So thursday night the man end up in the ER. After 4 days of a nasty cough and chills and against my advice to stay home, he drag himself to work, nearly pass out and get escorted across the hall into a cubicle. Admitted overnight given breathing treatments and a set a meds. Pnemonia (however it spell) and some type of bacterial infection. Effective immediately on sick leave. So thats one patient I dealing with. Mind you I was already half dead with taking care of him most of the week. Weds night he start one set a shivering there, I drop everything and fly upstairs and run a hot bath. By the time I get him in it, he blue for so. Keep running hot water he cant get warm. I had to put some towels and PJ's in the dryer so that as soon as he come out bathtub he in hot clothes. Then I drop the comforter in the dryer as well. I didnt sleep properly wed night because I keep waking up to check on him. Thursday night I was up most of the night checking with the ER. Friday now I did manage to get bout 5 hours in but then some drunken idiot walk through the street cussing and between him and the neighbor dogs and then the popo flying down the road, well that was it for me.
Yesterday now princess wake up and start to cough Not as bad as the father but not good either. Look down the throat, tonsils reddish and swollen. But she a trooper so she still jumping around playing herself. Very restless saturday night so I still ent sleep properly. Today she wake up hot. 101.1. Start dosing meds from round 9am this morning. All day temp going from 100.3 to 102.9. I get it to break at one point for an hour by sticking her in a cold bath. Went down to 99.3 promptly shoot back to 100.9 after the hour. Call the ER, they say as long as she still kinda herself, just keep dosing meds but if it get to 103 bring her in. They say they flooded with people all day, only standing room. She eating normal, drinking normal but complaning the throat hurt. I keep peeping down the throat. still red, lil more swollen but....
Trying to get her through the night and then I could take her to the pediatrician tomorrow. At this point I almost hoping is strep and not toncilites. I also hope that she ent have what the father have. Poor baby eyes and nose running like a faucet. it is so helpless as a parent to be there watching your sick child and you know you give them every medicine they could have but it still not good enuff.
My fingers always freezing so every few minutes she climbing up on the chair for me to rub her back. I know is the coolness she welcoming. I wish I had a bottle of limacol now. I just email my boss telling him tomorrow might be a no go. And just monitering the lil lady to see how the temp go. if it hit that magic number, we in the car pronto.
The man downstairs, I quarantine him in the living room in case he have something different from her and as I running from floor to floor, I stopping off to wash hands, sanitize and change clothes. laundry go be hell tomorrow. As for me, watery eyes, itchy throat, but I think thats just my allergies cause I ent take any of my allergy meds this weekend.
Princess lying on a huge blankie on the carpet in the room playing her DS right now occasionally singing to herself. I hope tonight won't involve a trip to the ER cause I just so tired. Yes I'm rambling but after being private nurse pretty much all week and weekend, a girl has to vent somewhere.