October 05, 2024, 03:05:59 PM

Author Topic: Tesla's Stunning Model S  (Read 2905 times)

Tesla's Stunning Model S
« on: March 27, 2009, 09:53:36 PM »
Tesla Debuts Model S, Hints of More
by Scott Martin on 27 March 2009, 16:43

Tesla Motors on Thursday took the wraps off its widely watched Model S, the lower-cost successor to its Roadster, giving a first glimpse of the all electric sedan and a hint of more cars to come.

Tesla's Model S was unveiled at the Hawthorne, California, rocket site of Mr. Musk’s other startup, Space Exploration Technologies, or SpaceX, where he announced the company is now taking orders for the car.

“Tesla is relentlessly driving down the cost of electric vehicle technology, and this is just the first of many mainstream cars we’re developing,” Mr. Musk said in a statement.

The lower-cost Model S, priced at $49,000 after a $7,500 federal tax credit, is hardly a budget-minded choice. Yet it comes as consumers cut back on luxury cars and the company clearly needs something more affordable than a $109,00 Roadster. Tesla has managed, despite delays, to deliver nearly 300 of the all electric Roadsters, which boast acceleration of 0 to 60 miles per hour in 3.9 seconds, and has about 1,000 people on its waiting list. Tesla said the Model S will go from 0 to 60 in just under six seconds.

Tesla is betting on battery performance making the difference. The company promises Model S cars can do 300 miles per charge compared with a Roadsters’ 244 miles per charge. The Model S will have an onboard charger that could allow the car to be charged up in as little as 45 minutes. Also, the electric vehicle’s battery has been given an easy access mount to the floor with the intention for it to be quickly replaced by a battery station.

The San Carlos, California, automaker said that its floor-mounted battery frees up additional storage, allowing for a second trunk in the front. Tesla claims this boosts its cargo space beyond any sedan on the market and most SUVs.

Tesla ambitions could go as planned, especially if gets some federal funds. The company has applied for a $350 million loan from the Department of Energy’s Advanced Technology Vehicle Manufacturing Program to build its Model S. The Model S is expected to go into production in late 2011.

The automaker “believes it is close to receiving $350 million,” the company said in the statement.

Tesla is backed by VantagePoint Venture Partners, Draper Fisher Jurvetson, JP Morgan's Bay Area Equity Fund, Google founders Larry Page and Sergey Brin, and Mr. Musk, among others.

Mr. Musk founded Zip2, which sold to Compaq for over $300 million, and later helped start PayPal, which sold to eBay for $1.5 billion. He has pumped $100 million of his own money into his SpaceX commercial space travel  startup.
http://www.redherring.com/Home/25973

Convenience and utility bullet points:

• Up to 300-mile range
• 45-minute QuickCharge
• 5-minute battery swap
• Charges from 110V, 220V or 440V
• Seating for 5 adults + 2 child seats
• Unique hatch for oversized items
• 60/40 flat-folding rear seat
• 2nd trunk under hood
• EPA Roominess Index 121.6
• More room than station wagons
• 17-inch infotainment touchscreen
• 3G wireless connectivity

Model S powertrain includes a liquid-cooled 9-inch motor, floor-mounted battery pack and a single-speed gearbox, delivering effortless acceleration, responsive handling and quiet simplicity — no fancy clutchwork or gear-shifting required. Model S costs as little as $4 to fully charge – a bargain even if gasoline dropped to $1 per gallon. You can have affordable fun while being socially responsible.

Technical specs:

• 0-60 mph in 5.6 seconds
• ¼ mile in 14 seconds
• 120 mph top speed
• Braking 60-0 mph 135 feet
• 42 kWh battery storage system standard
• 70 kWh and greater battery storage systems optional
• 9- inch liquid cooled electric motor
• Single-speed transaxle gearbox
• Curb Weight 3825 lbs
• Overall Length 196″
• Wheelbase 116.5″
• All-wheel-drive available (option available in future production models)
• Right hand drive available
http://www.autoguide.com/auto-news/2009/03/tesla-model-s-the-future-of-electric-cars-is-here-sort-of.html

http://blog.wired.com/cars/2009/03/first-look-of-t.html

more photos http://jalopnik.com/5185534/tesla-model-s-sedan-concept-first-official-pictures
« Last Edit: March 27, 2009, 10:06:10 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: Tesla's Stunning Model S
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 09:59:42 PM »
like de console. :beermug:

« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 10:07:45 PM »
oh gaaad ah want one , fleck gasoline this is the future

« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2009, 10:16:38 PM »
45 minute recharge
plug in while you stop to eat something...if you on a long run
you ent paying for gas in the future .............ever
I now spend about $100 per month on gas for three vehicles
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2009, 07:20:12 AM »
45 minute recharge

:o
i spending about $450 a month for 1 vehicle  :-\
-nice car.

« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2009, 07:48:14 AM »
45 minute recharge

like you driving one of these?

« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2009, 09:32:19 AM »
Dat is special, how inventive

« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2009, 09:42:38 AM »
If Mr Tesla was still alive , he would have that thing running on water ,or the drivers body  heat lol .
remember he made a light bulb that whan u hold it ,it glowed then lit up .
« Last Edit: March 28, 2009, 09:57:31 AM by Quagmire »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2009, 10:54:13 AM »
I don't like the back end - don't really like hatchback looking cars.
I could see me so busy playing with that console that I would be in a ditch or inside somebody back seat because I wasn't watching road.

Nice doh...

« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2009, 12:02:29 PM »
I don't like the back end - don't really like hatchback  looking cars.
I could see me so busy playing with that console that I would be in a ditch or inside somebody back seat because I wasn't watching road.

Nice doh...

Fastbacks... not a huge fan of them mihself.

« Reply #10 on: March 28, 2009, 07:07:58 PM »

yuh office next door to your house or wha?

« Reply #11 on: March 28, 2009, 07:34:39 PM »
ah was watchign Top Gear the other day and they had 2 Roadsters
the car obviously has fast accelaration and speed but the handling not good for a car that goes that fast
none of them got more than 50 miles per charge
and they say it take almost 16 hours to recharge

« Reply #12 on: March 29, 2009, 11:44:10 AM »

yuh office next door to your house or wha?
well my full size gets 18mpg and i drive 13 mins to work ,we hardly use it others wise
the tercel gets about 25mpg and we hardly drive it
and my prius gets 5.2L/100kms and its takes my wife 14 mins to get to work
« Last Edit: March 29, 2009, 11:46:49 AM by WestCoast »

Offline Bamboo Prince

« Reply #13 on: March 29, 2009, 02:10:04 PM »
ah was watchign Top Gear the other day and they had 2 Roadsters
the car obviously has fast accelaration and speed but the handling not good for a car that goes that fast
none of them got more than 50 miles per charge
and they say it take almost 16 hours to recharge

ah think that Top Gear had to make a apology in de press for that particular episode a few weeks ago.  the roadster manufacturers almost take them to court for portrayin the car as not being able to reach the rated 50 miles per charge.  top gear people punk out by bawlin oh they didn't intentionally show de car cuttin off after 44 miles or waheva...i see de clips from de show where they obviously did and ah was like WTF is dah one ???

ah eh know wha kinda jones dem does get off of makin energy-efficient tech look pop dong.  i smell a stinkin oil-cartel conspiracy dey  :devil: