April 27, 2024, 04:39:09 AM

Author Topic: TFC Academy's McLeod selected by T&T.  (Read 2597 times)

TFC Academy's McLeod selected by T&T.
« on: March 17, 2009, 07:17:17 PM »
McLeod selected by Trinidad and Tobago.
Toronto FC Media Relations.

Midfielder gets call for international training camp

TFC Academy's Ryan McLeod has been selected by Trinidad and Tobago to take part in a training camp in preparation for U-17 World Cup qualifying matches in Mexico next month. The attacking midfielder will train with Trinidad and Tobago this week.

"It's fantastic recognition for the player and for TFC Academy," said TFC Academy Senior Team Head Coach Jason Bent. "Ryan is a very good technical player. He's not the biggest boy but he still battles with players and has a physical side to his game."

"There is no bigger honor than to play for your country. He has been called up twice before so he has obviously impressed their staff and he has done well to be there. Getting exposure will not only benefit his own career but will help the development of TFC Academy," said Bent.

Academy Senior Team head coach Jason Bent is pleased with Ryan McLeod's call-up. (Toronto FC)
« Last Edit: March 18, 2009, 04:12:15 AM by Flex »

Re: TFC Academy's McLeod selected by Trinidad and Tobago
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2009, 07:33:46 PM »
Hopefully he has a heart, soul and a real man other than Maund, he father and Williams  ;D

« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2009, 08:28:43 PM »
to whom it may concern: we also have another player on the TFC Academy senior. One of the small men(at the time, Dominic, the younger one) from our TO fete match couple years back. Starts/Plays Left Back. Has been with them since U16. Recently has been awarded scholarship...All the best Dom.

« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2009, 02:02:55 AM »
send more ah dem to the USA

Re: TFC Academy's McLeod selected by T&T.
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2009, 05:02:18 AM »
How that man resemble TI so...

« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2009, 05:51:45 AM »
Ah remember seeing Jason Bent on ah plane back in 2000 after we duss out Canada 4-0 in de Oval. If yuh see how sour de fella was lookin  :devil:. He had locks back den.

« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2009, 05:55:02 AM »
to whom it may concern: we also have another player on the TFC Academy senior. One of the small men(at the time, Dominic, the younger one) from our TO fete match couple years back. Starts/Plays Left Back. Has been with them since U16. Recently has been awarded scholarship...All the best Dom.

Is he related to dane roberts

« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2009, 08:11:40 AM »
What about Marcus Marshall, he does play for Toronto FC also, or use to. He is Trini.

Playing for City helps dream of pros

MIKE DAVIES

Saturday, July 14, 2007

Sports - Marcus Marshall's dream to play pro soccer started in Trinidad and Tobago and has brought him to Peterborough.

The 23-year-old Trinidad native scored a pair of goals to lift Peterborough Rayco City men's side to a 4-0 win over Homenetmen in OSL Central East Regional play at Eastgate Memorial Park last night. After playing college soccer in his homeland, Marshall came to Canada five years ago to pursue a pro soccer career. He was in his second year with the CPSL's Durham Storm when a detour was thrown into his path.

Financial troubles consumed the team and Marshall said he left when he stopped getting paid. He believed it was the end of his dream.

He currently lives in Toronto where he works as a soccer specialist rep for Nike. He says his soccer dream was reinvigorated when he met City head coach Matt Thomas at a soccer academy. Thomas convinced Marshall to try out in Peterborough and get himself back pursuing his dream.

"Coach Matt's style of coaching and what he's looking for inspired me," Marshall said, "because after the situation in Durham, I was really discouraged as far as professional soccer went. It really put me down a bit and put me off playing professionally or competitively again. I think coach Matt and coach Claude (Bolton) were really inspirational in reviving me."

Marshall expects to spend the entire season with City and hopes his play will attract some pro opportunities. He says Thomas and Bolton are trying to use connections in the soccer world to open some doors for him.

"I'm still young and I'm looking on to bigger and better things as far as soccer goes," he said.

Marshall says he doesn't mind the sacrifice of commuting to practices and games because he likes the City program.

"The setup in Peterborough, the management, the facilities, everything is so professional," he said. "It's really what I'm used to as a professional player."

Marshall, like the City team, had been in a bit of a slump in recent weeks so he was glad to break out with a couple of goals. It was City's first win in four league games, improving their record to three wins, four losses and one tie.

Marshall entered the game with three goals and although Homenetmen are tied for last with an 0-7 record, he said it boosted his confidence to score.

"I might have a good game and do everything coach Matt or coach Claude might want me to do but a striker's role, as I know it, is to score goals and create chances and I haven't done that in about four games now. It's definitely a big confidence booster for me," he said.

It was the first game he's felt 100 per cent after injuring his calf four games earlier.

"It's been kind of affecting my performances," he said. "I haven't been at full strength but I've been pushing it wanting to go out there and support my teammates in any way I can. I'm not making any excuses but that's definitely been a factor. The week off we got definitely helped. I was able to get some rest in and therapy."

Mark Van Beek and Matt Penello also scored for City. Keeper Navi Sidhu picked up his league leading third shutout.

City's next game is Friday in Toronto against Olympic Flame. Next home game is 8:30 p.m. July 27 against USC Karpaty
« Last Edit: March 19, 2009, 08:17:40 AM by Sam »

« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2009, 08:25:47 AM »

Is he related to dane roberts
brother

« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2009, 08:47:20 AM »
Who is dane roberts ?

Palos, I remember Jason Bent, a short dread who collect nuff beat from Dwarika and Latapy in de 2001 WC qualifiers.

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2009, 08:56:33 AM »
Why? Eh big mag, why? Why we should send more of them to de US? Just curious
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2009, 11:16:24 AM »
Who is dane roberts ?

Palos, I remember Jason Bent, a short dread who collect nuff beat from Dwarika and Latapy in de 2001 WC qualifiers.

A player at furman look his profile

http://www.furmanpaladins.com/sports/m-soccer/mtt/roberts_dane00.html

« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2009, 02:19:31 PM »
Jason Bent sound like the soca man who sang the boat ride anthem

« Last Edit: March 21, 2009, 08:35:09 AM by Trini _2010 »