April 29, 2024, 08:59:54 AM

Author Topic: 10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare  (Read 1418 times)

10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
« on: March 13, 2009, 08:01:53 AM »
10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
Staffers mistook liquid for Kool-Aid, Arkansas officials say

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. - Hospital officials say 10 children drank windshield wiper fluid after a staffer at Arkansas daycare center mistook the liquid for Kool-Aid.

Laura James, a pediatric pharmacologist and toxicologist at Arkansas Children's Hospital, tell The Associated Press that the daycare staffer put the windshield wiper fluid in a refrigerator by accident after a shopping trip.

James says doctors estimate the children, ages 2 to 7, each drank about an ounce of the fluid before realizing what it was Thursday afternoon.

Hilary DeMillo, a hospital spokeswoman, says one child remained hospitalized Friday. James says the child had high levels of methanol in blood samples, which can cause blindness.

Julie Munsell, a spokeswoman for the state Department of Human Services, says child welfare officials planned to visit the community daycare Friday. Munsell did not know the name of the daycare.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Re: 10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 09:37:18 AM »
they would have to lock me up.

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2009, 01:54:24 PM »
 >:(  No wonder is Arkansas.  Yuh have to be real stupid to mix that up. 

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2009, 03:24:41 PM »
>:(  No wonder is Arkansas.  Yuh have to be real stupid to mix that up. 

depends on how it's labeled with all those crazy colors they make 'fruit punch' now - blue, etc.

« Last Edit: March 13, 2009, 03:28:18 PM by E-man »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2009, 05:02:04 PM »
...and a bar of soap can look like a white chocolate bar
and a squirrel turd can look like a raisin...

...in a daycare of all places, I would like to think that the personnel can read...and smell...

« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2009, 05:30:31 PM »
That happen to me in the late 80's when i visited NY. My mother see a 3-liter soda bottle shaped container and thought it was some kinda American blue soda.  Give it to me and my siblings. When it was detergent  :rotfl:  I still dont know how my stomach digest it.Thank god I can laugh at it now today because i could of been dead while she would of gotten lock up.

« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2009, 07:24:27 PM »
That happen to me in the late 80's when i visited NY. My mother see a 3-liter soda bottle shaped container and thought it was some kinda American blue soda.  Give it to me and my siblings. When it was detergent  :rotfl:  I still dont know how my stomach digest it.Thank god I can laugh at it now today because i could of been dead while she would of gotten lock up.
yuh have corbeaux guts.

« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2009, 09:04:47 PM »
something in this story ent sounding right
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2009, 07:36:23 AM »

sounds a little deliberate yuh thinking?

« Reply #9 on: March 14, 2009, 07:51:13 AM »

sounds a little deliberate yuh thinking?
I find so
mad people EVERYWHERE

but to see some of the containers that Eman posted, the operators needed to store the stuff better if that is the real case.

having said that,   reading a label goes a long way not so
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.