April 27, 2024, 12:16:11 AM

Author Topic: Money for Sport in Budget?  (Read 2355 times)

Money for Sport in Budget?
« on: September 28, 2005, 06:08:10 PM »
How much sport get out of the budget?

Is sport/football salting or getting support this rounds?
« Last Edit: September 28, 2005, 07:42:09 PM by Tallman »

Offline BigToe

• Laaaaard, ah cyan take it no more
Re: Money for Sport in Budget?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2005, 10:32:40 PM »
Did not see a number for sport?

But, the ministry of     INsecurity got $2992.7 million"

« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2005, 09:21:36 AM »
Did not see a number for sport?

But, the ministry of     INsecurity got $2992.7 million"
Which is more important Sports or Security,don't you think this money will make them more secure than insecure. 

« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2005, 09:32:58 AM »
[   INsecurity got $2992.7 million"

Coops wais dah ???

Offline BigToe

« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2005, 09:42:47 AM »

Which is more important Sports or Security,don't you think this money will make them more secure than insecure. 

Security is far more important and you may have missed my point. I was not comparing security vs. sport.

Further, I am not sure of your question. However, given the government's past and present performance..the money allocated to security will not make a difference. If you put a blind man behind the wheel of a Ferrari...enough said. The minister of national insecurity and other govt officials are all inept and the corruption is widespread. So, until suitable leaders are in place and an enema is administered, it does not matter how much money is allocated to security.

« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2005, 09:47:55 AM »

Coops wais dah ???
I'm just looking at the situation in the country with crime etc ppl crying the government not doing anything,i just think this could be a start in the right direction,i did not mean they should forget sports because i wish that money could be spend on sports.

« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2005, 09:52:25 AM »

Coops wais dah ???
I'm just looking at the situation in the country with crime etc ppl crying the government not doing anything,i just think this could be a start in the right direction,i did not mean they should forget sports because i wish that money could be spend on sports.

Throwing a lot of money at a problem seldom SOLVES the problem.  T&T Governments in the past have done that many times to different areas INCLUDING security.  Despite that we in the situation that exists today.  BigToe's "Ferrari" analogy is quite applicable here.

« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2005, 09:55:27 AM »

Security is far more important and you may have missed my point. I was not comparing security vs. sport.

Further, I am not sure of your question. However, given the government's past and present performance..the money allocated to security will not make a difference. If you put a blind man behind the wheel of a Ferrari...enough said. The minister of national insecurity and other govt officials are all inept and the corruption is widespread. So, until suitable leaders are in place and an enema is administered, it does not matter how much money is allocated to security.

Well said, you are right,any where money is spend is the same thing.When i listen to ppl sometimes it seems to me like they feel is only in T&T this happens,coruption is worldwide tell me a Government that isn't corupt.

« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2005, 09:59:24 AM »
they say something about a $120 something million going to sports in the form of upgrading all types of facilities all over the country, football pitches, recreation grounds etc etc, sound like a community thing.
That is good, but I aint get details about actual money for each sporting association.

As for the money to sports vs security, of course security is more important than sport. But yuh cant cut back money on sport at all, is an investment, not tangible like security.
Yuh could put a price on Darrel Brown winning olympic medals and bringing pride? Or Warriors going a WC?
Somethings yuh jus have to spend big money on for society, sport is one of them.

I personally fine more money should be put in sport.

« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2005, 10:44:16 AM »
We have plenty money going into sport.....850 million going down to Tarouba. :rotfl:

Offline BigToe

« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2005, 10:58:55 AM »

Well said, you are right,any where money is spend is the same thing.When i listen to ppl sometimes it seems to me like they feel is only in T&T this happens,coruption is worldwide tell me a Government that isn't corupt.

You are correct. Most government officials are corrupt. But, if you look at another oil rich nation. Say Saudi Arabia, they are as corrupt as any other counrty but the muders per 1000 people is 0.00. It is not a matter of wealth or dollars allocated to security (Saudi Arabia may not be great example, but it gives you an idea). It all boils down to public policy and culture.

So far in 2005, T&T has had approximately 283 murders. If the murder rate continues, we will,  UNFORTUNATELY, have 373 murders for the year. They estimate the population of T&T is 1 million which is .373 murders per 1000 people. I am very proud when a Trini is internationally recognized. But, I can safely say, without a shadow of doubt, that I am not proud to see us 3rd in world in murders.

1. Colombia 0.61 per 1000 people  
2. South Africa 0.49 per 1000 people  
3. Jamaica 0.32 per 1000 people  
4. Venezuela 0.31 per 1000 people  

« Last Edit: September 29, 2005, 11:00:57 AM by BigToe »

Offline BigToe

« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2005, 10:59:34 AM »
We have plenty money going into sport.....850 million going down to Tarouba. :rotfl:

Actually, it's 850 million wasted in Torouba.

« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2005, 11:54:01 AM »
Aye Big Toe ah wouldn't call it wasted money is jes dat dey could ah spread it ah lil more. Cause we still getting state ah de art facilities and equipment dat is needed in the Island foir athletes.

I would still prefer dat it was spread out to all de communities across de Island and not just one complex. Ah guess dey jus wanted ah Stadia for Lara dais my only conclusion to de matter.

After writing dat ah starting to feel like is ah waste ah money in true....... ???

« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2005, 12:05:17 PM »

Dat 850 million is not for sport nah.
That is something separate....Construction firms go make mas on that.

But I hadda say the $100 million is a good move.
If they spend most of the money there in the communities and not put a significant amount for the sporting bodies to spend I cah complain PROVIDED they put their own community programs in place with the ASSISTANCE of the sporting bodies.

SO the money never have to reach the sporting bodies accounts.  Let the Ministry have oversight over the programs and pay the bills while the sporting bodies work with them on the format and scope of the programs.  If is just $100 million on infrustructure that might build a whole heap of facilities with no real programs going on unless they just tell the Local Governments and sporting bodies here....go do something with that new field.

« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2005, 01:15:50 PM »
Look the article for it

PRIME MINISTER Patrick Manning yesterday
announced an allocation of $100 million for
sports in the fiscal year 2005-2006.

The Prime Minister who is also Finance Minister
disclosed the news in his more than three-hour
Budget presentation to Parliament in the Red House in Port-of-Spain.

PM Manning revealed that the allocation will
target the upgrade of some 400 recreation grounds
throughout Trinidad and Tobago, including the Eddie Hart Savannah in Tacarigua.

Government has also planned upgrading works for
the Roland Pompey Recreation in Princes Town,
Irvin Park in San Fernando, Soogrin Trace
Recreation Ground in Laventille, the Charlieville
Recreation Ground, Patna Recreation Ground in
Diego Martin and the Lange Park Recreation Ground in Chaguanas.

PM Manning said his $100 million allocation will address this aspect of sports.

It was part of an interesting Budget
presentation, the theme of which was "Addressing
the Basic Needs of Trinidad and Tobago."

And Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Roger
Boynes said Government has already spent $120
million which is currently bearing fruits. He
noted an increase in the amount allotted for
sports — from $23 million last year to $120
million this year — shows the interest to enhance
the development of sports in the country.

Boynes explained that from this amount,
Government will also upgrade the Hasely Crawford
Stadium at Mucurapo which includes purchasing a
cover for the field, as well as the covering of
the adjoining Jean Pierre Complex.

Boynes predicted exciting times ahead for sports
in Trinidad and Tobago as Government will tackle
the development of communities throughout this country.

Chairman of the new National Sports Commission
Gerard Ferreira said he was delighted with the
amount given saying Government’s focus on
community building and development was long overdue.

He said the upgrade of the facilities will
coincide with a number of proposed programmes to
assist the overall development. According to
Ferreira, it included dealing with the training of coaches and administrators.

Ferreira said yesterday that a number of
programmes have already been put in place, and
they are expected to deal with the overall development of the individual.

However, former Minsiter of Sports in the United
National Congress administration Manohar Ramsaran
said yesterday Government’s allotment in the
2005/2006 Budget towards sports was not what he expected.

Ramsaran feels that more should have been done
for the preparation of facilities for the Cricket
World Cup in 2007 saying that he went to Guyana
on a cricket tour recently and was appalled to
see that the cricket grounds for the greatest
cricketing tournament in the world were near
readiness while Trinidad and Tobago was far
behind. He said that he didn’t feel money was the
problem but more so the will of the people in the
ministry to do what is necessary.

Ramsaran pointed out he has heard similar
presentations for the past two or three years and
slammed the sports ministry for poor performance
in delivering on its promises.

He in fact described the ministry’s delivery on
its promises as "deplorable" saying that a number
of facilities that were promised to be built and upgraded were never started.

Ramsaran said he did no know what criteria were
used for selecting the facilities to be upgraded, but said it was questionable.

He noted that the clubs that really contributed
to the development of cricket in the National
Cricket League were excluded, except for a
couple. Ramsaran feels that facilities which are
used for national league competitions, including
cricket and football, should have been considered.

He said Walker Park for instance had been
targeted for upgrade last year and to date nothing has been done.

He claimed that the $100 million had been too
much for the present ministry to handle, yet the
figure would have been too little for sport, under a different minister

« Reply #15 on: September 29, 2005, 02:41:15 PM »
college free now and dats what allyuh quarreling about. the only way out of our problems is through education >:(

« Reply #16 on: September 29, 2005, 09:48:18 PM »
not all college boss and even though he say dat i sure he really mean tution free man go still ha pay all kinda fees and wat nut