
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 10:51:07 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2009, 11:03:27 PM »
I doh care bout no stinkin opposition.....at the start the COP sounded good, but was short lived

in your opinion, who should Patrick groom.

But to be honest, I dont think that ANY TnT PM like to groom nobody
please prove me wrong

prove you wrong?  Look at how many youngsters the Great PNM party has groomed!   I doh have to list names to any TRUE TRINI!!!!

The trouble is after grooming dem..wey they going?  Not enough space at the top...term limits may solve that problem, the issue may be constitutional rather than political.

« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2009, 11:08:38 PM »
i find you real cussing me recently yah know ,unprovoked to, well kinda anyway but still .We doh have to go there, we never went before,but anybody besides you I woulda come out swinging .
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 11:13:59 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2009, 11:15:59 PM »
term limits may solve that problem, the issue may be constitutional rather than political.
aaappppsss....now we talkin

and WHO pray tell should be the one initiating that change
The PM (of the party in power)
so it returns back to him, or I should say his office.
The ruling PM should change that rule and I dont think ANY PM of TnT has the constitution, physical more than legal, to change that in a hurry

i find you real cussing me recently yah know ,unprovoked to, well kinda anyway but still .We doh have to go there, we never went before,but anybody besides you I woulda come out swinging .
Quagmire, tell him nuh
dis cussing getting real tiring
« Last Edit: March 07, 2009, 11:22:47 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #19 on: March 08, 2009, 12:12:29 AM »
term limits may solve that problem, the issue may be constitutional rather than political.
aaappppsss....now we talkin

and WHO pray tell should be the one initiating that change
The PM (of the party in power)
so it returns back to him, or I should say his office.
The ruling PM should change that rule and I dont think ANY PM of TnT has the constitution, physical more than legal, to change that in a hurry

Quagmire, tell him nuh
dis cussing getting real tiring

what tiring is yuh pussy whining all de time..grow some balls man...like your shriel up in dat cold or what?

So f**king long yuh know me and yuh still taking that shit personally....?  Yuh red howler monkey you

Quagmire me eh cussing you breds..sorry...I eh eat dinner

« Reply #20 on: March 08, 2009, 12:16:44 AM »
eh eh West Coast I eh respond properly to yuh real questions. The PM has no power to change any rule, the Parliament have to do dat.  He could bring ah resolution/bill doh, but me eh see he doing dat...he like all de rest ah dem politicos only want power

« Reply #21 on: March 08, 2009, 12:25:09 AM »
Yep your right ...its a constitutional thing ,thems the rules they playing with .
Fresh blood  ,is always good for what ails doh.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2009, 12:27:34 AM by Quagmire »

« Reply #22 on: March 08, 2009, 01:49:29 AM »
TERM LIMITS. 2 five yrs and out. The way the constution is set the PM will never groom someone to be an effective deputy. He wants a yes man. When Rowley challenge him he use his power to put him in the dog-house. Right now Rowley seems like the most effective leader to replace Patrick. He is not perfect.  he can do no worse than Patrick.

« Reply #23 on: March 08, 2009, 02:24:07 AM »

But why term limits ?

Granted that to some small extent events might catapult some unknown into the political limelight but whenever that has happened in the past it has been shortlived.
If men like Williams, Panday and Manning could gain leadership and hold own to a base even when they do things that would make any normal man cringe , that to me is a sign of greatness or maybe the rest just ent good enough.
No PM or political leader going to hand over power to the next man or woman because we want it, no the next man or woman have to dig and fight in the trenchs and oust the leader, the fact that all who have tried before have failed suggests to me that they are weaker and as a consequence would probably be even worse leaders.

« Reply #24 on: March 08, 2009, 11:18:09 AM »

But why term limits ?

Granted that to some small extent events might catapult some unknown into the political limelight but whenever that has happened in the past it has been shortlived.
If men like Williams, Panday and Manning could gain leadership and hold own to a base even when they do things that would make any normal man cringe , that to me is a sign of greatness or maybe the rest just ent good enough.
No PM or political leader going to hand over power to the next man or woman because we want it, no the next man or woman have to dig and fight in the trenchs and oust the leader, the fact that all who have tried before have failed suggests to me that they are weaker and as a consequence would probably be even worse leaders.

sometimes a man may not want to expose his family to politics, he may be a great leader but decided to choose family and life over politics with all its negativity.
Bigger men know when to say enough is enough.

Politicans around the world should all take a page out of George Washington's book, he was a man who knew how to use power wisely and he knew most importantly when to relinquish it.

« Reply #25 on: March 08, 2009, 11:53:13 AM »

But why term limits ?

sometimes a man may not want to expose his family to politics, he may be a great leader but decided to choose family and life over politics with all its negativity.

Politicans around the world should all take a page out of George Washington's book, he was a man who knew how to use power wisely and he knew most importantly when to relinquish it.
Yeh but that is not the case in our lil republic.
Fact is we faced with bragabonds and meglamaniacs striving for power in  a lil backyard island that most of the world dont know about

« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2009, 03:46:45 PM »
dont hold your breath, term limits not even a topic of discussion for any of those politicians, they want office for life and even if they groom any of those youths, the youths will want the same transition into office. doh get tie up

« Reply #27 on: March 08, 2009, 04:29:09 PM »

But why term limits ?

share de wealth,give other people ah chance to tief.

« Reply #28 on: March 08, 2009, 11:32:38 PM »
Mannings said "Vision 20/20" so he expects he go be in office through 2020 ;D

« Reply #29 on: March 09, 2009, 08:24:09 AM »
Breds them polytricksions doing what they want because the people allowing them to do what ever the want for example Rowley in the PNM you must not oppose you must go along .and to make it worst we dont have ah opposition so the coo coo cook , as iwah say do wah yuh want