June 09, 2024, 09:30:37 AM

Author Topic: Manchester United V Liverpool.  (Read 13508 times)

Manchester United V Liverpool.
« on: March 12, 2009, 02:44:51 PM »
United favorites for Liverpool showdownAssociated Press

LONDON (AP) - Under normal circumstances, any team fresh from a 4-0 win over Real Madrid would be considered the favorite for its next match, but third-place Liverpool goes into Saturday's Premier League showdown at Manchester United seven points behind the leaders.

Barclays Premier League
Wed., Mar. 11
Fulham 1-2 Blackburn Recap
Sat., Mar. 14
Man United vs. Liverpool   
Arsenal vs. Blackburn   
Everton vs. Stoke City   
M'borough vs. Portsmouth   
Sunderland vs. Wigan   
Bolton vs. Fulham   
Hull City vs. Newcastle   
Sun., Mar. 15
Chelsea vs. Man City   
Aston Villa vs. Tottenham   
Mon., Mar. 16
West Ham vs. West Brom   
*Airs on FSC or Watch on demand
VIDEO: Highlights of every game. 
     Premier League Fantasy Challenge

Liverpool prepared for one of the most eagerly awaited fixtures of the season with an overpowering display against Madrid in the Champions League at Anfield on Tuesday, but their spluttering domestic form and an over-reliance on striker Fernando Torres and midfielder Steven Gerrard means United starts as the clear favorite.

United's prosaic progress to the quarterfinals of the Champions League with a 2-0 win over Inter Milan on Wednesday may work against Liverpool. Manager Alex Ferguson was incensed by the way senior players like Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes squandered possession against the Italians, and Liverpool can expect a reaction at Old Trafford.

"It was really reckless football and it allowed Inter Milan to get a grip of the game," Ferguson said. "From the middle of the first half to the end of the first half they (Inter) were the better team."

Nemanja Vidic, scorer of United's first goal, admitted the performance had been flawed.

"We're at home in front of our crowd and I hope we are going to be much better than we were against Inter," Vidic said. "We will definitely try to improve, to erase the mistakes we made and play better against Liverpool."

Vidic's partner in central defense, Rio Ferdinand, said he had been impressed by Liverpool's win over Madrid and feels that even if United wins Saturday it would be premature to write off the team's challenge.

"They've had a good week, getting a great result against Real Madrid," Ferdinand said. "People say, 'If you win this game, you win the league,' but it just continues until it's mathematically over and one team wins it, and hopefully that will be us.

"If we win, it will obviously make it hard for them but I couldn't care what happens to Liverpool as long as we beat them. If we do that and that leads to people thinking they're out of it, then so be it."

Liverpool has taken four points from its last three league games, but the team should at least provide United with a stiffer test than it did in the corresponding fixture last season, when the Reds slipped to a 3-0 loss after Javier Mascherano was sent off.

Torres and Gerrard have scored 17 league goals between them this season, while the rest of the squad has combined for just 25.

Both should be fit, although Torres needed a painkilling injection to play against Madrid.

Premier League on FSC
 Sat., Mar. 14, 11 a.m. (LIVE) -
   Everton vs. Stoke City
 Sat., Mar. 14, 5:30 p.m. -
   Hull City vs. Newcastle United
 Sat., Mar. 14, 7:30 p.m. -
   Bolton vs. Fulham
 Sun., Mar. 15, 12 p.m. (LIVE) -
   Aston Villa vs. Tottenham
 All times ET, subject to change. Full Schedule >
"I feel good," the Spaniard said. "My ankle felt a little painful in the second half against Real, but that doesn't matter for a match like this.

"We will work hard on the injury and train hard and I think I will be 100 percent for Saturday. It is a massive game that I hope to win because that will give us more chances in the league. We know it's very important to win there, if not they will be many points ahead."

Chelsea, second ahead of Liverpool on goal difference, hosts Manchester City on Sunday, looking for a fourth consecutive league win under temporary manager Guus Hiddink. Striker Didier Drogba's form has revived under Hiddink, but the key to the rest of their season could be Ghana midfielder Michael Essien, who marked his return to the starting lineup from injury with a goal in the Blues' 2-2 Champions League draw at Juventus on Tuesday.

City striker Robinho, openly courted by Chelsea last summer, should be fit for the game at Stamford Bridge provided he emerges unscathed from Thursday's UEFA cup match with Aalborg.

Aston Villa faces Tottenham Sunday looking to halt a slump in form that threatens its hold on fourth place - and with it the final Champions League qualification spot.

Villa has gone six games, in all competitions, without a win, but manager Martin O'Neill said his side is rejuvenated after a short break in the United Arab Emirates.

"We have trained and enjoyed some sun," he said. "The players now feel refreshed. It was vital to regroup, get ourselves together again and now we want to go out and win some games."

Fifth-place Arsenal is three points behind Villa and hosts Blackburn on Saturday, less than 72 hours after its victory on penalties over AS Roma.

The Gunners will recall Andrei Arshavin, who was ineligible for the Roma match.

Blackburn's confidence was boosted when it climbed out of the relegation zone with a 2-1 win at Fulham on Wednesday.

"It's a huge relief from a mental point of view," manager Sam Allardyce said. "Continuing to see yourselves in the bottom three doesn't help, even though you tell the players 'You can't look at the papers, stay away from them."'

There are two games between teams struggling to avoid relegation. Middlesbrough, in 19th place, hosts Portsmouth, which is one place and two points above in the table. Newcastle, which is above Portsmouth on goal difference, travels to Hull, four points ahead.

Newcastle captain Michael Owen will play some part in the game after two months out with ankle ligament damage.

In Saturday's other games, Everton hosts Stoke, Fulham travels to Bolton and Sunderland hosts Wigan.

Re: Manchester United V Liverpool.
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2009, 02:46:17 PM »
we lookin to extend de lead by 10 points now. ;D

« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 02:47:49 PM »
 :bringiton:

« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2009, 04:29:57 PM »
Big game

This is where Liverpool's "title challenge" will end

VDS

O'Shea
Rio
Vidic
Evra

Ronaldo
Carrick
Anderson
Park

Rooney
Tevez

3-0 ...thank you very much

« Last Edit: March 12, 2009, 04:35:18 PM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2009, 03:42:04 AM »
Wood...................10 clear on top..................Glory Glory Man United :devil: :devil:

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2009, 06:44:52 AM »
 :thumbsup: :wavetowel:

« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2009, 07:13:16 AM »
hello, excuse me waiter
drinks for all ;D

ManU go buss dem (hope swan dive boy ent playin  :devil: )
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2009, 07:33:45 AM »
was lookin tru de tv guide,eh see nutten,it showin?

« Reply #8 on: March 13, 2009, 07:55:20 AM »
Should be on saturday?

« Reply #9 on: March 13, 2009, 07:56:00 AM »
Allyuh goe ahead and gallery.....doe frighten

Laws of physics say...what goes up must come ......? DOWN

« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2009, 07:57:55 AM »
Allyuh goe ahead and gallery.....doe frighten

Laws of physics say...what goes up must come ......? DOWN

that only applies to an erection or ah ball.not manchester united.

« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2009, 08:00:34 AM »
that only applies to an erection or ah ball.not manchester united.

Nice comeback.... ;D

« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2009, 08:03:46 AM »
Should be on saturday?

8:45am on Setanta, Saturday morning!

« Reply #13 on: March 13, 2009, 08:15:28 AM »

that being said

ManU have this one in the bag.

A good as Liverpool was against Real (it pains me to say), ManU have them beaten mentally.

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #14 on: March 13, 2009, 10:30:49 AM »
anybody know if this game coming on Direct TV
OLE MAN U...

« Reply #15 on: March 13, 2009, 07:08:35 PM »
Benitez Aiming For 100th Liverpool League Win Against Manchester United

Liverpool manager Rafa Benitez could record the 100th league victory of his time as manager at the club, if his team can overcome the formidable obstacle of Manchester United tomorrow lunchtime at Old Trafford.

However, the Spaniard was unconcerned about the widely documented statistics earlier, whilst speaking to The Liverpool Echo, and instead urged observers to focus on the collective achievements of the club, rather than any of his personal milestones.

"I was not aware of this statistic but it does prove that the club is going in the right direction," he said. "You cannot sustain a statistic like this unless you have good players so it is a great credit to the squad.

"If we win at Old Trafford it would be good for the statistics but the statistic which matters most is the points that you have in the league table and we want more than we have right now – this is the most important thing for us. We know that we can win against any team if we play to our capabilities so this is what we must try to do.

"We had a very good result in the Champions League on Tuesday night and now we must take the belief from our performance against Real Madrid into this match with Manchester United."

Tomorrow will be Benitez's 181st league match in charge of Liverpool, and should he reach a ton of victories against United then he will be the third fastest Anfield manager to reach such a total, his record only being bettered by Kenny Dalglish and Bob Paisley.

Alex Ferguson took 231 matches to reach a hundred victories at the beginning of his lengthy tenure at Old Trafford, in comparison.

However, Benitez clearly feels such statistics are a little spurious in the context of such a vital fixture, especially as defeat really would signal the end of Liverpool's fragile title hopes.

"If we win then we can still think about the title; if you cannot do that it will be almost impossible to win the title. But we feel we are still in a fantastic position, much better than last season," he concluded.

« Reply #16 on: March 13, 2009, 08:13:01 PM »
fat man will have to wait another week fuh that.

« Reply #17 on: March 14, 2009, 06:04:52 AM »
I picked the actual XI  ;D

Official Utd Squad:

VDS

O'Shea
Ferdinand
Vidic
Evra

Ronaldo
Carrick
Anderson
Park

Tevez
Rooney

Subs:

Foster
Evans
Fletcher
Giggs
Scholes
Nani
Berbatov

Scousers:

Riena, Arbeloa, Carragher, Skrtl, Aurelio, Masc, Lucas, Kuyt, Gerrard, Riera, Torres

« Reply #18 on: March 14, 2009, 06:11:36 AM »
If there was ever a time for Lucas to prove that he isn't utter sh*t (because that's what he HAS been this season), this is it.  :beermug:

Riera and Kuyt need to have the match of their lives...

« Reply #19 on: March 14, 2009, 06:35:42 AM »
Fellas, any live internet link for this one?  Please

« Reply #20 on: March 14, 2009, 06:38:51 AM »

« Reply #21 on: March 14, 2009, 07:15:19 AM »
1 NIL MAN UTD , RONALDO

« Reply #22 on: March 14, 2009, 07:19:16 AM »
FACK  :(

« Reply #23 on: March 14, 2009, 07:24:25 AM »
Torres loving playing against Vidic and Ferdinand..best center forward in Europe...if even, only half fit

« Reply #24 on: March 14, 2009, 07:40:21 AM »
ah jez reach
HT :o
ok come out firing on all cylindrs in the second half Shrek
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #25 on: March 14, 2009, 07:42:04 AM »
any working sopcast links available?

« Reply #26 on: March 14, 2009, 07:42:26 AM »
Good half....definitely the two best teams in the EPL ;)

« Reply #27 on: March 14, 2009, 07:43:34 AM »

try this:  atdhe.net

« Reply #28 on: March 14, 2009, 07:45:41 AM »

try this:  atdhe.net

you have a link or channel number for that?

myp2p saying the sopcast channel offline.

« Reply #29 on: March 14, 2009, 07:46:17 AM »