April 28, 2024, 09:31:14 PM

Author Topic: CAUGHT? Finance Minister closed two US$ accounts in CIB last December  (Read 21888 times)

Re: CAUGHT? Finance Minister closed two US$ accounts in CIB last December
« Reply #60 on: March 15, 2009, 08:10:45 AM »
Duprey: Out of time; out of cash
Anthony Wilson | 9:37 pm
Published: March 14th, 2009

Karen Nunez-Tesheira Finance Minister and lawrence
duprey CL Financial Chairman
Anthony Wilson | 9:37 pm

In his 21 years as chairman of Clico and later CL Financial, Lawrence Duprey had never been faced with a problem he could not out manoeuvre. He had used an entrepreneur’s luck to build an empire with global reach; and with over $100 billion in assets at the end of 2007, Lawrence Duprey had taken CL Financial, the privately held holding company for the assets that Clico spawned, to heights the founder of the insurance company, his uncle Cyril Duprey, would not have imagined.

His luck ran out early in January, when reports began coming in that Clico, one of the empire’s money machines, had developed a deficit in its statutory fund that amounted to a staggering $5 billion—much larger than the normal year-end deficits ever experienced by the company, which had become accustomed to eleventh-hour pledges of assets to appease anxious regulators.

Along with the deficit, the group also faced unusually heavy demands for cash by customers of its local financial subsidiaries—Clico, CMMB, Clico Investment Bank (CIB) and British American Insurance Company. These demands had left CIB unable to meet requests for US dollars made by some of its larger institutional investors who were no longer interested in rolling over their deposits at the House on the Corner.

“In early January, requests were made for withdrawals from all four of the financial subsidiaries, which could not have been met on time and, therefore, talk of this inability was spreading outside of the group,” one insider said, referring to e-mail sent by a former Clico employer, whose online tag was Trini Whistleblower, which had been passed on to the regulators at the Central Bank. By January 12, the game was almost up. Duprey sought a meeting with Central Bank Governor Ewart Williams, at which he let the former top official at the International Monetary Fund know just how bad things were within the CL Financial empire.

At that meeting, Duprey made the first request for financial support in the form of a loan to meet the mounting liquidity challenges facing the group. Duprey followed up with a letter, in which he outlined what he had discussed in the meeting. Williams informed the Minister of Finance, Karen Tesheira, on January 14. Sources said that both the regulators and top officials at CL Financial then engaged in planning and strategy meetings, among themselves and with the other side, as both teams realised that time was of the essence before the trickle of news of the dire financial state of CL Financial’s four local financial subsidiaries turned into a flood that would have caused a massive run on T&T’s financial institutions.

In the week that followed, the Governor and the Inspector of Financial Institutions, Carl Hiralal, held a number of meetings with CL Financial officials as the regulators wanted to understand the extent of the statutory fund deficit and overdue deposits that could not be settled. That culminated in a meeting on January 23, at the Ministry of Finance. The meeting took place at the minister’s eighth-storey office. It started at about 3.30 and went on for 90 minutes. At the meeting with the minister were the ministry’s permanent secretary Alison Lewis and three executives from CL Financial: Ram Ramesh, Michael Carballo and Carlos John.

That meeting, described as the first time the minister met face-to-face with the CL Financial officials,
discussed the state of play within CL Financial group. When Tesheira realised how serious a matter this was, she decided to schedule a meeting the following Saturday. That meeting, which was described as cordial but serious, went on well into Saturday afternoon and included, for the first time, attorneys from the Central Bank. It was at that meeting that Tesheira and Williams decided that the CL Financial group would receive government support, the sources said. But Tesheira, who is now fighting for her political life amid allegations of conflict of interest, was insistent that before the Government committed money to bail out CL Financial, it had to hear from Duprey directly whether he was prepared to pump the equity into the beleaguered companies in order to solve the liquidity and statutory fund deficits.

One of the CL Financial executives called Duprey in New York and told him that his absence would have been a deal-breaker. Realising the gravity of the situation, Duprey caught the Caribbean Airlines midnight flight and landed at Piarco just after dawn on Sunday morning. “He almost went straight to minister’s office. At the Sunday morning meeting, Duprey was asked if he had he liquid resources in order to save the group. He said he did not,” said the sources. At the meeting, Duprey got a brainwave: he would call up his old lieutenant, Andre Monteil, because this situation needed political support at the highest level—support that could not be provided by Duprey, who had admitted, under oath, to providing a scholarship to the wife of then Prime Minister Basdeo Panday for the education of their daughters.

When did the minister withdraw her funds again?  I am not certain, but was it BEFORE or after the disclosures wre made concerning the lack of liquidity by CL?

« Reply #61 on: March 15, 2009, 09:59:36 AM »
Letter to the Editor in Sunday Express...

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161452170

Moses for Finance Minister

Sunday, March 15th 2009

There is a young man who does odd jobs around the neighbourhood. Let us call him Moses.

One evening, Moses stopped me and said,

"Boss, ah want to aks you something. Ah have a lil change in Republic Bank on a fix deposit. It go up in June and with all this CLICO and Republic Bank business, ah was wondering if ah should break it and take out mih money."

It turned out that Moses had put $10,000 in a fixed deposit in June 2007 for one year.

It had matured in June 2008 and he had "rolled over" the capital and interest for another year.

He was now contemplating whether to break it and suffer the penalty of reduced interest.

I was impressed.

He, Moses, who had never seen the inside of a school since he was eight, was quite au courant with the esoteric knowledge needed to manage his fixed deposit.

I have an idea. If the portfolio of Finance Minister ever becomes vacant, I would recommend Moses to the Prime Minister for the post.

At least he understands how fixed deposits work.

Noel Kalicharan

AH LOVE IT!!....is "Fools is what dey take we for"......
« Last Edit: March 15, 2009, 10:55:52 AM by Brownsugar »

« Reply #62 on: March 15, 2009, 04:15:42 PM »
Karen's dilemma

Raffique Shah

Sunday, March 15th 2009

WHEN she entered the political arena and accepted the Cabinet position of Minister of Finance, Karen Nunez-Tesheira must have been familiar with the adage, "In politics, perception is reality." She would also have been aware that politics exposes office holders to intense scrutiny, and more than that, all politicians are presumed to be corrupt and liars unless or until they prove otherwise. In other words, politics is downright dirty business.

She chose to leave the safe haven of academia where she is said to have been doing well. Had she remained an obscure professional, it would not have mattered if she'd had $20 million in Clico or $100 million with CIB. But as Minister of Finance, she's in a different mud-fight, one in which there are no rules. Like Caesar's wife, she must be above suspicion. It matters not that many among her accusers are guilty of sins or crimes worse than what they allege she has committed.

In the wake of the CL Financial debacle, her integrity and character are being questioned, if not already destroyed. Of course she helped when, unwittingly or otherwise, she spun a web of contradictions that only fuelled the fire and brimstone directed at her.

First, she claimed to have forgotten about the shares bequeathed her by her late husband, Russel. Maybe, for someone who has multiple investments, 10,000-odd shares in a company like Clico could be easily forgotten. Basdeo Panday forgot a minor million-dollar joint-account he held with his wife in some bank in the UK. It's a problem the wealthy face. You and I, the average pauper with one account, we know exactly how many pennies are held in it. The bank takes four dollars for an ATM transaction, you pick that up.

Minister Tesheira fell flat on her face was when she withdrew some petty sums she had invested in CIB, that on the eve of Lawrence Duprey's appeal to Government for a "bailout" of CL Financial. She claimed to have known nothing of CL's precarious position when she made the withdrawal. Maybe she didn't. That would be strange, though, since, for some years now people-in-the-know have been whispering about Duprey's dilemma.

Ramesh Maharaj claims he reported Clico's delinquency in meeting its statutory requirements before the UNC Cabinet well before the year 2000. The ex-AG said his concerns were dismissed by his colleagues, who would have included at the time Kamla, Mark, Partap and Gopeesingh, to name a few.

Why did the UNC Government not act on the information and save Duprey and Clico from themselves? Of course, when you talk Clico, you are also talking billions in workers' pension funds. Surely that should have alarmed a Cabinet that came from the bowels of the labour movement. Clearly it did not. If Ramesh is telling the truth, then this sorry mess that sees billions-of-taxpayers'-dollars being ploughed into CL might have been averted. But they failed to act, leaving a small wound to fester until gangrene set in. So the putrid mess was left for Karen to clean up, and based on documented reports in the media, she made sure she secured her "kakada" before CL caved in.

If her flight from CIB is found to be based on "insider information", then the Minister may well come under investigation by the Integrity Commission and the Fraud Squad. To put it brutally, Karen can be hauled before the courts the same way Brian Kuei Tung, Finbar Gangar and Carlos John have been. She could be handcuffed, frog-marched through the city streets and held in the "pen" with dangerous criminals before being brought before a magistrate. I don't want to frighten the lady, but it is a grim prospect that she faces.

Whatever their political differences, she'd probably want to chat with Oma to prepare for such experience. Of course if she has connections, she could well get heavyweights like Duprey testify in court that she did nothing wrong. He has already said as much in a newspaper interview. But would he defend Karen in court the way he defended Panday and Oma? Then, the CL boss swore that Oma went to him seeking a petty $1 million to pay for her children's education in England, and he obliged. Nothing sinister in that.

Should Karen find herself in a fix, Duprey would rush to her rescue. Bear in mind the Minister's late husband, Russel Tesheira, a decent man by any standard, was a senior manager with Clico until his untimely passing. It was he who left her the shares she forgot she owned, and more than likely she would have chosen to invest in CIB because of that connection. So should the baying hounds nipping at Karen's heels get their wish-to see her arrested and hauled before the courts-she may have a "get out of jail" card in the person of Duprey.

What this situation exposes is that irregularities, if not outright corruption, are par for the course in politics, matters not which party is in power. Yesterday, Duprey defended Oma and ex-UNC-PM Panday. Tomorrow he would easily do the same for the PNM's Nunez-Tesheira. The poor? They are shafted from all directions.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_opinion?id=161452176

Reasons why I consider Raffique Shah to be one of the most important uniquely talented individuals to come out of our nation in it's history.  Not just for his writing, but his social convictions and how he has allowed those principles to guide his actions the past 30-40 years.

« Reply #63 on: March 15, 2009, 04:40:57 PM »
nice one Mr Shah
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #64 on: March 15, 2009, 07:15:48 PM »
The poor? They are shafted from all directions.

:applause: :applause:
Well said Mr. Shah....I too have always liked his articles....

« Reply #65 on: March 15, 2009, 07:40:38 PM »
She claimed to have known nothing of CL's precarious position when she made the withdrawal. Maybe she didn't. That would be strange, though, since, for some years now people-in-the-know have been whispering about Duprey's dilemma.

So if it is strange for her not to have known about CL's troublesfor years, why did she wait until last December to make her withdrawal?  Wouldn't that have been foolhardy?  Wouldn't she had taken steps to remove her money earlier, as in much earlier?  And what of Central Bank Governor too?  I would imagine that he too would have bolted with his money way earlier too?

Makes no sense what Shah says there.  I too like him a lot, but I am unsure that he correct that she knew well in advance, too many other savvy investors got caught in this meltdown!

By the way, Karen should resign and take the pressure off the PNM and the PM.  She misstated  facts and the right thing to do is resign.

« Reply #66 on: March 15, 2009, 07:46:23 PM »
She claimed to have known nothing of CL's precarious position when she made the withdrawal. Maybe she didn't. That would be strange, though, since, for some years now people-in-the-know have been whispering about Duprey's dilemma.

So if it is strange for her not to have known about CL's troublesfor years, why did she wait until last December to make her withdrawal?  Wouldn't that have been foolhardy?  Wouldn't she had taken steps to remove her money earlier, as in much earlier?  And what of Central Bank Governor too?  I would imagine that he too would have bolted with his money way earlier too?

Makes no sense what Shah says there.  I too like him a lot, but I am unsure that he correct that she knew well in advance, too many other savvy investors got caught in this meltdown!

By the way, Karen should resign and take the pressure off the PNM and the PM.  She misstated  facts and the right thing to do is resign.

Make some kinda sense nah man... just because she didn't withdraw the funds sooner don't mean she didn't do so to cut her losses.  For one thing the scope of the global financial crisis didn't become crystallized until the last quarter of 2008, so even if she had knowledge "for years", it probably wasn't until last December that she felt compelled to do something to secure her investment.

« Reply #67 on: March 15, 2009, 08:10:39 PM »

Make some kinda sense nah man... just because she didn't withdraw the funds sooner don't mean she didn't do so to cut her losses.  For one thing the scope of the global financial crisis didn't become crystallized until the last quarter of 2008, so even if she had knowledge "for years", it probably wasn't until last December that she felt compelled to do something to secure her investment.

well bakes if you have money in an organization and YOU KNOW that they are in a precarious economic situation for years and you left your investment there then I feel that's not too smart.

CL apparently has been in deep shit way before the global financial crisis ever came into view...ent?

She should resign because she lied about the status of her deposit and it smacks of impropriety...did she really know beforehand?  I am unsure, because the meeting with the CL head took place in Jan, after she made her withdrawal.

If it is true she had knowledge beforehand then she should be jailed.

« Reply #68 on: March 15, 2009, 08:27:29 PM »
well bakes if you have money in an organization and YOU KNOW that they are in a precarious economic situation for years and you left your investment there then I feel that's not too smart.

CL apparently has been in deep shit way before the global financial crisis ever came into view...ent?

She should resign because she lied about the status of her deposit and it smacks of impropriety...did she really know beforehand?  I am unsure, because the meeting with the CL head took place in Jan, after she made her withdrawal.

Duprey had so much money and his empire was so large and profitable that it's quite possible that despite the 'whisperings', she underestimated just how precarious a situation CL was in.  As I said, I don't know... but maybe by the time December rolled around she finally started to realize the scope of the situation and decided to act.

I don't know that anything she did is necessarily illegal, so I dunno about all that jail talk.  Typically the prohibition against 'insider trading' applies to corporate officers acting upon information not available to the rest of the public.  It's usually much more difficult to prove that the average investor has access to such secret information.  Certainly there's the appearance of self-dealing on her part... that along with her overall lack of candor regarding other acts and conflicts is what justifies the call for her removal to me.

« Reply #69 on: March 15, 2009, 09:16:56 PM »

Duprey had so much money and his empire was so large and profitable that it's quite possible that despite the 'whisperings', she underestimated just how precarious a situation CL was in.  As I said, I don't know... but maybe by the time December rolled around she finally started to realize the scope of the situation and decided to act.

I don't know that anything she did is necessarily illegal, so I dunno about all that jail talk.  Typically the prohibition against 'insider trading' applies to corporate officers acting upon information not available to the rest of the public.  It's usually much more difficult to prove that the average investor has access to such secret information.  Certainly there's the appearance of self-dealing on her part... that along with her overall lack of candor regarding other acts and conflicts is what justifies the call for her removal to me.

Cool, but it seems to me that this man is the true criminal!  He seems to have been cooking the books, well indirectly, as captain of the ship he ahd to know what course it was on, and he misled investors and workers for quite sometime.  In many ways it seems like a kinda ponzi he was running.

Karen has to resign if she knew.

« Reply #70 on: March 15, 2009, 09:18:06 PM »
also, she is bound by the integrity act!  I have no clue what the penalties are for contavention of that act, but I remember Panday going to jail for something related to that act, albeit non disclosure of foreign accounts.

« Reply #71 on: March 15, 2009, 09:20:38 PM »
I camping with me sleeping bag and staying in front of the red house in protest until she resigns.  Who with me???  :P

« Reply #72 on: March 15, 2009, 09:22:29 PM »
I camping with me sleeping bag and staying in front of the red house in protest until she resigns.  Who with me???  :P

yuh is ah damn mad man...yuh dey with de vagrants and dem, be careful yuh eh end up in ah container house in St Anns!

« Reply #73 on: March 15, 2009, 09:26:02 PM »

yuh is ah damn mad man...yuh dey with de vagrants and dem, be careful yuh eh end up in ah container house in St Anns!
lol bad timing eh. they will lock me up for the summit, trying to hide meh from obama and the foreign press.

« Reply #74 on: March 16, 2009, 07:52:16 AM »
Karen responds tomorrow
Monday, March 16 2009

Minister of Finance Karen Nunez-Tesheira told Newsday yesterday that she would make a statement on Tuesday with respect to calls for her resignation and the many allegations concerning her role in Government’s multi-billion bailout of the CL Financial conglomerate.

The Minister, who is in Washington, DC on Government business was contacted by cellphone yesterday.

Asked to respond to calls by the UNCA Opposition that she should resign forthwith, she replied, “I don’t know anything about that.”

Asked if she would change her story about her CL Financial/ Clico Investment Bank shares and investments which are at the centre of the controversy, the minister replied, “I am here doing the Government’s work and that’s all I have to say now. I will make a statement on Tuesday.”

Nunez-Tesheira returns to Trinidad today to face not only demands for her to step down but also a motion of no confidence in her which was filed in the House of Representatives on Friday by Opposition member for Siparia, Kamla Persad-Bissessar.

Nunez-Tesheira also faces calls by the Opposition that she be investigated by the Director of Public Prosecutions, the Ag Commissioner of Police and the Fraud Squad. Calls for these investigations were also made by Persad-Bissessar.

Nunez-Tesheira has been at the centre of a controversy over her role in the CL Financial and Clico bailout, which included when and how much she knew about the financial state of the conglomerate and her alleged failure to disclose all the facts about her shareholding in CL Financial, even as she presided over the Government’s move to bail out the conglomerate.

Nunez-Tesheira has made several statements, some conflicting. She first stated that she withdrew money from CIB and Caribbean Money Market Brokers (CMMB) prior to the announcement of the conglomerate’s collapse. She said one account had matured on December 31, 2008, but it later emerged that she had broken two deposits which were due to mature not in December 2008, but April 2009. She also professed to have only “indirectly” known about CL Financial’s troubles when she withdrew her money.

It has also been alleged that her sister who is a banker had broken a TT$2 million deposit in CIB in their mother’s name weeks before the bailout decision.

The situation in which the Finance Minister finds herself was raised by reporters at last Thursday’s post cabinet briefing. Responses from at least two ministers were viewed as less than supportive of her.

Minister of Works, Colm Imbert described the controversy as a “complex matter” and said it was inappropriate for comments until the issues are resolved.

Energy Minister Conrad Enill tried to divert reporters’ attention to what he termed the benefits in the public’s interest of Government’s decision to bail out CL Financial.

Yesterday, from New York, the Finance Minister said she was meeting with rating agencies Moody’s and Standard and Poor’s as well as bond holders on the country’s financial position.

“I am doing Government’s business,” she said.

« Reply #75 on: March 16, 2009, 08:13:32 AM »
She needs to resign.

« Reply #76 on: March 16, 2009, 08:15:26 AM »

Another twist that might mitigate for or against Karen.

The financing contract for the 200 vehicles for the summit was given to CIB in November.

So the Ministry of Finance must not have had any doubts about the viability of CIB at that time so that means sometime between that and the full disclosure in January Karen would have found out, if it was before Dec 31st that she found out then she did what most people would do and take the money out, the ethicalthing to do would resign but who ever heard of a politician in Trinidad being ethical.

I suppose that raises another issue about insider trading and how our SEC laws work . Is it criminal what she did ? And TC is right Thorne also did remove money even if it was a penny he is just as wrong and should also face similar consequences.

What going to be the crisis this week to divert from this one ?

« Reply #77 on: March 16, 2009, 10:34:09 AM »

Another twist that might mitigate for or against Karen.

The financing contract for the 200 vehicles for the summit was given to CIB in November.

So the Ministry of Finance must not have had any doubts about the viability of CIB at that time so that means sometime between that and the full disclosure in January Karen would have found out, if it was before Dec 31st that she found out then she did what most people would do and take the money out, the ethicalthing to do would resign but who ever heard of a politician in Trinidad being ethical.

I suppose that raises another issue about insider trading and how our SEC laws work . Is it criminal what she did ? And TC is right Thorne also did remove money even if it was a penny he is just as wrong and should also face similar consequences.

What going to be the crisis this week to divert from this one ?

I hear you, but check this, isn't that just a case of government's lack of oversight?

Secondly, check the Hansard for her saying she only..as in ONLY taking it out after it had matured!

That is a serious breech there.

« Reply #78 on: March 16, 2009, 10:43:27 AM »
Was somebody on here against the resignation ... before they were unsure of the facts .... before the partisanship ... before they were against it?

« Reply #79 on: March 16, 2009, 12:03:41 PM »
Was somebody on here against the resignation ... before they were unsure of the facts .... before the partisanship ... before they were against it?

yeah fishes, I was NEVER against the resignation, as in never I was however playing de ass.

she going according to my sources within the party.

« Reply #80 on: March 16, 2009, 12:11:13 PM »

They were debating it in the ...parliament this morning.

I believe Kamla asked if the minister withdrew money from CIB in January...that sound like a new one to me.  I think the Minister wanted to reply in her wrap up where she wouldn't have to face more questions.

It will be on record for everybody to read soon.  I miss what the PM said    :whew:

« Reply #81 on: March 16, 2009, 12:22:13 PM »
see if she moved it in Dec BEFORE she was apprised of the situation den she kinda safe...if is in Jan she dead!

« Reply #82 on: March 16, 2009, 12:35:47 PM »
daiz ah martha stewart move. ;D

den she need to get lock up like martha

she go learn to make ah shank outta egg cartons

Ay Dutty...there is actually a player in the TnT U 20 team named Uriah Bentick. ;D  he is a pretty decent player too.

« Reply #83 on: March 16, 2009, 05:09:02 PM »

They were debating it in the ...parliament this morning.

I believe Kamla asked if the minister withdrew money from CIB in January...that sound like a new one to me.  I think the Minister wanted to reply in her wrap up where she wouldn't have to face more questions.

It will be on record for everybody to read soon.  I miss what the PM said    :whew:

I watching the news and like she coming back in the country tonight   :rotfl:
I was listening to 105.5 earlier today so maybe it was something from last week?  She supposed to be responding tomorrow so hopefully she address the timelines.

« Reply #84 on: March 17, 2009, 07:07:16 AM »
Louis Lee Singh say she should resign....Ladies, and Gentlemen of the jury, I rest my case.... ;D

is "Fools is wha dey take we for...."

« Reply #85 on: March 17, 2009, 07:08:56 AM »
She still in office......Ah say dis done already  :devil: :devil:

« Reply #86 on: March 17, 2009, 03:22:51 PM »
What she said today? :waiting:

« Reply #87 on: March 17, 2009, 04:42:51 PM »
 :yapping:She needs to resign.PNM yuh woss than ah dog with many fleas yuh vomit and eating it before any body see yuh pussy.

« Reply #88 on: March 17, 2009, 05:34:16 PM »
My beef with yuh smart ass is yuh always defending the PNM even when they doing shit yuh defending Martin Joseph like if he facking yuh (quote he is ah nice man ) check yuh self smart man faggot.

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #89 on: March 17, 2009, 06:01:36 PM »
What she said today? :waiting:

nothing...she wasn't in parliament...news said she was in a meeting concerning the VSEP  :thinking: